A virtual card that spends crypto, with the fee details the site leaves out
If you have trouble getting an ordinary bank card — a frozen account, a slow application, a country where the banks say no — then a crypto card looks like the shortcut. Cryptomus is one of the names that comes up: you load USDT or USDC, and a virtual card number turns it into ordinary payments online. That promise is real, and it works. What I found while checking the details is that the useful part is narrow, the fee schedule is less complete than the marketing suggests, and the complaints that exist are mostly about exactly the thing you’d use this for.

This is not a bank, and this is not advice about whether a crypto card is right for you. It is a review of what the card’s own pages state, what third parties say with less certainty, and what that means on an ordinary Tuesday when you try to pay for something.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 4.7 out of 10
I scored Cryptomus at 4.7 out of 10. That is a low mark, and it comes mostly from three things rather than one: the fees that are stated don’t cover the whole picture, the card is virtual-only, and the company behind the programme isn’t named on the pages I read.
Who it suits: someone already holding USDT or USDC who wants to spend crypto online on merchants that accept Visa or Mastercard, and who is comfortable topping up a prepaid balance and accepting that the balance is theirs to manage rather than a bank account they can draw on. In practice that describes people who pay online in USDT already — the audience the card is really built around.
Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a physical card, someone in a hurry to withdraw cash, anyone whose country’s rules make crypto services awkward, and anyone who wants to know exactly what a payment will cost before they make it. If your bank card works, this is a worse version of it.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | “Most countries worldwide”, with local restrictions; no country list published, and it can change |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | Issuance $4, top-up fee 3.2%, maintenance or inactivity fees depending on card type; unofficial FX fee 3.9% |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | USDT and USDC; networks not stated, list may expand |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Issuer and legal entity not named; Trustpilot 2.4/5 from 521 reviews; a virtual card deactivated after a $1,200 payment and refund refused; recurring AML holds on funds |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Virtual Visa and Mastercard only, with NFC phone payment mentioned; unofficial sources list Apple Pay and Google Pay and no ATM |
| Total | 4.7 / 10 |
The two lowest marks are the two that matter most for daily use: cost, and reliability when something goes wrong. Everything else in this review is detail on those.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, most likely. Cryptomus says the card is available in “Most countries worldwide”, and that availability may be restricted by local regulation. That phrase is doing a lot of work in a short sentence: it means no country is excluded on paper, and it also means no country is promised. There is no published list of eligible countries, and the list may change without notice.
One thing I could not find stated anywhere: whether eligibility follows where you live or what citizenship you hold. Cryptomus does not say. That distinction matters more than it sounds. Sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are usually applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address, so a resident of an allowed country holding a passport from somewhere else may still be refused — or approved — for reasons you can’t predict from the marketing page.
Practical advice, and it is only advice: if your situation is at all unusual — you’re not in your country of citizenship, you’re in a place with its own crypto rules, or you’ve had KYC trouble elsewhere — raise it with support before you transfer anything to an address. That costs you a message and saves you a stranded deposit. I’m not going to describe ways around identity checks or country rules; there aren’t any that I would write down, and the only real answer to a restriction is to ask the provider.
The card is also described without a named tier list. The pages say “Choose a card that fits your needs” and mention that some fees depend on card type, but no tiers are named, so I can’t tell you what the differences are.
How to get it
The stated process is short. You register on Cryptomus and pass KYC before you can get a card. That’s the whole official description. What documents you’ll need, whether proof of address is required, what the minimum age is, whether there are different KYC levels, how long processing takes, and on what grounds an application is refused — none of that is stated on the pages I read.
After approval, the card is virtual. Visa and Mastercard options, with what the site describes as “10+ BINs” and multi-currency support; which currencies, it doesn’t say. The card is issued in about 5 minutes, and the site describes it as “issued instantly and works immediately after activation”. There is no physical card: no plastic is posted, no shipping time, no waiting for the postman. NFC payment by phone is mentioned.
So the honest summary is: this is a card number in your app, not an object in your wallet. If that works for how you already pay — online stores, subscriptions, services that take a card number — it may suit you. If you want to hand a card to a waiter or tap at a terminal, it doesn’t.
KYC is not optional here, and that is not a criticism. Regulated businesses are required to verify customers and assess risk under anti-money-laundering law, with ongoing monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. In the EU, that due diligence normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you’re a politically exposed person. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and electronic KYC systems check proof-of-address documents against records.
The uncomfortable part is what happens when it doesn’t work. If due diligence can’t be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or the relationship and, where necessary, end the existing relationship. That is why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents — it is a legal obligation, not bad manners. It also means a card you rely on can stop working at a moment you didn’t choose. Prepaid and debit cards generally go to adults of 18 or over, and some issuers set higher limits of their own.
Fees: what it really costs
Here is where I’d read most carefully. Cryptomus states a card issuance fee of $4. It does not state a monthly fee. It says optional maintenance or inactivity fees exist depending on the card type. It states a top-up fee of 3.2%. And that, on the official pages, is most of the schedule.

| Fee or limit | What Cryptomus states |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | $4 |
| Monthly fee | Not stated; optional maintenance or inactivity fees depending on card type |
| Top-up fee | 3.2% |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion | Crypto is converted to fiat at the market rate at the time of top-up; payment and conversion fees “may vary” (no figure given) |
| FX fee | Not stated (unofficial: 3.9%) |
| ATM | Not stated (unofficial: two listings disagree — one says ATM use unavailable as the card is virtual-only, the other says the ATM withdrawal limit is “unlimited”) |
| Daily limit | Not stated (unofficial: $10,000 daily) |
| Monthly limit | Not stated (unofficial: $25,000 monthly) |
The lines marked unofficial come from third-party listings, not from Cryptomus, and I did not confirm them. Where two third-party sources contradict each other — as they do on the ATM — that’s a sign of how thin the public information is, not a tie I can break for you.
The third row of that table is where I spend the most of my attention, and I’d ask you to spend yours there too. “Converted at the market rate at the time of top-up” sounds clean, and then “payment/conversion fees may vary” with no figure appears underneath it. To be explicit: I cannot tell you from the official pages what a single payment costs beyond the top-up fee. You are told the rate is the market rate and told that fees vary, without being told the number. If you need a hard figure before paying, this is not the card that will give you one.
Three everyday examples, using only what the card states:
- Paying a subscription. You top up, the crypto converts at the market rate at that moment, and the top-up fee of 3.2% is already spent before you make the purchase. If the merchant also applies its own currency conversion on its side, that’s a second, separate thing the card doesn’t control.
- Buying something priced in a currency the card isn’t. Cryptomus does not state which currencies the card carries or what markup applies, and it does not state an FX fee. The unofficial figure is 3.9%. Buy in a foreign currency and you are pricing a conversion that has an undocumented component.
- Paying more than the balance. A pre-loaded balance behaves like a prepaid card: the card spends only what is loaded, so it cannot overdraw. That is a safety feature worth having, and also means the failure mode is a decline rather than a negative balance.
One more cost that isn’t the card’s: the network fee for the blockchain transfer you make to top up is charged by the blockchain, not by the provider. If you send USDT over Ethereum during a busy hour, the chain takes its cut and the card company never sees it.
How to top up
Topping up is the mechanism the whole product rests on, and it’s the simplest part: you send USDT or USDC to the platform, and the card is funded in fiat. The list of accepted coins may expand over time; the networks are not specified. That single omission is worth sitting with.

Networks matter more here than in almost any other crypto workflow, because sending on the wrong network is how deposits get lost. ERC-20 is the Ethereum token standard, proposed in November 2015, and its fees — gas — are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send at all. Tron prices internally with bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. Transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent to an address belonging to a network the provider doesn’t support can be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee attached.
What the card’s own pages say about networks: nothing. What that means in practice is that the network list has to come from support or from the app itself before you transfer, not after. I would not send the balance you cannot replace to an address whose chain you haven’t confirmed — not because it’s clever, but because the transfer is irreversible and the card gives you no protection.
Card balance back to crypto or to a bank account: not stated. Neither is the minimum top-up, nor the fiat top-up options. Those are three gaps in a product whose entire value is the round trip.
A last piece of background worth knowing, since these two coins are what you’d be using. A stablecoin aims to hold a steady value against a fiat currency, and — despite the name — stablecoins are not necessarily stable. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022; USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are both US-dollar-pegged, and the BIS put roughly 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in these two as of July 2025. Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and fully backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations by a Big Four firm. Tether describes USDT as built on multiple blockchains with reserves intended to back it 1:1. That is the issuer’s own account of each; the historical depegs are the reason to hold what you can replace.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day use is the middle of this review: it works, and it’s narrow.
The card is virtual, Visa or Mastercard, issued in about 5 minutes and active immediately after activation. The pages mention NFC payment by phone. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not stated — an unofficial product listing names both as supported, while the official pages mention only NFC phone payment, so treat wallet support as plausible and unconfirmed. Blocked merchant categories are not stated either. There is no mention of cashback or rewards on the cards page.
Two structural things explain more of the day-to-day experience than any feature list.
First, a card number’s first six or eight digits are an issuer identification number — a BIN — which merchants can look up to see which institution and country issued the card. If the issuer country differs from your billing address, a shop may apply extra scrutiny, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs for exactly that reason. Address Verification Service, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address you typed against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. None of this is the card’s fault and none of it is fixable by you, but it predicts the odd refused checkout at a shop you’ve never had trouble with before.
Second, how the money is held. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase. With a custodial wallet — the normal case here — the provider holds the credentials and you must trust them completely. A seed phrase, typically 12 to 24 words, is an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Blockchain transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen key has no built-in recovery: the network cannot freeze or return anything. The historical record here is not reassuring — Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. And one more asymmetry worth knowing: a stablecoin issuer is not censorship-proof either. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.
What the card does offer is genuinely sensible protection at the card layer: 3D Secure authentication, freeze and unfreeze, and biometric authentication, with the statement that “No one will be able to withdraw funds or pay without your knowledge”. A CertiK project page is linked. The custody model and any insurance behind it are not stated. That’s the sentence I would want a reader to notice — the protections described are about who can use your card, not about who holds your crypto or what happens to it if the provider fails.
3-D Secure deserves a sentence because it changes who pays when fraud happens. It’s an identity check on online payments where the issuer assesses risk and either approves frictionlessly or challenges you, for example with a one-time code or biometrics. Visa’s brand is Visa Secure, Mastercard’s is Identity Check; EMV 3-D Secure 2, published in 2016, supports one-time passcodes and app-based authentication aligned with EU strong customer authentication. Under 3-D Secure, liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift from the merchant to your bank — or, per its critics, to you.
The app is available in the App Store and Google Play, with expense control and transaction history. Ratings are not stated on the pages I read, so I can’t tell you how people rate it.
And two things people search for that simply aren’t addressed: dispute handling. Chargeback rules are reason-coded — fraud, duplicate billing, goods not received — and in the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, while prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. Cryptomus’s FAQ page had no card content when I read it, so what happens when a payment goes wrong, or how you’d argue it, is unstated. Ask support before you need it.
What can go wrong
I found no official incident reporting and read no user news report specific to the card itself. What I did find was third-party sources disagreeing about fees — one listing describes a free virtual card with 0.5% conversion — which is why I treat the official schedule as the only reliable one and treat everything else as unconfirmed.
The bigger signal is user reports, and it’s worth reading carefully because it is mostly about the payments business rather than the card. On Trustpilot, Cryptomus shows 2.4 out of 5 from 521 reviews, read on 2026-10-20, with 43% one-star and 49% five-star. Trustpilot itself flags the profile as possibly associated with high-risk investments. The complaints describe the payment service, not specifically the card, so I’d read the number as a measure of the platform’s support operation rather than a verdict on this product.
Three patterns came up repeatedly in that material.
A card deactivated mid-life, with the refund refused. On September 24, 2026, a user reported a virtual card deactivated after a $1,200 transaction and the refund refused. The company’s explanation was that the issuing bank blocked the card after high decline rates, and that Cryptomus does not control that card programme. That last part is the part to sit with. It maps exactly onto how this product is built: the card network routes messages and sets rules, the issuer — a bank or e-money institution licensed under the network’s licence — holds the programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager and front-end. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. Programme closures have a shape: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances.
Recurring AML and KYC holds on funds. Reports from August to October 2026 describe funds held repeatedly, on dates including August 30, September 6, September 14, September 17 and October 6. This is the compliance system working as designed, and it’s also cash you can’t spend while someone reviews it.
Slow support, with tickets closed as duplicates. Also August to October 2026. Support is reachable via a Telegram bot (cryptomus_support_bot), email at [email protected], and an FAQ. Languages and hours are not stated.
Then the question behind all of it: who is on the other side? The issuing institution and the legal entity are not stated on the pages I read. That is not a small gap. Under MiCA — the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, which ESMA says took legal effect in June 2023 — e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, and the MiCA transitional period let providers operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever came first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised CASPs, white papers and non-compliant entities, which you can consult. A card is separately regulated as a payment service, so a crypto card often depends on two licences. Electronic money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, but those funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes. And a last piece of context for who is who: FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while people merely buying goods or services are not.
My practical conclusion: ask support who the issuer is, and how much of my balance sits with an e-money institution safeguarded under a licence I can look up, before I put money in. If the answer is vague, that is information too.
One last small trap. Declined authorisations may leave a hold on your funds that can linger for several days, typically up to seven. A card that gets refused can cost you twice: once at the till, and again in money that’s unavailable while the hold clears.
What to take instead
None of these is a recommendation, and all three carry risks of their own. They’re here because each solves a different part of the problem this card solves, badly.
| Alternative | Score | Card type | Stated cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| OkiCard | 6.0 / 10 | Virtual (physical also mentioned) | Issuance $0, monthly $0, starting price $15 for virtual card — pages disagree on the issuance fee; load fee 3%, transaction fee (USD) 0% |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | Virtual and physical, on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay | Not stated; no fee percentage published |
| TakeCard | 5.5 / 10 | Virtual, plus physical for Bolivia only | Virtual $5; physical in Bolivia $20 issuance + $20 shipping (another article says $10 — conflicting) |
OkiCard is the one whose fee page actually states its numbers: load fee 3%, transaction fee in USD 0%, and it says there are no hidden exchange spreads. It accepts USDT on BSC (BEP-20), Ethereum (ERC-20), Tron (TRC-20) and Solana (SPL), with USDC “soon” and BTC and altcoins “coming soon”; deposits go to a generated address and convert to fiat at the moment of spending. It claims “150+ countries” (some pages say “200+”) and “no geo-blocking based on your passport”, with users confirming they are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction. That’s the most transparent card here on paper, and its 3% load fee is close to Cryptomus’s stated 3.2% with the currency-conversion ambiguity removed. Its card network is given only as “Visa/Mastercard”, not specified, and no rewards are mentioned.
Cardex is a debit crypto card on four networks including UnionPay, with virtual and physical options — which matters, because physical means you can hold something. It claims “One crypto card, 200+ countries” with no exclusions listed. Conversion happens in real time at the moment of payment, and the site says an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” scans global exchange rates and picks the best one when you spend. That’s a marketing claim, not a guarantee, and no fee percentage is stated at all — its price is not stated either. Its App Store listing is Naira-focused, paying in Naira.
TakeCard is the most transparent of the three on fees: 1% commission per purchase, USD payments 1:1 with no currency adjustment, and other currencies at the official Visa rate of the transaction day. It has real disadvantages: the physical card is “available only to Bolivian users for now”, while the wallet itself can receive payments from any country. Its virtual card is issued in the United States, is prepaid, and pays in USD 1:1. One of its own help articles says $20 issuance plus $20 shipping for the physical card in Bolivia; another in the same centre says $10 — the site contradicts itself, which is a decent proxy for how much precision you should expect from any of these. You can top up from the Takenos balance; a starting-data list of USDC/USDT via Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum into the Takenos account was not verified by me.
Worth keeping in mind across all four: none of these is a bank, all three are subject to issuer decisions you don’t control, and all three leave the same gap Cryptomus does — the entity behind the programme.
Who I would recommend it to
- Someone already spending USDT online who wants the crypto in the same balance as the purchase and doesn’t mind a virtual number. That’s the audience this card is actually built for, and it serves it.
- Someone without a usable bank card today who treats this as a tool with a job — funding subscriptions and services that take a card number — rather than as a replacement for a bank account.
- Someone who has read the limits above — virtual only, top-up fee 3.2%, an FX fee that isn’t published, a card that can be pulled by an issuer you can’t name — and is still fine with that.
And not to:
- Anyone needing cash or a physical card. There’s no plastic, and the ATM situation isn’t stated officially; third-party listings contradict each other.
- Anyone who needs a firm all-in cost per payment. The official pages give you a top-up fee and then say conversion and payment fees “may vary” without a number. If your decision depends on knowing that figure, ask support, and treat a vague answer as the answer.
- Anyone who’ll be hurt by an instant decline. A card can be deactivated by an issuer, funds can be held for AML review, and a declined authorisation can leave a hold for days.
- Anyone in a hurry to move money back out. Withdrawal isn’t stated, and it’s the other half of a round trip.
If you do take it, my sequence would be: confirm with support who the issuer is, get a written answer on the conversion fee and the supported networks, top up with an amount you can replace, and keep enough balance elsewhere that a two-week freeze wouldn’t strand you. That’s caution, not alarm — this is a working product with real gaps in its published information, and those are different things.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Cryptomus card?
The Cryptomus card is a virtual payment card that spends a balance you load from crypto. Cryptomus describes availability as “Most countries worldwide”, subject to local regulation, with no published country list. It comes as virtual Visa or Mastercard options — the site mentions “10+ BINs” and multi-currency support, without naming currencies. There is no physical version.
Is Cryptomus a bank?
No — and the distinction matters for your money. The card is issued through an issuer under a Visa or Mastercard licence, and the crypto company is generally the programme manager. Cryptomus does not state the issuing institution or the legal entity on the pages I read. Card balances behave like prepaid funds, and electronic money institution funds are safeguarded rather than bank deposits.
How do I get the Cryptomus card?
You register on Cryptomus and pass KYC, after which the card is issued in about 5 minutes and works immediately after activation. The pages don’t state which documents you’ll need, whether proof of address is required, the minimum age, how long review takes, or why an application might be refused. KYC involves screening against sanctions records, so unusual personal circumstances are worth raising with support first.
Does the Cryptomus card require KYC?
Yes. Verification is a legal requirement for regulated businesses under anti-money-laundering rules, not a choice by the card. In the EU, customer due diligence typically covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and politically-exposed-person status. If due diligence can’t be completed, the institution is required to hold back or end the relationship — which is why accounts get frozen.
How much does the Cryptomus card cost?
Issuance is $4, and the top-up fee is 3.2%. Cryptomus says crypto is converted at the market rate at the time of top-up, but states that payment and conversion fees “may vary” without giving a figure, and does not publish an FX fee. Optional maintenance or inactivity fees depend on card type, and no named tiers or monthly fee are given, so the honest answer is that you cannot compute your all-in cost from the public pages.
Can I use the Cryptomus card in my country?
Probably, but you’ll have to ask. Cryptomus says “Most countries worldwide” and that local regulation may restrict availability, without listing countries. Whether eligibility follows residence or citizenship isn’t stated, and nationality is screened separately from address in most programmes. If you’re outside the straightforward case, ask support before transferring anything, since a blockchain deposit is hard or impossible to reverse.
Is the Cryptomus card safe?
The card-layer protections are reasonable: 3D Secure, freeze and unfreeze, biometric authentication, and the statement that nobody can spend or withdraw without your knowledge. What’s not stated is the custody model, whether funds are insured, and which institution holds the programme. On Trustpilot, Cryptomus shows 2.4/5 from 521 reviews, mostly about the payment service rather than the card.
Can I use it for subscriptions and online shopping?
That’s what it’s for, and Visa and Mastercard numbers are accepted at most online merchants. Two practical caveats. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs after looking up the issuer, and address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, so occasional declines happen for reasons you can’t control. Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not stated officially; one third-party listing names both.
Why was my Cryptomus card declined or deactivated?
There are three likely layers, and only one of them is the merchant. The card could be declined because of an insufficient pre-loaded balance, because a hold from an earlier failed authorisation is still sitting on the funds, or because the issuer itself stopped the programme. A user reported on September 24, 2026 a card deactivated after a $1,200 transaction with the refund refused; the company said the issuing bank blocked it after high decline rates.
How do I withdraw money from Cryptomus?
The public pages don’t say, and I’d treat that as a real limitation rather than an oversight to be puzzled by. There’s no stated minimum top-up, no stated fiat top-up option, and no description of moving a card balance back to crypto or to a bank. If being able to reverse the deposit matters to you, ask support for that procedure in writing before you load funds.
Is the Cryptomus card worth it?
For someone who already pays online with USDT and just wants a card number to do it with, it may be worth $4 and 3.2%. For anyone who needs physical plastic, cash access, a firm per-payment cost, or confidence that a disputed payment will be resolved, it isn’t — the card is virtual-only, conversion fees aren’t published, ATM access is unstated, and dispute handling isn’t described in the FAQ.
How virtual cards work – cryptocardsexplained.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team
