A small, mostly undocumented Visa from a quiet operator

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

I went through what Blonix publishes, the App Store listing and the developer reply, and what people are writing about the card. The honest summary is that the everyday mechanics look fine on paper — Visa, Apple Pay, Google Pay, worldwide ATM access — but the company is unusually quiet about the things that decide whether a card is usable day to day: who issues it, what the fees are, what the limits are, and how the top-up really works once you install the app. If you want a card that “just works”, the missing answers here are themselves a finding. If you can live with that and the trade-offs make sense for you, I’ll walk you through what I found, what I couldn’t confirm, and what I would ask support before loading any money.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Blonix works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described in this review are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.7 out of 10

The score reflects a real tension: the surface-level product is what many people want — a Visa with Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM access worldwide, a wallet you top up with stablecoins — but the public material is thin where it matters most. There is no fee schedule, no published limit table, no named issuer, no licence number, and the developer’s own reply in the App Store contradicts the marketing on which coins are accepted. For a reader who already holds stablecoins and just wants a Visa with mobile wallets, that is workable, provided you treat the missing answers as a feature, not a bug. For a reader who needs predictable FX, clear monthly fees, a published chargeback path, or simply to know which regulator watches the issuer, the same gap is a reason to look elsewhere.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Blonix payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Mark Why it lands there
Who can get it 6 / 10 Accounts worldwide in principle, but card availability depends on jurisdiction and the country list is not re-verified
Cost 5 / 10 Fees and issuance cost are not published
Top-up options 6 / 10 Stablecoins or local currency, but the starting list (USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL) clashes with the developer’s reply that only USDT on BNB Smart Chain and TRON is currently accepted
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Operated by Blonix Technologies Limited, the issuer and licences are not named, the only App Store rating is a one-star review about a loss of funds, custody is with Fireblocks
Everyday use 8 / 10 Visa, ATM worldwide, Apple Pay and Google Pay, both virtual and physical card formats
Total 5.7 / 10 The card is broadly usable, but the missing public information drags the average down

Stablecoin holders who want a Visa with Apple Pay and Google Pay are the audience this card seems built for. If that is you, read on. If you want a card with a published fee schedule, a named issuer and a clearly stated dispute process, the alternatives below will fit better.

Who will they give you the card

Blonix says accounts are available worldwide, but the actual card is “available depending on jurisdiction” and the list of where exactly is not re-verified on the public pages. That is the kind of sentence that sounds generous until you try to sign up, see your country is greyed out, and find out the support team cannot tell you why. Before you download the app, write to support with the country you live in and the country on your passport, and ask in writing whether both are supported for your intended tier of card. Save the reply. The audience this card seems designed for — stablecoin holders who want a Visa with mobile wallets — is real, but it is a smaller group than “anyone, anywhere” suggests.

The card itself is Visa, and the listing details a virtual card and a physical card. The currency the card is denominated in is not stated publicly. Your on-chain balance is converted at the moment of payment — the example Blonix gives is USDC to USD — which means the card behaves like a prepaid card funded by stablecoins rather than a debit card tied to a bank account. That distinction matters at the till and for chargeback rights, which I come back to in the everyday-use section.

A note on what this section cannot tell you: the level of KYC required — whether a basic ID check is enough, or whether address, source-of-funds and ongoing monitoring kick in at certain balances — is not stated on the public pages. KYC via Jumio and Sumsub is the only concrete signal, and the App Store text says identity verification happens at sign-up and usually takes under five minutes. That is the lightest reading; in practice, regulated issuers behind the scenes can re-run checks at any time.

How to get it

The sign-up flow described in the App Store text is the standard one for this category: install the app, create an account, run through identity verification, and request the card. The App Store listing for “Blonix: Crypto Card” version 1.0.16, updated 2026-10-17, is at version 1.0 — the kind of detail worth knowing, because it tells you the programme is genuinely new and there is not a long user base to draw complaints from. The Google Play listing for “BLONIX” shows 10K+ downloads but no star rating is shown; that is also a “new product” signal rather than a quality one.

KYC is handled by Jumio and Sumsub, both well-known identity vendors used across the industry. In practice that means you’ll be asked to photograph a government ID, take a selfie and sometimes upload a proof of address. The App Store text puts the whole flow at under five minutes, which is realistic for a clean file and unrealistic if your documents are scanned at low resolution or your address does not match the one on the ID. Have a high-resolution scan, good light and your current address ready before you start.

Delivery time for the physical card is not stated, so do not plan around a specific date. If you need a card this week — for a subscription that is about to renew, a trip that starts Friday, an online store that does not accept cards issued by an unknown BIN — request the virtual card first and treat the physical one as a future convenience.

What the public material does not say is also worth listing once, so you know what to ask for and what to take as a silent “no”: KYC tiers are not stated, the issuer is not named, the country of issuance is not stated, and there is no published time-to-approval beyond the under-five-minute figure. If you want a card that tells you the regulator it sits under and the licence number, you do not have it on paper here.

What the Blonix card really costs

This is the section where Blonix’s silence is the loudest signal. The public material does not state the issuance cost, monthly fee, conversion fee, FX margin, ATM fee or ATM allowance, and there is no published tier table. Cost gets a 5 out of 10 on that basis, not because the card is known to be expensive but because readers cannot tell whether it is cheap. The only thing the App Store text commits to is that the balance is converted at the moment of payment, with USDC-to-USD as the example. That tells you there is a conversion step — which always has a spread somewhere, even when the headline says “0%” — but not the size.

Fee or limit What the public pages say
Issuance Not stated
Monthly fee Not stated
Conversion (crypto to fiat) Not stated; conversion happens at the moment of payment
FX (foreign currency purchase) Not stated
ATM withdrawal fee Not stated
ATM allowance Not stated
Daily limit Not stated
Monthly limit Not stated

A few everyday situations so you can see where the silence bites. When you buy a coffee abroad with the virtual card, your USDC is converted to the merchant’s currency at the moment of payment; the size of that spread is not published. When you take cash out at a foreign ATM, the ATM operator’s own fee is on top of whatever Blonix charges, and Blonix’s fee is not published. When you buy something in a currency that is not the card’s base currency, the FX margin — usually a few percentage points hidden inside the rate — is also not published. None of this means the card is uncompetitive, only that you cannot compare it on a like-for-like basis until you ask the support team and write the answers down.

What I would do: before funding the wallet, ask support for the full fee schedule in writing, including the FX margin, the ATM fee and any inactivity fee. Treat “0%” headlines with suspicion in this category, because the spread inside the rate is where most of the cost of a crypto card actually lives. If the answers are vague, that itself is information.

How to top up the Blonix card

The Blonix wallet is designed to be topped up with stablecoins or with local currency. The starting data I worked from lists USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH and SOL as accepted. That is a useful range on paper. The wrinkle is in the App Store reviews: when a user asked the developer directly about which coins are actually accepted, the developer’s reply said deposits are currently limited to USDT on BNB Smart Chain (BEP-20) and USDT on TRON (TRC-20), and that Bitcoin is not supported. The sources disagree, and that disagreement is itself a finding.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Blonix starts with a transfer to the right network

If I were sending money today, I would send USDT on TRC-20 first, because TRON’s network fees are typically very small and the developer confirmed that route. USDT on BNB Smart Chain is the second option, also confirmed. The other coins on the starting list — USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL — are not confirmed by the developer reply, and the marketing pages I worked from did not give a current status. If you want to use USDC, send a small test amount first and wait for it to land before sending the rest. This is a general rule for any card in this category: a stablecoin sent on a network the provider does not support can be lost or sit unrecovered, because blockchain transfers are typically irreversible and a token sent to an address of the wrong network may not be retrievable by support.

A few general things worth knowing, because they are the difference between a top-up that lands and one that does not:

Paying with the Blonix card every day

The everyday story is the strongest part of this card. Blonix is a Visa, which means the card works at the tens of millions of terminals that take Visa worldwide. The wallet supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, so the card can live on the phone next to your bank card and be used at contactless terminals, in apps and on the web without a physical piece of plastic. There is a virtual card and a physical card, so the typical flow is to use the virtual card for online spend as soon as the app is set up, and the physical card when it arrives for in-person spend. ATM access is “worldwide”, with the same caveat as everything else: the fee and the allowance are not published.

A practical note about how a prepaid-style card behaves at the till. When you tap to pay in a currency that is not the card’s base currency, the network will route the payment through its own FX, and the card issuer sits inside that. If the card’s base currency is, say, USDC-denominated, the merchant sees a Visa authorisation, your USDC is converted at the moment of payment, and the network handles the rest. That is the model the App Store text describes, and it is the model most crypto cards in 2026 use. It is convenient; it is also a model where the FX margin is the dominant fee, and Blonix has not published it.

What I could not confirm, and what you should ask if it matters to you: which merchant categories are blocked (gambling, crypto purchases, adult content, prepaid top-ups), whether there is a rewards or cashback programme, and how disputes work. The App Store text mentions spending controls, real-time transaction monitoring and fraud protection, which are the right words to use, but does not name the dispute process, the chargeback timeframes or the contact path. If you plan to spend a meaningful amount, ask support in writing how to raise a dispute, what evidence is needed, and what the realistic timeframe is.

A general point about prepaid-style cards and online merchants. Address Verification Service (AVS) is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause a decline even when the balance is fine. Some merchants also decline prepaid BINs or foreign BINs by policy. Neither is Blonix’s fault specifically, but both are worth knowing if a payment is unexpectedly refused. 3-D Secure is the usual way out: the issuer sends a one-time code or a biometric prompt, and once you confirm, the merchant’s risk shifts.

What can go wrong with the Blonix card

Three things weigh on the score here, and they are worth taking one at a time.

First, the user-facing complaint signal. The App Store rating for the Blonix app is one star, and it is the only rating, dated within the review period. The review reports a loss of funds. The developer’s reply in the App Store says the team could not verify the claim and asked the user to contact support with their registered email. That is a real complaint, a real reply, and a real absence of resolution in the public thread. I am not saying the user’s account is correct, and I am not saying the developer’s response is wrong; I am saying that with a one-rating app the entire public reputation of this product is one unverified dispute, and that is thin ground to stand on. There is no Trustpilot page that I could find. If you search for the app before installing it, you will see the same one star. Take that as a signal to start small.

Second, the company and the licence. The App Store lists the seller as Blonix Technologies Limited, which is the operator. The actual card issuer — the regulated bank or electronic money institution that holds the Visa programme — is not named on the public pages, nor is the country of incorporation, the licence number or the regulator. The App Store text says the services are “provided in partnership with regulated financial institutions”, which is the right kind of language, but it is a category claim rather than a verifiable fact. The EU’s MiCA regime is the relevant framework for European readers: under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, and the transitional period runs until 1 July 2026 or until a MiCA authorisation is granted or refused. A reader in the EU who can name the issuer and check it on ESMA’s interim register has a meaningfully different position from a reader who can only take the marketing page at face value. If you can name the issuer, look it up; if you cannot, ask support.

Third, custody and security. The wallet is held with Fireblocks, which is an institutional-grade custody provider using multi-party computation (MPC) to split signing keys across parties so that no single device or insider can move funds alone. That is a meaningful safeguard, and it is more than many crypto cards publish. The App Store also says spending controls, real-time transaction monitoring and fraud protection are in place, which is again the right category of answer. None of this changes the underlying fact of a custodial wallet: the user does not hold the private keys, and if the operator or the custodian has a problem, the user is in the queue with other creditors. The track record of custodial platforms includes Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin Network, and the recurring pattern is that when a custodian fails, the user discovers what “not your keys, not your coins” really means.

A broader risk worth flagging: programme closures. Card programmes in this category have been closed by Visa and Mastercard — most famously FTX in November 2022, and the WaveCrest-issued programmes in 2018 — and the typical pattern is a notice period, then a stop on new loads, then a stop on spending, then a request to withdraw remaining balances. If the Blonix programme is closed, the practical question is not “is my money safe” but “how quickly can I move it elsewhere”. Treat the balance you keep on the card as spendable in the next few weeks, not as a long-term store of value.

What to take instead

A few alternatives, with the same kind of honest read so you can compare on equal terms. None of these are perfect; they are the most relevant peers I could find in the public material, with the score and the caveats shown.

Card Score Where it works Card Costs and fees Top-up
Cardex 5.6 / 10 200+ countries in principle, no exclusions published; App Store listing is Naira-focused Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical; card currency Naira per listing Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at payment; an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” picks the best exchange rate; fee percentage not published USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated
TakeCard 5.5 / 10 Virtual card availability in Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Ecuador, US, Spain, Italy (starting data, not confirmed on a readable page); physical card is Bolivia only for now Virtual card available immediately; physical card is Bolivia only; Visa; issued in the US; prepaid; card currency USD with USD payments at 1:1 Virtual USD 5; physical (Bolivia) USD 20 issuance + USD 20 shipping (one source says USD 10 for physical in Bolivia — conflicting); 1% commission per purchase; other currencies at the official Visa rate of the transaction day; crypto conversion fee not stated Top up from the Takenos balance (coins not named in the article); starting data mentions USDC and USDT via Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum, not verified
OkiCard 6.0 / 10 150+ countries (some pages say 200+); no geo-blocking based on passport; users must confirm they are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction Virtual card; physical card mentioned without detail; “Visa/Mastercard” not specified; card currency USD/EUR pegged Pricing page: issuance $0, monthly $0, starting price $15 for virtual; FAQ mentions a one-time issuance fee — pages disagree; initial deposit 100 USDT; load fee 3%; transaction fee in USD 0%; FX fee not stated USDT on BSC (BEP-20), Ethereum (ERC-20), Tron (TRC-20), Solana (SPL); USDC “soon”; BTC and altcoins “coming soon”; converted to fiat at spending

If Blonix is missing the things you need, OkiCard is the most direct alternative on the dimensions the score penalises: it publishes more of its fees, it names more of the networks it accepts, and it has a higher score. TakeCard is the right pick if you are in Bolivia and want a physical card in hand; Cardex is the right pick if Naira is the working currency you actually want to spend in. None of them is a clear winner on every axis, which is itself a finding about the state of this category.

Who I would recommend the Blonix card to

The honest answer is a narrow one. I would recommend the Blonix card to a stablecoin holder who already understands the difference between a custodial wallet and a self-custody wallet, who is comfortable with the FX margin being unstated until they ask, and whose main goal is to have a Visa that works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. If you are in that group, here is the version of the recommendation that holds up: open the app, run through the KYC, send a small test top-up in USDT on TRC-20 first, confirm it lands and shows up in the balance, then add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay and make one small real-world purchase before committing a meaningful balance. If every step works, you have a usable card. If any step does not — and especially if support cannot tell you which coins are accepted, or cannot name the issuer, or cannot give you a fee schedule — you have the answer you need, which is that this is not the card for you.

I would not recommend the Blonix card to a reader who needs a published fee schedule to make a budget, a reader who needs to know the issuer and the regulator before they load money, a reader who plans to hold a large balance on the card for more than a few weeks, or a reader whose primary use case is cash withdrawal abroad. For each of those readers, the missing information is the product, and the alternatives in the previous section serve them better.

A general rule that applies here as much as anywhere in this category: keep the balance on the card low, do not treat a custodial crypto card as a savings account, and have an exit plan in case the programme changes its terms or the issuer closes it. The single most useful question to ask before loading a meaningful amount is the simplest one: who is the issuer, and which regulator watches them? If the answer is not on the public page, the answer should come from support in writing. If it does not, walk away.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Blonix card?

The Blonix card is a Visa-branded payment card linked to a custodial crypto wallet operated by Blonix Technologies Limited. The wallet holds a balance you top up with stablecoins or local currency, and the card converts that balance into the merchant’s currency at the moment of payment. A virtual and a physical card are both offered.

How does the Blonix card work?

You install the app, complete identity verification, top up the wallet, and spend with the virtual card online, with the physical card in stores, or with Apple Pay or Google Pay on a contactless terminal. At payment time, your on-chain balance — for example, USDC — is converted into the merchant’s currency and the Visa network routes the authorisation.

Is Blonix a bank?

No, Blonix is not a bank. The App Store text says services are “provided in partnership with regulated financial institutions”, but the issuer, the country of incorporation and the licence number are not named on the public pages. Treat it as a programme manager sitting on top of an unnamed issuer.

Who owns Blonix?

The App Store seller is Blonix Technologies Limited. The company’s ownership, the country of incorporation and any parent company are not stated in the public material I could read, so the operator-level name is the most specific answer available without writing to support.

Is the Blonix card available in my country?

The public pages say accounts are available worldwide and card availability depends on jurisdiction, but the country list is not re-verified and there is no exclusion list. The reliable way to find out is to write to support with your country of residence and the country on your passport before you sign up, and to keep the reply.

Does the Blonix card require KYC?

Yes. The App Store text says identity verification happens at sign-up and the flow uses Jumio and Sumsub, with most checks completing in under five minutes. What is not stated publicly is the level of KYC required for higher balances — whether source-of-funds and ongoing monitoring kick in at certain thresholds.

How do I top up the Blonix card?

The Blonix wallet is designed to be topped up with stablecoins or with local currency. The starting data lists USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH and SOL as accepted, but the developer’s reply in the App Store says deposits are currently limited to USDT on BNB Smart Chain (BEP-20) and USDT on TRON (TRC-20), with Bitcoin not supported. The sources disagree, so send a small test amount on TRC-20 first.

How do I add the Blonix card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Once the card is issued in the app, the standard flow is to open the wallet app on your phone, choose “Add card” and follow the issuer’s authentication. Apple Pay uses a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element rather than the real card number, so the original PAN is not shared with merchants. If the add-card step fails, the most common reasons are an unverified identity, a not-yet-activated card, or a country the wallet provider does not support on the device.

Is the Blonix card safe?

Custody is with Fireblocks using multi-party computation, and the App Store text mentions spending controls, real-time transaction monitoring and fraud protection. None of that removes the underlying risk of a custodial wallet: the operator holds the keys, so a failure at the operator or the custodian puts the user in the queue with other creditors. Treat the balance on the card as spendable in the next few weeks, not as a long-term store of value.

Is the Blonix card worth it?

If your main need is a Visa that works with Apple Pay and Google Pay and you are comfortable funding it from stablecoins you already hold, the card is workable. If you need a published fee schedule, a named issuer, a clearly stated dispute process, or a card you plan to hold a large balance on for months, the missing information is itself the answer, and one of the alternatives above will fit you better.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team