A USDC-funded Visa with a narrow country list and a self-custody twist

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Avici sells itself as a crypto-funded Visa that you can set up from an app in a couple of minutes and spend anywhere Visa is taken, with a USDC balance sitting in a self-custody smart contract until you pay. That pitch is real, and so are the limits. The card is only issued to residents of 49 listed regions, fees differ sharply between the Platinum and Signature tiers, and the official top-up path is USDC only, with everything else routed through a third-party swap. The card programme also runs through an issuer called “Third National” whose full role and licences Avici does not spell out on its public pages. If you hold USDC, live in a supported country, and want a Visa that draws from a wallet you control, Avici is worth a close look. If you are in the EU, in a sanctioned country, or you need a card you can load with anything other than USDC without an extra hop, it is not the right fit.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Avici works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions in this review are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Avici earns 6.1 out of 10 in my assessment. The breakdown below shows where the marks come from and where they go.

Criterion Mark Reason
Who can get it 7 / 10 Issued to residents of 49 regions, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Japan, the UAE and the US; closed to 17 countries.
Cost 5 / 10 First virtual Platinum is 15 USD, physical Platinum 50 USD, Signature 30 USD in year one then 20 USD a year; no transaction fee and no FX markup from Avici, but Visa’s own 0.4 to 1% cross-border fee can still apply.
Top-up options 5 / 10 The official path is USDC only, via a Loan Escrow smart contract; other coins are unofficial and run through an auto-swap called Relay on EVM L2s or Solana.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 The company is Avici Inc. in San Francisco, with Third National named in the loan contract; licences are not published and the public Trustpilot shows 3.5 out of 5 from only five reviews, one of them about a blocked 20,000 EUR payment.
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals on both tiers with the Signature fee at zero.

The card fits a specific person: a resident of Latin America or the UAE who already holds USDC and wants a Visa that does not force them to hand custody to a centralised exchange. Outside that picture the case is thinner, and the EU is simply not on the list.

Will they give you the card

The card is not sold everywhere. Avici publishes a list of 49 regions whose residents can apply, and a separate list of countries where spending is not allowed even if the card is in your wallet. The two lists overlap, and reading them carefully is the first thing to do before you download the app.

The supported list is wide rather than deep. It includes the Americas (Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Mexico and the United States, with US issuance subject to a state-level supported list), the Middle East (the United Arab Emirates), Asia-Pacific (Australia, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand) and Africa (South Africa). The European Union is missing. There is no entry for Georgia, Serbia, Armenia or Kazakhstan either, which is worth noting if you live in one of those countries and were hoping a US company would simply overlook it.

Seventeen countries are explicitly prohibited for residence: Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. A shorter list of places where you cannot spend with the card even if you got it elsewhere includes Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The spending block lines up with the residence block but is narrower: Turkey and Belarus, for instance, are on the residence list but not on the spending block list.

What the card’s own pages do not say is whether eligibility is by citizenship, by residence, or by both. The eligibility text only talks about residents of the listed regions, and the prohibition list reads as a residence rule. If you are a citizen of a restricted country but live somewhere on the supported list, the public documents do not address that case either way. Treat it as a question to ask support before you sign up.

A few practical points from the same set of pages: the card is a Visa, it is described as a secured credit card, and the virtual card product lets you spin up cards by category (subscriptions, groceries, travel) and add them to a mobile wallet. The native currency is the US dollar. The exact card currency at point of sale is not stated, which matters more for the fees section than for this one.

How to get it

The signup story is short: you download the app, sign up with an email, and complete a single verification step through Sumsub, the third-party identity provider. Avici’s marketing says the card is “ready in 2 minutes,” and the support docs describe Sumsub’s flow as taking “about 2 minutes” or “no more than a few minutes” once the documents are uploaded. The reality for most people is somewhere in between: the software check is fast, the human review behind it is not always instant.

The Sumsub flow asks for personal details, identity documents and a liveness check (a short selfie video to confirm you are a real person in front of the camera). What it does not ask for, at least according to the public docs, is a separate proof of address. That is worth knowing if you have only a recent utility bill or a bank statement to hand: Avici appears not to require one. The docs are also explicit that your KYC data is shared with the card partners, and that Sumsub runs ongoing anti-money-laundering monitoring of both you and the funds on the chain. Business accounts are a separate flow.

There is no public document list of which exact ID types are accepted, and no description of the rejection reasons Sumsub might give you. If you have a name change, dual citizenship, or an address that does not match your document, expect to spend time on this. If you do not pass verification after paying for the card, the only stated remedy is to contact in-app support to ask for a refund.

Physical cards ship by standard untracked mail in three to four weeks at no extra cost. If you do not want to wait, you can pay 50 USD for international priority tracked delivery in one to two weeks, or 15 USD for a US-only priority option whose timing the docs do not state. The list of countries Avici ships physical cards to is not published, and neither is a replacement cost if the card is lost or stolen in transit.

What it really costs: the Fees

Avici leans on three phrases on its homepage: “No Hidden Fee,” “No Gas Fee,” and “No Interchange Fee.” None of those are amounts, and you have to read the next layer to see what you are actually being charged. The good news is that Avici itself does not take a percentage on spending and does not mark up the foreign exchange rate. The less good news is that the card comes in two tiers with very different price tags, and that Visa’s own cross-border fee can still appear on non-USD transactions.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Avici payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here is the full costs picture, with the official figures from Avici’s docs.

Item Amount
Virtual Platinum, first card 15 USD (one-time)
Virtual Platinum, later cards 10 USD (one-time each)
Physical Platinum 50 USD (one-time)
Virtual Signature, year 1 30 USD
Virtual Signature, year 2 onwards 20 USD per year
Physical Signature, issuance 75 USD
Physical Signature, year 2 onwards 20 USD per year
Transaction fee 0 USD
Foreign exchange markup by Avici 0%
Visa cross-border fee (non-USD) 0.4 to 1% (charged by Visa, not Avici)
Top-up fee none stated
Withdrawal to wallet none stated
Declined transaction, Platinum 0.60 USD
Declined transaction, Signature 0 USD
Balance inquiry, Platinum 0.60 USD
Balance inquiry, Signature 0 USD
ATM withdrawal, Platinum 1 USD + 0.65%
ATM withdrawal, Signature 0 USD
Per-transaction spend limit 1,000 USD
Daily spend limit 3,000 USD
Transactions per day 3
Minimum top-up not stated
Card currency not stated

The percentages and tier names came from Avici’s own docs. The minimum top-up is the gap: the official pages do not give a number, and the only figure you will find is unofficial, at 1 USD on a single third-party site.

Three everyday situations show how this works in practice. The first is paying for a coffee in Tokyo with a physical Platinum card. Avici takes no transaction fee and adds no FX markup; Visa may add 0.4 to 1% on the cross-border leg if the merchant’s acquirer passes that through, which the merchant often does not break out. The second is withdrawing 200 USD from an ATM in São Paulo on a Signature card: the Avici fee is zero, and the only cost is whatever the ATM owner charges for the use of the machine itself, which is set by the operator and not by Avici. The third is trying a 4,500 USD purchase on a single card: the per-transaction cap is 1,000 USD and the daily cap is 3,000 USD, so the payment will be declined. You can split the bill or top up the limit in settings, but you cannot override the cap on the card itself.

Two related things to keep in mind. The ATM limit in some unofficial write-ups is given as 250 USD per day, which contradicts Avici’s own 1,000 USD per transaction and 3,000 USD per day figures. The official numbers are the ones to trust until Avici says otherwise. The “Infinite” tier listed as “Coming soon” on the docs index is not yet on sale and is not in this costs table; if you are reading this later, check whether it has launched and how its fees compare.

How to top up the Avici card

Top up is the part of Avici that is most different from a normal prepaid card, and the part most worth understanding before you commit money.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Avici starts with a transfer to the right network

The official funding path is USDC only. You send USDC into a smart contract called the Loan Escrow, and the contract credits your card as a USD balance. When you spend, the USDC you used is liquidated from the contract roughly every one to two days, and sometimes weekly. The escrow is self-custodial: your wallet owns the contract, and you can withdraw any USDC still sitting in it at any time, with no fee from Avici. Avici (and the issuer, Third National) can only pull the USDC that matches charges already made. That is a noticeably different model from a custodial prepaid card, where the company holds your balance and decides when to release it.

What is not official is everything else. A third-party summary describes topping up with “any token” through an auto-swap called Relay on EVM L2 networks or on Solana, with deposits arriving in two to seven minutes. Treat that as unofficial and not confirmed by Avici, and treat the 1 USD minimum top-up the same way. If you want to use a token other than USDC, the only honest answer is that Avici’s own pages do not describe that path, and a third-party summary is the only place it appears. The docs also do not describe any fiat top-up option, such as a bank transfer or a card top-up.

Three practical things follow. First, the network matters: a USDC transfer on a network the escrow contract does not accept, or to an address on a different network, can be lost or stuck in manual recovery with no guarantee of return. Second, on-chain gas is paid by you, not by Avici, even with the “no gas fee” marketing line; that line refers to the card side, not to the deposit side. Third, because spent USDC is liquidated in batches, the price of USDC at the moment of liquidation is what sets the dollar value Avici uses, and that is not the price at the moment you spent.

Paying with it every day

Daily use is where Avici is strongest. The card is a Visa, which means it works at any merchant that takes Visa, online and offline, including tap-to-pay terminals. You can add the card to Apple Pay and Google Pay; the docs describe this as tap-to-pay with self-custody, with passkeys and account abstraction in the app, and the homepage specifically mentions passkeys. There is no published list of blocked merchant categories, so gambling, fuel stations, subscriptions and the rest behave the way Visa classifies them. One unofficial summary lists gambling, illegal drugs and financial institutions as categories the card declines by default, with financial institutions needing additional approval; treat that as unofficial and not confirmed by Avici.

The perks page talks about the usual Visa Platinum and Signature travel benefits: airline miles, rental car insurance, restaurant and travel perks, and trip protection, plus a phrase called “Avenue to TradeFI rewards” that does not translate into a published cashback rate. There is no cashback rate on the public pages, and there is no rewards table to read. If you choose Avici for the perks, the perks are the Visa benefits, not an Avici-specific programme.

The app is the only documented way to reach support. There is no public email address, no phone line, no live chat window, and the docs do not say which languages the in-app support team works in or which hours it keeps. If you lose your phone and your only login is the app, that is the same team you would have to ask to recover access. The dispute and chargeback process is not described on the security page: Avici only states that, if you paid for the card and never finished verification, in-app support is the route for a refund. If you have a problem with a payment you actually made, the public docs do not lay out a process. A hold from a declined authorisation can stay on the balance for up to seven days, which is normal for card networks but worth knowing if you are on a tight budget.

What can go wrong

There are three categories of risk to weigh: how the company is set up, what users have reported, and the broader category risk of crypto cards in general.

The company is Avici Inc., 300 4th Street, San Francisco, California 94107. The docs name “Third National” as a party in the loan contract structure, in a role that the public pages do not detail. The full issuer and BIN sponsor, and the licences they hold, are not stated on Avici’s site. One unofficial write-up names the issuing partner as Rain and says KYC data is shared with it, but that is third-party and not confirmed by Avici. The card pages were last updated in mid to late 2025, with the prohibitions page updated 19 August 2025, the Avici Card Terms of Service updated 23 June 2025, and the Business Program Terms updated 16 October 2025. None of those updates replaced the gaps in the issuer information.

The public Trustpilot page for Avici shows 3.5 out of 5 across five reviews, which is a very small sample. The most serious report is a 31 March 2026 review from a business-account user who says a 20,000 EUR incoming payment was credited and then blocked, the account was restricted, support did not reply, and no refund was issued. A January 2026 review describes being stuck in a loop at the email and authenticator verification step. Both are unverified user reports and not adjudicated facts, but they point at two real things: a large payment can be frozen, and the in-app support channel can be slow to answer.

The self-custody design does narrow one category of risk. The escrow is on-chain and your wallet owns the contract, so Avici cannot pull funds out of it on a whim and a third party cannot drain it by going after the company. The flipside is that you carry the wallet risk: if you lose your seed phrase, the USDC in escrow is gone, and no support team can recover it. Two-factor authentication and insurance are not described on the security page, even though passkeys are mentioned on the homepage. Card-level controls exist: temporary freeze, permanent cancel, per-card spending limits, PIN, and the option to show or hide card details in the app. These are standard for the category and they help, but they are not a substitute for a published incident-response process.

The category risks to keep in mind, even on a self-custody card, are: stablecoins are not guaranteed to hold their peg; an irreversible on-chain transfer to the wrong network or address is hard to recover; and a card programme can be wound down by the network or the issuer with notice. The FTX and WaveCrest cases from earlier in the decade are reminders that a card that works today can stop working in a few months.

What to take instead

Avici is not the only USDC-funded Visa out there. Three alternatives, all of which trade different things against Avici’s specific mix of self-custody and USDC focus.

Card Score Best for Where it works Cost at a glance Top-up Cashback
BloFin Wallet Card 6.9 / 10 People who want a low-fee Visa and accept a published country list of about 35 35 countries incl. US, Australia, Japan, UAE, Brazil, Mexico, Malaysia, New Zealand Activation, annual, issuance, dormancy fees all 0 USD; cancellation free USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base None; spend rate 1.00% at VIP 0 down to 0.00% at VIP 5
Decaf 6.2 / 10 People who want a virtual Visa and a USDC balance, with delivery priced per region Wide, with restricted US states (AZ, DE, GA, ID, LA, MD, MT, OH, OR, RI, WA, WI) and 19 restricted countries incl. Russia and Belarus Virtual 5 USD worldwide; physical 10 USD in the US or 90 USD elsewhere; no annual or monthly fee USDC, plus card or bank transfer via payment link; app on Solana and Stellar None stated
SafePal 6.2 / 10 People who already use the SafePal wallet and want a Mastercard debit on Swiss rails Supported regions, with the live list not returned when checked No account or management fee; FX 1% on non-USD Mastercard settlement; refund processing 1 USD/EUR/CHF/7 CNH Crypto from 40+ chains, converted to USDC by default on Arbitrum None; referral commissions and tier perks instead

A few notes on each. BloFin is the cheapest to run once you have it, and its spend fee drops sharply at higher VIP tiers, but the country list is the most restrictive of the three. Decaf is the simplest if you just want a virtual Visa with USDC and do not mind that physical delivery outside the US costs 90 USD. SafePal is the natural pick if you already keep your crypto in a SafePal hardware or software wallet and want to fund a card from the same place, and its 0.4% top-up rate on the top tier is competitive; the published country list, however, was empty when fetched, so you have to confirm your region in the app.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Avici card to a person who already holds USDC, lives in one of the 49 supported regions, and is comfortable managing a self-custodial wallet with a seed phrase. The closer your spending is to USD-denominated merchants, the more you benefit from the 0% FX markup and the zero transaction fee. The Signature tier is the right choice if you plan to use ATMs or balance inquiries often, because the per-use fees on Platinum add up. The Platinum tier is the right choice if you only need an occasional physical card and a virtual card for subscriptions.

I would not recommend it if you live in the EU, the UK, Georgia, Serbia, Armenia or Kazakhstan, none of which are on the supported list. I would also not recommend it if you want to fund the card with anything other than USDC through an official path: every other token runs through a third-party swap, and the support path for a stuck deposit is thin. If you want a card programme with a clearly named issuer, a published licence, and a written dispute process, look at the alternatives above and at the larger crypto card brands that have been through the regulatory grind. And if your top monthly spend is in the low four figures, check the per-transaction and daily limits first: 1,000 USD per transaction and 3,000 USD per day are tight, and the only way around them is to set per-card limits in the app.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Avici card?

A USDC-funded Visa issued through Avici Inc. in San Francisco, with a self-custody twist: the USDC sits in a Loan Escrow smart contract that your wallet owns until the moment you spend, when it is liquidated into the card’s USD balance.

How does the Avici card work?

You sign up in the app, pass a single Sumsub verification, send USDC to the escrow contract, and the contract credits a USD balance to a virtual or physical Visa that you can spend anywhere Visa is taken, with Apple Pay and Google Pay supported.

Is Avici a bank?

No. Avici is a card programme run by Avici Inc. with an issuer referred to in the docs as “Third National”; the issuer’s full role and licences are not stated on the public pages, and a third-party summary names the issuing partner as Rain without confirmation from Avici.

Is the Avici card available in my country?

If you are a resident of one of the 49 regions Avici lists, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Japan, the UAE and the US, you can apply; if you are in any of the 17 prohibited residence countries, including the whole of the EU, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine, India and China (Mainland), you cannot.

How do I get an Avici card?

Download the app, sign up with an email, complete Sumsub verification with personal details, ID documents and a liveness check, and the marketing promise is that the card is ready in 2 minutes; the physical card then takes three to four weeks by standard untracked mail.

Does the Avici card require KYC?

Yes, through a single Sumsub flow that runs identity checks and ongoing anti-money-laundering monitoring of both you and your on-chain funds, and shares your data with the card partners; proof of address is not mentioned in the public docs.

How do I top up the Avici card?

The official path is to send USDC to the Loan Escrow smart contract associated with your wallet; unofficial third-party summaries describe topping up with other tokens through an auto-swap called Relay on EVM L2s or Solana, with no confirmation from Avici.

How do I withdraw money from Avici?

You can withdraw any USDC still sitting in the escrow contract back to your wallet at any time, with no fee from Avici, and the wallet that owns the contract is the only address that can pull the funds out.

Is the Avici card safe?

Safer than a custodial card on the custody side, because the USDC sits in a self-custody smart contract until spent; weaker on the transparency side, because the issuer’s licences and the dispute process are not stated, and the public Trustpilot shows a 3.5 out of 5 from only five reviews, including one about a blocked 20,000 EUR payment.

Is the Avici card worth it?

Worth it for a USDC holder in a supported country who values self-custody and spends mostly in USD; less worth it if you live outside the 49-region list, want to fund with anything other than USDC, or need a card with higher per-transaction limits than 1,000 USD and a daily cap of 3,000 USD.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team