UUPAY card review: two products, thin disclosure, and a 6.9 score
UUPAY sells two Visa/Mastercard cards that spend from a converted crypto balance: a Glacier White virtual card issued in about a minute, and a Luxury Gold physical metal card. The proposition is straightforward, and that is part of its appeal, but the company’s public pages leave a number of everyday questions unanswered, from the monthly fee to which networks your USDT should arrive on. After working through the available facts, the card lands at 6.9 out of 10, with its strongest showing in everyday usability and its weakest in the trust and disclosure category. This review walks through who can get the card, what it costs, how to top it up, and how it compares to three alternatives, so you can decide whether it fits your situation.

The information below reflects UUPAY’s official pages and help-centre articles as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.9 out of 10
UUPAY is a workable choice for crypto holders who want a virtual card quickly and a metal physical card to pair it with, and who are comfortable with crypto balance held by a single Hong Kong company that does not name its issuer or any licence. The two products share the same account and onboarding but differ in price, limits, ATM access, and cashback, and the strongest argument for UUPAY is that combination, a fast virtual card plus a metal card on dual Visa and Mastercard rails. The weakest arguments are the missing numbers: monthly fee, conversion spread, ATM fee, and supported deposit networks are not published. There is also no public complaint trail, which can read either as a small user base or as a clean record; without an issuer name or licence, it is hard to say which.
| Criterion | Mark | Why it got that mark |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Long restricted list including Russia and Belarus, but India, Israel, Pakistan, and Nigeria can get the virtual card only |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Virtual $10, Gold $80 with worldwide shipping, zero foreign-transaction fees on the physical card, but monthly fee and conversion spread are not stated |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | USDT, USDC, and BTC convert at payment, plus “other major stablecoins”, but the networks you send on are not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | UUpay Limited in Hong Kong, KYC via Sumsub, but no issuer name, no licences, and no independent reviews or complaints to cross-check against |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual card in about a minute, Gold metal card on dual Visa and Mastercard rails, Apple Pay and Google Pay, $2,000 daily ATM on Gold |
| Total | 6.9 / 10 | Two solid products, weak disclosure |
The audience that gets the most from UUPAY is a crypto holder who already has USDT or USDC, wants a virtual card they can issue in minutes, and would like a metal physical card for in-store use. If you are outside the restricted list, comfortable with a custodial balance, and do not need a public licence or an issuer name to feel safe, the two-card setup is genuinely useful. If you need a regulated European issuer, a published monthly fee, or clarity on which blockchain you must use to deposit, UUPAY will frustrate you.
Who can get the UUPAY card
UUPAY splits the world into three groups, and the difference between them matters more than the headline “we serve most countries” implies.
The first group is the excluded list, and it is long. The card is not available, in either virtual or physical form, to residents of Russia and Belarus, plus the United States, Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Syria, mainland China, Hong Kong, Singapore, Serbia, Croatia, Montenegro, Slovenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, North Macedonia, and “others”. UUPAY phrases the rule as “subject to applicable sanctions laws”, which is a reminder that the company is not promising to keep the list static, and the wording suggests the list can change without notice.
The second group is the virtual-only group. In India, Israel, Pakistan, and Nigeria the virtual card is supported, but the physical card is restricted and physical card delivery is not allowed. If you live in one of these four countries, you can still get a Glacier White virtual card to add to Apple Pay or Google Pay, but you will not receive a Gold card in the mail.
The third group is everyone else, in the regions UUPAY serves, who is at least 18 and can pass the KYC check.
How to apply for a UUPAY card
The sign-up flow is single-rail: you go through Sumsub, a third-party identity-verification provider, and you do that once per account. There is one KYC level rather than a tiered structure with rising limits, which is unusual for crypto cards and is one reason the limits section below is a single set of numbers rather than two or three.
To complete the check you provide your full name, date of birth, and a valid identity document, which can be a passport, an ID card, or a driver’s licence, depending on where you are. The document must be original (not a photocopy) and must remain valid for at least three months past the date you submit it. After the document upload there is a real-time liveness check, where you film yourself following on-screen prompts, and in some cases the system will ask for a personal declaration that gives you 14 days to upload.
What the flow does not include: a proof of address. UUPAY does not request utility bills or bank statements in the standard flow, and that is a meaningful shortcut compared to many crypto cards. One identity per account is enforced, so you cannot run two separate UUPAY profiles under different names.
The stated rejection reasons are the usual KYC failure modes: name or date of birth mismatch, an unsupported ID type, unclear photos, a failed liveness check, an undelivered declaration inside the 14-day window, residence in a restricted region, and duplicate verification. UUPAY does not publish a processing time for the review, so a smooth Sumsub pass tends to clear within minutes, while a document that is flagged for manual review can take longer without a published upper bound.
Once KYC is done, the virtual Glacier White card is generated in about a minute and the option to order the Luxury Gold physical card becomes available in the app.
What it really costs: UUPAY fees, limits, and everyday payments
There is a meaningful difference between what UUPAY publishes clearly, what it announces but does not price, and what it does not state at all. The two prices that are published are the issuance fees, and the headline offer of zero foreign-transaction fees on the physical card. Everything else, including the monthly fee, the conversion spread, and the ATM fee, is either promotional or unstated.

The cost table below uses only the figures the public pages give.
| Fee or limit | Virtual (Glacier White) | Physical (Luxury Gold) |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance | $10 (USD or USDT) | $80 USDT, with worldwide shipping included |
| Monthly fee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Foreign-transaction fee | Not stated | Zero (per official page) |
| Conversion fee or spread | Not stated (crypto converts at the moment of payment; final amount depends on the app’s settlement rate) | Not stated |
| Top-up fee | Zero under a limited-time promotion | Zero under a limited-time promotion |
| ATM fee | Not applicable (no ATM) | Not stated |
| ATM limit | Not applicable | $2,000 per day |
| Per-transaction limit | $10,000 | $50,000 |
| Monthly limit | $100,000 | $500,000 |
Promotional pricing is mentioned for both products, and the “zero deposit and top-up fees” offer is described as limited-time and extended, which reads as UUPAY keeping the headline in place while leaving itself room to introduce fees later.
Three everyday payments, walked through to show which fees apply.
Buying a $40 train ticket online in euros with USDT balance. The card settles in the merchant’s currency, the app converts USDT to euros at its own rate, the foreign-transaction fee is zero on the physical card, and you see the final amount only after the conversion is applied. If you used the virtual card, the foreign-transaction fee is not stated, so you would be paying whatever the issuer charges by default.
Withdrawing $200 from a Visa/Mastercard ATM with the Gold card. The ATM owner may set its own surcharge, the ATM fee charged by UUPAY is not stated, the daily cap of $2,000 is not breached, and the converted amount depends on the app’s settlement rate. If the local ATM does not belong to Visa or Mastercard, the transaction will simply not work, because the card is locked to those two networks.
Adding $500 of USDT to the card from an external wallet. Under the current promotion, the top-up fee is zero, the deposit is described as usually settling within minutes, the network fee is paid by your sending wallet to the blockchain, and UUPAY does not state which network it expects the deposit on. This last point is the part that catches people out, because the wrong network means a lost deposit, and the help-centre guide that names the supported networks was not in the pages reviewed.
Two things follow from the way the costs are published. First, the headline fees (issuance, foreign-transaction, top-up) are competitive with mid-market crypto cards, and on those numbers UUPAY compares well. Second, the missing numbers (monthly fee, conversion spread, ATM fee, deposit network) are the costs that hurt the most when they are present, and without them you cannot fully compare.
Top up: how to fund the UUPAY card
Funding is the area where UUPAY’s public pages are most uneven: the supported coins are described, the networks and minimums are not.

The auto-convert list covers USDT, USDC, and BTC, with the conversion happening at the moment of payment rather than at top-up. The home page adds “other major stablecoins” without naming them, and the help centre has a deposit guide that lists the supported networks, but that guide is not in the body of the public marketing pages. If you only read the homepage you will know that you can fund with USDT, USDC, and BTC, and you will not know which chain to send on, which is the kind of detail that matters because a USDT transfer sent on the wrong network is, in the words of one of the general category facts, irreversible.
On fees, UUPAY says “zero deposit and top-up fees” under a limited-time promotion that has been extended, and deposits are described as “usually settled within minutes”. The minimum top-up is not published, and the company does not say whether the user or the platform pays the blockchain network fee on the deposit side. The “Fiat Express 2.0” feature was announced on 28 July 2026 as a fiat on-ramp option, but the public pages reviewed did not include its detail, so it is treated as announced rather than documented.
For withdrawals, UUPAY supports converting USDT to fiat and pulling it out to a bank card or an e-wallet within minutes, and there is a help-centre guide for crypto withdrawals to external wallets. The withdrawal fee and the minimum withdrawal amount are not stated on the pages reviewed, and the handling of any balance left in the account at the point of closure is also not stated, even though account closure via support is described as available.
The honest summary: the top-up path is described well enough at the headline level to know what to expect, but the small print that you would normally see on a fees page is not there. If you are the kind of person who reads the fees page of a payment provider end to end before sending money, you will be reading less here than usual, and the unstated network is the single biggest gap.
Paying with UUPAY day to day
For the day-to-day mechanics, the two cards behave like a fairly standard contactless-and-online Visa/Mastercard pair, with the differences living in the limits and the cashback.
Both cards support Apple Pay: you add the card to Apple Wallet from the iOS app, the card has to be in Active status, and the same flow works on iPhone, Apple Watch, and Mac. Google Pay is mentioned on the home page. When you tap to pay, the merchant sees a standard Visa or Mastercard transaction, and the app converts the held crypto to the merchant’s currency at UUPAY’s settlement rate at the moment of authorisation.
Cashback is the part that is clearest in headline and least clear in detail. The virtual card pays 1.0%, the Gold card pays up to 3.0%, and a 1 USDT virtual card is on a “1 USDT cashback instantly” promotion. The cashback payout currency is not published, the conditions that take you from 1.0% to 3.0% on the Gold card are not published, and the cashback is layered with a points scheme (100 points = 1 USDT) and a referral programme that pays up to 50% commission. That is a lot of moving parts, and the missing detail on each one means the only way to know what you actually earn is to use the card and watch the app.
A few practical notes on everyday use. The iOS App Store listing shows no rating, in the sense of “hasn’t received enough ratings or reviews to display an overview”, as read on 21 October 2026, so app quality is hard to judge from outside. The Android package is com.uupay.app, and a Google Play rating could not be read from the available listing. Blocked merchant categories are not published, though the help centre has an article on merchants that fail. The dispute process beyond contacting customer support is not stated, which is the kind of omission that matters if you ever need to charge something back.
The everyday-use experience is the strongest part of the product. A virtual card in about a minute, a metal card with $2,000 daily ATM access, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and a setup that gets out of the way of the actual payment, that is a real strength, and it is the reason the everyday-use mark sits at 9 out of 10 despite the unstated dispute process.
What can go wrong with UUPAY
Risk with a card like this lives in three places: who is behind it, what is not said, and what the wider category has done before.
The company behind UUPAY is UUpay Limited, registered in Hong Kong at 49/F Enterprise Square Three, 39 Wang Chiu Road, Kowloon Bay. The card issuer is not named, and fiat settlement is described as happening “through licensed financial institutions” without naming them. The KYC provider is Sumsub, which is a recognisable name in the identity-verification space, and no licences are named on the public pages reviewed.
On the security side, the published controls are: AES-256 at rest, TLS 1.3 in transit, real-time monitoring, device binding, withdrawal whitelists, an EMV chip on the Gold card, and a transaction compliance (KYT) policy. The custodial status is not stated in so many words, but the terms of service flag that holding balances on the platform carries financial risk, which is the standard way of saying that the user’s funds are not segregated in the way bank deposits are. The 24/7 in-app support line and the [email protected] inbox, plus the help centre at help.uupay.com/en/, are the published support channels.
On the trust and complaint side, a single search across UUPAY reviews, Trustpilot, and Reddit returned no UUPAY-specific pages, and no official incident has been published. A rating of 2.6 from 19 reviews for “Upay Technology Limited” surfaced through a reposted article, but the same company could not be confirmed, so it is not used here. The absence of complaints cuts two ways. A small or new user base simply produces few complaints, and a card with a clean record is a real positive, but without an issuer name, a licence, or a public incident to anchor the discussion, the reader is asked to take the company’s word for a fair amount.
The category-level risks are worth keeping in mind. The general background notes that Visa and Mastercard do not issue cards to consumers; they license issuers and can suspend programmes, and Visa’s November 2022 termination of its global agreements with FTX is a reminder that even a major network relationship can be wound down quickly. Custodial platforms have a record of failures, from Mt. Gox to Coincheck to Ronin, and the standard disclaimer that holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk applies here as much as anywhere.
For the practical reader, the main risks to plan around are: the unstated deposit network, the unstated monthly fee (which can appear after a promotion), the unstated conversion spread (which is the cost that compounds on every payment), and the unstated dispute process. None of these are deal-breakers on their own, but together they are the reason UUPAY is not a 9-out-of-10 card.
Alternatives to UUPAY
Three cards come up as obvious comparisons for a reader looking at UUPAY. None of them is a direct match, and the differences are worth walking through rather than scanning.
Cardex (5.6 / 10). Cardex is a debit crypto card on the VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, and UnionPay networks, available as virtual and physical, with a “200+ countries” claim that does not list exclusions. The App Store listing is Naira-focused, the card currency is Naira per the listing, and the published “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” is a black-box promise of the best rate at the moment of spend, without a fee percentage behind it. Pricing is not stated, and the rewards section is empty. Cardex serves users looking for a UnionPay option and Naira settlement, though its fee disclosure is less transparent than competitors.
TakeCard (5.5 / 10). TakeCard is a Visa virtual card issued immediately and a Visa physical card available to Bolivian users for now, issued in the United States, prepaid, with a USD card currency. Issuance is USD 5 for the virtual and USD 20 plus USD 20 shipping for the physical in Bolivia (one help-centre article says USD 10 for the physical, so the public pages disagree on the physical price). The fee structure is one number you can hold onto: a 1% commission per purchase, USD payments at 1:1, other currencies at the official Visa rate of the day. Funding is from a Takenos balance, with USDC and USDT via Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron, or Ethereum as starting data that I could not verify on a page I read. TakeCard offers a US-issued Visa with a clear 1% fee, but its physical card is currently limited to users in Bolivia.
OkiCard (6.0 / 10). OkiCard is a virtual card with a published pricing page: issuance $0, monthly $0, and a starting price of $15 for the virtual card (the FAQ mentions a one-time issuance fee, so the pages disagree). The initial deposit is 100 USDT, the load fee is 3%, the transaction fee in USD is 0%, and the site claims “no hidden exchange spreads”. Funding is USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron, or Solana, with USDC “soon” and BTC and altcoins “coming soon”. OkiCard serves 150+ countries (some pages say 200+) and explicitly does not geo-block on passport, while still requiring users to confirm they are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction. OkiCard provides named blockchain support and published fees, though it currently lacks a physical metal card option.
| Card | Score | Issuance | Monthly fee | Network(s) | Cashback | Notable gap |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UUPAY (Gold) | 6.9 / 10 | $80 USDT | Not stated | Visa + Mastercard | Up to 3.0% | Issuer, licences, conversion spread |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | Not stated | Not stated | VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay | Not stated | Fee percentage, pricing |
| TakeCard | 5.5 / 10 | $5 virtual, $20 + shipping physical | Not stated | Visa | Not stated | 1% commission, Bolivia-only physical |
| OkiCard | 6.0 / 10 | $0–$15 (pages disagree) | $0 | Visa/Mastercard | Not stated | 3% load fee, virtual only |
Who I would recommend the UUPAY card to
The short version: UUPAY is for the crypto holder who wants two cards on one account, can live with a custodial balance held by a Hong Kong company, and does not need a public licence or an issuer name to feel safe.
The longer version walks through three reader situations and shows where UUPAY fits.
You live in a supported country outside the restricted list, you already hold USDT or USDC on a wallet you control, and you want a virtual card issued in minutes so you can pay online and add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay. UUPAY is a strong fit. The issuance is $10, the auto-convert at payment removes the need to time a top-up, and the virtual card is on the same networks as a standard Visa or Mastercard.
You want a physical metal card for in-store use, with a daily ATM allowance of $2,000 and cashback of up to 3.0%. UUPAY’s Luxury Gold is one of the few metal crypto cards in this price band, and the $80 issuance with shipping included is competitive. The cashback terms are not fully published, which is the main caveat.
You live in Russia, Belarus, the United States, Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Syria, mainland China, Hong Kong, Singapore, or any of the Balkan or former-Yugoslav states on the restricted list, or you hold citizenship in a country the card is not available to and you live in a country the card is available to. UUPAY is not for you, and the application would be declined at the KYC step.
You live in India, Israel, Pakistan, or Nigeria. You can get the virtual card only, and the physical Gold card is not deliverable to your country. If the virtual card is enough, UUPAY is worth a look; if you specifically need a physical card, one of the alternatives above will be a better fit.
You want a card from a named European or UK-regulated issuer, with segregated client funds, an explicit monthly fee, and a published conversion spread. UUPAY does not currently provide that level of disclosure, and a card from a regulated EMI will be a better match.
You hold large balances you cannot afford to lose, and you want the regulator and the licence to be visible before you fund the card. UUPAY is not the right choice; a self-custody-linked card or a card from a regulated custodian with a public licence will be a safer option.
Frequently asked questions
What is the UUPAY card?
UUPAY is a pair of Visa/Mastercard payment cards that spend from a converted crypto balance held on the UUPAY platform. The virtual card is called Glacier White and is issued in about a minute, and the physical card is called Luxury Gold and is a metal card on dual Visa and Mastercard rails. Both cards are issued by an unnamed issuer, with fiat settlement through licensed financial institutions that UUPAY does not name.
Is UUPAY a bank?
No. UUPAY is a Hong Kong-registered company called UUpay Limited, and it describes fiat settlement as happening “through licensed financial institutions” without naming them. The card programme is not presented as a bank account, and UUPAY’s own terms note that holding balances on the platform carries financial risk, which is the language you would expect from a non-bank custodian rather than from a bank.
How does the UUPAY card work?
You complete KYC once through Sumsub, and the app generates a virtual card in about a minute, with the option to order the Gold physical card. When you pay, UUPAY converts your held USDT, USDC, or BTC to the merchant’s currency at the app’s settlement rate, and the merchant sees a standard Visa or Mastercard transaction. The balance is custodial, meaning UUPAY holds the funds on its platform.
How do I get a UUPAY card?
You download the iOS or Android app, complete the Sumsub KYC with a valid passport, ID card, or driver’s licence, pass the real-time liveness check, and the virtual card is generated in your account. The physical Gold card can be ordered from inside the app and is shipped by DHL or FedEx, typically in 3 to 7 business days, in the regions where physical delivery is supported.
Does the UUPAY card require KYC?
Yes, and there is one KYC flow rather than a tiered structure. You provide your name, date of birth, and a valid ID, and the document must remain valid for at least three months past submission. A liveness check is required, a personal declaration may be requested with a 14-day upload window, and the standard rejection reasons are published. Proof of address is not requested in the standard flow.
How do I top up the UUPAY card?
You transfer USDT, USDC, or BTC to the address UUPAY provides, and the deposit is usually settled within minutes. Under the current promotion, top-up fees are zero. UUPAY also lists “other major stablecoins” and announced a fiat on-ramp called “Fiat Express 2.0” in July 2026, and the supported blockchain networks are documented in the help centre’s deposit guide, which the marketing pages do not link from the main flow.
Where can I use the UUPAY card?
The card works at any merchant that accepts Visa or Mastercard, online and in store, and can be added to Apple Pay and Google Pay for contactless payments. The Gold card works at any Visa or Mastercard ATM up to a daily limit of $2,000. Blocked merchant categories are not published, and the help centre has an article on merchants that fail.
Is the UUPAY card safe?
The published security controls include AES-256 at rest, TLS 1.3 in transit, real-time monitoring, device binding, withdrawal whitelists, an EMV chip on the Gold card, and a KYT policy. The card is custodial, meaning UUPAY holds the funds on its platform, and UUPAY’s own terms flag that holding balances on the platform carries financial risk. The card issuer and any licences are not named on the public pages, which is the main reason a cautious reader might prefer a card from a regulated issuer.
How do I add the UUPAY card to Apple Wallet?
Open the iOS app, open the card you want to add, and follow the on-screen prompt to add the card to Apple Wallet. The card has to be in Active status, which it will be after the KYC check has cleared. The same flow works on iPhone, Apple Watch, and Mac, and Google Pay is supported on Android.
How do I close my UUPAY account and withdraw my balance?
Account closure is handled through customer support, and UUPAY does not publish the exact handling of any remaining balance at the point of closure. Fiat withdrawals to a bank card or e-wallet are described as taking minutes, and crypto withdrawals to external wallets are supported through a help-centre guide. The withdrawal fee and minimum are not stated on the pages reviewed.
How virtual cards work – cryptocardsexplained.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team
