Two US Visa cards that spend straight from a crypto wallet — good for daily use, bad for anyone outside the States

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Uphold card is a Visa card that spends the balance of your Uphold wallet. You hold 300+ digital assets and US dollars in that wallet, and the card turns any of it into ordinary purchases — a coffee, a train ticket, a subscription. It comes in two versions: Essential, which is free to keep, and Elite, which costs $99.99 a year. On everyday use it scores very well, 9 out of 10 in my assessment. On whether you can even get one, it scores 2 out of 10, and that single number decides who should read the rest of this page.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Uphold works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The overall mark is 5.8 out of 10. The reason the average sits in the middle is structural rather than moral. This is a well-built, cheap-to-hold, genuinely convenient card — and it is only available to people living in US states and Washington D.C. If you are reading this outside the United States, no amount of enthusiasm will get you one. If you are in the US and you want to pay with crypto balance as if it were a bank balance, this is a serious option, and the Elite tier even pays you XRP for it.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

What the score means

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 US residents in states and Washington D.C.; not Louisiana, New York or US territories
Cost 6 / 10 Essential: $0 annual, $0 virtual, $4.99 plastic, 1.50% foreign, $2.95 ATM; Elite: $99.99 annual, 0% foreign; BTC/ETH conversion spread 2.05%–2.2%
Top-up options 8 / 10 Spends 300+ assets and USD with stablecoins highlighted; funded by bank transfer, direct deposit, PayPal or crypto
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Issued by Cross River Bank (Member FDIC), run by Uphold HQ Inc.; Trustpilot 4.6/5 across 27,602 reviews, but freezes of weeks to three months reported
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay “when available”; ATM $2.95 Essential, $0 Elite
Total 5.8 / 10 A good card behind a narrow front door

The audience this card is really built for is narrower than “crypto people”. It is US residents who already hold a spread of assets and want to spend them without manually selling to a bank first, and who are willing to accept the card’s one distinctive quirk: the rewards are paid in XRP.

Will they give you the card?

They will give it to US residents living in US states and Washington D.C. Not in Louisiana, not in New York, and not in US territories. The test is residence, not citizenship: your address decides, not your passport. Everything else about eligibility is thinner than you would hope. The card terms require an accurate real name, a valid US mailing address and a date of birth, and they restrict the card to personal use. Beyond those three things the public pages do not tell you what documents you need, whether proof of address is required, or what your age floor is beyond the usual adult rule for prepaid and debit cards.

That silence matters more than it sounds. Identity checks are where crypto platforms are least predictable, and this is one of the areas I could not verify from the card’s own material.

The single hardest line for most readers is geography. If you are anywhere else on earth, the honest answer is that this card is not for you, however much the wallet underneath it appeals.

How to get it

There is no credit check. You need an Uphold wallet first, and the company says wallet setup takes under five minutes. Once the account exists, you order a virtual card for free on either tier and, if you want something in your hand, a physical one. Essential ships plastic; Elite ships metal. The card is Visa and it is denominated in US dollars.

Delivery needs a US mailing address. How long it takes and what shipping costs are not stated. If the card is lost or damaged, expedited replacement is not available on either tier: a replacement costs $4.99 on Essential and $29.99 on Elite, with one free replacement per year on Elite. On Essential there is no free replacement at all — the $4.99 applies every time.

One thing I would flag before you decide: the card terms do not spell out KYC tiers or any processing time, and I found no statement of how long a first application takes. Budget for the possibility that account verification, not card ordering, is the slow part.

What it really costs: Fees and the everyday numbers

Fees are where this card separates the tiers cleanly, and the headline is that the free tier is genuinely free to hold.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Uphold payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Essential Elite
Card issuance $4.99 (plastic); virtual $0 $0 (metal); virtual $0
Annual fee $0 $99.99
POS purchase $0 $0
Foreign transaction fee 1.50% 0%
ATM withdrawal fee $2.95 $0
Foreign ATM transaction fee $1.50 $0
Replacement card $4.99 $29.99 (one free per year)
Closing the card $0 $0
Customer service $0 $0
XRP rewards 2% in XRP, cap $120 up to 4% in XRP, cap $300
Upgrade Essential to Elite $0 fee —
Maximum card balance $25,000 $25,000
Purchases and total withdrawals $2,500/day, $10,000/month $25,000/day, $100,000/month
ATM withdrawals $500/day, $2,000/month, 3/day, 10/month $2,000/day, $10,000/month, 3/day, 30/month
Bank-teller cash same as ATM amounts same as ATM amounts

Two numbers there are worth pausing on. First, ATM balance inquiry is not available at all, so you cannot check your balance at the machine. Second, the $25,000 ceiling is the card balance limit, not a spending limit — but the Essential daily spend cap of $2,500 will bite anyone who pays rent or a large bill through this card.

Now the everyday cases, because that is where fees actually land. A £40 meal in a European city, paid on Essential. Visa converts the amount to USD at the rate in effect on the processing day, then Essential adds 1.50% on top. So you lose the Visa rate plus 1.50%. On Elite that same meal loses nothing beyond whatever your own bank charges you for the currency. Neither tier reimburses exchange-rate losses or foreign fees — the card terms say that plainly, and it is the single clearest way the free tier differs from the paid one.

A €60 cash withdrawal in Amsterdam, on Essential. That is the $2.95 ATM fee, the $1.50 foreign ATM fee, and the 1.50% foreign transaction fee, on top of Visa’s conversion. On Elite, ATM withdrawals cost $0 and the foreign fee is $0%, which for someone who takes cash abroad is most of the reason to pay $99.99 a year.

A $12 subscription. No purchase fee on either tier. The cost here is the conversion spread if the balance is not already dollars — see below.

The crypto conversion fee is not stated as a single line on the card page. What is stated is the spread applied when crypto is converted, and for the two biggest assets it is not small: BTC and ETH carry a 2.05% to 2.2% spread. So a $100 purchase funded straight from ETH costs you $2.05 to $2.20 more than the price on screen suggests. That figure sits above the $4.99 cost of the Essential plastic card, which tells you something about how long a card you actually use.

How to Top up the card

There is no separate card balance to feed in the way you might expect. The card spends the wallet’s balances directly: 300+ digital assets and USD, with stablecoins called out as the straightforward choice. The wallet itself is funded by bank transfer, direct deposit, PayPal, or a crypto deposit. The card’s own pages do not list which networks those crypto deposits travel over, and they do not give per-method deposit fees or minimums.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Uphold starts with a transfer to the right network

So topping up is not one decision but two, and the second one is where people get caught. The first is moving money in — bank transfer, direct deposit, PayPal or crypto. The second is what it costs when the thing you moved in is not dollars and has to be converted.

Crypto-to-USD conversion spread (US/UK/Europe, typical) Rate
USD and USD stablecoins 0% (1:1, $20,000 monthly cap per customer)
Other stablecoins under 0.25%
Major FX 0.3%
BTC / ETH 2.05% to 2.2%
Altcoins 2.85% to 3.8%
Precious metals 2.35% to 3.40%

The 0% line for USD and USD stablecoins, with its $20,000 monthly cap per customer, is the practical takeaway: if you want to avoid conversion cost, hold dollars or dollar stablecoins. The “Preview Trade” tool shows the all-in price before you commit, and that is the number to read rather than the headline rate.

Spending the card down and getting out works like this. Funds in the card account do not expire. You can close the card through customer service at $0 fee, though the bank may cancel it at any time. Withdrawal-to-bank fees are not stated. And a point people often miss: only the US dollar fiat account is FDIC-insured. Crypto and metals balances are not, because they are not deposits.

Paying with it every day

Day to day this is the part the card does best. You get a virtual and a physical Visa, and you can add them to Apple Pay and Google Pay “when available” — the qualifier is Uphold’s, not mine. Which merchant categories are blocked is not stated, so you should assume gambling and similar categories may decline rather than guess.

Rewards are the distinguishing feature, and they are unusual: they are paid in XRP. Elite pays 4% in XRP on spend funded by crypto or metals, or 3% in XRP on fiat and stablecoin spend, with a cap of up to $300. Essential pays 2% in XRP, capped at $120. The reward currency is currently XRP, and the programme runs for three months after activation for cards activated on or after 1 January 2026.

Read that again. Three months. This is a launch promotion with an end date attached, not a standing benefit, and it is denominated in an asset whose price you do not control. A 4% reward paid in XRP is not a 4% discount.

Disputes work through the Uphold Platform. You report errors within 60 days; a phone report needs written confirmation within 10 business days; the bank decides within 10 business days. Resolution can take up to 45 days with provisional credit inside 10 business days, and up to 90 days for new cards, point-of-sale or foreign-initiated transactions. Unauthorized Visa transactions are investigated in 5 business days, plus 5. Lost or stolen card liability is capped at $50 if you report within 2 business days, and up to $500 later. The terms never use the word “chargeback”.

The app is strong: 4.7 out of 5 on the iOS App Store across 91K ratings, read at version 6.111.0 for iPhone. I did not read the Google Play rating.

What can go wrong

This is where I would slow you down, because the complaint pattern is unusually consistent.

Trustpilot reads 4.6 out of 5 across 27,602 reviews, about 6,386 of them in the last 12 months, with 67% five-star and 17% one-star. Those are good headline numbers. But 0% of negative reviews received a reply, and the dominant theme in user reports from September and October 2026 is account freezes and restrictions without explanation lasting weeks, sometimes up to three months. Often it happens right after a first deposit, after linking a card, after a withdrawal, or after a location mismatch. Second-tier themes: slow bot-driven support, identity-verification problems including expired links and lockouts after a phone change, and unexpected charges.

Note what this means in practice. The card is issued by Cross River Bank, Member FDIC, on the Visa network, with Uphold HQ Inc. as programme manager. So a block you experience at the card layer can originate from a KYC review at the platform layer, and the bank’s protections do not reach into that decision. Only the dollar balance is insured.

There have been real incidents too. Uphold’s status page reported a Mastercard-related issue freezing some UK cards, resolved on 19 May 2026. That was a UK matter, and the US card is Visa — but it is a demonstration that a network-side problem can freeze cards in bulk. There is a UK Financial Ombudsman decision, DRN-5127266, on a closed wallet and card issued by Optimus Cards UK, and third-party complaint sites rate the experience far lower than Trustpilot does — one of them 1.9 out of 5 across 13 reviews. Unofficial figures vary by source: I saw a 2.4 out of 5 Trustpilot reading in a community thread against 4.5 on an aggregator, which is why I trust the 4.6 figure above, read directly from Trustpilot, more than the circulating ones.

On security, Uphold recommends enabling two-factor authentication and uses email verification for unusual activity, and it describes solvency proof through Reserveledger and Reservechain. In-app card freeze, spending controls and insurance are not stated on the security page. And Visa Zero Liability does not cover ATM transactions outside Visa and PLUS networks — so the $50 lost-or-stolen cap is not the whole picture when cash is involved.

Support is reachable by phone on +1 888-977-7217 or the number on the back of the card, by post to Uphold Card, 228 Park Ave. S., #50458, New York, NY 10003-1502, through the app and platform, and at support.uphold.com. Languages and opening hours are not stated. US consumers can also reach the CFPB on 1-855-411-2372.

What to take instead

If the US residency rule rules you out, the realistic comparison is not “a slightly worse Uphold” — it is a different structure. Here is where the three alternatives I scored sit against it, and honestly, the published detail on two of them is thin.

Uphold Bybit Card MSX MEXC
Score 5.8 / 10 6.0 / 10 6.4 / 10 5.6 / 10
Regions US states and Washington D.C. only Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific not stated on an official page Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand and more listed
Card type Virtual and physical Visa, USD Virtual and physical, Mastercard or Visa depending on region not stated officially Virtual only, no physical yet
Annual fee $0 (Essential) / $99.99 (Elite) none listed; “Auto interest, no annual fees” not stated not stated
Rewards up to 4% in XRP, 3 months cashback tiers up to 10% on crypto-funded spend not stated 4%–10% cashback by M-Score tier

Bybit Card is the one with real documentation, and it is the more interesting comparison. It draws on your Funding Account, fiat first, and sells crypto only if the fiat is insufficient — at the One-Click Sell rate plus a 0.9% card conversion fee in most regions, 0.5% in Argentina. Foreign exchange runs 2% on top of the network rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico, 2% in Kazakhstan for purchases outside the country even in dollars, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil and 1% in Peru. Physical issuance costs 29.99 USD in Australia, 29.99 USDT in Georgia and Kazakhstan, 5 USDT in Asia Pacific, 5 USD or USDT in Argentina, and nothing in Brazil or Mexico. Rewards are tiered up to 10%, but only crypto-funded transactions earn from 5 October 2026 — fiat spending does not. And the EEA is explicitly excluded.

MEXC is virtual-only so far, with a 20 USD issuance fee and cashback of 4% to 10% by tier. MSX I could not evaluate properly: its eligibility, card type, costs, fees, funding and rewards are all absent from the pages I could read, and a 6.4 score for a card whose public details I cannot find is a warning in itself. I would not let that number persuade you.

Who I would recommend it to

If you live in a US state outside Louisiana, New York and the territories, you already hold crypto across several assets, and you want to spend it like a balance without selling to a bank first — yes, and start on Essential. It costs nothing to hold, nothing to open virtually, $0 at point of sale, and it pays 2% in XRP while the promotion lasts. Put it in Apple Pay and see how it lives.

Consider Elite if you travel and take cash, or if you spend enough that 1.50% on foreign purchases and $2.95 per ATM withdrawal would add up. The maths is simple: the $99.99 annual fee is worth avoiding 1.50% on roughly $6,700 of foreign spend. If you are spending heavily on BTC or ETH conversions, look at the 2.05%–2.2% spread before you commit to either tier.

I would not recommend it if you are outside the US, if you need large daily purchase capacity on the free tier and cannot put up with the $2,500 daily cap, if you need ATM balance inquiry, or if your income depends on being able to move money out quickly — because the single most-reported problem is a freeze lasting weeks to three months, and only your dollar balance is insured while your crypto is not.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Uphold card?

It is a Visa debit card that spends the balance of your Uphold wallet instead of a bank account. You can hold 300+ digital assets and US dollars in that wallet, and the card converts and spends them like ordinary money. It comes as Essential (free to hold, plastic card for $4.99) or Elite ($99.99 a year, metal card included). The wallet is what holds your funds, not a separate card account.

Is Uphold a bank?

No — Uphold states it is not itself an FDIC-insured bank. Your US dollar balances are held at Cross River Bank, which is a Member FDIC, and Cross River Bank is the issuer of the US card. Uphold HQ Inc. is the programme manager. Crypto and metals balances are not FDIC-insured, because they are not deposits. So the dollar side is bank-held and the crypto side is not.

Can I get the Uphold card outside the United States?

On the published terms, no. The card is for US residents in US states and Washington D.C., excluding Louisiana, New York and US territories, and it requires a US mailing address. Eligibility is based on residence, not citizenship. If you live elsewhere, the alternatives with actual documentation — Bybit Card in its listed regions — are the realistic path.

Does the Uphold card require KYC or a credit check?

There is no credit check. An Uphold wallet is required first, and the company says setup takes under five minutes. The card terms require an accurate real name, a valid US mailing address and your date of birth. What documents, proof of address, age rule and KYC tiers apply are not stated on the pages I read — which is exactly why freeze complaints are so common.

How much does the Uphold card cost?

Essential has no annual fee, a free virtual card, and $4.99 for the plastic card. Elite is $99.99 a year with the metal card and virtual card included. On fees: Essential charges 1.50% on foreign transactions and $2.95 per ATM withdrawal; Elite charges 0% on both. Converting BTC or ETH carries a 2.05%–2.2% spread, and converting other stablecoins costs under 0.25%.

Is the Uphold card free?

The Essential tier is free to hold and free to open as a virtual card, and purchases cost $0. You pay $4.99 if you want the physical plastic card. The Elite tier is not free at $99.99 a year. “Free” here means no ongoing charge — the conversion spreads still apply when your balance is not already dollars.

What rewards does the Uphold card pay, and in what currency?

In XRP. Elite pays 4% in XRP on crypto- or metals-funded spend, or 3% in XRP on fiat and stablecoin spend, capped at $300. Essential pays 2% in XRP, capped at $120. The reward currency is currently XRP, and the programme runs for three months after activation for cards activated on or after 1 January 2026 — a time-limited promotion, not a standing rate.

Is the Uphold card safe?

The issuer is Cross River Bank, a Member FDIC on the Visa network, and only your USD balance is insured. Uphold recommends two-factor authentication and uses email verification for unusual activity. But user reports through October 2026 describe account freezes lasting weeks to three months, often after a deposit or a card link, and Trustpilot shows 0% of negative reviews replied to. Visa Zero Liability also does not cover ATM use outside Visa and PLUS networks.

Why did my card payment get declined, or why is my balance frozen?

There are several separate causes and they are easy to confuse. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds for several days. A frozen balance is usually a platform-level identity or location review rather than anything to do with the card itself, which is why the bank’s protections do not help. And if you paid a merchant whose category the issuer restricts, or a foreign BIN, the payment can decline at the till — blocked merchant categories are not stated on Uphold’s pages.

How do I close the card or get my money out?

You close the card through customer service at a $0 fee, by phone on +1 888-977-7217 or the number on the back of the card, in the app, or at support.uphold.com. Funds in the card account do not expire. Note that the bank may cancel the card at any time, withdrawal-to-bank fees are not stated, and only the dollar fiat account is FDIC-insured — crypto and metals are not, so convert to dollars before you leave.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team