A fast virtual card that asks you to trust an issuer it will not name

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

I went into the ExCards terms looking for one thing above all: who is actually behind this card. The answer, after reading everything the company publishes, is that they will not say. There is no legal entity named, no registration country, no issuer, no licences. What you are told is that cards are issued by “a third-party card issuer partner” and the balance is held with that partner. That single gap shaped everything below, and it is why my score lands in the middle rather than higher.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
ExCards works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Against that, the product itself is genuinely quick. Light KYC with a passport scan, a virtual card in 10 minutes, Apple Pay and Google Pay on all three products, a broad list of top-up networks, and no monthly fee. If your situation is that you spend online in USDT and need a working card number today, this does that job.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.9 out of 10, and the reason is trust, not features

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Only excluded places are listed; the rule is by residence, disclosed accurately at issuance
Cost 3 / 10 $29 to $50 per card, 2% or 3.5% to top up, $0.50 per authorisation, up to 2% FX markup; no monthly fee
Top-up options 9 / 10 USDT across ERC-20, TRC-20, BEP-20, Bitcoin, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Avalanche
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 No legal entity, no named issuer, no licences, custodial balance, Terms marked as a placeholder, no reviews found
Everyday use 5 / 10 Three virtual cards in 10 minutes, both mobile wallets supported, but no ATM and the physical card is pre-order only
Total 5.9 / 10 Good access and good funding, weak on transparency and thin on everyday usefulness

Two things are genuinely strong. Who can get it scores 9 because the card does not publish a whitelist of countries — it publishes exclusions, and the rule is residence, not citizenship. That is more open than most cards in this category. Top-up options also scores 9: the network list is long, non-USDT coins are converted for you, and transfers between your own cards are free.

Everything below those two lines is where my hesitation comes from. Cost scores 3 because you pay for the card, then pay to load it, then pay per authorisation, and can pay up to 2% more on currency conversion. Reliability and complaints scores 4 because the balance is custodial with a partner who is not identified, and because the Terms of Service describe themselves as a placeholder. Everyday use scores 5 because a card with no ATM and no app store listing is a narrower tool than the marketing suggests.

Who this suits: online spenders paying subscriptions, advertising and digital services from a USDT balance, who can tolerate holding funds with an unnamed partner. Who it does not suit: anyone whose priority is a named, licensed counterparty; anyone who needs cash; anyone who needs a physical card in hand this week.

Will they give you the card? Almost certainly, if you are not on a list

The geo page is written oddly, and the oddness is worth reading carefully. It lists excluded places only — North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba; Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson “where applicable”; Russia “depending on transaction context and issuer policy”; Belarus “for sanctioned persons”; Myanmar and Sudan. There is no list of supported countries at all. So the practical question is not “is my country allowed” but “am I resident somewhere that is not excluded, and will the issuer partner look at my transaction context.”

The rule that matters most is that eligibility follows residence, not citizenship. You must accurately disclose your country of residence at issuance, and if it changes you have 30 days to report it. False disclosure can lead to retroactive card closure. Read that as a real risk rather than boilerplate: the card can be closed after the fact if the residence you stated turns out to be wrong.

The age rule is “18+ in most countries”, with the legal age in your jurisdiction taking precedence if you are somewhere lower.

So: will they give it to you? Probably yes, quickly, with a passport scan. What I cannot tell you is whether the partner’s own policy — which ExCards does not publish — will agree. That is the honest version.

How to get it: passport, upload, wait ten minutes

The signup path is short and the identity check is light. There is one KYC level, and it consists of a clear scan of the photo page of a government-issued passport. No selfie, no video, no liveness check, and no proof of address mentioned. That lightness is the appeal for anyone without a conventional banking history, and it is also the thing that tells you this is not a bank-grade onboarding.

You sign up at the web dashboard app.excards.io or through the Telegram mini-app, upload the passport, and an issuer partner checks the document’s authenticity and screens it against sanctions and politically exposed person lists. If it passes, the card is issued within 10 minutes after a successful check.

There are three virtual cards to choose from: Visa Universe, Visa E-commerce and Mastercard Business. A physical Visa E-commerce card exists but only as a pre-order, with no shipping date and no shipping cost stated, and it requires the mandatory first top-up first. If you lose a virtual card, or it leaks or expires, replacing it costs the card price again — $29, $35 or $50 depending on which one.

Your KYC data gets refreshed at card expiry, when your residence changes, on suspicious activity, or by default every 24 months. The stated reasons for rejection are false or altered documents (which is a permanent block), a sanctions or PEP hit, a failed check, or a situation where issuing the card would breach law or issuer policy. One more thing to hold in mind: ExCards says it may refuse without giving a reason.

Fees: what it really costs to use this card

There is no monthly fee. There is no maintenance fee and no inactivity fee. Everything else you pay happens at issuance, at top-up, or per payment.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a ExCards payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee Visa Universe Visa E-commerce Mastercard Business
One-time card price $29 $35 $50
Top-up fee 2% 3.5% 3.5%
Authorisation fee $0.50 flat $0.10 under $1.00, free at $1.00 and above, plus $0.03 per 3D Secure authentication $0.50 flat
Decline penalty none stated $0.80 if decline rate exceeds 10% in a rolling window none stated
FX markup up to 2% over the interbank rate up to 2% up to 2%
ATM not available not available not available
Monthly fee none none none
Per transaction $1,000,000 $20,000 $250,000
Per day $3,000,000 none $500,000
Per month $3,000,000 none $1,000,000

Card prices are paid in USDT and are non-refundable. The first top-up must be at least 10 USDT and that amount is credited to your balance. Limits are the same for all users, with no split by KYC level.

Now three everyday payments, so the percentages land somewhere real.

A $50 subscription in dollars. On Visa Universe you pay no currency markup, but the $0.50 authorisation fee is 1% of the spend on its own. On Visa E-commerce at $1.00 and above the authorisation is free, but you only reach that if you got past the top-up fee, which is 3.5% of what you loaded.

A $20 monthly ad spend in euros. The issuer reference rate applies plus a markup of up to 2%, so up to $0.40 of pure cost, plus the $0.50 authorisation on Universe and Business. The merchant-category list is not published, so whether ads fall inside or outside the blocked categories is something you learn by trying.

Anything small and frequent. Ten $4 payments on Visa Universe cost $5 in authorisation fees alone, on top of what you already paid to load the money. That is the case where the E-commerce pricing makes more sense, and also the case where the $0.80 penalty above a 10% decline rate starts to feel designed.

There is no cash-out option described anywhere. All cards are virtual and ATM withdrawal is not available. If cash is part of your week, this card cannot be part of it.

Top up: many networks, one balance

The balance is denominated in USDT and all three cards share a single wallet, so you load once and spend from any of them. The listed networks are ERC-20, TRC-20, BEP-20, Bitcoin, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism and Avalanche — and the card says these are examples, that others are accepted too. Other coins, BTC, ETH and SOL among them, are converted to USDT at the network rate first.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up ExCards starts with a transfer to the right network

The top-up fee is 2% on Universe and 3.5% on the other two. The example on their page: 100 USDT at 3.5% credits 96.50 USDT to your balance. The blockchain network fee is paid to the network, not to ExCards. Transfers between your own cards are 0%.

One number worth carrying with you: transfers out. No way to withdraw the balance is described in the public pages — not stated at all. The only thing said about the 10 USDT first top-up is that it stays spendable. And prohibited use leads to card closure without refund. So the design is one-directional: money goes in and comes out only as card spend. Plan for that before you load anything you would miss.

Fiat top-up is not mentioned anywhere, so do not assume you can pay by bank transfer.

Paying with it every day: good where it counts, thin at the edges

Apple Pay and Google Pay work on all three cards, which is the single most useful thing here. Tokenised wallet payments are the ones that get through when a card number alone looks foreign to a merchant’s systems, and both are there from the start.

What is missing is the edges. No cash, as covered above. No merchant-category list published, though the terms do ban use for illegal goods or services, terrorism financing, money laundering and sanctioned-country transactions. No App Store or Google Play app is stated — the service is the web dashboard and a Telegram mini-app, so if you live in your phone’s app drawer rather than in a browser tab, that is a downgrade from most competitors.

Declined transactions return funds to your card balance automatically, which is genuinely reassuring. But the card price, the top-up fees and the authorisation fees are non-refundable, and no dispute or chargeback process is published. ExCards also states it is not liable for declined transactions, FX losses, network downtime or merchant rejections. Read that list as the actual scope of what you are getting: if a payment fails, you are out the fees and the FX movement, and there is no described route to contest it.

There is no cashback. The only rewards mentioned are a referral programme, from 20% of each referred card plus 0.05% of their top-ups at Bronze, up to 40% plus 0.20% at Platinum, and 10% off a first card with a code. That is worth something to a referrer and nothing to you as a spender.

Support is 24/7 through in-app chat on the web dashboard, with answers quoted as coming “within minutes”, and through the Telegram bot. The interface is available in English, Russian, Spanish and Ukrainian.

What can go wrong

Here is where the 4 out of 10 lives, and it is worth being blunt about it.

Nobody will tell you who holds your money. There is no legal entity or registration country published, no issuer named, no licences named. The cards are issued by an unnamed third-party partner and the balance is custodial, held with that partner. In general terms, a custodial balance means you are trusting a counterparty with the funds, and that counterparty is not identified here. Custodial platforms have a history: Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin Network between them lost hundreds of millions of dollars.

The Terms are not finished. The Terms of Service are marked last updated 17 May 2026 but describe themselves as a placeholder, with a final version due May to June 2026. So the document that would normally tell you how disputes work, who is liable and what happens to your balance on a closure is, on its own account, unfinished. Fee changes are announced in-app at least 30 days ahead, which is at least a courtesy.

No safeguard statement. No freeze feature is described, no safeguarding statement is published, and no licence or issuer events with dates turned up. What is described: TLS 1.3, 3-D Secure 2.0 on all authorisations, and suspicious activity automatically declined.

No reviews to lean on. I found nothing. No Trustpilot page exists, no review-site entries turned up, and no official incident has been published. Read that carefully in both directions: it is not evidence of a problem, and it is definitely not evidence of a clean track record. It means you are going in with no outside read on this operator at all.

The platform can disappear. Card programmes do close. Visa ended its agreements with FTX in November 2022 and WaveCrest had its Visa programmes suspended in Europe in 2018. Closures typically mean a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw balances — and here there is no described withdrawal route. That combination is the specific thing I would think about before loading a large balance.

What to take instead

I compared three cards I could find public information on. The numbers are not all comparable, and I would not pretend otherwise — two of them do not publish enough to score properly.

Card Score Cost to start Top-up or load fee Notable limitation
ExCards 5.9 / 10 $29 to $50 2% or 3.5% No named issuer or entity; no ATM
Cardex 5.6 / 10 not stated not stated App Store listing is Naira-focused
TakeCard 5.5 / 10 $5 virtual; $20 plus $20 shipping physical (Bolivia) 1% per purchase Physical card only for Bolivian users
OkiCard 6.0 / 10 $15 starting price; issuance $0 on the pricing page; initial deposit 100 USDT 3% load Only USDT chains; BTC and altcoins “coming soon”

Cardex scores 5.6. It describes one crypto card for 200+ countries with no exclusion list, on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, virtual and physical. Crypto converts at the moment of payment using what it calls an AI-powered conversion rate. But its App Store listing is Naira-focused, the fee percentage is not stated, and USDT, USDC and BTC wallets are described without networks. I could not confirm the details from a page I read.

TakeCard scores 5.5 and is the cheapest to start: $5 for the virtual card. One percent commission per purchase, USD payments at 1:1, other currencies at the official Visa rate. The physical card is “available only to Bolivian users for now” and the Bolivia pricing conflicts between pages — $20 issuance plus $20 shipping in one article, $10 in another. A virtual card for Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Ecuador, the US, Spain and Italy came from starting data I could not confirm on a page. Country eligibility is not listed in the help articles.

OkiCard scores 6.0, the highest of the four, and it is the one I would look at first. USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron and Solana; USDC “soon”; BTC and altcoins “coming soon”. Load fee 3%, transaction fee in USD 0%, and it claims no hidden exchange spreads. It is also the most transparent on eligibility, saying 150+ countries with some pages saying 200+, and explicitly no geo-blocking based on your passport, though you must confirm you are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction. Its own pages disagree with each other: the pricing page says issuance $0, monthly $0, starting price $15, while the FAQ mentions a one-time issuance fee. The initial deposit is 100 USDT.

What none of these four solves is the question I started with. Cardex, TakeCard and OkiCard all differ in their own ways, and each has its own gaps. The difference is that OkiCard at least names its structure, and the comparison only goes so far: I could not find, for any of them, reviews from people who had actually used them for a year.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend ExCards to a specific person, and I would tell a different person to skip it.

Take it if you pay for subscriptions, advertising or digital services online from a USDT balance, you want a working card number in minutes rather than days, you are comfortable loading only what you need for the month, and you have accepted that you are trusting an unnamed partner with the balance while it sits there. The 2% Universe top-up fee is the cheapest of the three cards and the broad network list means your transfer probably will not be the bottleneck.

Skip it if you need cash, you need a physical card now, you want a named issuer you can hold accountable, you are loading a large balance you might want back, or you spend constantly in small amounts on a card that charges per authorisation. In that last case, look at OkiCard first: 0% transaction fee in USD and a 3% load is a different shape of cost.

And one thing to check before anything else, whichever card you land on: confirm you can get your money out. Here that answer is not stated. For a card whose whole purpose is moving value from a crypto balance into the world, that is not a small detail — it is the detail.

Frequently asked questions

What is ExCards?

ExCards is a virtual card service that spends a USDT balance. You load stablecoins into a shared wallet, and any of three card products — Visa Universe, Visa E-commerce or Mastercard Business — draws down that balance. Identity checks use a passport scan only. There is no physical card except a pre-order for Visa E-commerce, and no ATM withdrawal.

Is ExCards a bank?

The public pages do not say, and that is the honest answer. They state that cards are issued by a third-party card issuer partner and licensed BIN sponsors, without naming the issuer or any licence. No legal entity or registration country is published. So you are not dealing with a named bank here, and you cannot tell from these pages which institution actually stands behind the card.

Who owns ExCards?

Nobody is identified on the pages I read. The brand appears as “ExCards” with a 2026 copyright line, but no company entity, jurisdiction or registration is given. If ownership matters to your decision, that is a question only they can answer, and it is worth asking before you load money rather than after.

Does ExCards require KYC?

Yes, but a light version. One KYC level exists, requiring a clear scan of the photo page of a government-issued passport. There is no selfie, no video or liveness check, and no proof of address is mentioned. Age is 18+ in most countries. Data is refreshed at expiry, on a change of residence, on suspicious activity, or every 24 months by default.

How do I get an ExCards card?

Sign up at the web dashboard app.excards.io or the Telegram mini-app, upload the passport, and the issuer partner checks it against sanctions and PEP lists. The card is issued within 10 minutes after a successful check. You pick Visa Universe, Visa E-commerce or Mastercard Business, and a mandatory first top-up of 10 USDT is credited to your balance.

How do I top up the ExCards card?

You send USDT to the balance. Listed networks are ERC-20, TRC-20, BEP-20, Bitcoin, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism and Avalanche, and the card says others are accepted too. BTC, ETH and SOL are converted to USDT first. The fee is 2% on Universe and 3.5% on the other two — 100 USDT at 3.5% credits 96.50 USDT.

How much does ExCards cost?

There is no monthly fee. The card price is $29 for Visa Universe, $35 for Visa E-commerce and $50 for Mastercard Business, paid in USDT and non-refundable. Top-up is 2% or 3.5%. Authorisation is $0.50 flat on Universe and Business; on E-commerce it is $0.10 under $1.00 and free above. Non-USD merchants carry a markup of up to 2%.

Can I withdraw money from an ExCards card?

Not stated. No withdrawal route is described on the public pages, and only the mandatory 10 USDT first top-up is explicitly described as remaining spendable. All cards are virtual and ATM cash withdrawal is not available. If being able to get your balance back matters, treat this as an open question and ask before loading a meaningful amount.

Is ExCards safe?

I would not call it safe or unsafe, because I could not verify enough to judge. In its favour: TLS 1.3, 3-D Secure 2.0 on all authorisations, suspicious activity auto-declined, and 24/7 support. Against it: a custodial balance held with an unnamed partner, no safeguarding statement, Terms marked as a placeholder, and no reviews found anywhere to give an outside read.

Is ExCards worth it?

For someone paying online subscriptions and ads from USDT who values speed over a named counterparty, yes. For anyone needing cash, a physical card this week, a lower cost per transaction, or an issuer they can name and check on a register, no — look at OkiCard’s 0% USD transaction fee first. And load only what you need for the month, because getting money back is not stated as possible.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team