A free tier, a real Visa, and a lot of not-yet-settled details
A crypto payment card promises something ordinary banking has made difficult for many people: a card number that works at an ordinary shop, funded from crypto you already hold, without a bank turning the question away. Tangem Pay is one of the newer attempts at that promise, and the interesting thing about it is how much of the promise is already live and how much is still marked “coming soon” on the card’s own pages. I went through the company’s material line by line, worked out what an ordinary day’s spending would actually cost, and looked at who behind the counter signs the card, who runs the account, and what people who already hold one are complaining about.

My verdict: 6.9 out of 10. Good bones, unfinished edges.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.9 out of 10, built for people who already hold crypto
Tangem Pay suits you if you already keep money in stablecoins, want a virtual Visa you can put into Apple Pay or Google Pay, and can live inside the country list the app shows you. It does not suit you if you need a bank account in your own name, a card that works everywhere without odd declines, or cash from a machine right now.

Let me show you how the score breaks down before I explain it, because the marks themselves tell you where the card is strong and where it is still being built.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Available in the U.S. (not all states) and select countries in Latin America, APAC, MEA and Africa; the country list is not published, and the UK and EU are planned for 2026 |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Basic is $0 a month, Plus is $29.99 a month; $0 transaction fee, Visa exchange rate plus 1.5% on FX, ATM 4% on Basic, plastic delivery $14.53 to $82.10 |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Native USDC on Polygon from any wallet or an in-app swap, plus ACH/FedWire bank top-up in some regions |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | The card is issued by Third National, the programme is managed by Rain, the service is delivered by Paera LLC, and Tangem is not regulated as a financial services provider; complaints include declines at filling stations and KYC lockouts |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Basic is virtual, Plus is plastic, Apple Pay and Google Pay work via the card details; ATM 4% on Basic and 2% on Plus; unofficially, withdrawals are not yet available and physical cards have not shipped at scale |
| Total | 6.9 / 10 | A free virtual Visa with genuine strengths and a long list of details the card’s own pages leave open |
The strongest argument for this card is the audience note that sits underneath all of it: if you already own a Tangem Wallet and want a free virtual Visa, this is one of the few things you can do with it today without spending money. The weakest argument against it is that the free tier’s headline features are the ones least likely to work at a moment when you need them — cash from an ATM is priced at 4%, and third-party reporting says it has not been available in practice.
Two things about the setup matter before anything else, because they explain most of the surprises later. First, Tangem Pay is not a bank and not a regulated financial services provider — the company’s own footer says so. Second, the card sits inside a self-custody design: your USDC sits in a smart contract you control rather than in a company’s account, and freezing the card disconnects it from Visa without touching that on-chain balance. That is a genuinely different arrangement from most cards in this category, and it is also why the identity checks exist at all.
Will they give you the card?
Yes in some places, no in others, and the card does not publish a list — so the honest answer is that you find out inside the app.
Eligibility is residence-based. The card states that “eligibility is determined based on your country and region of residence”, and the check happens in the app during onboarding. Availability covers the United States — but not all states — plus selected countries in Latin America, APAC, the Middle East and Africa. The page I could read says only that the card is accepted at “Visa-accepting merchants in over 150 countries”, which tells you where you can *spend*, not where you can *sign up*. Those are different questions, and people constantly confuse them.
Third-party sites compile a longer list. Unofficial, and not confirmed by the card: available in Argentina, Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Hong Kong, Jamaica, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, the Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Trinidad and Tobago, the United Arab Emirates and Uruguay — 31 places in that compilation. The same compilation describes the UK, Andorra and EU states as restricted. Take this as orientation, not as an answer: if the app lets you through, the app is the authority, not a list someone assembled.
There is a second, smaller geography question — whether you can get *plastic*. Physical card shipping covers nearly 200 countries except about 20, including China, Russia, North Korea and Palestine, per press coverage of a Tangem statement whose date I could not confirm. So a reader in one of those excluded countries may still be eligible for the virtual card while being ineligible for the physical one. That is the kind of thing worth checking before you plan around a physical card.
One point that trips people up: the card does not publish its country list, and it also does not say whether eligibility follows citizenship or residence. Where the two differ for you, that is a question for support, not for a review.
How to get it
The path is short: verify your identity once, and the card appears. Two minutes, if it goes well.
The identity check is done by Sumsub — government ID and face verification. It applies to the Pay account only, not to your Tangem Wallet; your wallet’s self-custody setup is untouched. What the card does not publish: which documents are accepted, whether proof of address is required, or an age threshold. Prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults aged 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits, but that is a general category fact rather than something this card’s pages confirm.
There is also a second verification concept worth knowing about. Transaction limits depend on your “risk profile, verification level, and account history”, and the levels themselves are not named. That is why your daily ceiling may not match somebody else’s, and why it can change over time.
The card itself is a Visa, in three flavours: Platinum on Basic, Signature on Plus, Infinite on Prestige. Basic is virtual, Plus is plastic, Prestige is virtual, plastic or metal. The card is USD-denominated.
Fees around issuance are specific: the first physical card costs $0 to issue on Basic and $0 for the first card on Plus; an additional virtual card is $5 and a replacement card is $1. Delivery is $14.53 to $82.10 depending on the address, and the app shows you the exact figure when you order. Delivery time and the country list for plastic are not stated on the page.
Unofficially, and again not confirmed by the card: the live format is a virtual Visa only, physical cards are not generally available, most cards issue within five minutes while manual review can take up to 48 hours (per CryptoCardHub, 11 August 2026), and Tangem press coverage says the first physical batch was capped at 5,000 cards. Use the app version 5.35 or later — older versions will not show the Pay section.
Fees: what it really costs, line by line
The daily transaction fee is $0. That is the number most people look for first, and it is genuinely there. Everything else is smaller and easier to miss.

| Fee or limit | Basic | Plus | Prestige |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan fee | $0 | $29.99 / month | $999 / year (shown as $83 / month) |
| First physical card, issuing fee | $0 | $0 for the first card | not stated |
| Additional virtual card | $5 | $5 | $5 |
| Replacement card | $1 | $1 | $1 |
| Physical card delivery | $14.53 to $82.10 | $14.53 to $82.10 | $14.53 to $82.10 |
| Transaction fee | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Non-USD conversion | Visa exchange rate + 1.5% | Visa exchange rate + 1.5% | Visa exchange rate + 1.5% |
| Crypto conversion | USDC converted 1:1 to USD | USDC converted 1:1 to USD | USDC converted 1:1 to USD |
| On-chain withdrawal | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Bank top-up (ACH) | $1 | $0 | not stated |
| Bank top-up (FedWire) | $11 | $0 | not stated |
| Bank off-ramp | $1 ACH / $11 FedWire | $1 ACH / $11 FedWire | not stated |
| ATM fee | 4% | 2% | 1% |
| ATM free allowance | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Dispute fee | $30 | $30 | $30 |
| Daily spend limit | $10,000 | $50,000 | $100,000 |
| Cards per user | 3 | 5 | 10 |
Three everyday payments, with the fees that actually apply:
- A $30 coffee in your home currency. No transaction fee, no conversion fee. If you loaded from native USDC, it is converted 1:1 to USD. This is the case the card handles most cleanly.
- A $60 meal in a country whose currency is not the dollar. You pay the Visa exchange rate plus 1.5%. On $60 that surcharge is $0.90, and it is charged on top of whatever the card network’s own rate gives you. The card points to a separate tariffs PDF for the detail; the terms I could read are dated as applicable from 25 September 2026.
- $200 withdrawn from a cash machine. 4% on Basic means $8 of the withdrawal goes to the fee, before whatever the machine’s own surcharge is. There is also a cap of three withdrawals per 24 hours and $250 per time. Unofficially, per CryptoCardHub on 11 August 2026, ATM withdrawals are in practice “not available” at Basic, and the higher tiers advertise ATM pricing that is not live. If cash is what you need, verify this before you rely on it.
Two limits that are easy to underestimate: 100 spending transactions per day and 1,000 per month, and an annual limit of $10,000,000 per card. Unofficially, Basic is reported as capped at a $10,000 maximum card balance with a $100,000 daily load total and 24 loads per day or 150 per month. The monthly spend limit is not stated on the card’s pages at all, so anyone budgeting monthly should ask.
The free allowance on ATM withdrawals is also not stated. If you are on Basic, assume the whole 4% is payable out of your own pocket.
How to top it up
You load it with stablecoins, or directly from your bank account. The card spends only what you have loaded, so it cannot overdraw — but it also cannot rescue you if you forget to load.
The concrete route is native USDC on the Polygon network. You can send it from any wallet that supports it, or swap inside the app. The fees document gives on-chain withdrawal at $0 and transaction fees at $0; what you do pay is the Polygon network’s own gas, which the network charges and which you pay yourself. Where bank top-up exists, it runs through ACH at $1 on Basic and $0 on Plus, or FedWire at $11 on Basic and $0 on Plus — though availability varies by jurisdiction. The minimum top-up is not stated.
Two practical warnings before you send anything. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit on a network the card provider does not support, or sent to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. And USDC over Tron is not a native option — Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024 — so if your funds sit on Tron, you are converting before you are loading.
Getting money back out: on-chain withdrawal is $0, and the bank off-ramp is $1 over ACH or $11 over FedWire. The remaining balance “stays in the account you control” because it is held in a smart contract. How to close the account is not stated on the pages I read.
Paying with it every day
The good news: it behaves like a normal card once loaded, and it goes into your phone’s wallet.
You add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay using the card details in the app. On the current pages, Apple Pay and Google Pay support are described in those terms rather than as a native integration — so it is the card number being tokenised into your phone’s wallet, not a bespoke Tangem integration. Blocked merchant categories include gambling, online casinos and liquor stores, among others, with the full list not published. That is a policy choice by the issuer rather than something in the law: a merchant category code for gambling (MCC 7995) exists to classify the business, and issuers block it as they see fit, with the list differing from one issuer to the next.
The rewards are the part that will catch a planner out. Ongoing cashback is 1% on Basic, 2% on Plus and 4% on Prestige, with monthly caps of $100, $300 and $1,000. Boosted rates of 5%, 10% and 15% on the first $500 are marked “coming soon”, as is a welcome bonus of “up to $75”. The currency cashback is paid in is not stated. Read the 1% as the real number today.
Tier differences beyond fees: Plus adds extended warranty, price protection, purchase protection, auto rental insurance, Visa Luxury Hotels and two free lounge visits per year — the lounges marked coming soon. Prestige adds a metal card, eight lounge visits a year and baggage delay and loss insurance. Prestige itself is marked “coming soon” with the $999 yearly figure shown as a single payment.
The app is the Tangem app, iOS 16.4+ and Android, and its App Store listing shows 4.9/5 from 25K ratings as read on 20 October 2026 — that rating covers the whole wallet app, not the Pay feature specifically. If a payment goes wrong, the dispute fee is $30; the timeframes for a dispute are not stated.
What can go wrong
Four things, roughly in order of how likely they are to bite you.
Declines at exactly the wrong moment. A user report, gathered by a secondary aggregator summarising Reddit and not independently verified, describes declines at filling stations, hotels and restaurants, which is where a merchant places a pre-auth hold — one report puts a hold at $175. The mechanism is not mysterious: a declined authorisation may leave a hold on your funds that can stay for several days, typically up to seven. Address verification makes this worse for foreign-issued cards. AVS compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with issuer records, it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines.
KYC lockouts after the card already exists. The same unverified user report describes identity checks locking accounts after a card had been issued, and activation problems where support asked for a video. This is not what the marketing implies. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships — which is exactly why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents.
Nobody is clearly in charge when something breaks. This is the part I would want a reader to sit with. The card is issued by Third National, a bank; Rain, described as a Visa Principal Member, manages the programme; Paera LLC delivers the service and handles onboarding, KYC and AML; Tangem AG makes the wallet. Licences are not stated. Tangem’s own footer says the company “does not hold, custody, or control users’ assets” and “is not regulated as a financial services provider”. Each of those statements is individually reasonable. Together they mean that when your payment fails, you may be talking to Paera about a card issued by Third National in a programme managed by Rain, while Tangem’s help centre covers the wallet.
Programme-level risk, which is a category risk, not this card’s. Card programmes do close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically give a notice period, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw remaining balances. As for whether your money is protected if things go wrong: insurance of funds is not stated, and it should not be assumed. Funds safeguarded by an electronic money institution are segregated or insured but are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme.
There is one genuine structural strength here, and I want to be fair about it. Because the balance is a non-custodial smart contract you control, freezing the card only disconnects it from Visa; it does not affect the on-chain balance. A freeze is therefore far less dramatic than it would be on a card where the provider holds your balance. Transaction monitoring is handled by Elliptic and KYC by Sumsub, and Tangem says it does not see the identity data.
Support is a Help Center plus online support “available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week”, plus community channels on Reddit, Telegram and Discord. Site languages include English, German, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Turkish, Chinese, Korean, Japanese and Ukrainian — no Russian in that list, which matters if that is your reading language. For Pay account questions, third-party sources point to Paera.
What to take instead
Four cards in the same broad category, none of them a clear upgrade for everyone. Here is the comparison, and the honest note that these are different products aimed at different problems.
| Card | Score | Fees you can see | Top-up | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tangem Pay | 6.9 / 10 | Basic free; Plus $29.99 / month; FX + 1.5%; ATM 4% / 2% | USDC on Polygon; in-app swap; ACH / FedWire in some regions | Country list not published; ATM reportedly not live on Basic; plastics not shipping at scale |
| BloFin Wallet Card | 6.9 / 10 | Activation, annual, issuance, dormancy all $0.00; cancellation free; spend fee 1% or lower by VIP tier (1.00% down to 0.00%); FX not stated | USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base | Country list not published; 35 countries in the starting data; virtual vs physical not stated |
| Decaf | 6.2 / 10 | Activation $5 virtual worldwide; physical $10 in the US, $90 elsewhere; no annual or monthly fee; Decaf adds no FX fee on top of Visa’s rate | Pay a Decaf link or account details by card, bank transfer or USDC; app runs on Solana and Stellar | Long restricted list including Russia and Belarus; restricted US states; which coins and networks top up the card is not stated |
| SafePal | 6.2 / 10 | No account or management fees; issuance fee not stated; 1% FX on Mastercard non-USD settlement; refund processing 1 USD/EUR/CHF/7 CNH; swaps carry a spread; crypto top-up “as low as 0.4%” on top tier | Crypto from 40+ blockchains, converted to USDC or fiat; transactions on Arbitrum | Supported-regions list was empty when fetched; limits given in EUR; no cashback |
Reading across the row for Tangem: its distinguishing feature is the free tier and the cashback, plus the fact that the balance stays in a contract you control. BloFin is cheaper to start (all fees at $0.00) but charges up to 1% on every payment, which is a worse deal if you spend at all. Decaf adds nothing to Visa’s FX rate at all, which beats Tangem’s +1.5% if you travel — but its restricted list is long and includes Russia and Belarus, and whether the rule is by citizenship or by residence is not stated. SafePal is the broadest on chains (40+ blockchains) and charges 1% on non-USD Mastercard settlement, with no cashback at all.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Tangem Pay to you if you already hold USDC, you want a virtual Visa today at no monthly cost, and you are willing to treat the card as a convenience rather than as your only card. The $0 transaction fee, the 1% cashback, Apple Pay and Google Pay via the card details, and a balance you control rather than one a company holds — that is a good combination for someone already inside the crypto world.
I would not recommend it as your only card, and I would be cautious about it if any of these are true:
- You need cash from an ATM. 4% on Basic, a $250-per-time cap, three withdrawals a day, and third-party reporting that withdrawals are not available at all in practice.
- You depend on the free tier’s limits. The monthly spend limit is not stated, and reported Basic caps sit well below the headline daily number.
- You are in the EU or the UK. Both are planned for 2026, and planned is not available.
- You want a bank account in your own name. This is not that, and the card’s own footer says the company is not a regulated financial services provider.
- You are reading in English, but Tangem’s language list may not include your native language. Check the supported languages on the card’s site.
One last thing, because it applies to every card funded from crypto and to this one especially. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in your local fiat currency at the value on the date of each transaction — which can make every card payment a separate disposal. Stablecoins are meant to hold a steady value, but despite the name they are not necessarily stable: USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis, and TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022. I am not qualified to advise you on tax; I am telling you to check with someone who is before you spend this card heavily.
Frequently asked questions
What is Tangem Pay card?
Tangem Pay is a Visa payment card that spends a balance you load yourself, mostly with USDC. It lives inside the Tangem Wallet app and comes in three tiers: Basic, free and virtual; Plus at $29.99 a month with plastic; and Prestige, marked coming soon. Crucially, your USDC sits in a smart contract you control rather than in a company account. Tangem itself is not a regulated financial services provider.
Does Tangem Pay require KYC?
Yes. The Pay account needs an identity check by Sumsub — government ID and face verification — once your country of residence is confirmed. The wallet itself is not subject to it. The card does not publish which documents are accepted, whether proof of address is required, or an age threshold.
Which countries can I get Tangem Pay in?
Eligibility follows your country and region of residence, and the app decides during onboarding. The card is available in the U.S. but not all states, plus selected countries in Latin America, APAC, the Middle East and Africa. The full list is not published, so unofficial compilations of 31 countries are only orientation. The UK and EU are planned for 2026, which is not the same as available.
How much does Tangem Pay cost?
Basic costs $0 a month and Plus $29.99 a month; Prestige is shown as a single $999 yearly payment. The transaction fee is $0 and crypto conversion of USDC to USD is 1:1. Non-USD purchases pay the Visa exchange rate plus 1.5%, ATM withdrawals cost 4% on Basic and 2% on Plus, and physical card delivery runs $14.53 to $82.10 depending on the address.
Can I use Tangem Pay at an ATM?
The card is priced for it — 4% on Basic, 2% on Plus, 1% on Prestige — with a maximum of three withdrawals per 24 hours and $250 per time. But third-party reporting from August 2026 says ATM withdrawals are in practice “not available” at Basic and that higher tiers advertise pricing that is not live. No free allowance is stated. If cash matters to you, confirm in the app first.
How do I top up Tangem Pay?
You send native USDC on the Polygon network from any wallet that supports it, or swap inside the app; on-chain withdrawal and transaction fees are $0, and you pay the Polygon network’s own gas. Bank top-up runs through ACH at $1 on Basic and $0 on Plus, or FedWire at $11 on Basic, where available by jurisdiction. The card spends only the loaded balance, and the minimum top-up is not stated.
Is Tangem Pay a bank or a safe place for money?
Neither, in the ordinary sense. The card is issued by Third National, the programme is managed by Rain, and Paera LLC runs onboarding, KYC and AML, while Tangem AG makes the wallet and states it is not a regulated financial services provider. Licences are not stated, and insurance of funds is not stated either. The genuine structural advantage is that your balance sits in a contract you control, so freezing the card does not touch it.
Is Tangem Pay safe and are there complaints?
Mixed, on the evidence. Trustpilot shows Tangem at about 4.1 out of 5 from 876 reviews for the brand overall, with no Tangem Pay-specific page found. An unverified aggregator report based on Reddit describes declines at filling stations and hotels where pre-auth holds apply, KYC lockouts after a card was issued, and activation problems requiring video proof of identity.
Can I add Tangem Pay to Apple Wallet?
Yes — you add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay using the card details shown in the app. That is tokenisation of the card number into your phone’s wallet rather than a Tangem-native integration. Some merchant categories are blocked, including gambling, online casinos and liquor stores, though the full list is not published and blocked categories can vary by issuer.
What should I check before switching to Tangem Pay?
Three things, in order: whether the app accepts your country of residence, whether ATM withdrawals actually work at your tier right now, and what the monthly spend cap is — it is not stated on the card’s pages. Then decide whether a free virtual Visa with 1% cashback, or a paid tier with 2%, fits how often you actually pay. And if you travel, weigh the +1.5% on non-USD purchases against cards that add nothing to Visa’s rate.
How wallet cards work – cryptocardsexplained.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team
