A prepaid Visa you top up with stablecoins, and what that actually feels like day to day
Trustee Plus is one of a growing number of prepaid Visa cards that draw on a crypto balance. The pitch is straightforward: you keep stablecoins in a Trustee Plus wallet, convert them to a USD card balance, and spend with Apple Pay, Google Pay or online. The interesting part is who the card is built for. The card-issuing side lives with Wirex Limited, a UK-registered company, and the service-side operator is registered in Panama, while the audience the official materials address most directly is Ukrainian. That mix is the lens I came back to again and again as I read through the terms, the FAQ and the user reports.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

This review walks through who can actually get the card, what it costs in real terms, how you top it up, what everyday payments look like, and what could go wrong. I’ll also compare it against three alternatives: Whop Cards, Stella and UniFi Card. Conditions on this page are current as of 2026-10-20.
Verdict
Trustee Plus scores 5.7 out of 10. The number reflects a card that is cheap to run and easy to top up with stablecoins, but tightly limited in scope. There is no physical card right now, no ATM access, no cashback, and the everyday-use score is held back by a small virtual-only footprint. Reliability drags the score down further: in September 2025 the National Bank of Ukraine barred the Lithuanian operator from offering payment services in the country, and user reports describe funds being frozen after source-of-funds checks.
If you are a Ukrainian looking for a virtual USD card you can top up with stablecoins, this card does that job at low cost. If you are anywhere else, the picture is murkier: the Terms require you to live in a country the company supports, but the list of supported countries is not published. Some third-party sites describe the card as offered to EEA residents under a different arrangement, which contradicts the official line. Either way, the live product as of October 2026 is virtual-only, so anyone who needs a physical card or ATM access should look elsewhere.
Score breakdown
| Criterion | Mark | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 3 / 10 | Limited to Ukrainians by the official FAQ; the Terms require a supported country but the list is missing; Ukrainian registrations halted in 2025. |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | $10 to open a virtual card, no monthly fee, 0% on payments, 0.5% to top up the card balance; one inactivity fee applies after a year. |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | 30+ coins and networks including TRC20, ERC20, SOL, NEAR; fiat through Smart P2P and an IBAN. |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Wirex Limited issues the card (England); MIKEPAY INC. operates the service (Panama); NBU action in September 2025 and reports of frozen funds after AML checks. |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Apple Pay and Google Pay work, but no physical card, no ATM access, no cashback. |
| Total | 5.7 / 10 | A low-cost stablecoin-to-card path, but only for a narrow audience, with several practical limits. |
Who can get the Trustee Plus card
The official Ukrainian FAQ says Ukrainians can get the card regardless of country of residence. There is no list of issuing countries, and no list of excluded countries. The Terms say you must reside or be incorporated in “countries and territories We support”, and that you cannot be a citizen or resident of any country on sanctions lists. As a rule, the Terms bar anyone from a sanctioned country from being both a citizen and a resident, so the rule effectively covers both. The list of “countries We support” itself is not found anywhere on the pages I read, and the English card page has no eligibility FAQ at all.
The wider regulation picture is not reassuring. In September 2025 the National Bank of Ukraine barred the Lithuanian operator from offering payment services in the country. The director said existing clients were not affected, but new registrations in Ukraine were halted. As of August 2026 a Ukrainian news outlet was still reporting that availability for residents of Ukraine “is still being checked”, which is a soft way of saying the local market is in limbo.
There is one unofficial account that contradicts the official positioning. A third-party crypto card listing describes Trustee Plus as a crypto-funded prepaid Mastercard for EEA residents, with euro accounts and cards issued through a Polish payment institution called Quicko Sp. z o.o., virtual cards through Quicko Digital and physical cards temporarily unavailable. That description does not match the official Terms, the card page or the FAQ on the Trustee Plus site. I would treat it as unconfirmed until Trustee Plus says so itself.
A few things to take away before you start the sign-up. If you are Ukrainian, you can apply from abroad, but the company has not said what counts as “Ukrainian” for this rule. If you are not Ukrainian, the Terms technically allow it as long as you live somewhere the company supports, but the list of supported countries is not published, so you cannot check it before you try. If you are a citizen or resident of a sanctioned country, you are excluded. The minimum age is 18 or the legal age in your jurisdiction under the Terms.
How to get the Trustee Plus card
The card is ordered inside the Trustee Plus app, and the KYC step runs before the card is issued. The company partners with Kycaid for identity verification, and a Trustee guide mentions a passport or ID card photo plus a selfie. Proof of address is not stated as required. You must be 18, or the legal age in your country, under the Terms. The processing time, the KYC levels and the rejection reasons are not stated.
Once KYC is done, you order a virtual Visa Prepaid card. The card has a base currency of USD and a stated validity of three years. There is a separate card balance alongside the wallet balance, and the card draws only on that balance. The virtual card is issued in the app, so there is no shipping, no delivery fee and no delivery country to worry about.
The physical card is a different story. The card page says the physical version is currently unavailable, and there is a waitlist. The company has not published delivery countries, delivery time, replacement terms or any physical-card price. In practice this means you should not plan around a physical card right now: if your use case requires one, this is not the product to wait for.
The flow looks like this in plain steps: install the Trustee Plus app, complete KYC, order the virtual card, top up the card balance, and start spending. The same flow applies if you apply via the APK from the company site rather than through the app store.
Fees: what the Trustee Plus card really costs
Fees are the one area where the card genuinely shines. The headline numbers are: $10 to open a virtual card, no monthly maintenance, 0% on payments, and 0.5% to top up the card balance from the wallet. The English card page simply says “0% fees on transactions” and does not list other fees, which is unusual for a financial product. The Ukrainian page spells out the 0.5% top-up fee.

Conversion works the way you would expect a Visa Prepaid to work. You can only hold a USD card balance, so any payment in euros, zloty or pounds is converted automatically at the Visa rate. The company does not publish a markup on top of that Visa rate, which means you have to assume the rate includes some margin but you cannot see it before you pay. That lack of transparency is worth flagging even though the headline fees look low.
There is one extra cost to know about. The Terms include a wallet inactivity fee of 20 USDT equivalent per month after one year without any transactions. If you load the card once, then leave it, you will start to be charged 20 USDT a month from the 13th month onwards. That is a meaningful cost for a small balance and a strong reason to either use the card or close the account rather than let it sit.
The physical card has no published price because it is unavailable, the cash withdrawal service is listed as a physical-card benefit so it is effectively unavailable too, and the cash-advance fee and allowance are not stated. The service description also says the Payment Card service “may be subject to fees”, which is a catch-all rather than a number.
The costs table below summarises the fees that are actually published.
Costs
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | 10 USD |
| Card maintenance | 0 USD |
| Payments | 0% |
| Card balance top-up | 0.5% |
| Conversion of non-USD payments | Automatic at the Visa rate; any markup not stated |
| Cash withdrawal (ATM) | Unavailable (physical card not available) |
| Wallet inactivity fee | 20 USDT equivalent per month after one year without transactions |
| Monthly operations limit | 30,000 USDC (FAQ) / 30,000 USD (table) |
| Per-transaction and daily limits | Not stated |
Three everyday scenarios make the fee shape clearer than the table does. First, paying online for a $50 subscription in a US store: 0% payment fee, no conversion fee, you lose 0.5% once when you top the card up from stablecoins, so the total known cost is $0.25. Second, paying for a €40 dinner in Berlin from a USD balance: the Visa rate is applied, the conversion markup is not published, and the only explicit cost is the 0.5% top-up fee, which you paid earlier. Third, leaving the wallet untouched for 14 months with $50 on it: the inactivity fee kicks in at month 13 and slowly drains the balance, and the Terms frame that fee in USDT equivalent, so it does not shrink with the dollar.
Top up: how to fund the card
Top-up is the strongest part of the product. The Trustee Plus wallet supports more than 30 coins and networks, including TRC20, ERC20, SOL and NEAR, with the card explicitly being topped up in USDC and also named in USDT on the English guide. The pattern the guide describes is: top up the Trustee Plus wallet in USDC, open the card section, and tap “Top up” to move funds from the wallet balance to the card balance.

A few practical points. Stablecoin transfers always have a network fee, paid on-chain in the native token of that network, and that fee is set by the blockchain, not by Trustee Plus. If you are sending USDT on Ethereum you will need a small amount of ETH to pay gas, and the wallet does not auto-convert. Tether’s USDT is available across Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others, and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. The wallet has a minimum top-up amount and a network-fee-payer policy that is not stated publicly, so check inside the app before you send a small amount that the network fee could eat.
Fiat top-up goes through two channels. Smart P2P matches you with a counterparty for a bank-card purchase, which is essentially an over-the-counter stablecoin buy inside the app. A personal IBAN lets you receive a SEPA transfer from a regular bank account. Neither channel has fees published.
What the public materials do not say is how you move money the other way. The Terms do not state the fee for sending card balance back to crypto, the fee for sending it to a bank account, or how the balance is handled on account closure. If you need a clear exit path before you load large amounts, that is something to confirm with support first.
Paying with the Trustee Plus card every day
Day-to-day spending is mostly through the mobile wallets, because the physical card is not available. The card page advertises Apple Pay and Google Pay, plus online payments and subscriptions, with a “60+ million merchants” claim. There is no published list of blocked merchant categories, and the standard gambling MCC 7995 block is not stated either way, so do not assume a block you have not been told about.
There is no card cashback. The card page does not mention a rewards rate, and the cashback-style “5% at select merchants” pattern of some other cards is not part of the Trustee Plus offering. The company runs separate loyalty and referral programmes, but those are wallet-level rather than card-level and should be treated as a different feature.
The app is the only place you interact with the card. Trustee Plus also distributes an APK from its own site, so Android users who cannot get the app through a store can install it directly. Trustee Plus app ratings are not available on the stores I checked, because the app store lookup returned the separate Trustee Wallet app, which is a different product: a 2.86 average from 36 ratings, last updated 2026-03-19.
For online payments, the usual Visa rails apply. 3-D Secure challenges may pop up at checkout, address verification on US, Canadian and UK merchants may not be available for cards issued in the UK to a non-UK billing address, and declines can leave a hold on the card balance for up to about a week. None of this is unique to Trustee Plus, but the absence of a clear dispute process is: what to do when a charge goes wrong is not stated on the pages I read.
What can go wrong with the Trustee Plus card
There are three categories of risk worth thinking about, and the user reports put weight on the operational side.
On the company side, the Terms name MIKEPAY INC. (Panama) as the service provider and Wirex Limited (England, company number 09334598, 9th Floor, 107 Cheapside, London EC2V 6DN) as the card issuer. The card page says the card is “issued in Great Britain”. The pages I read do not name a regulator or a licence number for the issuing or operating entities, although Wirex Limited operates as a regulated crypto and payments business in the UK under separate authorisations. Hacken audited the apps in February 2025, and the company lists Kycaid, HackenProof, Binance, Kraken, MoonPay and WhiteBIT as partners. The non-custodial Trustee Wallet is a separate product and should not be confused with the Trustee Plus wallet-and-card.
On the regulatory side, the September 2025 NBU action against the Lithuanian operator is the headline. New registrations in Ukraine were halted, and as of August 2026 the local availability was still described as “being checked”. If you are Ukrainian, the practical effect on you depends on when you signed up: existing users were told they would not be affected, but that is the company’s word, not a regulator’s. The Terms of Use were last updated 25 May 2026, so any change in policy could have happened since.
On the user-experience side, a Trustpilot review from June 2026 cites slow USDT transfers, an unclear AML review, an unclear complaint procedure and confusing company information. A separate report says the Trustee Global website is currently shown without a rating for breaching Trustpilot’s guidelines, and the reviews on that site describe cards being moved to a merged platform, failed withdrawals, failed payments and funds frozen after source-of-funds checks.
Security is the area where the cards are most alike, and Trustee Plus covers the basics. The wallet is custodial, the company holds the credentials, so you are trusting Trustee Plus to keep your balance safe. The product does offer 2FA, Face ID, an AML check, a bug bounty on HackenProof and Hacken audits. The pages I read do not state whether there is a card freeze, an insurance fund or a separate reserve policy. The general category is also worth keeping in mind: custodial platforms have a long history of large losses, and stablecoin balances are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.
What to take instead
Trustee Plus is not the only stablecoin-to-card product, and three alternatives are worth a look depending on what you actually need.
Whop Cards
Whop Cards score 5.2 out of 10. The eligibility list is unusually long for this category. Consumers can get cards in 31 US states (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming) and businesses in 41 states, while consumers in Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Venezuela are unsupported. The terms do not state whether the rule is based on citizenship, residence, or both. The card is Visa, accepted anywhere Visa is taken online and in stores, and the company says there are “no extra fees”, without listing issuance, monthly, conversion or FX amounts. The card spends from a Whop balance backed by stablecoin collateral, with a 5% cashback at selected merchants (currently Uber, more planned). Payout currency and conditions are not stated.
Stella
Stella scores 6.5 out of 10. The official site does not list supported countries, the Terms bar users under economic sanctions, and the company routes US and European users through affiliates, which is a softer way of saying the regulatory picture depends on where you sit. Both virtual and physical cards are available, on the Visa network, accepted at “over 40 million VISA merchants globally”. Fees are “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App”, so the public page does not name any. Funding is straightforward: deposit crypto into the account, and the card is topped up automatically. The card page does not state any cashback, and the Earn product (a separate yield feature) is not part of the card.
UniFi Card
UniFi Card scores 4.7 out of 10. Eligibility is not confirmed on official pages. The app store listing shows send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico and the eurozone, and recent release notes mention Colombia, Brazil and the UK. The card is a “Prepaid Debit Visa Card” issued by Lead Bank, the app also supports Apple Pay, and the card currency is USD. The public materials do not state fees, and a “3% rewards on balances” claim is on the listing, while the card cashback is not stated. Funding is the strongest part: receive via ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE), or get paid into a USDC wallet. Coins and networks beyond USDC are not stated.
In a side-by-side, Trustee Plus wins on top-up breadth and is the cheapest if you mainly need a virtual USD card from stablecoins. Whop Cards are the better fit if you are in one of the supported US states and you want cashback at specific merchants. Stella is the better fit if you need a physical card and a wider merchant footprint. UniFi Card is the better fit if you need US banking rails (ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI) and a USDC wallet alongside the card.
Who I would recommend the Trustee Plus card to
If you are Ukrainian, you are the audience the official FAQ names, and the card is genuinely cheap to run: $10 to open, 0% on payments, 0.5% to top up, and 0 in monthly fees. The 30+ coins and networks, plus the SEPA IBAN, make it easy to fund from a wide range of sources. The score reflects that the product is virtual-only, that the NBU situation in Ukraine is unresolved and that physical card and ATM are unavailable.
If you are not Ukrainian, the picture is murkier. The Terms require you to live in a supported country, but the list is not published, so you cannot check it before you apply. The unofficial third-party description of the card as an EEA Mastercard under a Polish licence does not match the official Trustee Plus pages, and I would not rely on it. If you need a physical card, ATM access or cashback, look at the alternatives in the previous section.
A few last things to check first. The conversion markup is not published, so a payment in a non-USD currency is a blind spot. The inactivity fee kicks in after a year, so do not leave a balance on the card. The dispute process is not stated, so for any large purchase it is worth having a backup card. And the KYC, although required, has no published processing time or rejection reasons, which is something to know before you put money on the line.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Trustee Plus card?
The Trustee Plus card is a Visa Prepaid card you can order inside the Trustee Plus app after a KYC check. It has a base currency of USD and a separate card balance, and you fund it by topping up from a Trustee Plus wallet that holds stablecoins like USDC and USDT, or via Smart P2P or a SEPA IBAN.
How does the Trustee Plus card work?
The wallet holds your crypto. When you tap “Top up” in the card section, USDC or USDT is moved from the wallet to the card balance, the card then spends that USD balance online or through Apple Pay or Google Pay. Non-USD payments are converted automatically at the Visa rate, with no published markup.
Is Trustee Plus a bank?
No. The Terms name MIKEPAY INC. (Panama) as the service provider and Wirex Limited (England) as the card issuer, and the card page says the card is “issued in Great Britain”. The pages I read do not name a banking regulator or a specific licence for the issuing or operating entities.
Who owns Trustee Plus?
The Terms of Use name MIKEPAY INC. as the service provider and Wirex Limited (England, company number 09334598) as the card issuer. The non-custodial Trustee Wallet is a separate product and is not the same as the Trustee Plus wallet and card.
Is the Trustee Plus card available in my country?
The Ukrainian FAQ says Ukrainians can get the card regardless of country of residence. The Terms require you to live in a “country or territory We support”, but the list of supported countries is not published. Sanctioned-country citizens and residents are excluded. New registrations in Ukraine were halted in 2025 after an NBU action.
How do I get the Trustee Plus card?
Install the Trustee Plus app, complete the KYC with Kycaid (a passport or ID photo plus a selfie per the in-app guide), order the virtual card for $10, top up the card balance, and start spending. The physical card is currently on a waitlist, with no published price or delivery time.
Does the Trustee Plus card require KYC?
Yes. The KYC is a single step run by Kycaid before the card is ordered. A Trustee guide mentions a passport or ID card photo plus a selfie, proof of address is not stated, and the minimum age is 18 or the legal age in your country. The KYC levels, processing time and rejection reasons are not stated.
How do I top up the Trustee Plus card?
Top up the Trustee Plus wallet in USDC (USDT is also named) on any of 30+ supported networks, including TRC20, ERC20, SOL and NEAR, then tap “Top up” in the card section to move funds to the USD card balance. Fiat top-up goes through Smart P2P or a personal SEPA IBAN. Card top-up carries a 0.5% fee.
How do I withdraw money from Trustee Plus?
The public materials do not state the fee, the time, or the supported destinations for moving card balance back to crypto or to a bank account, and the balance treatment on account closure is not stated. You would need to confirm the exit path with support before loading a large amount.
Is the Trustee Plus card safe?
The product covers the basics: 2FA, Face ID, an AML check, a bug bounty on HackenProof and Hacken audits. The wallet is custodial, so the company holds the credentials, and the pages I read do not state a card-freeze feature, an insurance fund or a separate reserve. User reports describe funds being frozen after source-of-funds checks, and the company has a Trustpilot review from June 2026 citing slow transfers and an unclear complaint procedure.
How app and neobank cards work – cryptocardsexplained.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team
