The crypto card that is winding down, and what it means for you right now
If you landed here looking for a crypto card to sign up for, stop before you spend any time: this card is not open to new customers. SpectroCoin stopped onboarding new clients on 30 June 2026, and its crypto-asset services in the EU/EEA have stopped as well. If you already hold a SpectroCoin card, this page is for you instead, because the questions change completely — the question is no longer “is this card worth getting” but “what happens to my balance and how do I get it out”.

I scored this card 3.4 out of 10. The score is not a verdict on how the card worked in its good years. It is a verdict on how useful it is to you today, in the state the company is in.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The verdict: 3.4 / 10
The single fact that dominates everything else is that this is a winding-down product, not a growing one. That drags the “who can get it” score to zero — a card nobody can newly join is not a recommendation for anyone shopping today, however reasonable its fees once looked. The reliability score is 1 out of 10, and that is where the pain sits: the issuer is a licensed e-money institution in Lithuania, but the crypto brand beside it is not authorised under Europe’s crypto regulation and has told users to withdraw their assets. Those two things can be simultaneously true, and that gap is exactly where the complaints come from.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0 / 10 | Issuance closed: from 30 June 2026 no new clients are accepted, and crypto services in the EU/EEA have stopped |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Physical €5, virtual €1, €1 monthly; loading through the wallet is free, EEA ATM in EUR €1, international 2% (min €2); unofficial reports of 4–5% fees when topping up |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | The card is loaded with EUR from exchanging virtual currency in the SpectroCoin wallet; coins and networks are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 1 / 10 | Issuer UAB Pervesk (EMI licence No. 17, Bank of Lithuania); Spectro Finance OÜ has no MiCA authorisation, crypto services in the EU/EEA stopped; Trustpilot 2.3 out of 5 from 1,996 reviews |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Visa Debit in EUR, virtual and physical, ATMs available; Apple Pay and Google Pay are not named |
Read the cost row again in that context. A €5 physical card and a €1 monthly fee are genuinely cheap, and free loading from the wallet is better than most of the category. But a cheap fee schedule on a card you cannot newly obtain, from a provider asking you to take your money out, is not value. It is a liquidation in progress with a price list attached.
Who does this suit? Almost nobody who is choosing a card today. The only reader I would point here is an existing cardholder with a balance, because the practical advice in the sections below — what a withdrawal banner means, what “segregated account” does and does not protect, what the complaints say about withdrawals actually working — is written for that person. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a card next week, anyone in the EEA or the US who wants a crypto spending card, and anyone who read a comparison three years ago and has not checked since.
Will they give you the card?
No. The card page points to the EEA in its fee tables, using “EEA” and “outside EEA” as the dividing lines, and it carries a line saying it is not intended for US residents. There is no country list on the page — not stated — so if you are outside those two hints, the card’s own pages simply do not tell you whether you are eligible. But the eligibility question has largely been overtaken by the closure. Since 30 June 2026 the company has stopped onboarding new clients, stopped accepting deposits, and stopped executing exchanges and transactions.
That last part is the one to sit with. The footer notice dated June 30, 2026 covers all three together: no new onboarding, no deposits, no exchanges or transactions. And the help-centre banner says Spectro Finance OÜ can no longer provide crypto-asset services in the EU/EEA, asking users to withdraw their assets. That banner is undated on the page itself, though the article it links to has a slug mentioning 10 September 2026. So the closure was announced at the end of June and the withdrawal instruction was still running months later.
Here is what the architecture of this card means for you, because the shape of the company explains why the closure hits wallet holders hardest. A card payment involves several parties: the card network (here Visa) routes messages and sets the rules, the issuer — a bank or a licensed electronic money institution — actually holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front-end. Visa and Mastercard themselves do not issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer.
So when a crypto brand stops, the card and the wallet are two separate things winding down at two different speeds. That is the trap I would want a reader to understand before anything else on this page.
How to get it
You cannot. There is no application path, and the reasons on the page are about the company, not about your paperwork. For the record, in case you are comparing old notes with today’s situation: the card was a Visa Debit denominated in euros, available as a physical card and as a virtual card, with a free personal IBAN account offered alongside it and no cash advances. Delivery was quoted at up to 2 business days in production, free standard mail up to 10 business days, registered mail at €3 also up to 10 business days, and expedited at €60 up to 3 business days. A replacement card cost €15.
If you are an existing holder, two things about the process still matter. The card must be verified and activated before use — the card’s public pages do not list which documents are required, and the verification level, in the KYC sense, is also not stated. That combination is uncomfortable: you are asked to verify without being told what verifying means.
Delivery countries were not listed on the card page. So if your card is in the post right now, or arrived and will not activate, nobody is publishing the list that would tell you whether that is normal.
Fees: what it really costs
The fees below are the card’s own published numbers. They are worth reading carefully — because they are the most attractive part of this card, and because reading them without reading the closure notice would mislead you.

| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Physical card | €5 |
| Virtual card | €1 |
| Monthly service charge | €1 |
| Replacement card | €15 |
| Renewal | €6 |
| Load / unload via SpectroCoin Wallet | free |
| Currency exchange fee (non-EUR) | free |
| POS in EEA, EUR | free |
| POS in EEA, non-EUR | 0.5% |
| POS international (outside EEA, non-EUR) | 1% |
| ATM in EEA, EUR | €1 (1% fee in Lithuania) |
| ATM in EEA, non-EUR | 1% (min €1) |
| ATM international | 2% (min €2) |
| ATM balance inquiry | €0.50 |
| Local or foreign payment receipt | €10 |
| Chargeback / dispute fee | €25 |
| Daily POS / online limit | €25,000 |
| Daily ATM limit | €2,500 |
| Minimum load | €1 |
| Load limit | €25,000 |
| Physical cards per person | max 2 |
| Virtual cards per person | max 10 |
Now let me walk you through three ordinary purchases, because abstract fee tables hide which lines actually bite.
Buying coffee in a eurozone café, paying in EUR: free. There is no conversion, no foreign-exchange line, and no monthly-charge anxiety. This was the card’s best case, and if you were happy with it, that happiness was legitimate.
Buying a coffee in a eurozone café but paying in dollars on your account, so the terminal charges you in the currency it prefers: 0.5%. Small in absolute terms, and notably the currency exchange fee itself is listed as free — the 0.5% sits on the POS side, not on the exchange. If you travel inside the EEA and your statement is in another currency, this is the number that applies.
Paying for something outside the EEA, priced in a currency that is not EUR: 1%. Also modest. The card’s headline international rate is 2% at an ATM with a floor of €2, which is where a €1 or €2 fee turns into the floor instead of the percentage — useful to know before you queue at a machine abroad.
What is missing from all of this is as important as what is in it. Multi-currency balances are not stated, so you cannot plan around holding euros and dollars side by side. Limits are given per day and per load, but not per KYC level — limits per verification level are not stated — which means the verification tier you happen to sit in may quietly govern how much you can move. And the one fee line that users complain about most is not in this table at all: unofficial reviews report 4–5% fees when topping the card up. Those come from third-party sites, not from the card, so treat them as a signal rather than a figure — but 4–5% on a top-up makes a €5 card and a €1 monthly fee irrelevant arithmetic.
How to top it up
The mechanism is specific, and it is the part that ties the card to the crypto side that has stopped. The card is loaded with euros received from exchanging virtual currency inside the SpectroCoin wallet. The card’s own page does not name which coins or which networks — not stated — so you cannot verify from the card’s pages that the token you hold is the one it accepts.
Loading and unloading via the wallet is free, the minimum load is €1, and the load limit is €25,000. Unloading back to the SpectroCoin wallet is also free. Client funds are held in a segregated account. A local or foreign payment receipt costs €10. Who pays the network fee on a deposit is not stated.
Two of those lines matter more than the rest right now. The first is the wallet: the card is not fed by a bank transfer of your own money in the ordinary sense, it is fed by converting crypto inside a wallet whose operator has told users to withdraw their assets. The second is the banner itself — the page asks users to withdraw assets, with no deadline and no procedure given. If you wanted to know what the company considers the correct next step for a cardholder, that is the only instruction published, and it is aimed at the wallet balance rather than the card balance.
Let me make the general principle plain, because this is where crypto cards most often cost people money. A blockchain transfer is irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. On Ethereum, fees are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send it at all. On Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy, often by burning TRX. And one popular route is simply not a native option: Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not something you can send natively.
None of that is advice to try anything. It is the reason the “coins and networks not listed” gap is a real one, and the reason a support recovery is worse than an ordinary bank reversal.
Paying with it every day
A Visa Debit in euros, physical or virtual, with ATMs available and no cash advances. Most eurozone spending inside the EEA was free. That is the honest picture of daily use, and it is why the card scored 6 out of 10 on everyday use rather than zero — the mechanics were fine. The score sits below a good mark because of what is missing.
Apple Pay and Google Pay are not named — not stated. So the common question about adding the card to Apple Wallet has no published answer, and I would not assume it worked. Whether any categories are blocked is also not stated. No cashback or rewards scheme is mentioned. And the app itself I did not read, so I am not going to describe screens or features I have not seen.
Two background facts explain why a card like this can decline in situations that look arbitrary to the person holding it. Merchants can look up the card’s first six or eight digits — the issuer identification number — to see which institution and which country issued it, and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the customer’s billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards precisely because that lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. Separately, Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with issuer records; it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines.
On the positive side of daily life, when a payment does go wrong: a chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. The card’s chargeback or dispute fee is €25, which is high enough to make you think twice before disputing a small purchase — and the time frames for disputes are not stated on the card’s pages.
One more everyday-cost item people forget: a declined authorisation may leave a hold on funds that can remain for several days, typically up to seven.
What can go wrong
I want to be direct here, because this is where the 1 out of 10 comes from.
The company’s own pages carry the warnings. A footer notice dated June 30, 2026 says onboarding, deposits and exchanges have stopped. The help-centre banner says Spectro Finance OÜ can no longer provide crypto-asset services in the EU/EEA, asking users to withdraw their assets. It is undated on the page; the linked article’s slug mentions 10 September 2026.
Then the complaints. Trustpilot for spectrocoin.com, read 2026-10-21, shows 2.3 out of 5 labelled “Poor” from 1,996 reviews, 33 of them in the last 12 months, with 76% five-star and 16% one-star. Those are unofficial, third-party user reports, not confirmed by the card — but they are unusually concentrated in exactly the period that matters. The themes: crypto payments held or not refunded (April to September 2026); account blocks and KYC rejections (September 2025 to June 2026); slow or automated support (February to May 2026); IBAN and SEPA withdrawal problems (January 2026); 4–5% fees and card failures (February 2026). An earlier theme covers blocked accounts and funds held from 2024 to July 2025.
The pattern in those dates is worth naming. Blocked accounts cluster before and around the closure. Refund and withdrawal problems cluster after it. That is what a wind-down looks like from the outside.
On the company side, here is the structure in plain terms. The issuer is UAB “Pervesk”, holder of electronic money institution licence No. 17, dated 06-11-2017, from the Bank of Lithuania. The group includes Spectro Finance OÜ (code 14608294), described as not authorised as a crypto-asset service provider under Regulation (EU) 2023/1114 (MiCA); Spectro Finance Limited in the BVI (code 2022454); and Spectro Finance Systems Inc. in Panama (code 155770356). Like all EMIs, it must safeguard customer funds in segregated accounts, though these are not bank deposits and do not fall under the Lithuanian Deposit Insurance System’s protection.
Why does the licensing split matter? In the EU, an electronic money institution can issue e-money, payment cards and e-wallets but cannot lend. Separately, MiCA — the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, which ESMA says took legal effect in June 2023 — covers the crypto side: custody, exchange, transfer. Its asset-referenced and e-money token rules applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an e-money institution. The transitional grandfathering period let providers operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026, or until they received or were refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever came first.
So a card project commonly depends on two licences, and this one has an issuer with an EMI licence and a crypto entity without a MiCA authorisation, past the transitional end date. That is not an accusation; it is the plain reading of the company’s own description of itself.
What that means for your money, concretely. Client funds are held in a segregated account, which is the safeguard electronic money institutions are required to provide. But segregated is not the same as deposited: EMIs must safeguard customer funds this way, and such funds are not bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. As mentioned, here the funds are outside the scope of the Lithuanian Deposit Insurance System. The arrangement is custodial — the provider holds the credentials, so you are trusting the provider completely — and whether two-factor authentication or an instant card freeze is available is not stated. A seed phrase, typically 12 to 24 words, is the unencrypted form of the private key; anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend its funds, and because transfers are typically irreversible with no built-in recovery, a stolen key has nothing to freeze or return it.
The wider category has form here. Custodial platforms have a documented record of failures: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). That history is about custodians generally, not about this company, but it is the reason people ask whether a custodial balance is safe in the first place.
Support, for what it is worth: Live Chat for lost or stolen cards, email for existing clients, and a Help Centre at help.spectrocoin.com. Languages and hours are not stated. Given the “slow or automated support” theme above, I would treat the Help Centre as documentation to read rather than a service to rely on for a same-day rescue of money that is stuck.
One last asymmetry worth naming, because it is the part people find unfair. Stablecoins are not censorship-proof: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. The same company can freeze. That cuts both ways — it is a reason not to assume your balance is unreachable, and not a reason to assume anyone will reach it for you either.
What to take instead
If you were starting from scratch, none of the options below is a like-for-like replacement for a closed product — they are the cards people in this space actually compare. Here is how they stand up.
| Card | Score | Card type | Cost basis | Funding | Rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | Visa; virtual/physical type and currency not stated; works anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores | Page says “No extra fees”; no issuance or monthly amounts listed | Spends from a Whop balance; pending balance usable as soon as a payment arrives, standard withdrawals use settled funds; backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet; coins/networks not stated | 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, more planned; payout currency and conditions not stated |
| Stella | 6.5 / 10 | Virtual and physical VISA, works at “over 40 million VISA merchants globally” | Not stated; fees “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App” | Deposit crypto into the account, which automatically tops up the card; in-app wallet, custodial | No cashback stated on the card page (the Earn product is separate yield) |
| UniFi Card | 4.7 / 10 | “Prepaid Debit Visa Card” issued by Lead Bank; app also supports Apple Pay; card currency USD | Not stated (“Fees may apply. See UniFi website for more details.”) | Receive funds via ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE); get paid to a USDC wallet; coins/networks beyond USDC not stated on the listing | Listing claims “3% rewards on balances”; card cashback not stated |
Who each is for, in one line each. Whop is the most geographically explicit of the three — consumer coverage in 31 US states including California, Florida, New York, Texas and Wyoming, and 41 states for businesses, with unsupported consumer countries including Belarus, China (Mainland), Hong Kong, India, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam — but whether eligibility rests on citizenship or residence is not stated. Stella’s official site does not state its countries; its terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates, which is the kind of routing you should read closely rather than skim. UniFi I could not confirm from official pages at all — the App Store lists send-money routes to the Philippines (PHP), Mexico (MXN), the eurozone (EUR) and recent release notes mention Colombia, Brazil (PIX) and the UK (GBP), which is thin confirmation.
Two patterns are worth drawing out. First, every one of these is custodial: your crypto sits with the provider, not with you, until the moment of payment. That is the category’s default, and the alternative to trusting a provider is to hold keys yourself and accept sole responsibility for key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps copied addresses. Second, notice how much of every column says “not stated”. That is normal for this category and a reason to slow down, not speed up.
Who I would recommend it to
Existing cardholders who want to understand what is happening to their money — that is who. Read the withdrawal banner as the company’s own instruction, check the Help Centre for whatever procedure now exists, and treat the segregated-account description as the protection it is and not as deposit insurance. If you are in the EEA or the US and you were hoping to apply, my honest answer is that there is nothing to apply to.
For everybody else — anyone choosing a crypto payment card now — this is a card to read about rather than a card to use. Its fee schedule was good; its closure is the more informative fact.
Frequently asked questions
What is a SpectroCoin card?
It was a Visa Debit card issued in euros, available physically and virtually, that you loaded with euros obtained by exchanging virtual currency inside the SpectroCoin wallet. A free personal IBAN account was offered alongside it, and no cash advances were available. It behaved much like a prepaid card: crypto was converted and loaded as a fiat balance, and the card spent only that balance.
How does the SpectroCoin card work?
You exchange crypto in the SpectroCoin wallet, the resulting euros load onto the card, and the card spends that balance as if it were ordinary money. Card payments in EUR inside the EEA were free; outside the EEA in a non-EUR currency the rate was 1%; EEA ATMs cost €1 for EUR withdrawals. The card has now stopped being open to new customers.
Is SpectroCoin a bank?
No, not as far as the card’s own pages describe. The issuer UAB “Pervesk” is an e-money institution licensed by the Bank of Lithuania under licence No. 17. As described in the risks section, it cannot lend and its customer funds are not bank deposits, meaning the Lithuanian Deposit Insurance System does not apply here.
Who owns SpectroCoin?
The group includes Spectro Finance OÜ in Estonia (code 14608294), Spectro Finance Limited in the British Virgin Islands (code 2022454), and Spectro Finance Systems Inc. in Panama (code 155770356). The card itself is issued by UAB “Pervesk” in Lithuania. The Estonian company describes itself as not authorised as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA.
Can I still get a SpectroCoin card?
No. From 30 June 2026 the company stopped onboarding new clients, and it also stopped accepting deposits and executing exchanges and transactions. The card page notes it is not intended for US residents, and fee tables refer to the EEA, but no country eligibility list is published.
Does the SpectroCoin card require KYC?
Yes — the card must be verified and activated before use. However, the card’s public pages do not list which documents are required, and the verification level, in the KYC sense, is not stated. In the EU, customer due diligence normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person check.
How do I top up the SpectroCoin card, and can I get my money out?
The card is loaded with euros received from exchanging virtual currency in the SpectroCoin wallet; which coins and networks are accepted is not stated on the card page. Loading and unloading via the wallet is free, with a €1 minimum and a €25,000 load limit. A help-centre banner asks users to withdraw their assets, but gives no deadline or procedure.
Is the SpectroCoin card safe?
Judged as a place to hold money today, I would say no — not because of the individual fees but because the crypto side has stopped. Spectro Finance OÜ states it can no longer provide crypto-asset services in the EU/EEA and is not MiCA-authorised. As noted, funds sit in a segregated account, but this is not deposit insurance and the funds are not covered by the Lithuanian Deposit Insurance System.
What do users complain about on Trustpilot?
Unofficial, third-party reports: 2.3 out of 5 labelled “Poor” from 1,996 reviews, 33 in the last 12 months, read on 2026-10-21. Themes include crypto payments held or not refunded (April to September 2026), account blocks and KYC rejections (September 2025 to June 2026), slow or automated support (February to May 2026), IBAN and SEPA withdrawal problems (January 2026), and 4–5% fees with card failures (February 2026).
Is a SpectroCoin card worth it?
For a new applicant, the question is moot: you cannot get one. For an existing holder, the value of the card’s old fee schedule — €5 physical, €1 virtual, €1 monthly, free loading — matters far less than getting your balance out while withdrawals still function. My score of 3.4 out of 10 reflects the product’s current state, not the quality of its pricing.
How app and neobank cards work – cryptocardsexplained.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team
