Scallop reviewed: a virtual Visa card that only spends what you have already loaded

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you have heard the name Scallop and cannot decide what it actually is, here is the short version before anything else. Scallop is a virtual Visa card — a card number without plastic, generated inside an app — and it spends only money you have already loaded onto it from a balance you hold with Scallop itself. You can fund that balance with fiat or with a range of stablecoins across several blockchains, and the card then behaves like an ordinary prepaid Visa at any shop that accepts one. It is not a bank account, not a debit card tied to your current account, and not a physical card. My score for it is 6.6 out of 10, which sits comfortably in the middle: genuinely strong at funding and at who can get in, weak on the unglamorous parts — what you can pay for day to day, and what happens when something goes wrong.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Scallop works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

*The conditions described on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.*

Verdict: 6.6 out of 10, and honestly a mixed bag

Let me put the reasoning on the table straight away, because a single number tells you nothing on its own. The card scores well where the product is genuinely unusual — it can be opened in a very large number of countries, and it accepts deposits over an unusually wide set of networks. It scores badly where most people actually meet friction with a card: the everyday-use side is thin, and the reliability picture is one of a young provider with no independent track record to point at yet.

Criterion Mark Why, in short
Who can get it 8 / 10 Very broad country coverage, with a clear prohibited list; some high-risk countries reviewed case by case
Cost 7 / 10 A genuinely free tier, monthly fees waived at balance thresholds — but the card’s own FX fee is not disclosed
Top-up options 9 / 10 Fiat or stablecoins across Ethereum, Tron, Base, Solana, BSC, Bitcoin, XRP, Sui and more; $15 minimum
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 No company named on the documentation pages, no review history to judge by, and loaded money cannot be pulled back
Everyday use 3 / 10 Virtual Visa only, three cards maximum, and no stated Apple Pay, Google Pay or ATM support
Total 6.6 / 10 A solid funding engine attached to a very narrow card

Who it suits. Someone who already holds crypto across more than one network, wants one card that can spend a stablecoin balance without thinking about which chain it sits on, and lives somewhere a normal bank card is awkward to obtain. If you are in that situation, the funding side of this card is hard to argue with — a $15 minimum top-up and networks from Bitcoin to Sui is more choice than most competitors publish.

Who it does not suit. Anyone who wants a physical card in the post, anyone who pays for things with a phone, and anyone whose spending depends on a mainstream bank’s Apple Pay or Google Pay setup. If your daily life involves tapping a terminal rather than typing a card number into a website, this is the wrong product, and the low everyday-use score is telling you that plainly.

The final note that shapes my reading: this is a card for people funding a virtual Visa from a multi-network balance. If that sentence is not a description of you, the rest of this review will still be useful, but it will not be actionable.

Will they give you the card?

Mostly yes, and this is where Scallop scores better than most of its peers — but read the wording carefully, because it is doing some work.

Scallop says it can onboard customers from “most countries that are not sanctioned by OFAC”. That is a positive framing with a carve-out, and the practical effect is that a large part of the world can apply. The card’s prohibited list is explicit: Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela and the United Kingdom are all on it. That last one surprises people; the United Kingdom is named alongside sanctioned states, which tells you something about how the risk policy is drawn.

Then there is the middle tier. China, Turkey and Vietnam appear as examples of high-risk countries, and applications from those places are reviewed case by case after an additional questionnaire. So it is not a flat no, but it is also not a quick yes.

What the page does *not* say matters just as much: whether eligibility follows your citizenship, your residence, or both is not stated. Scallop does not publish that distinction. If your passport and your address are in different countries, you cannot tell from the public documentation which one decides the outcome — that is worth asking support before you upload anything.

How to get it

The application is a standard identity check, with a couple of Scallop-specific wrinkles that are stricter than the average crypto app.

What you need to show.

Proof of address is conditional rather than standard. You only need it where the government ID you show comes from a high-risk region but your residence is elsewhere. When it is required it must have been issued within the last 90 days, and it cannot be a PO box or virtual address. If your paperwork is older, or your address is a virtual mailbox, that is a genuine obstacle.

One hard limit worth knowing before you start: “Individuals over 65 years of age at the time of submission will not be accepted.” This is stated plainly and is not a soft guideline.

What the pages do not cover: the card’s verification tiers (the Tier 1/2/3 definitions are not given), how long processing takes, or why an application might be rejected. There is one peripheral note — Hong Kong dollar pay-in and pay-out is unavailable for Tier 1 and Tier 2, and Tier 3 is described as businesses — but it does not tell you which tier you would land in.

What it really costs: Fees, tiers and everyday payments

The pricing is tiered, and the tiers differ in two ways that matter: how much the plan costs per month, and what percentage the conversion takes. The card’s own foreign-exchange fee is not stated anywhere on the pages, which is the single biggest gap in this section.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Scallop payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The costs table.

Fee or limit Voyager Mariner Admiral
Monthly fee $0 $14.99, waived with $10,000 average fiat balance $49.99, waived with $50,000 average fiat balance
Virtual card issuance $2 per card First card free, then $1 each Multiple cards free
Conversion (swap) fee 1.50% 0.75% 0.40%
Card foreign-exchange fee Not stated Not stated Not stated
ATM withdrawal Not stated Not stated Not stated
Card-load conversion reference rate 1 USDT = 0.9975 USD same same
Card top-up minimum $15 $15 $15
Auto top-up threshold minimum $20 $20 $20
Daily / monthly spend limits Not stated Not stated Not stated
ATM limits Not stated Not stated Not stated

Read that table carefully and one thing jumps out: Voyager is free, and its swap fee is 1.50%. Mariner costs $14.99 a month to bring that down to 0.75% — but the fee is waived entirely if you keep a $10,000 average fiat balance. Admiral’s $49.99 is likewise waived at $50,000 average fiat balance. So the monthly fees are, in practice, tier-upgrade charges for people with substantial balances, and for everyone else Voyager is the entry point.

Beyond the swap fee, the app shows other rates before you confirm a transaction. The stated reference rate is “1 USDT = 0.9975 USD” for USDT card loads; other rates are displayed in the app ahead of confirmation.

Now two or three ordinary payments, and what each one costs.

A coffee bought in a shop that declines prepaid or foreign BINs. Here the merchant’s decision costs you nothing but the sale. Some shops look up the card’s issuing country and apply extra scrutiny or refuse prepaid cards outright, and that behaviour has nothing to do with Scallop’s pricing. The fees table above does not change; what changes is whether the payment goes through at all.

One more cost that is not a fee but behaves like one: on-chain network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by Scallop. If you deposit USDC to Base, the network takes its cut before the money ever reaches your balance.

How to Top up the card

This is the strongest part of the product, and it earns the 9 out of 10.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Scallop starts with a transfer to the right network

The rule that governs everything: the card is funded only from a balance already held in your Scallop account — either fiat or stable digital assets. There is no direct “pay at the till with my ETH” path. You convert or top up first, then load.

Networks and assets the app supports. The documentation lists Ethereum (ETH, USDT, USDC), BSC, Solana, Bitcoin, Tron (TRON, USDT, USDC), Base (USDT, USDC), XRP, XDC, Sui and others. That is a genuinely wide spread — from Bitcoin to Base — and it is the reason a multi-chain holder would look at this card. Note that the page does not say these are deposit-only, so read the list as what the app supports rather than a guarantee about deposit routes.

The mechanics. The minimum card top-up is $15. You can set an auto top-up with a threshold — minimum $20 — paid from whatever balance is available, fiat or stablecoin. Money you load is reserved for card use, and the page is explicit about what that means once it is in: loaded funds “cannot be withdrawn, transferred, or refunded”, and virtual card loads “cannot be refunded, withdrawn, or reversed under any circumstances.”

That last sentence deserves a pause. It is not a fee, but it is the most consequential line in this review. What you load is committed. There is no undo button, so the conversion rate, the network fee and the swap fee all have to be right *before* you confirm, not after.

Two further gaps: the top-up fee and who pays the network fee are not stated, and what happens to your balance if you close the account is not stated. If you are thinking of this as your only card, those two unanswered questions deserve an email to support first.

Paying with it every day

Here the picture narrows sharply, and the 3 out of 10 is not a rhetorical flourish.

What you get. A virtual card only, on the VISA network, usable “wherever VISA is accepted”. Three active virtual cards maximum at any time. That is the whole product: a number, a CVV and an expiry date in your app.

What you do not get, or what is not stated. There is no physical card — delivery is simply not documented, because only virtual cards are. Apple Pay is not disclosed. Google Pay is not disclosed. ATM withdrawal is not disclosed. The card currency is not stated, which is why the FX line in the cost table above has no number in it.

This is a card for people funding a virtual Visa from a multi-network balance.

How it behaves in practice. Card details are revealed only after you authenticate, and the app offers instant block and unblock, permanent termination, spending limits you set yourself, and real-time transaction monitoring — you can freeze the card at any moment. That is a decent safety set for a card you cannot physically cut up. But in daily life, typing a sixteen-digit number into a website is not how most people pay, and if you are one of them, you already know this card is a step backwards.

When something goes wrong with a payment. Virtual card loads cannot be refunded or reversed. For a wrong-network crypto transfer or a wrong-account fiat deposit, the route is a support ticket, it may involve an extra fee, it is not guaranteed, and it “may take several days”. Card chargebacks and dispute time frames are not addressed at all. So: the disputes mechanism that a normal bank card gives you is, on the documented evidence, absent.

What can go wrong

Let me separate what I found from what I merely did not find, because the difference matters.

What is stated and worth worrying about. The money you load is locked — no withdrawal, no transfer, no refund, no reversal. That is the single largest practical risk, and it is in the card’s own documentation rather than in some analyst’s opinion. Combine it with the missing dispute framework and you have a position where a mistaken load, in either direction, has no documented remedy.

What I looked for and did not find. I searched for official incidents and found none. I checked Trustpilot for scallopx.com and the page has 0 reviews and no TrustScore, carrying the notice “This company may be associated with high-risk investments.” A search for reviews across the usual platforms returned nothing relevant. Read that carefully: it is not evidence of problems. It is evidence of *no track record* — and for a financial product, no track record is its own kind of risk, because there is nothing yet that tells you how this provider behaves under pressure.

The bigger structural question: who is behind it? The company is not named on the official documentation pages I read. That is a real finding, not an oversight on my part. It also means the usual question — *is Scallop a bank?* — has no clean answer from the public pages. In this category that distinction is not pedantry. A card programme sits behind a network licence: Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. They did exactly that with FTX — Visa said in November 2022 that it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, an issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme it ran. A crypto brand is often only the front end and programme manager on top of someone else’s licence. If the entity behind that licence is not stated, you cannot assess it.

And the money itself. Your balance is held by Scallop — this is a custodial arrangement. That carries known category risk: custodial platforms have a history of failure, from Mt. Gox and Coincheck to the $625 million Ronin Network theft in 2022. On the stablecoin side, “stable” is an aim rather than a guarantee — USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis, and TerraUSD collapsed outright in May 2022. Tether also states that it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof in either direction.

Operational reality of a declined payment. Even a legitimate purchase can fail: address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your money that stays for several days — typically up to seven. If your entire available balance sits on one prepaid card, a single stuck authorisation can freeze spending you have already paid for.

What to take instead

None of these is clearly better in every case, so here is how I would weigh them against Scallop rather than in the abstract.

Scallop Whop Cards Stella UniFi Card
My score 6.6 / 10 5.2 / 10 6.5 / 10 4.7 / 10
Card Virtual Visa, up to 3 active Visa, virtual/physical not stated Virtual and physical Visa Prepaid Debit Visa, issued by Lead Bank
Who can get it Most non-sanctioned countries; 7 named as prohibited 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses Not stated on the official site Not confirmed from official pages
Cost Free tier; $14.99 and $49.99 tiers “No extra fees”, no amounts listed Fees in the User Agreement or app Not stated
Conversion / FX fee 1.50% / 0.75% / 0.40%; FX fee not stated Not stated Not stated officially Not stated
Funding Fiat or stablecoins across many chains, $15 minimum Whop balance, stablecoin-collateral backed (not stated) Deposit crypto, auto-tops the card ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI; get paid to a USDC wallet
Rewards Not stated 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber None stated on the card page “3% rewards on balances” claimed in the listing

Whop Cards is the narrower option: US-only in practice, with 31 states open to consumers and 41 to businesses, and it explicitly does not support consumers in Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam. Its real hook is 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned. If you are in the US and want a reward rather than a chain, it is worth a look — if you are anywhere else, it is not.

Stella is the closest structural rival and scores almost identically at 6.5. It offers virtual and physical cards, which Scallop does not, works at what it calls “over 40 million VISA merchants globally”, and funds the card by depositing crypto into a custodial in-app wallet that automatically tops up the card. Its weaknesses mirror Scallop’s: fees are “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App” rather than published plainly, and its terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates. If you need plastic, Stella beats Scallop. If you need published numbers, neither wins.

UniFi Card is the reminder that a lower score can mean a cleaner product in one narrow lane. It is a prepaid Debit Visa issued by Lead Bank, in USD, with Apple Pay support — something Scallop does not document at all — funded by ACH, wire, SEPA or SPEI. Its country story is the weak point: not confirmed from official pages, though the app listing shows send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico and the eurozone, with Colombia, Brazil and the UK mentioned in recent release notes. It also carries a claim of “3% rewards on balances” that I would treat as unconfirmed marketing copy.

Two things worth checking before you pick any of them. Whop’s “no extra fees” and UniFi’s “fees may apply, see the website” are both statements that decline to give you numbers — the same gap Scallop has on FX. And on funding, note how different the models are: a crypto card is usually a prepaid card, drawing on a stored balance that has already been converted, rather than a debit card that asks your bank at the moment of purchase.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Scallop card to a specific person, and I would hesitate for everyone else.

Recommend it if you already hold stablecoins spread across several chains, you want a single card number that can spend any of them, you pay mainly online where typing a card number is normal, you are in a country a conventional bank would find difficult, and you can comfortably treat what you load as spent money. In that shape, the nine-out-of-ten funding section is doing real work and nothing else on the market publishes a chain list this broad.

Hesitate if any of these are true of you:

The honest summary is this: Scallop has built one excellent component and attached it to a bare-bones card. The multi-network funding is a genuine strength and I have not found a better one. Everything around it — no plastic, no wallets, no ATM, no published FX fee, no named company, no refundable loads — is thin. Judge it as a specialised tool for moving a crypto balance into ordinary online payments, not as your everyday card.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Scallop card?

Scallop is a virtual Visa card issued through an app, meaning it is a card number, expiry and security code rather than plastic. It spends only money you have already loaded onto it from a balance held with Scallop, either in fiat or in stablecoins. It works wherever Visa is accepted. It is not a bank account and not a debit card linked to your current account. My score for it is 6.6 out of 10.

How does the Scallop card work?

You fund a balance in the Scallop account, then load part of that balance onto the card; the card draws on the loaded amount like a prepaid card. The card is funded only from money already in the account, so it cannot overdraw. Loads cannot be withdrawn, transferred or refunded once made. Maximum three active virtual cards at any time.

Is Scallop a bank?

The card’s documentation pages do not name the company behind the service, so I cannot tell you from the public pages whether it is a bank, an e-money institution or a programme manager. In this category that distinction matters: crypto card brands are often only the front end on top of an issuer’s Visa or Mastercard licence, and those networks have ended programmes before — with FTX in 2022 and WaveCrest in 2018.

Which countries can get the Scallop card?

Scallop says it can onboard customers from “most countries that are not sanctioned by OFAC”. Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela and the United Kingdom are on its prohibited list, and virtual cards are unavailable there. China, Turkey and Vietnam are treated as high-risk and reviewed case by case after an extra questionnaire. Whether citizenship or residence decides eligibility is not stated.

How do I get the Scallop card?

You apply in the app with a passport or national ID (non-US), or another ID plus a tax ID number, and for the virtual card a valid passport is required for individuals except users from Hong Kong or China. Proof of address is required only if you show an ID from a high-risk region but live elsewhere, and it must be issued in the last 90 days with no PO box. Individuals over 65 are not accepted.

How much does the Scallop card cost?

The Voyager plan is free at $0 a month with $2 per virtual card and a 1.50% conversion fee. Mariner is $14.99 a month, waived with a $10,000 average fiat balance, with the first card free and 0.75% conversion. Admiral is $49.99 a month, waived at $50,000 average fiat balance, with multiple free cards and 0.40% conversion. The card’s own foreign-exchange fee is not stated anywhere.

How do I top up the Scallop card?

You top up from your Scallop account balance only, in fiat or stable digital assets. The app supports Ethereum, BSC, Solana, Bitcoin, Tron, Base, XRP, XDC, Sui and others. The minimum card top-up is $15, and auto top-up can be set with a minimum $20 threshold. Loaded funds are reserved for card use and cannot be withdrawn, transferred or refunded.

Can I add the Scallop card to Apple Wallet?

Apple Pay support is not disclosed on the Scallop card’s public pages, so I would not plan around it. For comparison, the UniFi Card explicitly documents Apple Pay, while Scallop’s documentation covers only the virtual card number itself. If phone-based payment is essential to you, ask support directly before committing, and treat it as unavailable until you get a written answer.

Is the Scallop card safe?

The account-based model means your balance is held by Scallop rather than by you, which carries counterparty and hack risk common to custodial platforms. Scallop does offer instant card freeze and unfreeze, spending limits you set, permanent termination, and real-time transaction monitoring. But loaded funds cannot be refunded or reversed, and I found no independent review history — the Trustpilot page for scallopx.com shows 0 reviews with a high-risk-investments notice.

Is the Scallop card worth it?

Worth it if you hold stablecoins across several chains, live where a normal bank card is hard to get, and pay mainly online. Not worth it if you need a physical card, tap-to-pay, cash withdrawals, merchant chargebacks, or a way to reverse a mistaken transfer. Funding is the strongest part of the product at 9 out of 10; everyday use is the weakest at 3 out of 10.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team