An $8 virtual Visa funded with stablecoins — and a lot of questions it does not answer

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The KOSH Global card is a Visa you spend from a stablecoin balance, sold mainly as a virtual card that costs $8 a year with no monthly fee. It is genuinely inexpensive for the things most people actually want — a card number that works online, Apple Pay, USD spending at 0% — and genuinely thin on the things you would want before trusting money to it. No issuer is named, no licence is named, no country list is published, and the card’s own help centre and marketing page disagree about the FX fee. I scored it 6.5 / 10, and that middle score is not indecision: the product is good in the narrow places it works and uninformative everywhere else.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
KOSH Global works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Who this suits: you already hold USDT or USDC, you want one card number for online subscriptions and travel bookings, you live somewhere the card is actually supported, and you are comfortable that your balance is held by a company rather than by a bank you can name. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs deposit-guarantee protection, a written list of eligible countries, or the certainty that a claim will be heard by a named regulated institution.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Let me put the score up front and then show my working, because the components are more informative than the total.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Availability depends on country of residence, the list is not published, the card is “available in select jurisdictions”; countries under comprehensive sanctions are barred
Cost 7 / 10 Virtual $8 a year, physical $80 a year, no monthly fee, USD payments 0%, FX 0.5% in the fee article (1.5% on the marketing page), ATM $1 + 1%
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDT and USDC to the KOSH wallet, deposit free, no minimum or maximum; networks not named
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Piers Technology Inc, issuer not named, licences not named; no complaints or reviews found; launched June 2026
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay, $250 per ATM transaction with the physical card
Total 6.5 / 10 Strong at spending, thin on transparency

The 9 for everyday use is the highest mark in the set and the one I am least tempted to walk back. A virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay where available, Google Pay per the marketing page, and a stated ATM limit of $250 per transaction covers nearly everything a normal card does, minus the parts a normal card does for free. Where the score drops is not the product but the disclosure. The 5 for eligibility is not a judgement about you; it is a direct consequence of the card not publishing the country list. When a card says “select jurisdictions” and nothing else, I have to score the answer, not the intent.

The reliability mark sits at 6 for the simplest of reasons: a company name I can verify, a product launch date of June 2026, and not a single review anywhere I could find. Absence of complaints on a four-month-old card proves very little. It is a neutral fact, not a clean bill of health.

Will they give you the card?

The honest answer is: it depends where you live, and the card will not tell you in advance.

The card option appears in the Cards section of the app only if “the card is available in your region”. No country list is published. If your region is unsupported, you can join an early-access list through in-app chat. There is one partial exception and it is worth knowing: a physical card “can be shipped to some regions where the card isn’t supported” — India is the example given. That is a narrow path, not an opening of the general one.

The marketing page says “available in select jurisdictions” and that Visa merchants are accepted in 180+ countries. Those are different statements about different things: where you can hold the card, and where the card number will be accepted if you have it. People conflate them constantly. Holding it is restricted; spending it is broad.

The terms bar users who are located in, or transacting with, jurisdictions under “comprehensive sanctions or embargoes”. No country is named, which is unusual — it means the list lives somewhere you cannot read. If your country is on a major sanctions list, you already know the answer. If it is not, the wording still leaves a wide grey zone.

If you are in an unsupported region, the practical sequence is: install the app, look at the Cards section, and if the card is absent, ask in chat. Do not order through a reseller. Do not assume shipping a physical card to a blocked region is permitted.

How to get it

Four steps, one document check, and a card you can have in a virtual form within the hour in most cases.

Age: the terms say at least 18. KYC level: there is a single personal-card KYC, ID plus selfie, and approval is usually 5–10 minutes. One thing that catches people out — if you completed KYC in 2025 or earlier, you must submit it again. Businesses go through KYB instead.

The card itself is a Visa, available virtual or physical in metal, which the marketing page says is “shipped worldwide”. The card currency is USD. Physical delivery is express, up to 10 business days with tracking, at $80. Which countries it ships to is not stated, and neither is the replacement cost if the card is lost in the post, so that is another question worth asking support before you order rather than after. Activation happens in the Cards section.

Fees

Here is where the card is strongest, and also where I found the one genuine contradiction. Take the table first, then walk three ordinary purchases through it.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a KOSH Global payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Amount
Virtual card $8 per year
Physical card $80 per year
Monthly fee None
Express shipping $80
Card authorization Free
USD transactions 0%
Foreign currency “0.5% added FX” in the help-centre fee article; the marketing page says 1.5% per foreign-currency transaction
USDC/USDT deposit or settlement Free
ATM withdrawal $1 + 1% + applicable FX
ATM balance inquiry $1
Declined ATM transaction $1
ATM per transaction $250
ATM per day 3 transactions, no weekly or monthly limit
Card spend limits User-set in the app; no fixed caps published
Top-up No strict minimum or maximum
Dispute request $30

The ATM line deserves a pause: the ATM operator may add its own fee on top, and no free allowance is mentioned anywhere. If you use ATMs regularly, this card is not cheap.

Now three everyday payments.

A $30 subscription in US dollars. No fee at all. Authorization is free, USD transactions are 0%. This is the case the card is designed for and it is as clean as the pricing gets.

A €45 hotel in Amsterdam. This is where the contradiction bites. If the true rate is 0.5%, the surcharge is about 22 cents. If the marketing page’s 1.5% is what gets charged, it is about 68 cents. I cannot tell you which is live, because the card’s own two published sources disagree and neither is marked as superseded. Note also that a help article titled “Should I pay in USD or the local currency?” exists and I have not read it, which means my advice on this point is incomplete by construction. My practical suggestion is not a trick to dodge a fee — it is to check a single small non-USD purchase and compare the amount on your statement against the card total before you commit to a large one.

A $60 withdrawal at an ATM. You pay $1 plus 1% of the withdrawal amount, plus the applicable FX fee at whichever rate is real, plus whatever the ATM operator charges. That is a combination of costs stacked on one transaction, and the $250 per-transaction ceiling means you would need multiple days if you were taking out more than that.

Two more cost facts worth carrying in your head. The card has a single tier — KOSH Everyday Card, virtual or physical — with no Visa Concierge and no lounge access. And multi-currency balances are not stated: the card is a USD card, and any non-USD purchase runs into the FX fee.

Top up

Topping up is the strongest part of the design and it is also where one important detail is missing.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up KOSH Global starts with a transfer to the right network

The card is loaded from the KOSH wallet. You send USDT or USDC to it. Deposits of either are free. There is no minimum and no maximum — the card’s own wording is “no strict minimum or maximum”. Your balance updates 5–10 minutes after the on-chain confirmation.

What the article does not say is which networks are supported, and that is not a detail. Stablecoins exist on many chains, and a transfer sent on a chain the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. The card’s help centre does not name the networks; you have to ask. Ask before you send, not after.

Whether you pay the network fee for your deposit is not stated either. In this category that fee is normally charged by the blockchain rather than by the card provider, so assume there is a small cost somewhere and do not treat the “free deposit” line as “free in total”.

There is a second, fiat route: a virtual USD account, funded by ACH or wire, which settles as stablecoin. Fees for that route are not stated. So the two paths have a published price on one side and an unpublished one on the other, and the one most likely to matter to someone without a bank account in the US is the one without a number.

Getting money back out is symmetrical and has the same shape. You can move the card balance back to the KOSH wallet in the same stablecoin you used to top up, and only your own added funds — welcome bonuses, referral rewards and cashback are excluded. The withdrawal fee is not stated, and what happens to any remaining balance if you close the account is not stated either. You can close the account from the dashboard or through support.

Paying with it every day

Daily use is the strongest section of this review. Apple Pay is supported wherever Apple Pay is available in your country, and Google Pay is supported according to the marketing page, which advertises it as working “in two taps” — though the help article does not cover Google Pay, so I would treat that as marketing rather than specification. Apps exist for iOS and Android; I did not read the store ratings.

The app gives you real control: freeze and unfreeze the card, set spending limits, and lock the card to particular categories or specific merchants. Whether merchant categories are blocked by default is not stated, which matters if gambling or similar categories are something you would want shut off. You can do it yourself in the app; the question is what you get before you think to.

Rewards are where the two sources part company again. The marketing page advertises 10% reward points on eligible purchases, 5% cashback on hotel bookings and $5 per referral, all carrying a “may vary and are subject to program terms” caveat. The help-centre fee article lists the 10% reward points as “coming soon”. I would plan as though rewards do not exist until you see them in the app.

Charging something back is a real process and it costs money. You must contact the merchant first. Then you send evidence to KOSH through in-app chat or email, and KOSH files through its card partner via the Visa network. There is a $30 fee per dispute request, and investigations typically take 30–90 days. For a large purchase that fee is obviously worth it; for a $15 subscription it is not.

The background reason some payments fail is worth knowing, because it applies to every card in this category. A card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that merchants can look up, revealing the issuer and its country. A shop whose customer is billing from a different country may apply extra scrutiny — and the address verification service that would normally confirm your billing address is mostly a US, Canada and UK thing, and generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. Declines are not usually a KOSH problem. They are a consequence of the BIN. A declined payment can also leave a hold on your money for several days, up to about a week.

What can go wrong

The honest risk picture has three layers: what I could not find, what the card itself does not say, and what is true of this whole category.

What I could not find. No official incidents. No user reports, no news coverage, no Trustpilot page, no Reddit threads — the only search hit for “kosh” was an unrelated koshigroup.com. Comparison sites show no reviews. The product reportedly launched on 12 June 2026; silence since the launch is the norm, not a signal. Another third-party profile says signups currently route through a partner platform ahead of a planned relaunch under the KOSH brand, formerly CopperX. Third-party listings are unofficial; I could not confirm either from KOSH’s own pages.

What the card does not say. The operator is Piers Technology Inc, described in its own terms as “a financial technology company, not a bank or a money services business”, delivering services through “licensed partners”. The issuer is “the regulated financial institution selected for the Card Program” — unnamed. No licences are named. No safeguard or deposit-protection arrangement is stated, and whether two-factor authentication is offered is not stated. The terms are governed by Delaware law with arbitration in New York. When I cannot name the institution that issued your card, I cannot tell you which regulator to complain to, and that is not a small gap — it is the gap that determines what happens if something goes wrong.

How the money is held. The setup is custodial: the card is collateralised by your KOSH USD balance, and the provider holds it. That is a considered trade rather than a flaw — it is what makes an $8 virtual Visa with instant funding possible at all. It also means you are trusting a company rather than holding keys yourself. And the category has a track record: Mt. Gox (about $350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about $400 million, 2018) and the Ronin Network bridge ($625 million, 2022). Self-custody avoids the counterparty but replaces it with your own key-loss and phishing risk, and blockchain transfers are typically irreversible with no built-in recovery.

The card’s practical safety features are decent and standard: instant freeze, spending limits, category and merchant locks, and help articles on lost or stolen cards and suspicious activity. Support is a help centre at support.koshmoney.com, in-app chat and an email address; languages and opening hours are not stated, and the help centre I saw was in English only.

One structural point about programmes generally: card programmes do close. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued programmes. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. Closures typically follow a pattern — a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you’re asked to withdraw what’s left. A 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026; I have that from one unconfirmed source, so treat it as an illustration of the timeline rather than a prediction.

What to take instead

Three alternatives came up, and none of them is unambiguously safer — they are differently informed. Scores are from the same review process as the 6.5 above, so the comparison is at least on one scale.

Card Score Main differences
KOSH Global 6.5 / 10 Stablecoin-funded, cheapest entry here at $8 virtual, but no issuer, no licences, no country list
Stella 6.5 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, crypto deposit that auto-tops the card, custodial; no cashback stated
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Visa spending from a Whop balance, 31 US states for consumers and 41 for businesses, explicit exclusion list; fees not stated
UniFi Card 4.7 / 10 Prepaid debit Visa issued by Lead Bank, ACH/wire/SEPA/SPEI funding plus USDC payouts; fees not stated

Whop Cards at 5.2 is the one with the most transparent *eligibility*: 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses, and a named list of unsupported consumer countries. That clarity is worth something on its own — you know where you stand. Against it: virtual-versus-physical and card currency are not stated, no fees are published at all (“No extra fees” is the whole of it), and the balance is Whop’s rather than a stablecoin wallet, with coins and networks not stated.

Stella ties KOSH at 6.5 and is the closest structural rival — virtual and physical Visa, accepted at what it calls over 40 million Visa merchants, funded by depositing crypto into a custodial in-app wallet that automatically tops the card up. Its terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates. Fees are “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App”, which means the number exists somewhere and I have not seen it. No cashback is stated on the card page; its Earn product is separate yield, not a spending reward.

UniFi Card at 4.7 is the one with a *named issuer* — Lead Bank — and the widest funding set: ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI, plus getting paid to a USDC wallet. That is a real advantage if you are paid rather than paying. Against it, eligibility was not confirmed from official pages (an app listing shows send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico and the eurozone, with release notes mentioning Colombia, Brazil and the UK), and no fees are published beyond “Fees may apply”.

My read: if your priority is a named issuer and predictable eligibility, UniFi or Whop are easier to reason about. If your priority is funding a card straight from stablecoins with no bank in the middle, KOSH and Stella are the same idea, and KOSH publishes more about costs. If your priority is one usable Visa for subscriptions at the lowest sensible price, KOSH’s $8 is hard to argue with.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the KOSH Global card to someone who has USDT or USDC already, lives in a region where the card actually shows up in the app, wants one virtual Visa for online spending and subscriptions, and treats the balance as money parked with a company rather than money in a bank. Check three things before you fund it: which networks the wallet accepts, which FX rate actually gets applied, and who the issuer is. If the answers are unsatisfying, this is not the card for you.

I would not recommend it to someone whose income depends on this card being there in five years, to anyone holding savings on it, or to anyone who needs to know that a complaint will be heard by a named regulator. It is four months old, it names no issuer and no licence, and it publishes no country list. That is a young product with thin documentation, and young products with thin documentation deserve a small test budget, not a salary.

It is also not for anyone who needs multi-currency balances — the card is USD, and non-USD purchases pay the disputed FX fee.

Frequently asked questions

What is the KOSH Global card?

A Visa payment card — virtual, physical or both — that you spend from a stablecoin balance instead of a bank account. The operator is Piers Technology Inc, which describes itself as a financial technology company rather than a bank. You fund it with USDT or USDC through the KOSH wallet, and the balance updates 5–10 minutes after the on-chain confirmation. The card currency is USD.

How does the KOSH Global card work?

It behaves like a prepaid card rather than a debit card. Your crypto is converted into a balance, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. You set your own spending limits in the app, and you can freeze the card, lock it to categories or lock it to individual merchants. Apple Pay works where Apple Pay is available in your country.

Is KOSH Global a bank?

No, and its own terms are explicit about it: Piers Technology Inc is described as “a financial technology company, not a bank or a money services business”, delivering services through “licensed partners”. The issuer of the card is “the regulated financial institution selected for the Card Program” — but no institution is named, and no licence is named either.

Who owns KOSH Global?

The operator is Piers Technology Inc, and the card programme sits with a licensed issuer that the terms do not name. A third-party listing says the product was formerly called CopperX and that signups currently route through a partner platform ahead of a relaunch under the KOSH brand. That listing is unofficial and I could not confirm it from KOSH’s own pages.

Is the KOSH Global card available in my country?

That depends on where you live, and the card will not tell you beforehand. The card option only appears in the Cards section if it is available in your region, no country list is published, and the marketing page says “available in select jurisdictions”. The terms bar users in jurisdictions under comprehensive sanctions or embargoes without naming them. One narrow exception: a physical card can ship to some unsupported regions, India being the example.

How do I get the KOSH Global card?

Four steps: create a KOSH account, pass KYC with government-issued ID and a selfie through Sumsub, order the virtual card in the Cards section, and optionally order the physical card. Approval usually takes 5–10 minutes. If you completed KYC in 2025 or earlier you must redo it, and the terms set the minimum age at 18.

Does the KOSH Global card require KYC?

Yes, and there is only one personal level: ID plus a selfie or liveness check. The marketing page also mentions a recent bank statement, though a proof of address is not mentioned in the help article. Businesses go through KYB. KYC rules are not a formality — they are how regulated companies meet anti-money-laundering law, and if due diligence cannot be completed the account can be frozen or closed.

How much does the KOSH Global card cost?

The virtual card is $8 a year and the physical card is $80 a year, with no monthly fee. Express shipping is $80. Card authorization is free and USD transactions are 0%. Foreign currency is the problem: the help-centre fee article says “0.5% added FX” while the marketing page says 1.5% per foreign-currency transaction, and the two disagree.

How do I top up the KOSH Global card?

Send USDT or USDC to the KOSH wallet — deposits are free, with no minimum and no maximum, and the balance updates 5–10 minutes after confirmation. The networks are not named in the help centre, which matters: a transfer on the wrong chain can be lost. There is also a fiat route through a virtual USD account funded by ACH or wire, but its fees are not stated.

Is the KOSH Global card safe?

It has the standard protections: instant freeze, spending limits, category and merchant locks, and help articles on lost cards and suspicious activity. But the balance is custodial, the issuer is unnamed, no licences are named, and no safeguarding arrangement is stated — so I would fund it with money you can afford to lose. It is also young: it launched on 12 June 2026 and has no reviews anywhere I could find, which for a four-month-old product is normal, not reassuring.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team