Pay3 card review — a Visa you fund with crypto, weighed against what it actually does
Pay3 is one of the newer crypto cards trying to stand out in a crowded field. It comes from a Hong Kong fintech incorporated in 2024, issues Visa cards that you can hold as virtual, physical or mobile wallet, and it lets you spend against collateral rather than from a pre-paid balance. That last part is the most interesting bit about it, and also the part I had to look at twice before I could explain it. I spent time going through the card’s own pages, the platform terms and a handful of secondary sources, and this is what I found: where the product holds together, where it does not, and what kind of person it might actually fit.

The conditions in this review are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Pay3 lands at 6.3 out of 10 in my scoring. That is not a disastrous number, but it is not a confident “yes” either. It is the kind of score you give a product that has a clear idea of what it wants to be, ships the basics, and then leaves enough unanswered that you have to take it on trust more than you would like.

| Criterion | Mark | Why it scored that way |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Open to anyone outside the unnamed “Restricted Locations” but US citizens must actively declare they are not one, and the restricted list is not published |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Cheap entry ($5 to start) and a low per-transaction floor, but conversion starts at 1.15% and foreign-exchange or cross-border fees can reach 3% |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Stablecoins or fiat into a multi-currency account, and top-ups themselves are 0%, but Pay3 does not publish which coins or networks it accepts |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | A young Hong Kong company (2024), not a bank, card issued via a third party called “Third National”, no insurance, and the community footprint is very thin |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and cash withdrawals are at least possible — the strongest section of the product |
| Total | 6.3 / 10 |
The audience that this product is built for is the person who already has crypto and wants to spend it through a normal-looking Visa, including online and through a phone wallet, with a clear connection between what they hold and what they can spend. If you are that person, and you are happy to live with a fairly small, fairly new provider that is not a bank and does not insure your funds, Pay3 is at least worth a look. If you want a mature programme with published tiers, named licences, audited reserves and a long track record, you will find more reassuring options in the comparison section below.
Who will they give you the card
Pay3 is open to users outside what its card terms call “Restricted Locations”. Those are described as countries under trade sanctions, export controls, or crypto and fintech prohibitions. The company does not publish the actual list, and it says the list can change without notice. If you are a citizen, resident or user of one of those countries, you are excluded.
Two extra rules sit on top of that. To apply, you have to confirm you are not a US citizen. You also have to confirm that you are not on the OFAC sanctions list. Pay3 says both of these checks are part of the user attestation, not just an automated database lookup, so the legal weight is on you as the applicant.
There is no published country list and no list of states. That is the part that will make a careful reader uncomfortable. The same terms that exclude you for being in a restricted country also reserve the right for Pay3 to add or remove countries quietly. If your citizenship is a US one, the door is closed unless you can truthfully say otherwise. For everyone else, the basic rule is straightforward: live somewhere Pay3 has not restricted, do not appear on a sanctions list, and you can apply.
How to get it
Sign-up is built in three steps, in the app, and one identity check. You verify your identity, apply for the card, and then fund it.
The identity check itself is handled by Sumsub, a third-party verification provider that is used across the app for the account, the card and the in-app swap feature. You do it once, and the result is reused wherever Pay3 needs to know who you are. You have to be at least 18, or the legal age in your country. Sumsub’s standard checks cover an ID document, a selfie and sometimes a proof of address, and Pay3’s terms say the verification partner or your region can trigger an extra document request on top of that. If the check fails, Pay3’s terms warn that the account can be suspended.
The cards you can end up holding are a virtual card, a physical card, and the same card loaded into Apple Pay or Google Pay. Pay3 calls out that the cards are issued “under licence from Visa”, so the brand is real even if the issuer behind it is not the company you are signing up with. The card currency is not stated outright on the public pages; the only direct hint is that Pay3 charges an FX fee on non-USD spending, which implies USD is the default.
Once you are verified, a virtual card is ready straight away. The physical card arrives within 3 to 5 business days, according to the card terms. Pay3 does not publish which countries it ships to, what shipping costs, or what a replacement costs if you lose the card. The terms do say that a lost or stolen card can be replaced from inside the account and that a new card number can be issued.
There is also no public description of multiple KYC tiers. You either pass the Sumsub check or you do not; Pay3 reserves the right to ask for more documents, and the terms note that a failed KYC can lead to suspension, but the published pages do not lay out named levels, processing times or rejection reasons.
What it really costs
Pay3’s pricing has a friendly entry point and a few friendly percentages, and then a layered set of fees that depend on where and what you are spending in. There is no monthly or annual fee published, and the absence is not the same as a guarantee — fees are described as varying by card type, currency and location, so the safest read is that you should expect a moving target.
Costs at a glance
| Fee or limit | What Pay3 says |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | “starts at $5” |
| Card spend | “from $0.15 per transaction” |
| Monthly or annual fee | not stated |
| Currency conversion | “from 1.15%” |
| Foreign exchange fee (non-USD) | up to 3% |
| Cross-border fee | up to 3% |
| Foreign transaction fee | up to 3% |
| Cash advance / balance transfer | not available (card terms) |
| ATM withdrawal (physical card) | “may support” per platform terms s4.3; fee and allowance not stated |
| Spending limit | not a fixed number; equals the USD market value of your posted collateral, can be changed or set to $0 by Pay3 |
The honest reading of that table is that the headline fees are competitive, and the conditional ones stack up fast. A purchase in a foreign currency can attract the conversion fee, the FX fee and the cross-border fee in sequence, depending on how the transaction is routed. The 3% ceiling on the foreign exchange, cross-border and foreign transaction fees is a single number used in three different places in the card terms, and Pay3 does not always say which one applies in a given situation. If you spend mostly in USD, inside the country where your collateral sits, the worst of those do not bite. If you travel, shop on a non-US site or pay for a subscription priced in euros, you should assume the total fee will be a few percent of the transaction, not 1.15%.
The “from $0.15 per transaction” wording is the per-spend floor. That is the small transaction fee you pay in addition to any percentage-based fee, on each individual spend. It is easy to miss in a small purchase and noticeable on a large one only because it is layered on top of a percentage.
Two more points that matter when you read the cost section carefully. The card terms say “Cash advances and balance transfers are not available” outright. Cash at an ATM is a different story: the platform terms say physical cards “may support” ATM withdrawals, subject to partner policies, and they do not name a fee or a monthly allowance. So in practice, you can probably pull cash out with the physical card, but how much and at what price is something you will find out by trying, not by reading the fee schedule.
The spending limit is unusual and worth understanding. Pay3 is collateral-based, which means your card does not draw on a pre-loaded balance; it draws against crypto or other collateral you have posted. Your spending limit is the dollar value of that collateral, recalculated continuously. Pay3 can change that limit, up or down, with or without notice, including to zero. So the cost of using the card is not only the fees, it is the fact that your spending power is whatever your collateral is worth in that moment.
Top up
Top-up is the part Pay3 has made cheap on purpose. Adding funds to the card costs 0%, and the funding model is built on two routes: stablecoins, or fiat going into a multi-currency account. From there the card draws on the balance as you spend.

The platform shows a cash balance, a stablecoin balance and a card balance in the same view, which is helpful when you are trying to figure out where the money actually is. The minimum top-up amount is not stated on the public pages, and neither is who pays the network fee when you transfer a stablecoin in. That last point matters more than it looks: a stablecoin transfer is not free, even when the card provider charges 0%. If you send USDT on a network with high gas, the cost of the transfer is on you.
The list of supported coins and networks is not on the public pages either. Pay3 says it accepts stablecoins, but it does not name which ones, which networks they can be sent on, or which wallets it will not accept from. In practice, the safest assumption for a first-time user is to send a tiny test transfer from a wallet you control, on the network the app tells you to use, before committing a larger amount. Transfers on the wrong network are a known way to lose money, and crypto transfers in general are irreversible.
Fiat funding goes into a multi-currency account rather than straight onto the card. Pay3 does not list the supported fiat currencies or the funding methods (bank transfer, card, local payment rails). The card’s own currency is implied to be USD, and the FX fee wording assumes a non-USD spend, but the multi-currency account is described in a way that suggests it is meant to hold several currencies at once.
A small note on withdrawal, which is the mirror image of top-up. The platform says “withdrawals are available”, but the terms do not describe the process or the fees. Pay3 also warns that if your account is terminated, retrieving any residual balance can require extra verification, which is a polite way of saying it can be slow and paperwork-heavy. The combination of cheap top-ups and under-documented withdrawals is worth keeping in mind.
Paying with it every day
For everyday use, Pay3 ships the things that matter. The virtual card is ready in the app as soon as you are approved, the physical card arrives in a few business days, and both can be added to Apple Pay and Google Pay. So at the till, online, or with a phone tap, you have the same Visa acceptance you would have with a bank card.
A small but useful detail: the platform terms say physical cards may support ATM withdrawals, which means you can pull local cash if you need to, even though the card terms rule out “cash advances” in the credit-card sense. How that works in any given country depends on the partner and on Pay3’s policy, so you should not rely on it for a planned trip without testing it first.
The card terms do not list blocked merchant categories on the public pages. The platform terms do say that cash-like transactions — foreign currency, crypto, money orders — can be limited. In other words, you can use the card for most normal spending, but if you try to load it up with crypto purchases or money orders, you may run into the platform’s own guardrails.
There is no cashback programme on the published pages. The Black tier, mentioned in some of the marketing, is described by at least one third-party site as having no spend cashback; the only reward mentioned is a non-transferable P3P referral point that can be redeemed toward card issuance. That information is unofficial, and Pay3 has not confirmed it on the public pages I read. Treat it as a hint, not a fact.
The app itself is at app.pay-3.io, which is a Telegram mini app and web app rather than a native app in the Apple App Store or Google Play. Ratings and reviews for those stores are not stated. The card network rails, however, are standard Visa, so the payment experience itself should feel the same as any other Visa.
When something goes wrong with a transaction, the steps in the card terms are: try the merchant first, then open a dispute through the Pay3 account within 60 days of the charge posting. Chargebacks are handled under the card network’s rules. If a complaint is not resolved within 60 days, the remaining escalation is HKIAC arbitration in Hong Kong. That is a serious venue, not a casual one, and it tells you a little about how Pay3 expects disagreements to be settled.
What can go wrong
The clearest risk profile of Pay3 is the one that comes from the company itself, not from the card rails.
Pay3 Limited is incorporated in Hong Kong and was set up in 2024. The card terms describe the company as “a fintech company, not a bank”. The card itself is issued by an entity called “Third National” — the country is not stated, and no licence numbers are published. Pay3’s services run through licensed partner providers, and the published pages do not name which licences those partners hold or which regulators have signed off on them.
The platform is non-custodial, which is the right kind of detail to look at. Pay3 says it “does not offer custody of any digital or fiat assets”, and that only the amount needed to repay a debt is liquidated. The non-custodial model is genuinely better than a custodial one in one specific way: the platform is not holding a big pool of customer money that could be lost in a hack. The flip side is that you are entirely on your own for key management, and if you lose your seed phrase, Pay3 cannot help you.
There is no insurance or guarantee scheme described in the platform terms. So if a partner provider fails, or if a liquidation goes wrong, there is no fallback fund that will top up your balance. That is consistent with the non-custody model, but it is not a small thing to be clear-eyed about.
The community footprint is thin. I did not find a Trustpilot page for Pay3. Organic complaints are few: the ones I did see describe a card failing to open with an error and support being reachable only through a Telegram bot or the in-app help section. That is not a sign of trouble on its own, but it does mean there is no large public record of how Pay3 behaves when things go wrong.
Security features on the published pages are limited. Two-factor authentication, card freeze, and the rest of the standard safety toolkit are not listed in the platform or card terms. A “freeze” feature is common in this category, and the absence of a public mention does not prove it is missing, but it is not something you should assume is there.
There are a couple of things Pay3 does right that I want to put on the record. The platform terms include standard legal pieces — a binding arbitration clause, a governing law, a defined dispute path — which is what you want from a financial product. The KYC vendor, Sumsub, is a well-known third-party check. And the fact that the platform is non-custodial is, again, a structural advantage over older crypto cards that held customer balances centrally. The thing to be careful about is the gap between the structural design and the operational maturity. Pay3 is two years old as a company. The licence names and partners are not on the public pages. The complaints record is short. Those are not reasons to avoid the product, but they are reasons to size any exposure carefully.
A separate, smaller risk: the country list is unpublished and can change. If you are in a country Pay3 later decides to restrict, your access can be turned off with little notice, and the residual-balance retrieval process is not described. That is true of every crypto card that does not publish a country list, and it is a structural risk you should know about before you fund the card heavily.
What to take instead
If Pay3 does not quite fit, here is how the alternatives stack up. I am using the same scoring scale so the numbers are comparable. None of these is a perfect match for the Pay3 audience, but each solves a different problem that Pay3 leaves open.
Nexo — 6.3 / 10
Nexo is the closest peer in spirit. It issues a card that draws on your Nexo account, with cashback in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin if you spend in Credit Mode and hold more than $5,000 in digital assets. The basic fee structure is friendlier than Pay3’s: no monthly, annual or inactivity fee, free shipping on the physical card, and an FX fee that is 0.2% inside the EEA, UK and Switzerland on weekdays, and 2% elsewhere.
The catch is the eligibility rules. Nexo is open to residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”, with the rest of the world excluded. The country list is not on the public pages, and excluded jurisdictions are not named. There is also a 2025-era news report of a Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged sanctions and AML violations, which Nexo has not publicly addressed in a way I could find. If you are a European resident with a Nexo account, the card is a sensible, fee-light option. If you are anywhere else, the door is mostly closed.
The virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate, and the physical card requires a digital-asset balance above $5,000 and at least Gold tier. The card is issued by DiPocket UAB, and the network is Mastercard. Crypto conversion fees are not published, which is a gap if you want to know exactly what a USDT-to-EUR tap costs.
Exa — 6.2 / 10
Exa is a more geographically open option, and the one that comes closest to Pay3’s collateral-based model. Cards are issued in 45 countries including Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE, plus 31 US states. There are 18 ineligible countries including Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia. The rule is by residence.
The card is a Visa Signature. Exa markets it as free, with no amounts on the page for issuance or monthly fees, and a help-centre article on associated fees that I did not read in full. The card spends via “Pay Now” or installments against collateral, which is a closer match to how Pay3 works than to how most prepaid crypto cards do. The collateral is held in a self-custody Exa app, so you keep control of the keys until the moment of payment.
Exa’s weak spots are the missing published fee structure, the lack of a stated cashback, and the long list of restricted jurisdictions. There is also a US activation reward that pays out in XRP via Uphold, which adds an extra counterparty to the rewards path.
Cardex — 5.6 / 10
Cardex is the most permissive on geography: “one crypto card, 200+ countries”, with no published exclusions. The cards sit on Verve, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay networks, in virtual and physical form, and the App Store listing describes a Naira-priced product for the Nigerian market. The interesting feature is an “AI-powered conversion rate” that is supposed to scan global exchanges and pick the best rate at the moment of payment. The published fee is “no percentage stated”, which means the marketing-friendly version is doing the work that a fee schedule usually does.
The weak spots are the cost transparency and the network breadth: more networks sounds good until you realise some of them (Verve, UnionPay) have very limited acceptance outside specific regions. The funding is USDT, USDC and BTC, but the networks and the fees are not on the public pages. The 5.6 score reflects that the product is real and the geographic promise is wide, but the cost story is too thin to recommend without testing it.
How they compare
| Card | Score | Open to | Network | Card type | Headline fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pay3 | 6.3 / 10 | Outside “Restricted Locations” (list not published) | Visa | Virtual, physical, Apple/Google Pay | From 1.15% conversion; FX/cross-border up to 3% |
| Nexo | 6.3 / 10 | Selected EEA and UK (list not published) | Mastercard | Virtual, physical | FX 0.2% EEA/UK on weekdays, 2% elsewhere |
| Exa | 6.2 / 10 | 45 countries, 31 US states; 18 ineligible | Visa Signature | Virtual, plus physical availability varies | Marketed free; detailed fees not on page |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | “200+ countries”; no published list | Verve, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay | Virtual and physical | Not published |
The honest summary is that the choice depends on where you live, what networks you need, and how much fee transparency matters to you. Nexo is the cheapest if you are in its covered region. Exa is the best fit if you are outside Europe and want a collateral-based model with Visa acceptance. Cardex is the most permissive on geography but the least transparent on cost.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Pay3 to a fairly specific reader. If you are outside the United States, you have crypto or stablecoins you actually want to spend rather than hold, and you want a card that connects spending to a collateral balance rather than to a pre-loaded fiat pot, Pay3 is a reasonable place to start. The mobile wallet support is real, the virtual card is instant, the issuance fee is low, and the top-up fee is zero. The non-custodial design is the right kind of structural choice for a product in this category.
I would not recommend Pay3 as your only card, and I would not load it heavily. The company is two years old, the issuer and the licences are not named on the public pages, the country list is unpublished, and there is no insurance or guarantee scheme. If a partner provider failed or Pay3 decided to tighten access in your country, your ability to retrieve balances quickly is not described. Use the card for everyday spending in size you are comfortable losing, and keep the bulk of your assets somewhere with a longer track record.
If you are a US citizen, the door is closed unless you can truthfully declare otherwise. If you need a card that publishes a fee schedule, an issuer and a regulator, look at Nexo in Europe, Exa in Latin America, Africa and parts of Asia, or a more established programme. If you want maximum geographic reach and are willing to test costs as you go, Cardex is the most permissive option, with the usual caveats about transparency.
The short version: Pay3 is a young, structurally sound product with real gaps in disclosure, and the right way to use it is the way you would use any small fintech in a category with a history of programmes closing — small exposure, fast testing, and an exit plan.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Pay3 card?
Pay3 is a crypto-funded Visa card from Pay3 Limited, a Hong Kong fintech incorporated in 2024. It comes as a virtual card, a physical card and as a tokenised card in Apple Pay or Google Pay, and it spends against collateral you post rather than from a pre-loaded fiat balance.
How does the Pay3 card work?
You verify your identity once in the Pay3 app, apply for the card, and fund it with stablecoins or with fiat into a multi-currency account. The card’s spending limit tracks the dollar value of the collateral you have posted, recalculated as prices move, and you spend in fiat at the point of sale or online.
Is Pay3 a bank?
No. The card terms describe Pay3 as a fintech company, not a bank. The card itself is issued by an entity called “Third National”, and Pay3’s services run through licensed partner providers, whose names and licence numbers are not on the public pages.
Who owns Pay3?
Pay3 Limited is the operating company, incorporated in Hong Kong in 2024. Ownership and investor information are not published on the pages I read, and the company does not list parent entities on the card or platform terms.
Is the Pay3 card available in my country?
Pay3 says it is open to users outside “Restricted Locations”, which it describes as countries under trade sanctions, export controls, or crypto and fintech prohibitions. The actual country list is not published, and Pay3 reserves the right to change it without notice. US citizens are excluded unless they can truthfully declare otherwise.
How do I apply for the Pay3 card?
You apply in the Pay3 app. The process is: verify your identity through Sumsub, apply for the card, and fund it. Identity is checked once and reused across the card, the account and the in-app swap feature, and you have to be at least 18 or the legal age in your country.
Does the Pay3 card require KYC?
Yes. The platform runs a Sumsub identity check that covers an ID document, a selfie and sometimes a proof of address. If the check fails, Pay3’s terms say the account can be suspended. The platform does not describe multiple KYC tiers or named rejection reasons on its public pages.
How do I top up the Pay3 card?
You top up by sending stablecoins to the address shown in the app, or by funding a multi-currency account with fiat. Top-ups are 0% according to the platform, but the blockchain network fee is paid by you, and the supported coins and networks are not listed on the public pages. Send a small test amount first if the network is not specified.
How do I add the Pay3 card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
Once the card is issued, the Pay3 app exposes a tokenisation flow that adds the card to Apple Pay and Google Pay in the same way as any other Visa. The physical card can also be tokenised, and you can hold it on a phone in addition to or instead of the plastic.
Is the Pay3 card safe?
Pay3 is non-custodial, which means the platform does not hold your crypto in a pooled balance, and only the amount needed to settle a debt is liquidated. The flip side is that there is no insurance or guarantee scheme, the company is two years old, the issuer and partner licences are not named, and the community footprint is thin. Treat it as a small-balance card, not a primary one.
How credit and cashback cards work – cryptocardsexplained.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team
