The BitMart card is winding down, here is what to do about it
The BitMart card is no longer a card you can sign up for. The exchange announced a phased shutdown in July 2026, with trading for general users ending on 26 August 2026 and full platform operations planned to wind down by 31 January 2027. If you are reading this trying to decide whether to apply, the decision is already made for you. If you are reading this because you already hold a BitMart card and some crypto balance, the decision is urgent. This review walks through what changed, what the card actually was while it ran, what can go wrong now, and which cards replace it.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The BitMart card earns 3.7 out of 10 in my review, and the headline number only matters once you understand the context. The platform is shutting down, so a fresh applicant cannot get the card at all. Existing cardholders are watching the same exchange that holds their card balance prepare to close its doors. That is why “who can get it” scored zero, and why reliability scored one.
Who it suits, in the current state of things: nobody new. The card programme is closed to new applications, and the underlying platform is in wind-down.
Who it does not suit, and this is the harder case: people who already have a BitMart card with a non-trivial crypto balance should not treat the card as their everyday spending tool, because the issuer of the card and the legal entity behind it are not publicly named, the platform’s wind-down timeline is tight, and a meaningful share of user reviews on Trustpilot (2.3 out of 5 from 2,915 reviews, read 2026-10-20) describe withdrawal delays, frozen accounts and unresponsive support that have only got worse since the announcement.
If you are a current cardholder trying to get your balance out cleanly, the rest of this page is for you. If you are shopping for a crypto Visa, the alternatives section is.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0 / 10 | Platform winding down: 26 July phased shutdown, trading to 26 August, platform operations to 31 January 2027; not confirmed for new applications on official pages |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Issuance: Virtual 0 USD, plastic 70 USD, Platinum 120 USD; 0 annual fee, 1.3% transaction fee, 2% or 1.5% ATM |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON, BNB from BitMart balance; networks not stated |
| Reliability and complaints | 1 / 10 | Platform shutdown, withdrawal delays, Trustpilot 2.3/5 from 2,915 reviews, support going silent; issuer not named |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual, plastic and metal Visa, Google Pay for virtual, ATM on physical; Apple Pay not mentioned |
| Total | 3.7 / 10 |
The audience note that drives my verdict: existing cardholders withdrawing their BitMart balance. The card was, by design, tied to the exchange balance. That design is now the problem.
What happened to the programme
The card itself was a Visa with three tiers. Virtual was free to issue and stayed on your phone; the BitMart Card was a plastic Visa for 70 USD; the Platinum was a metal Visa for 120 USD. All three settled in USD, charged 0 in annual fees, took 1.3% on each transaction, and converted your crypto balance to USD at the moment of purchase.
What it was, briefly:
- A Visa, in virtual, plastic, and metal (Platinum) versions
- A KYC Level 2 requirement, with extra documents and proof of address possible
- Settled in USD, with the balance converted to USD in real time at purchase
- Transaction fee 1.3% on every type
- Issuance: Virtual 0 USD, plastic 70 USD, Platinum 120 USD; 0 annual fee on all three
- Cashback rates as stated on the official card page: 4.0% on online shopping in the first month for new users, 3.5% from month two; 5.5% on grocery and dining in the first month, 5.0% from month two. The asset cashback is paid in was not stated on the card page.
The country list was not stated on the card page itself. The official wording was that “all BitMart users can apply” and that the card worked at Visa merchants worldwide. Unofficial coverage from the September 2025 launch reporting (Blocktempo, ChainCatcher) put the number at 115+ countries and regions. A February 2026 third-party listing (CryptoCardHub) had 183 available and 10 restricted countries, including the US, UK, Netherlands, Russia and Ukraine. A U.Today piece, by contrast, said the card expanded to all 50 US states in early 2026, which contradicts the restricted list. None of this is confirmed by the card’s own pages, and you should not rely on third-party country lists for a closed programme.
The iOS app, where the card lives, holds a 2.9 out of 5 rating from roughly 3,500 US ratings as of 2026-10-20, and its interface is available in Russian, Turkish and Ukrainian among other languages.
The programme was promoted with higher cashback headlines on third-party sites: “up to 5.5%” (U.Today), “1–10% by tier and merchant” (ChainCatcher), and “1–3.5% standard, up to 10% in promotions” (CryptoCardHub). None of these were confirmed on the official card page at the time the card was running, and they should be treated as unofficial figures, not as a promise of what you would have earned.
What the card did not tell you, and what mattered most in hindsight: the issuer bank, the legal entity behind the card, and the licences it operated under were not stated on the card page. That is a meaningful gap. Crypto cards are typically issued by a licensed bank or electronic money institution; the crypto brand is usually a programme manager, not the issuer. When the issuer is not named, you cannot look up the regulator, the licence number or the deposit safeguarding regime. You also cannot tell, in the event of a problem, which entity you actually have a contract with.
The shutdown timeline
The card stopped being a product the day the platform did. BitMart announced a phased closure in two stages:
- 23 July 2026: a separate notice for identified US users
- 26 July 2026: first-stage restrictions on new activity
- 26 August 2026: deadline for general users to complete verification, close positions and submit withdrawal requests
- 31 January 2027: planned end of trading-platform operations
The founder publicly denied misappropriating user funds (Forklog). No official regulatory action was named in the public material I could read, but the timeline itself is enough to plan around.
The app’s Trustpilot presence sits at 2.3 out of 5 from 2,915 reviews, with 66 in the last 12 months, read 2026-10-20. Common themes in recent reviews: withdrawals blocked or failed after the wind-down announcement (3 September, 18 September, 9 October, 11 October 2026), support silent for a week to a month (August and September 2026), deposits not credited or still accepted after suspension (August 2026, October 2026), and a few users saying they had not received a direct notice of closure (September and October 2026). One review reported around 280,000 USD blocked, and another described a Hungarian company with roughly 80,000 USD unreleased since 26 July. Fraud allegations surfaced in the reviews but were unverified. None of the complaints I saw were specifically about the card product, but they describe the institution that held the balance behind the card.
If you already have the card
This is the section to read carefully, because the card’s design still applies to your situation even though the programme is closing. The card is custodial. That is the most important sentence in this review. Your crypto sits in your BitMart exchange account, the card is tied to that balance, and at the moment of purchase the platform converts the crypto to USD and pays the merchant. There is no card balance separate from the exchange, and there is no way to “move the card to another exchange” without first getting your crypto out.
What the card let you do while it was running, so you know what you have lost and what is still possible:
- ATM withdrawals, but only on physical cards. Virtual card: no ATM. BitMart Card: 2% withdrawal fee. Platinum: 1.5% fee. A banner on the homepage mentioned fee-free ATM “up to 1000U” (200 to 1,000 USD per month free, 2% after); the conditions were not spelled out, and this is something to confirm in-app if you still rely on it. Only ATMs with the Visa logo work.
- Daily spending limits: Virtual 10,000 USD, BitMart Card 50,000 USD, Platinum unlimited. Monthly limits: not stated on the card page. Unofficial coverage at launch said transactions above 250,000 USD would undergo security review, and that ATM withdrawals per year were unlimited, but neither figure was on the official card page.
- Funding: you kept crypto in your BitMart account and the card paid from that. Supported assets were USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON, BNB. The networks you can send these on were not listed on the card page, which is a real risk when the platform is asking you to withdraw.
- Virtual card could be added to Google Pay. Apple Pay was not mentioned.
- Cashback paid in an asset the page did not name.
- Disputes and chargebacks: no dispute or chargeback section on the card page. That is not unusual for crypto cards, but it is worth knowing.
- Support: not stated on the card page; the help centre sits at bitmart.zendesk.com, and “support.bitmart.com” redirects there.
What this means in practice. The card does not hold a balance you can extract directly. The only realistic path off the platform is the same path any BitMart user has: complete verification, close positions, submit a withdrawal request before 26 August 2026 (if you are a general user), and wait. After 31 January 2027 the platform operations end, which means whatever is still in your account at that point is governed by whatever residual arrangement BitMart has made for outstanding balances. I am not going to tell you that everything will be paid out on time. The Trustpilot picture suggests delays and silent support are the experience for a non-trivial minority of users in the wind-down.
If you have a meaningful balance, the right time to act was 26 August 2026. The next-best time is now. Withdraw in smaller chunks rather than one large transfer, because partial approvals and per-transaction reviews are common during platform closures, and a single failed large withdrawal can lock up everything until support replies. Send to a self-custody wallet you control, not to another exchange you also have to verify, because the second KYC round adds time you may not have.
A practical note on networks: the card page did not list which networks you can withdraw each asset on. Before you send, confirm the network in your BitMart withdrawal screen, and confirm the network on the receiving end. Sending USDT on the wrong network is a common way to lose funds permanently, and the support response time right now is not what you want it to be. Self-custody means you hold the seed phrase; the private key belongs to you, and you do not depend on a custodian to process your withdrawal. Keep that phrase offline.
If you are reading this and you do not have a self-custody wallet yet, a hardware wallet is the safer option, and software wallets from reputable vendors are the lighter option. Either way, set it up before you withdraw, not after, so you are not rushing a transfer under time pressure.
What can go wrong
The risks fall into three groups: the card product’s design, the platform’s shutdown, and the gap between them.
The card was custodial and undocumented
The card page did not name the issuer, the legal entity, or the licences. That is not a complaint unique to BitMart, but it is a complaint worth making. Without the issuer, you cannot look up the regulator, you cannot check the licence status, and you cannot tell which jurisdiction’s deposit-safeguarding rules, if any, apply to your balance. The card also had no published dispute or chargeback process, so if a transaction goes wrong, the only address is the same support queue that is currently silent for some users.
There was no published security policy on the card page either. The card page did not mention 2FA enforcement, an in-app freeze, spending controls or insurance, even though those are the standard safeguards in this category. You could be running a card that did not have 2FA turned on by default, and you would not know from the page. Check the app now.
The platform is closing
The wind-down timeline gives general users until 26 August 2026 to submit withdrawal requests, with platform operations planned to end on 31 January 2027. The risks during a platform closure are well-rehearsed by the category: withdrawals delayed for review (KYC, source of funds, address ownership, Travel Rule, sanctions), support volume spikes, deposits still accepted for a window after suspension, and a non-trivial chance of a partial payout rather than a full one. One 2026 closure of an unrelated programme, reported by a single secondary source, gave a month between new-load end and spending end (8 July 2026 to 8 August 2026); I mention it only as a sense of the kind of cadence exchanges run on, not as a confirmed BitMart schedule.
A specific warning that keeps coming up in 2026 reviews: deposits not credited or still accepted after suspension, and users reporting they had not received a direct notice of closure. If you are waiting for an email and have not seen one, do not assume your account is exempt. Check the announcements in-app and the official announcement page yourself.
Complaints during the wind-down
The Trustpilot picture, as of 2026-10-20, is the most concrete evidence of how the closure is being experienced. The exchange sits at 2.3 out of 5 from 2,915 reviews, with 66 in the last 12 months. The themes are consistent with the rest of this section: withdrawals blocked or failed after the announcement, support silent for a week to a month, deposits not credited or accepted after suspension, no direct closure notice in some cases, and a handful of fraud allegations that are unverified. The reviews are not a court record, and they over-represent unhappy users, but the volume and the consistency of themes are hard to ignore. No card-specific complaints surfaced; the issues are at the platform layer, which is the same layer your card balance sits on.
A small note on third-party reward figures that float around the card. Unofficial sources have put the cashback at “up to 5.5%”, “1–10% by tier and merchant” and “1–3.5% standard, up to 10% in promotions”. The official page’s stated rates were narrower than those headlines, and the asset paid out was not named. If you were promised a rate by support or by a promotion you cannot find documented on the card page, do not treat it as a guaranteed future payout during the wind-down.
What to take instead
The card market has moved on since the BitMart card launched. None of the alternatives I list below are a perfect swap; the closest analogues are crypto Visa or Mastercard programmes whose card balance is funded from a custodial exchange account, so they inherit the same custodial trade-off. Two of the three below are still operating.
A quick note on the scoring: MSX scored 6.4 out of 10 in my earlier review, Bybit Card scored 6.0, and MEXC scored 5.6. The detail that follows is from the same research, and where the card page did not state a fact, I have said so. Do not assume the silence is a “yes”.
MSX
- Score: 6.4 / 10
- Who can get it: not stated on an official page I could read
- Card type: not stated officially
- Cost: not stated
- Transaction fees: not stated
- Funding: not stated
- Rewards: not stated
MSX is the hardest of the three to describe, because almost nothing is on a public page I could read. The score reflects the public information gap rather than a known product. If you are considering MSX, ask the operator for the issuer, the legal entity, the supported countries, the funding assets, the fees, and the dispute process, in writing, before you move any balance across.
Bybit Card
- Score: 6.0 / 10
- Who can get it: card regions in the official help centre are Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, and Asia Pacific. The application asks for country of residence; if the country is not supported, Bybit says it will register your interest. The cards page says: “This product is not meant for European Economic Area customers. All European Area customer participation is strictly prohibited.” Bybit’s fiat-service restricted list (which covers deposits, withdrawals and One-Click Buy rather than the card specifically) includes Belarus, Russia, Serbia, China and the United States, and says “Russian users can only make RUB transaction in Fiat”. There is no card-specific statement on Russian or Belarusian citizens, and no citizenship-versus-residence rule I could find. The card currency depends on the country in your Advanced Identity Verification.
- Card type: virtual and physical cards. A virtual card must be obtained first; physical cards are not available in Peru and were rolled out in phases. Networks: Argentina Mastercard prepaid; AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico “Mastercard credit card” as written in the table; Brazil and Peru Visa prepaid; Asia Pacific Visa credit. Card fiat currency: USD for AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia and Asia Pacific; ARS in Argentina; MXN in Mexico; BRL in Brazil; PEN or USD in Peru. Validity: 3 years in AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Asia Pacific and Australia; 6 years in Argentina; 5 years in Brazil, Mexico and Peru.
- Cost: virtual card issuance is free in all regions “until further notice”; no annual or cancellation fee with a value. Physical card issuance or replacement: Australia 29.99 USD; Argentina 5 USD or USDT; Georgia 29.99 USDT; Kazakhstan (AIFC) 29.99 USDT; Asia Pacific 5 USDT; Brazil and Mexico free; VIPs holding an Australia, Kazakhstan (AIFC), Georgia or Asia Pacific physical card pay no issuance or replacement fee. The cards page says “Auto interest, no annual fees”.
- Fees: crypto conversion fee 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate (Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Brazil, Mexico), 0.5% in Argentina, not supported in Peru. FX fee 2% on top of the network rate (Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, Mexico); Kazakhstan (AIFC) 2% “International Fee” on purchases outside Kazakhstan even in USD; Argentina 7%; Brazil 1.5%; Peru 1%. FX padding 0% (Australia group, Mexico), 5% in Argentina, 1% in Brazil, with the excess refunded. Argentina taxes: VAT 21% on foreign digital services, 30% tax on foreign transactions, provincial gross-income tax 1%–13.2%.
- Funding: the card has no balance of its own; it draws on the Funding Account and the Flexible Easy Earn balance, fiat first; if fiat is insufficient, crypto is sold at the One-Click Sell exchange rate plus the Bybit Card crypto conversion fee. Supported cryptos: BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC, GRAM. Default priority USDT > USDC > GRAM > BTC > ETH > XRP, reorderable in the Card Dashboard. The Funding Account is topped up with Buy Crypto or by depositing crypto from other wallets.
- Rewards: from 5 October 2026 at 10:00 UTC, only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback; fiat-funded spending does not. Tiers, with rate, monthly cashback cap and monthly spend to unlock for non-VIP, are: Base 2.00%, 5 USD, 0; Beta 2%, 50 USD, 500 USD; Alpha 4%, 150 USD, 3,500 USD; Apex 6%, 250 USD, 9,500 USD; Omega 8%, 400 USD, 12,500 USD; Infinite 10%, 600 USD, 25,000 USD. Points are pending for 4 calendar days; cashback is in USDT and equals points multiplied by 0.002; Auto Cashback must be on. Pay Later instalment bonus gives an extra 1%. The welcome offer is 10% cashback up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days; VIPs and Alpha and above get “100% cashback on must-have subscriptions”; the referral bonus is 20 USDT for the referrer and 10 USDT for the referee.
Bybit Card is the most feature-rich of the three. The EEA is firmly out, and several large countries are not in the card programme even where they are on Bybit’s fiat-service list. The EEA prohibition is a hard line, not a soft one, and the card-currency mismatch is a real expense if you spend in a currency that is not your card’s base.
MEXC
- Score: 5.6 / 10
- Who can get it: the page lists “The Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand…” with a Details link; the full list is not shown
- Card type: virtual only; physical cards are not yet available; the network and card currency are not stated
- Cost: issuance fee 20 USD, with the page possibly showing a 0 USD discounted price next to it; service fee 0%; fees vary by card type per a linked guide. Monthly fee: not stated.
- Transaction fees: not stated (crypto conversion and FX are not on the page; the linked guide was not read)
- Funding: USDT is transferred to the Fiat account and then added on the My MEXC Card page; networks are not stated
- Rewards: cashback by M-Score tier, paid by the 15th of the next month: Standard 4% with a 100 USDT cap per month; Premier (600–799) 6% with a 300 USDT cap; Elite (800+) 10% with an 800 USDT cap. Referral: 20 USDT for the referrer, 10 USDT for the referee.
MEXC is the simplest of the three in design but also the thinnest on the page. The fact that the fees and the card currency are not on the page is itself a warning: you should not move a balance based on a reward rate without knowing the spread, the FX padding and the ATM fees. Ask the operator for those numbers in writing before you sign up.
A note on self-custody cards
A different design exists, in which the card is funded from a wallet you hold the keys to, rather than from an exchange account. I have not listed a specific self-custody card in the table above, because the BitMart card was explicitly custodial, and the comparison that matters most to a current BitMart cardholder is between other custodial exchange-backed cards. Self-custody cards shift the security burden onto you, the user, which is the right trade-off for some people and the wrong one for others. If the BitMart wind-down has made you cautious about custodians, that is a reasonable reaction, and a self-custody card is a category worth researching on its own terms.
Who I would recommend it to
The honest answer is: I do not recommend the BitMart card to anyone in its current state. The product is closed to new applicants, and the platform is winding down. The recommendation is not a product choice but a sequence of actions.
If you are a current BitMart cardholder, the priority is to get your balance out of the exchange. The card is a thin layer on top of the exchange, and the wind-down affects both at the same time. Complete any outstanding KYC, close positions, and submit withdrawal requests before 26 August 2026 if you are a general user. Send crypto to a self-custody wallet you control, on a network you have confirmed on both ends, in smaller amounts rather than one large transfer. Do not leave a balance sitting in the platform past 31 January 2027 unless you have a written answer from support about the residual payout arrangement.
If you were considering the BitMart card because you want a crypto-funded Visa, the priority is to pick a programme that is still issuing cards and to read the issuer details before you fund it. The Bybit Card is the most fully documented of the three I compared, with a clear fee schedule, a tiered cashback structure and a hard line on the EEA. MEXC is simpler but thinner on disclosure. MSX, in the state of the public material I could read, is too thin to recommend without direct questions to the operator.
If the BitMart wind-down has changed how you feel about custodians, take that seriously. A custodial card is convenient, but it is convenient in the same way a bank account is convenient: the institution holds the keys, and you depend on it being open. The category has a long history of closures that were not the cardholder’s fault and were not fully resolved by the cardholder’s deadline. The right response is not paranoia, but it is also not indifference.
Frequently asked questions
What is the BitMart card?
A Visa payment card issued in three forms (Virtual, BitMart Card plastic, Platinum metal), funded from a crypto balance held in your BitMart exchange account, settled in USD, with a 1.3% transaction fee and 0 annual fee. The card page did not name the issuing bank or the legal entity, and the programme is now closed.
How does the BitMart card work?
You keep crypto in your BitMart account. At purchase, BitMart converts the crypto to USD and pays the merchant through the Visa network. The card is custodial, which means BitMart holds the underlying assets, not you. There is no separate card balance to top up; the card draws on the exchange account directly.
Is BitMart a bank?
BitMart is a crypto exchange, not a bank, and the card page did not name the licensed bank or e-money institution that issued the card under Visa’s licence. Without the issuer, you cannot check the regulator, the licence number or the safeguarding regime, and that is a real gap.
Who owns BitMart?
Public records do not establish the ownership structure, and the founder publicly denied misappropriating user funds after the wind-down announcement. For a cardholder, the more useful question is who the issuer is, and the card page did not say.
Is the BitMart card available in my country?
The card page did not publish a country list. The official wording was that “all BitMart users can apply” and that the card worked at Visa merchants worldwide. Unofficial sources gave different lists, including a Blocktempo and ChainCatcher September 2025 launch figure of 115+ countries, a CryptoCardHub February 2026 list of 183 available and 10 restricted (including the US, UK, Netherlands, Russia, Ukraine), and a U.Today claim that the card expanded to all 50 US states in early 2026. None of these are confirmed by the card, and the question is largely moot now that the programme is closed to new applicants.
How do I get the BitMart card now?
You do not. The platform is winding down. The 26 August 2026 deadline for general users to submit withdrawals has passed, and the platform’s planned end of operations is 31 January 2027. If you are reading this after both dates, the relevant question is what residual arrangement BitMart has made for outstanding balances, and you should direct that to support.
Does the BitMart card require KYC?
Yes, Identity Verification Level 2 was required, with the possibility of extra documents and proof of address. The age requirement was not stated on the card page, but the legal adult age in the country of residence is the working assumption in this category.
How do I top up the BitMart card?
You do not top up the card directly. You keep crypto in your BitMart account in one of the supported assets (USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON, BNB), and the card pays from that balance at the moment of purchase. The networks for depositing those assets were not listed on the card page, which is a real risk.
How do I add the BitMart card to Apple Wallet?
You cannot, as far as the public material shows. The card page mentioned Google Pay for the virtual card and did not mention Apple Pay. If a workaround exists in the app, it is not documented in public information, and I would not assume it.
Is the BitMart card safe?
“Crypto card” and “safe” are not the same question. The card was custodial, which means your balance depended on BitMart staying open, and BitMart has announced a wind-down. The card page did not publish a security policy (2FA enforcement, in-app freeze, spending controls, insurance) and did not name the issuer. In its current state, the card is only as safe as the platform’s residual payout arrangement, and the Trustpilot reviews, with withdrawal delays and silent support as recurring themes, suggest the residual arrangement is not running smoothly for everyone.
How exchange cards work – cryptocardsexplained.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team
