The 6.2-out-of-10 card with no named issuer and a single one-star review

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you have tried to open an ordinary bank card and been refused, or if you are paid in dollars from abroad and would rather hold your own keys than hand them over, the Decaf card is built for you. If you want a long public record, a named issuing bank and a helpdesk that answers, it is thin on all three. I scored it 6.2 out of 10, and the reason sits squarely in the reliability column: Decaf names no card issuer and no licence, and its entire rating history on Trustpilot is one review, one star, dated Sep 23, 2026, alleging fake support.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Decaf works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.2 / 10, and the gap is trust, not features

The score is built from six criteria, and the shape of the table matters more than the total. Everything the card does openly — activation price, ATM policy, no monthly fee — lands in the seven-to-eight range. Everything about who stands behind it lands in fours and fives. That is the pattern I would want you to see before you read anything else.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Not issued in 19 countries (Belarus, China, India, Iran, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam, Nigeria and others) and 12 US states
Cost 7 / 10 Virtual activation $5, physical $10 (US only) or $90 (rest of the world); no monthly or annual fee; FX at the Visa rate with no Decaf markup
Top-up options 5 / 10 Clients pay in Decaf USDC, the app runs on Solana and Stellar; the coins and networks that top up the card itself are not named
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Decaf, Inc. (Delaware), issuer and licences not named; one Trustpilot review (1 star, Sep 23, 2026) alleging fake support
Everyday use 6 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, ATM $250 per transaction up to 3 times a day; Apple Pay and Google Pay not stated
Total 6.2 / 10 A card that is cheap to hold and thin on institutional backing

The audience this fits, stated plainly: freelancers paid in dollars who keep their own keys. Someone who invoices from one country, spends from another, wants a Visa number that works at an ordinary shop, and does not want a custodian holding the balance. The one figure that marks it out from most crypto cards is the $90 physical activation outside the US — high against the category, and the first thing to weigh if you want a plastic card.

The person it does not fit is anyone whose priority is a named issuer, a published dispute process or a support channel in their own language. Those three things are not stated anywhere on Decaf’s public pages, and I have marked them as absent rather than guessing at them. The Help Center runs on Intercom with collections for Business Accounts, the Decaf wallet, DecafPay and Guidelines; the App Store listing describes the app as English only, so Russian is not supported. When I could not find something, I say so once here and move on rather than filling the gap with an assumption.

Will they give you the card?

Yes in most places, no in a long and specific list. The card is not issued in nineteen countries: Belarus, China, North Korea (DPRK), India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Cuba, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Nigeria. In the United States, twelve states are restricted: Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Maryland, Montana, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, Wisconsin.

One question I could not answer from the card’s own pages: whether the rule runs on citizenship or on residence. Both Russia and Belarus appear on the list, and the pages do not say which one governs. If you hold a passport from a restricted country but live elsewhere, you would have to ask Decaf directly rather than read the answer off a list.

Why a list like this exists is worth understanding before you read it as a rejection. Identity checks are a legal requirement, not a preference. KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk as part of anti-money-laundering and counter-terrorism-financing law, including ongoing transaction monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, establishing the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address.

That last point is the practical reason a card can be refused even in a permitted country, and why the restricted lists tend to be checked against citizenship rather than postcode. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships — which is why accounts get frozen pending documents rather than simply delayed.

I am not going to suggest anything that would get around a check. If your country is on that list, the answer is no, and the honest work is finding a card provider that is actually permitted where you live.

How to get it

The stated process is one line: “Sign up and verify your identity once.” That is all the card’s public pages give you. Which documents are accepted, whether proof of address is required and what the minimum age is are not stated. Prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults (18+), and some issuers set higher limits, but I would not treat that as Decaf’s stated rule.

What you get is a Decaf Visa card, either virtual or physical, and the physical one arrives with tracked delivery. The card currency is not stated. The company’s own page headline is “Earn in dollars”, and the sample balance shown there is in USDC, so dollar-denominated spending is clearly the intent — but that is inference on my part, not a published specification.

Activation pricing is where the two forms diverge sharply, and it is worth knowing before you order the wrong one:

The KYC tier structure, if there is one, is not stated either. Some providers grade limits by verification level; Decaf publishes no such table.

Fees: what a payment actually costs you

The headline numbers are good. Decaf charges no monthly fee and no annual fee, which is rarer in this category than the marketing suggests. The FX policy is stated clearly and is genuinely one of the better points about this card: Decaf adds no fee of its own, and “the FX is the one Visa offers”.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Decaf payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item What Decaf charges
Activation, virtual card $5 (worldwide)
Activation, physical card $10 (US only) or $90 (rest of the world)
Monthly fee None
Annual fee None
FX No Decaf fee; the Visa exchange rate applies
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
ATM fee added by Decaf, physical card None
ATM limit $250 per transaction, up to 3 times per day
Free ATM allowance Not stated
Spending limits Set by you, in the limits section of the card screen
Card currency Not stated (page headline “Earn in dollars”; sample balance in USDC)

The gap in that table is the conversion fee, and it is the one number that would tell you what a crypto-funded purchase really costs. Decaf does not publish it. So let me walk through three ordinary payments and show you what is known and what is not.

A coffee bought with euros on a euro-priced machine, card funded from a USDC balance. What Decaf publishes applies: no Decaf FX markup, the Visa rate. What is not published: the crypto conversion fee, which sits somewhere in the path between your USDC and the charge. You pay the Visa rate plus an unstated conversion cost.

A monthly subscription billed in dollars. Same structure, and here the missing number bites hardest because subscriptions bill repeatedly. If the conversion is a percentage, a small unstated fee compounds every month; if it is spread differently, it does not. Decaf’s pages do not say which.

A cash withdrawal at an ATM in the United States. This is the cleanest case, because it is the one Decaf describes in numbers. No fee is added by Decaf, the limit is $250 per transaction, up to three times a day. The free allowance is not stated, so whether a third-party ATM operator charges its own surcharge — which many do, and which the card cannot control — is your cost, not Decaf’s.

One more thing that is not a fee but behaves like one: on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by Decaf. When you move crypto onto the card, the network takes its cut first.

Top up: the part with the most missing pieces

How you get money in is where this card gets thin. Clients can pay a Decaf payment link or account details by card, bank transfer or USDC. The app runs on Solana and Stellar. Funds arrive as USDC into the Decaf balance and are moved to the card balance in-app.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Decaf starts with a transfer to the right network

Here is what that leaves open. Which coins and networks top up the card itself is not stated. The deposit fee is not stated. The minimum top-up is not stated. Who pays the network fee is not stated. So when you read that the app runs on Solana and Stellar, that describes the software’s own infrastructure, not a promise about what you can deposit. If you hold a token on a chain the provider does not support and send it anyway, blockchain transfers are irreversible — a deposit sent on an unsupported network, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee.

That last point is not a scare tactic; it is the normal design of the technology, and it applies to every card in this category. But it means the unstated deposit options are not a small omission. They are the difference between a top-up that takes a minute and one that disappears.

On the way out, bank withdrawals go to accounts in “85+ markets” and cash pickup works through MoneyGram in “180+ countries”. Moving the card balance back to crypto, and what happens to a balance if you close the account, are not stated.

Two category notes that bear directly on your top-up. Stablecoins can depeg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. And if you send ERC-20 tokens, gas is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send at all — Trellis-style resource pricing applies on Tron, and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option.

Paying with it every day

Virtual or physical Visa, spendable wherever Visa is accepted, with limits you set yourself in the limits section of the card screen. That self-set limit is a real feature in a category where many providers decide for you, and combined with an in-app freeze it is the kind of control that makes a card feel manageable day to day. Whether an in-app freeze exists is actually among the things not stated — the card screen has a limits section, but I could not confirm a freeze function alongside it.

What I could not confirm about everyday use: whether Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and which merchant categories are blocked. Both are not stated. That matters more than it sounds, because mobile wallets are the usual way people pay for a coffee or a taxi, and a virtual card without wallet support means typing numbers into a merchant’s site by hand.

The app itself is a genuine positive. It runs on iPhone, iPad and Apple Vision, with an App Store rating of 4.4 out of 5 from 113 ratings, read 2026-10-21. It showed 4.5 from 88 ratings earlier, and the app-ID page is where the figure comes from. Google Play was not read, so I cannot tell you what Android users see.

Whether rewards exist is not stated. There is no cashback figure in anything I found from Decaf, and I am not going to invent one.

Two background mechanics shape everyday use more than most people expect. Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of a billing address — street number, ZIP — with issuer records; it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. And merchants can look up the BIN, the six- or eight-digit issuer number at the front of a card number, to see which institution and country issued it, applying extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from your billing address. That is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another, and it applies to any cross-border card.

A declined authorisation may also leave a hold on funds that can remain for several days, typically up to 7.

What can go wrong

Start with the corporate picture, because it is the least complete part. Decaf, Inc. is described as a “financial technology company registered in Delaware, USA”, and states it is “not a bank, exchange, or asset custodian”, with payment services provided through licensed partners in each jurisdiction. The card issuer is not named. No licences are named.

That combination is not automatically a problem — plenty of legitimate programme managers operate exactly this way, where a licensed partner issues the card and the brand runs the app. But it means you cannot read the licence yourself. It also means that when something goes wrong, the counterparty you complain to may be a partner you never chose and cannot identify from the card’s own pages.

Now the complaint record. There were no official incidents found — no dated card events, and no record of regulator action. What exists is third-party and thin: Trustpilot at decaf.so shows a TrustScore of 3.2 out of 5 from 1 review, that single review being 1 star, dated Sep 23, 2026, from an unclaimed profile, read 2026-10-21. Its theme is an alleged scam and fake support, and it is a user report. A search for Decaf card reviews found no Reddit threads and no card-specific reviews. One review is too few to establish a recurring pattern, and I would not let it outweigh the absence of a track record either. What it does tell you is that there is no track record.

That review is worth taking seriously for a specific reason. Fake support is not a random hazard in this category. A card that holds your balance and knows your spending pattern is exactly what an attacker targets, and the attack that works is usually impersonation: a message that looks like the helpdesk, asking you to “verify” or to move funds. The genuine article here runs its Help Center on Intercom, so any contact that arrives by direct message asking for your keys or seed phrase should be treated as hostile on the general principle that no legitimate support asks for that. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key; a seed phrase, typically 12 to 24 words, is an unencrypted private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery — the network cannot freeze or return funds.

The custody model cuts both ways, and this is where Decaf’s positioning is honest. The app is non-custodial per its App Store listing — “only you control your private keys” — and Decaf says it is not an asset custodian. So you keep the crypto until the moment of payment. The cost is that sole responsibility for key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps copied addresses rests with you. User-set spending limits are the practical guardrail. Whether app-based 2FA exists is not stated.

For scale, holding funds with a custodian has a documented history: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Decaf’s model is a response to exactly that risk, not a repetition of it. And stablecoins are not censorship-proof either — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.

One last operational risk, category-wide and worth internalising: programme closures typically give a notice period, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw remaining balances. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX” and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. A 2026 closure reported by a single secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — unconfirmed, and I include it only as the shape of what can happen. Decaf’s policy on balance on closure is not stated, which is exactly the clause you would want to read before a closure rather than after.

What to take instead

I looked at three alternatives in this category on the same criteria. None of them is a clean upgrade — each trades Decaf’s self-custody positioning for something else, and I would not tell you any of them is safe.

BloFin Wallet Card, scored 6.9 / 10. Cheaper on paper: activation, annual, issuance and dormancy fees are all $0.00, with no fee to cancel. Its spend fee is “1% or lower” by VIP tier, running 1.00% at VIP 0 down to 0.00% at VIP 5, charged at payment — and that is a published number where Decaf publishes nothing. Top-up is USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base. No cashback or rebates; you get a reduced spend rate instead. Its availability is the weak point: the country list is not published on the card page (the app just says “select your country or region”), and the starting data lists 35 countries including the US, Australia, Japan, UAE, Brazil, Mexico, Malaysia and New Zealand. Whether the rule is citizenship or residence is not stated. FX fee not stated.

SafePal, scored 6.2 / 10. A virtual Mastercard debit, with spending limits given in EUR against a Swiss Fiat24 account; no physical card stated. No account creation or management fees, but the card issuance fee is not stated. Fees are disclosed in pieces: standard top-up 0%, a 1% FX fee on Mastercard non-USD settlement, 1 USD/EUR/CHF/7 CNY refund processing, and a spread inside swaps that is not quantified — though a bank page elsewhere says crypto top-up is “as low as 0.4%” on the top tier. Top-up from 40+ blockchains, converted to USDC (default) or fiat, with transactions on Arbitrum. No cashback; referral commissions up to 40% of referred top-up fees. Its eligibility wording is “citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas”, and the regions list page was empty when fetched.

Avici, scored 6.1 / 10. A Visa with secured credit-card wording, virtual cards by category — subscriptions, groceries, travel — plus a physical card delivered. Country eligibility is not stated, as are all fee amounts: the page says “No Hidden Fee”, “No Gas Fee, No Interchange Fee” and gives no numbers. You deposit crypto to Avici and top up the card with crypto; coins and networks are not listed, and it says you can withdraw funds anytime. Perks are listed, including airline miles, rental car insurance and trip protection, plus a mention of “Avenue to TradeFI rewards”, but no cashback rate.

Decaf BloFin SafePal Avici
Score 6.2 6.9 6.2 6.1
Annual / monthly fee None $0.00 each None for the account; card fee not stated No amounts stated
Spend fee Not stated 1.00% down to 0.00% by VIP tier Spread inside swaps, not quantified Not stated
FX Visa rate, no Decaf fee Not stated 1% on Mastercard non-USD Not stated
Top-up Card, bank transfer or USDC; networks not stated USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base 40+ blockchains to USDC or fiat Crypto to Avici; coins not listed
Cashback Not stated None None Not stated

The honest summary: BloFin scores higher and publishes its fees; SafePal publishes the most detail of anyone; Avici is the vaguest. Decaf’s genuine differentiator is the non-custodial, keep-your-keys positioning — none of the three above claims that as clearly. If that is your priority, the comparison is closer than the numbers suggest. If published fees are your priority, this table is where you should look.

Who I would recommend it to

Three groups, in order of how well I think it fits.

If you are a freelancer or contractor paid in dollars from outside your home country, hold your own keys, and have decided an ordinary bank card is not going to happen — this is the card that situation produces. The dollar framing, the Visa number, the self-set spending limits and the non-custodial app all point the same way. Just read the top-up section twice first, because the deposit side is where the unanswered questions sit.

If you already use a stablecoin you can send yourself on a network you understand, and you mostly pay online in dollars, the missing details matter less than they sound. The card spends a balance you control, the FX policy is published, and there is no monthly fee to carry. Understand what happens if the provider stops.

If you need any of the following, I would steer you elsewhere: a named issuing bank you can read the licence of, a published dispute or chargeback process, support in a language other than English, mobile wallet support you can rely on day to day, or a country eligibility list detailed enough to answer your question without asking. Four of those five are not stated on Decaf’s pages.

And the last group is the one I would push hardest on. Do not move meaningful savings onto this card on the strength of a self-custody claim alone. Non-custody protects the crypto sitting in your wallet until the moment of payment. It says nothing about the issuer behind the Visa number, the partner handling the funds, or what happens to a balance if the programme closes — and Decaf’s policy on balance on closure is not stated. Keep the experiment sized so that the worst realistic outcome is survivable. That is not a criticism of Decaf; it is the standard I would apply to any card that publishes an unnamed issuer.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Decaf card?

It is a Visa payment card, available virtual or physical, that spends a balance you hold yourself. The company describes itself as a financial technology company registered in Delaware, USA, and states it is not a bank, exchange or asset custodian. The App Store listing says the app is non-custodial — only you control your private keys. The card issuer is not named on its public pages, which is the detail I would want answered first.

How does the Decaf card work?

You verify your identity once, top up, and the balance sits on the card to be spent. Funds arrive as USDC into the Decaf balance and are moved to the card balance in-app, and the app runs on Solana and Stellar. You set your own spending limits in the limits section of the card screen. Because it behaves more like a pre-loaded balance card than a bank debit, it cannot overdraw — but the coins and networks that top the card are not stated.

Is Decaf a bank?

No, and it says so itself: “not a bank, exchange, or asset custodian”. Payment services come through licensed partners in each jurisdiction, and no licences are named on the public pages. The practical consequence is that you cannot read the licence behind the card yourself, so if something goes wrong the counterparty you deal with may be a partner you never chose.

Who owns Decaf?

Decaf, Inc., described as a financial technology company registered in Delaware, USA. Beyond that, the public pages do not say who owns the company, who issues the card, or which partners provide the payment services. That is a thin answer for a financial product, and it is the main reason the reliability score sits at 4 out of 10.

Does the Decaf card require KYC?

The card states one line: “Sign up and verify your identity once.” Which documents are accepted, whether proof of address is needed and the minimum age are not stated. Identity verification is a legal requirement for regulated businesses under anti-money-laundering rules, so a check is certain — what is uncertain is how heavy it is and whether rejected documents get you a second attempt.

Is Decaf card available in my country?

Not in nineteen countries: Belarus, China, North Korea (DPRK), India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Cuba, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Nigeria. Twelve US states are restricted: Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Maryland, Montana, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, Wisconsin. Whether the rule runs on citizenship or residence is not stated.

What does it cost to activate a Decaf card?

The virtual card is $5 worldwide. The physical card is $10 in the US or $90 in the rest of the world. There is no monthly fee and no annual fee, and Decaf adds no FX fee of its own — the Visa exchange rate applies. The crypto conversion fee is not stated, which makes the true cost of a crypto-funded purchase impossible to calculate from public information.

How do I top up the Decaf card?

You can pay a Decaf payment link or account details by card, bank transfer or USDC, and the sample balance on the site is shown in USDC. But which coins and networks top up the card itself is not stated, and neither is the deposit fee, the minimum, or who pays the network fee. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so sending on the wrong network can lose the funds with no guarantee of recovery.

Is Decaf card safe?

That depends on what you mean by safe. The crypto side is genuinely non-custodial — your keys stay yours, and you carry the risk of key loss and phishing yourself. The financial side is undocumented: no named issuer, no named licence, one Trustpilot review (1 star, Sep 23, 2026) alleging fake support, and no Reddit threads or card-specific reviews. Neither half cancels the other.

Is Decaf card worth it?

For someone paid in dollars who cannot get an ordinary card and holds their own keys, the no-monthly-fee and self-set-limit design is worth it, and the $90 physical activation outside the US is the number to weigh. For everyone else, the missing issuer, unnamed licences and English-only support are real costs. I would try it with an amount you could lose entirely before you treat it as infrastructure.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team