A Swiss IBAN and a virtual Mastercard, on top of a non-custodial wallet

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

SafePal is best understood as two products wearing the same name. There is the SafePal wallet, which has been around for years and which SafePal describes as non-custodial, meaning your crypto keys stay with you. And there is the newer SafePal Fiat gateway, which gives you a Swiss IBAN and a virtual Mastercard debit card through a partner, Fiat24. If you came for the wallet, the card is an add-on. If you came because an ordinary bank card is proving difficult to get in your situation, the card is the point. This review is about the card, and about what it takes to actually use it day to day.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
SafePal works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I gave it 6.2 out of 10. That is not a dismissal. It is a card with genuinely good economics — no account fee, no monthly fee, free top-ups into the right currency — attached to a product whose own documentation is thin in places, whose issuer is not named on the public pages, and which sits behind a year of unpleasant headlines. The score is dragged down less by what SafePal does than by what it leaves you to work out on your own.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: who the card is for, and who should walk away

The strongest case for SafePal’s card is narrow and specific: you already hold crypto, you want somewhere to keep it that also gives you a familiar Swiss IBAN and a Mastercard that spends it, and you are comfortable that the IBAN is not a bank account in the ordinary sense. On that reading, the offer is attractive. There is no fee to open the account, no fee to keep it, and top-ups cost 0% in the standard case. A card that converts to USDC and spends like a debit card is genuinely useful for someone who would rather not touch a traditional exchange for routine spending.

The weaker case is anyone hoping for a plain bank card with crypto attached. SafePal does not present a physical card. What is described is a virtual Mastercard debit, and spending limits are quoted in euros against a Swiss Fiat24 account. If the idea of a plastic card in your wallet matters to you — because some merchants behave differently, because you want ATM access, because a virtual card number is awkward at a shop counter — this is not that product.

Two groups should be especially cautious. The first is anyone in a country where the supported-region list is not published. SafePal’s own page for supported regions carried a headline but no country names when I checked, so I cannot tell you whether your country is on it, and neither, apparently, can the page itself. The second is anyone for whom a stablecoin conversion is a source of anxiety rather than convenience. Your crypto is not spent directly: it is converted, by default, into USDC, and then spent. That is a stablecoin exposure with all the usual properties, including the fact that stablecoins can and have lost their peg.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Citizens of supported regions living in supported areas; the region list was empty when the page was fetched
Cost 8 / 10 No account creation or management fee, top-ups at 0%, but 1% Mastercard FX outside USD and top-up rates of 1% or 0.4% also appear in the tariff pages
Top-up options 9 / 10 Crypto from 40+ blockchains, converted to USDC by default; activation needs 10 USDC on Arbitrum
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Swiss IBAN via Fiat24 with no issuer named, a 2026 customer data breach, Trustpilot at 3.1 from 394 reviews, and complaints about withdrawals not arriving
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Mastercard with Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay and PayPal; no physical card described, and unofficial ATM data conflicts
Total 6.2 / 10 Strong economics on paper, thin documentation and a rough 2026 in the background

Will they give you the card?

Yes, probably — if your country is on a list that SafePal does not currently publish. The stated condition is “citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas.” That is two separate tests: citizenship and residence both have to fall inside a supported set. The regions page at the bank’s own site carried the headline “Supported regions for SafePal Fiat gateway” and, when fetched, no names under it. The only concrete figures it gave were monthly limits of $100,000 with Mastercard and $1,000 without.

That last detail is worth pausing on, because it is the only eligibility-adjacent number actually published. A $100,000 monthly ceiling or a $1,000 monthly ceiling is a very wide spread, and the difference is your card. If you are approved without the Mastercard, you are in a materially smaller product.

I want to be honest about what this means: I could not confirm from SafePal’s own pages that any specific country is supported, and I am not going to guess. What the pages do say is that citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas can apply. If your country is one where crypto is restricted, or where the Fiat gateway is not licensed, the honest answer is that you will find out at the application step rather than from me. And note that SafePal’s own fiat on-ramp was switched off until further notice in March 2026 — crypto top-ups through third parties like MoonPay still work, but the first-party route is not running.

How to get it

You need KYC, and that is not optional. The card sits under licence and regulator requirements, and SafePal routes the whole process through Fiat24 as a Swiss entity. There is no credit check and no staking requirement, which is more than some products in this category ask of you.

The verification itself is specific. Fiat24 runs it: email and phone verification, then an address check that requires your residential address to be within 2 km of your current location and requires location access on your device, then a passport scan inside the ReadID Ready app. Your passport is the only document named. You need the SafePal app at version 4.5.0 or later, and 0.0001 ETH on Arbitrum available to pay gas.

What SafePal does not say is as notable as what it says. Processing time is not stated. The minimum age is not stated for this product. The reasons a verification might be rejected are not stated. If you are trying to plan around having a card by a particular date, you are planning around something the pages will not commit to.

The card you get is a virtual Mastercard debit. A physical card is not stated, and there is no physical card article in the Banking Gateway help section. Unofficial sources go further and say virtual-only, with no physical card at all — one card directory gives the form as “Virtual” and dates its note 11 Aug 2026. I would treat that as unofficial but directionally consistent with everything the official pages omit. Spending limits are given in euros, tied to the Swiss Fiat24 account.

Fees: what it really costs

The headline is that there is no account fee. There is no creation fee and no management fee. The card issuance fee is not stated, which is not the same as free. A third-party card directory, in its own words unofficial, reports no opening, management or virtual-card fee, and that its main cost is the 1% FX fee.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a SafePal payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Where costs do bite is conversion, and this is where the number you will feel most depends on how you behave. The Mastercard carries a 1% FX fee when the payment settles in anything other than USD. That is the single largest recurring cost in this product for most people. Top-ups are 0% at the standard rate. A refund costs 1 USD, 1 EUR, 1 CHF or 7 CNH to process. Swaps include a spread, but SafePal does not quantify it. And the pricing pages are not entirely consistent: the fee article gives a standard top-up rate of 0%, while the bank page describes fiat deposit fees from 0.6% and crypto top-ups from 0.4% on the top tier, and the tier article separately cites a standard 1% deposit rate.

Item Fee or limit
Account creation and management No fee
Card issuance not stated
Standard top-up 0%
Crypto top-up on top tier from 0.4% (bank page); tier article cites a standard 1% deposit rate
Mastercard settlement outside USD 1% FX fee
Swaps include a spread, not quantified
Refund processing 1 USD / 1 EUR / 1 CHF / 7 CNH
ATM withdrawal not stated
Contactless daily limit 1,600 EUR
Other payment methods daily limit 5,000 EUR
Monthly limit equals the transaction limit; regions page cites $100,000/month with Mastercard, $1,000/month without
Activation deposit 10 USDC on Arbitrum, plus ETH for gas

Three everyday payments, and which fee applies

A coffee in Lisbon, paid by tapping your phone. The Mastercard settles in EUR, not USD, so the 1% FX fee applies on the conversion. Nothing else is charged — no account fee, no monthly fee. This is the cost model working as intended: the card itself is free, the currency conversion is the price.

A monthly subscription paid online, in EUR, from a balance you have already converted. Because you enable the currencies you use and hold them in the Swiss IBAN account, a payment in an enabled currency has no exchange fee at all — zero FX fees apply to EUR, CHF, USD and CNY. So this one costs you nothing beyond whatever the merchant charges. This is the cheapest way to use the card and it is worth setting up deliberately.

A transfer out to your own bank account to move money somewhere else. SafePal states there is no SafePal or Fiat24 fee for transfers to external banks; your own bank may charge. Transfers between accounts inside the IBAN are free. What SafePal does not state is what happens when you withdraw back to crypto, or what happens to the balance at closure — so if your plan involves either of those, ask before you fund the account.

Top up: 40+ chains, converted to USDC

This is the best part of the product and it deserves the 9 out of 10. You can send crypto from more than 40 blockchains; by default it is converted to USDC, and transactions run on Arbitrum. You can also have it converted to fiat instead. Funding a card from a broad range of networks is a real convenience, especially if your holdings are not conveniently held as a single stablecoin.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up SafePal starts with a transfer to the right network

Three practicalities to know. First, the default destination is USDC, so think about which stablecoin you are comfortable holding between deposit and spend. Second, activating the Mastercard requires a deposit of 10 USDC on Arbitrum plus ETH for gas, according to a help article dated 2026-07-25. Third, the sender pays the blockchain gas fee — the network charges it, not SafePal — which means your wallet needs a small amount of the network’s own token. On Arbitrum that means ETH.

Fee rules are generous but inconsistently described. Standard top-up is 0%. The bank page advertises crypto top-up “as low as 0.4%” on the top tier. There is a zero-fee waiver on on-ramp and deposit while SafePal’s program runs, with terms subject to change. Tiers, set on the 1st of each month from points earned in the previous three months, do matter: opening the IBAN account gives you 1,500 points, higher tiers get a rebate on top-up fees — the example given is that Silver pays a standard 1% deposit and gets 0.1% back — and reduced fees when buying USDC with the Mastercard. Staking $SFP for 90 days with no early redemption raises your level, and referral commission depends on it too. If you are not going to stake and refer, treat the tier system as a discount you will not use.

Paying with it every day

What you get is a virtual Mastercard debit plus Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay and PayPal. That is a decent everyday kit for a card that exists on your phone anyway. You can add the card number to Apple Wallet and pay from there; Apple Pay substitutes a device-specific number for the card number, so your actual card digits are not stored on Apple’s servers and each payment uses a one-time code.

What you do not get, on the evidence, is cash. ATM withdrawal is not stated by SafePal. An unofficial directory lists “ATM withdrawals: Yes” with no fee or limit given, while another says there is no physical card at all — so the sources conflict and I would not plan a cash budget around either. With no plastic card, ATM access would be theoretical in any case. Blocked merchants are not stated either.

There is no cashback. SafePal is explicit about this. Instead there are referral commissions of up to 40% of referred top-up fees and tier privileges tied to deposits, referrals and $SFP staking. Those are ways SafePal grows, not ways you get paid, and I would not count them as a return.

The app is the place you manage all of this. It is on iPhone and iPad, needs iOS 15.0 or later, and was at version 4.11.12 in October. It rates 4.7 out of 5 on the App Store from 17K ratings — but that is a wallet-level rating, not a card-specific one, and I did not read the Google Play figure. The interface includes Russian along with English and thirteen other languages.

One thing I want to flag as a reader rather than a statistic: your spending limit is yours to set. You can customise it in the app, freeze and unfreeze the card, and view transactions. That is a genuinely useful set of controls, and it is the sort of thing that matters more when the card is virtual, because there is no plastic to lose or to hand over.

What can go wrong

The uncomfortable section. Let me put the worst item first, because it is the one that changed how I read everything else.

In 2026 SafePal disclosed a data breach exposing order information of roughly 39,798 customers. SafePal states that no seed phrases, keys, card numbers or identification documents were exposed. Users reported phishing with accurate personal details in early July, weeks before the statement came out. That combination — a breach of order data, followed by callers who knew your details — is the standard shape of account-takeover fraud, and it is why the dedicated support channel for reporting impersonation exists.

The complaint picture is worse than the wallet’s own average. Trustpilot for safepal.com stands at 3.1 out of 5 from 394 reviews: 57% five-star, 37% one-star, and the company answers 93% of negative reviews. Reading them, the recurring themes are February to September 2026 swaps and withdrawals shown as completed but not arriving; a May 2026 Fiat24 refund received with about 20% missing, with the user told to contact Fiat24; July to September 2026 phishing and scam calls that already had order details; and June to July 2026 email-only support producing copy-paste replies. Not one review mentions the card or the IBAN directly, which is worth noting in both directions: the card is not the thing people are angry about, but it is also not the thing people are defending.

The structural risk sits underneath all of this. The Swiss IBAN and the fiat gateway come from Fiat24, which handles compliance and licensing. The card issuer is not named on the public pages. You are therefore relying on a partner for the account and on an unnamed issuer for the card. SafePal’s replies on Trustpilot describe the SafePal wallet as non-custodial, and that is a real distinction — your crypto keys stay yours. But the fiat account is not your keys. It is an account held by someone else, and what happens to a balance is a matter of that arrangement rather than of self-custody.

What is not stated matters too. Insurance is not stated. Chargeback handling is not stated. Support hours are not stated — there is email support and a request form through a Zendesk help center, and Fiat24 account problems go through a Telegram bot at t.me/fiat24bot. None of that adds up to a picture of a company that will pick up the phone when money is stuck, which is exactly what the withdrawal complaints describe.

Three ordinary operational hazards also sit on top of this. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for up to seven days. The Address Verification Service is mainly available in the US, Canada and the UK and generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. And merchants can look up your card’s BIN and see which country and institution issued it, which sometimes makes a foreign card look suspect and earns extra scrutiny. That last one is a property of every cross-border card, not a SafePal flaw, but it is more likely to bite you with a virtual card from a Swiss account.

A short list of what to check before you commit

What to take instead

Three other cards come up when you search this space. None is clearly better; they fail differently.

Card Score Eligibility Card Cost structure Top up
BloFin Wallet Card 6.9 / 10 Country list not published; starting data names 35 countries incl. US, Australia, Japan, UAE, Brazil, Mexico, Malaysia, New Zealand; citizenship vs residence not stated Visa Platinum, virtual/physical not stated, currency not stated Activation, annual, issuance and dormancy all $0.00; spend fee 1% or lower by tier, from 1.00% at VIP 0 to 0.00% at VIP 5; FX fee not stated USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base
Decaf 6.2 / 10 Restricted in 18 named countries incl. Russia, Belarus, China, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Nepal, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, Nigeria, and 11 US states incl. New York-adjacent states such as California-irrelevant ones like Oregon and Washington; citizenship vs residence not stated Visa, virtual or physical with tracked delivery Virtual $5 worldwide; physical $10 in US or $90 elsewhere; no annual or monthly fee; no added FX fee, “the FX is the one Visa offers”; crypto conversion fee not stated Card payment, bank transfer or USDC via a payment link; app on Solana and Stellar; which coins and networks top up the card is not stated
Avici 6.1 / 10 not stated Visa; virtual cards by category (subscriptions, groceries, travel) plus a delivered physical card; currency not stated “No Hidden Fee”, “No Gas Fee, No Interchange Fee” — no amounts Deposit crypto to Avici, top up with crypto; coins and networks not listed

Two observations. BloFin scores higher than SafePal and is the only one of the three with a published spend-fee schedule you can actually model, though its eligibility is equally unpublished. Decaf is the only one that names restricted countries, which is unhelpful if you are in one of them but genuinely useful if you are trying to work out whether to apply. Avici’s fee claims are numbers-free, and a physical card plus category cards is a different shape of product from a virtual Mastercard.

None of these replaces SafePal’s specific draw: a Swiss IBAN alongside a non-custodial crypto wallet. If that combination is what you need, the comparison is not close. If you simply want the cheapest way to spend crypto, BloFin’s tiered schedule is the one to model first.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to someone who has already decided to hold crypto long-term, keeps their coins on chains SafePal supports, and wants a Swiss IBAN plus a phone-payable Mastercard without moving everything to a custodial exchange. They should enable the currencies they actually spend in, treat USDC as what it is — a stablecoin exposure — and put only what they are willing to leave in a fiat account for a while into it.

I would not recommend it to someone who needs cash, who needs a physical card, who is in a country they cannot confirm is supported, or who is uneasy about a KYC process run by a partner with an unnamed card issuer behind it. I would also not recommend it to someone who has had trouble with a crypto platform before and wants recourse. There is no stated insurance, no stated chargeback process, no stated support hours, and a public complaint record in which money did not arrive.

And I would suggest a moment’s thought for anyone choosing this purely because a Swiss IBAN looks reassuring. It is not a bank account. It is an e-money arrangement with a Swiss partner, and those are not the same protective framework as a bank deposit. The IBAN is useful; it is not a guarantee.

Frequently asked questions

What is the SafePal card?

The SafePal card is a virtual Mastercard debit linked to a Swiss IBAN account, offered through Fiat24 as SafePal’s fiat gateway. You load it from crypto — more than 40 blockchains are supported, converted to USDC by default — and spend the balance. Spending limits are quoted in euros. It is separate from the SafePal self-custody wallet, which the company describes as non-custodial. SafePal’s public pages describe only a virtual card; no physical card is mentioned.

Is SafePal a bank?

No, not in the ordinary sense. SafePal provides a crypto wallet, and its fiat gateway and Swiss IBAN run with Fiat24, a compliance and licensing partner. SafePal’s own pages do not name the card issuer. So you are relying on a partner for the account and on an unnamed issuer for the card, and funds in an e-money account are not the same as a bank deposit.

Does the SafePal card require KYC?

Yes, and it is not optional, because of licence and regulator requirements. Fiat24 runs the process: email and phone verification, an address check requiring your residential address to be within 2 km of your current location with location access enabled, and a passport scan in the ReadID Ready app. Your passport is the only document named. There is no credit check and no staking requirement.

Who can get the SafePal card?

The stated condition is “citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas” — two tests, citizenship and residence. The problem is the list. SafePal’s supported regions page carried a headline but no country names when fetched, so I cannot confirm that any specific country is eligible, and neither could that page. The only figures it gave were monthly limits of $100,000 with Mastercard.

How much does the SafePal card cost?

There is no account creation or management fee. The card issuance fee is not stated, which is not the same as free. Standard top-up is 0%, though other pages cite 1% and 0.4%. The main running cost is a 1% Mastercard FX fee when a payment settles outside USD. Refunds cost 1 USD, 1 EUR, 1 CHF or 7 CNH to process, and swaps include an unquantified spread.

How do I top up the SafePal card?

Send crypto from any of more than 40 supported blockchains; by default it is converted to USDC, and transactions run on Arbitrum. Standard top-up is 0%, with crypto top-ups from 0.4% on the top tier. Activating the Mastercard needs a deposit of 10 USDC on Arbitrum plus ETH for gas, and the sender pays the blockchain network fee, so your wallet needs a small amount of the network’s own token.

Can I use the SafePal card in my country?

You will spend outside your home country with no problem, since it is a Mastercard and the IBAN is Swiss. The question is whether you can get it: eligibility depends on your citizenship and your residence both falling inside SafePal’s supported regions, and that list was empty when I checked. The regions page did cite monthly limits of $100,000 with Mastercard and $1,000 without, which suggests approval level matters as much as country.

Is the SafePal card safe?

It depends what you mean. The SafePal wallet is described as non-custodial, so your crypto keys are yours. But the fiat account is held by a partner, and insurance and chargeback handling are not stated. In 2026 SafePal disclosed a data breach exposing order information of about 39,798 customers, and users reported phishing calls with accurate personal details before that statement.

Does the SafePal card give cashback?

No. SafePal states there is no cashback. What it offers instead is referral commissions of up to 40% of referred top-up fees, and account tiers that rebate some top-up fees — Silver, for example, pays a standard 1% deposit and gets 0.1% back. Tiers are set on the 1st of each month from the previous three months’ points, and staking $SFP for 90 days raises your level.

Is the SafePal card worth it?

For someone already holding crypto who wants a Swiss IBAN and phone payments, the economics are strong: no account fee, no monthly fee, 0% standard top-ups, and no FX fee at all in a currency you have enabled. Against that sit the unnamed issuer, the unstated insurance, the 2026 data breach, Trustpilot at 3.1 from 394 reviews, and complaints about withdrawals that showed as completed but never arrived.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team