A Visa card app whose public pages leave most of the practical details unsaid

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you have been looking for a way to spend a crypto balance like ordinary money in a shop, the SkyDAO card presents itself as exactly that: a Visa card linked to the SkyDAO wallet, ordered from inside an app, usable with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and with ATM withdrawals. On paper it ticks the boxes many crypto cards promise. The problem I ran into while checking it is not that what is promised is bad — it is that almost none of the practical detail is published. Issuance fees, monthly fees, conversion costs, spending limits, delivery time, accepted countries, the issuer’s name, the licence: the card’s own public pages leave these unstated. For someone like me, who already holds a wallet and simply wants a card that works, that is a serious gap. For someone who cannot get an ordinary bank card, the picture may look different, and I say more about that below.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
SkyDAO works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.3 out of 10, and the reason is what is missing

SkyDAO scores 5.3 / 10. That is a middle mark, and it is not a verdict on the idea — it is a verdict on what the card has chosen to publish. Where the card is concrete, it is genuinely good: a physical Visa ordered in the app, mobile wallets, ATM withdrawals, a multichain transfer from wallet to card. Where you would expect a fee schedule, a country list, a licence name, or even a support channel, the pages stay silent.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up SkyDAO starts with a transfer to the right network

Who does it suit? In my view, wallet users who already hold crypto and want a physical Visa with ATM access, and who are comfortable confirming details themselves with support before committing money. Who does it suit less? Anyone who needs a predictable cost per purchase, a written statement of which countries are accepted, or a named regulated issuer before they move funds — that is most people reading a card review. And if you cannot get a normal bank card, a card whose fees and eligibility are not published is a harder sell, not an easier one, because you will have fewer alternatives to fall back on.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Countries are not named on the readable pages
Cost 5 / 10 Issuance, fees and servicing are not disclosed
Top-up options 5 / 10 Transfer from wallet to card, multichain; coins and networks not named
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 SKYDAO TRUST LTD, country of registration, issuer and licences not named; no complaints or reviews found, too few App Store ratings for a rating
Everyday use 8 / 10 Physical Visa ordered in the app, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals; virtual card not disclosed
Total 5.3 / 10 A usable concept held back by what is not published

The Everyday use mark is the one high score in the table, and it deserves a word. Spending from a crypto balance with a physical Visa and phone wallets is the part of the product that actually works for a daily routine. It is not an accident that this is where the card is most concrete.

Who will they give you the card

Here I have to be blunt: the countries are not stated on the pages I could read. Starting data in earlier material said the card was available worldwide except for 49 restricted countries, but that is not confirmed here, so I will not repeat it as fact. Which documents you need to prove who you are is also not stated. Nothing on identity-check levels is published either.

This matters more than it might look. KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk as part of anti-money-laundering law, and in the EU that due diligence covers your name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US, customer identification requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. Your nationality is screened separately from your address because sanctions screening is often applied to citizenship and country of birth, not just where you live. All of that is standard; what is not standard is a provider that never tells you which country list it is applying. If your nationality is the reason you are looking at a crypto card in the first place, you need that answer in writing before you apply, not after.

How to get it

The process the card describes is short: download the SkyDAO app, complete identity verification, and apply for a physical card online. The card is a Visa linked to the SkyDAO wallet; the physical version is ordered online in the app, and value moves from the wallet to the card. Once your order is placed, the card is shipped to your specified address. The currency of the card is not stated. The delivery time and delivery cost are not stated either — which, for a card you may be waiting weeks to use, is not a small detail.

There is also a virtual card in circulation as a concept, but whether one is issued, and on what terms, is not disclosed. So the honest summary of the sign-up flow is: app, verification, in-app order, shipment — and then silence on the practicalities you would want to plan around.

Fees: what it really costs, and why I cannot total it up

I want to be careful here. This is the section you most wanted, and it is the one the card leaves most empty. The costs table below shows every fee and limit the public pages disclose — which is to say, it shows where the value is not stated.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a SkyDAO payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the pages say
Issuance fee not stated
Monthly fee not stated
Conversion fee not stated
Foreign exchange (FX) fee not stated
ATM withdrawal fee ATM withdrawals available; fee and allowance not stated
Daily limits not stated (App Store text mentions only that the VIP service offers “higher limits”)
Monthly limits not stated
Card currency not stated
Tiers not stated beyond a “VIP service” for high-value users — priority access, dedicated support, higher limits (developer claim)

Let me walk three everyday payments through this, because the shape of the missing information matters more than the missing numbers.

A coffee at a local café in your own country. This is the payment the card should handle most cleanly: the balance is already in the card’s currency, so there may be no conversion at all. What you cannot tell from the pages is what the merchant or the network might still charge, or whether a per-transaction minimum or maximum exists that would decline a small purchase.

A subscription bought online in a different currency. Here a conversion and possibly an FX fee would apply, and both are unstated. This is the payment where the absence of numbers hurts most, because the same subscription can cost meaningfully more or less depending on the spread. Online payments can also trigger 3-D Secure, Visa’s name for an identity step on online card payments where the issuer either approves silently or challenges you with a one-time code or biometric.

A withdrawal at a cash machine abroad. You will almost certainly be hit by the ATM fee and a currency conversion, and you may be charged by the machine’s owner as well. The card says ATM withdrawals are available; it does not say what they cost, how many you get, or whether the per-withdrawal and monthly caps would apply. Address verification can matter here too: the AVS system compares parts of the billing address you type with issuer records, and it is mostly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, so a foreign-issued card can be declined where it is offered.

There is one more category fact worth holding: the network fees for depositing on-chain are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. So even a “free” top-up is not free if the underlying transfer costs gas.

How to top it up

Topping up works by transferring from your wallet to the card, and the app describes it as multichain. The App Store text frames it as a unified account for fiat and digital assets. But the coins and networks are not listed, and neither are the top-up fees or minimums. Whether you can withdraw money out of the account is not stated either.

That combination — a transfer-based model with an unnamed set of networks — puts the burden on you to get the network right. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. It is also worth knowing that a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send on Ethereum, because gas is paid only in ETH; on Tron, fees are paid via bandwidth and energy and often burn TRX. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option today.

Because no networks are named, my advice is plain: before your first transfer, confirm with support which chain your balance lives on and which chain you should send on. Do not guess from a coin’s name.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, this is the card’s strongest suit, and it is why I gave Everyday use 8 out of 10. You order a physical Visa in the app, add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and spend from your wallet balance. ATM withdrawals are available. That is a complete everyday toolkit, and it is the toolkit most people actually need.

Two things are not stated. Which merchant categories are blocked is not published. And the rewards or cashback picture is not stated — so if you are choosing a card because of what it pays back, there is nothing here to weigh. If a category you use is blocked, you would find out at the till.

On the wallet side, Apple Pay and Google Pay support is the modern way to pay and carries real advantages: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. You can also add the app itself: it is an iPhone and iPad app, free, rated 18+, version 2.4.8 from October 10, in English plus Bengali, French, German, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Simplified Chinese, Spanish, Thai, Traditional Chinese, Ukrainian and Vietnamese. That is a long language list for a young app, and it hints at who it is built for.

One caveat on that app listing, and it is a fair one: it “hasn’t received enough ratings or reviews to display an overview” as of 21 October 2026 in the Canadian storefront. There is not enough public feedback to rate this card on reputation alone. Google Play was not checked.

What can go wrong

The honest answer to “is SkyDAO card safe” has two halves, and both should be stated.

The first half is the category risk every crypto card carries. A crypto card is typically a prepaid instrument: crypto is converted and loaded as a fiat balance, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw — that is a real convenience. But a prepaid card draws on a stored balance rather than on a bank account, and merchants can decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and the country of the issuer. For your part, control of the crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust them completely; with a self-custody card your funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, but you bear sole responsibility for key loss, phishing, and clipboard malware that swaps copied addresses. Transfers are irreversible, and a stolen key has no recovery path — the network cannot freeze or return the funds. The record is not abstract: custodial platforms have failed, including Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million in 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million in 2022).

The second half is what is specific to SkyDAO, and it is thin. The company details are not published: the site mentions “Hong Kong — regional access, United States — global standards, Licence” without naming a licence, and the App Store seller is SKYDAO TRUST LTD (developer “SkydaoTrust”). The registered country, the issuer and the licence names are not stated. I could not find a Trustpilot page for SkyDAO itself, and I found no complaints or reviews to weigh; one Trustpilot page for a different-looking business was ambiguous and I have not counted it. The developer claims encryption and multi-layer risk controls in the App Store text — I did not verify these. Support is “dedicated” for VIP only (a developer claim), and the help centre at skydao.zendesk.com is closed. Support channels and hours are not stated.

What does that absence of a named issuer mean in practice? It is worth remembering that a card involves several parties: the network (Visa) routes messages and sets the rules, the issuer (a bank or e-money institution licensed under the network’s licence) holds the programme, and the crypto brand is often just the programme manager or front end. If you cannot tell who the issuer is, you cannot tell which regulator’s rules, which safeguarding regime, and which dispute rights apply to you. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued programmes, and Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022. Programme closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. None of this is a prediction about SkyDAO. It is the reason I would not put a large balance on a card whose issuer I cannot name.

What to take instead

Here is how the alternatives compare, with the same eye on what each one does and does not publish. None of these is a recommendation to you; it is a comparison of what is knowable.

Card Score Card and where it works Cost and fees Funding Rewards
SkyDAO 5.3 / 10 Physical Visa linked to wallet; Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATM; virtual not disclosed Not stated Transfer from wallet, multichain; coins and networks not named Not stated
Stella 6.5 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa; “over 40 million VISA merchants globally” Not stated; fees said to be in the User Agreement and/or the app Deposit crypto into the account, which auto-tops-up the card (custodial in-app wallet) No cashback stated on the card page; a separate Earn product is yield
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Visa, works anywhere Visa is accepted; virtual/physical type not stated “No extra fees”; no issuance or monthly amounts listed Spends from a Whop balance; backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet (coins and networks not stated) 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber
UniFi Card 4.7 / 10 “Prepaid Debit Visa Card” issued by Lead Bank; Apple Pay; USD balance “Fees may apply”; not stated ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE); can be paid into a USDC wallet “3% rewards on balances”; card cashback not stated

A few honest observations on each.

Stella is the highest-scoring of the four, at 6.5, and its structure is the most conventional: deposit crypto, the account tops the card up automatically. Its official site does not name the countries, and its terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates — so again, the country question needs asking.

Whop Cards publishes the most concrete eligibility of any of them: 31 US states for consumers (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming) and 41 states for businesses; consumer countries not supported include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. Whether eligibility runs on citizenship or residence is not stated. It also names 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber.

UniFi Card is the most transparent about its rails: a prepaid Visa issued by Lead Bank, funded by ACH, wire, SEPA or SPEI, spending from a USDC wallet. It is also the most geographically specific — the App Store lists send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico, the eurozone and the UK, with Colombia, Brazil and the UK in recent release notes. Its cost line is “fees may apply”.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend SkyDAO to someone who already has crypto in a wallet, wants a physical Visa with Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM access, and is willing to ask support the three questions the pages leave open — what it costs per transaction and per month, which countries are accepted, and who the issuer and licence are — before committing money. If those answers come back clearly, the everyday-use score suggests the card does its day job well.

I would not recommend it, for now, to someone who needs a written cost per purchase, who is deciding between cards on the basis of fees, or who needs to know today whether their nationality or country of residence is accepted. Nor would I put a large balance on it while the issuer’s name and licence are unstated, given what closure of a card programme looks like for the person holding the balance.

Frequently asked questions

What is the SkyDAO card?

SkyDAO is a Visa payment card linked to the SkyDAO crypto wallet. You move value from your wallet to the card and then spend it like an ordinary card, in stores, online, through Apple Pay and Google Pay, or at an ATM. The physical card is ordered online inside the app. A virtual card is mentioned in some listings, but the card’s public pages do not set out its terms in full.

How does the SkyDAO card work?

The card works on a pre-loaded balance model: you convert or transfer a balance first, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. In practice you transfer from your wallet to the card, the provider holds the card programme, and Visa routes the payments. What is not stated anywhere public is which coins and networks the transfer uses, or in which currency the card holds its balance.

Is SkyDAO a bank?

On the evidence I could read, no — or at least, it does not describe itself as one. The App Store seller is SKYDAO TRUST LTD, and the site refers to Hong Kong regional access, United States global standards and a licence, without naming a licence or an issuing bank. A card is normally issued by a licensed bank or e-money institution while the crypto brand manages the programme, so the absence of a named issuer is the gap worth pressing on.

Who owns SkyDAO?

The app is published by SKYDAO TRUST LTD, under the developer name SkydaoTrust, and the company site groups the business under Hong Kong and the United States. The registered country, the parent structure, the issuer and the licence are all not stated on the pages I could read. That is not evidence of a problem; it is simply an unanswered question, and it is one you can ask.

Does the SkyDAO card require KYC?

Yes, identity verification is part of applying: the card says to download the app and complete identity verification to apply for a physical card online. What documents are required is not stated, and neither are the verification levels. Note that this is ordinary practice — regulated businesses must verify customers under anti-money-laundering law, and in the EU that includes a sanctions check and a politically exposed person check.

Is the SkyDAO card free?

Nobody can tell you from the public pages. The issuance fee, the monthly fee, the conversion fee and the foreign exchange fee are all not stated. The only cost-adjacent line is that the app offers a “VIP service” with priority access, dedicated support and higher limits. Before you order, ask what the card costs to issue and to keep.

How do I top up the SkyDAO card?

You transfer from your wallet to the card, and the card says the transfer is multichain. Coins and networks are not listed, and top-up fees and minimums are not stated. That means you should confirm the correct network with support before your first transfer, because blockchain transfers are irreversible and a deposit on a wrong or unsupported network can be lost.

Can I use the SkyDAO card in my country?

I cannot answer that, and neither can the pages I read — the list of countries is not stated. What is true is that using a card abroad brings two extra risks: the issuer’s country can make the card look “foreign” to merchants and lead to extra scrutiny, and address verification, which is offered mainly in the US, Canada and the UK, can be unavailable for a foreign-issued card and cause declines. Ask support for your country in writing first.

Is the SkyDAO card safe?

The category risk is known: crypto cards are typically prepaid, custodial or self-custody, and either way you are trusting an issuer and a platform whose licences you should be able to name. Card programmes have been closed before, and users are then asked to withdraw remaining balances. For SkyDAO specifically, the issuer and licence are not stated and I found no public reviews to lean on, so I would verify these things myself before depositing more than I would mind losing.

Does the SkyDAO card have cashback or rewards?

Nothing is stated. No cashback rate, no rewards programme, no merchant categories are published. The only related mention is that a “VIP service” for high-value users offers priority access, dedicated support and higher limits, which is a developer’s own claim. If the reward is the reason you are comparing cards, treat this as a zero until support puts it in writing.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team