A crypto card that lists a country count but never names its issuer
The NEXA card is a reloadable, stored-value card that advertises reach across 190+ countries and acceptance at over 33 million merchant locations, and it comes in three tiers: a virtual Silver card, a plastic Black card and a metal Platinum card. On paper that sounds like the answer for someone who cannot get an ordinary bank card. Then you read the fee pages and find that ATM withdrawals, international transactions and card replacement “may” cost something, that the link to the fee schedule is a placeholder, and that the front-page prices do not add up to the totals printed next to them. NEXA is the kind of card that looks generous in its headline numbers and vague in its details, and the details are where the money is.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
My score for the card is 4.7 out of 10. That is not a dismissal — it is the number I get after separating what NEXA states plainly from what it leaves out, and the split is wide.
Who the card is for, and who it is not for
If you read the eligibility copy, NEXA says “190+ countries” for sending money, and says the card is accepted at over 33 million merchant locations. There is no eligibility list and no restricted-country list on the public pages. That is a genuinely useful thing to know if you live somewhere where opening a bank account is slow, expensive or impossible, and it is why I give the “who can get it” criterion the highest mark of the six: 8 out of 10.

The same thing cuts the other way. A card that will not tell you which countries are excluded is also a card that will not tell you, in advance, whether your country is one of them. You find out at application time, or at the moment a payment declines.
Let me be clear about who should read the rest of this page with care:
- You need a working card now, for ordinary spending, and you cannot afford trial and error.
- You intend to hold a balance on the card and you want the fee schedule in front of you before you load anything.
- You expect Apple Pay or Google Pay, because tap-to-pay in a shop is how you actually pay.
- You are sending money to or from a sanctioned jurisdiction, or you hold citizenship in one. Sanctions screening is applied to citizenship and country of birth, not just to your address, and a card in that position can be frozen. I am not going to explain how to work around that, and you should not look for anyone who will.
- You are looking for a regulated, licensed product with a named issuer behind it.
The audience the card is genuinely built for is narrower than the marketing suggests: buyers who want a choice between a virtual, a plastic and a metal tier, and who want to spend a crypto balance as if it were cash.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | 190+ countries for transfers, acceptance at 33 million merchant locations, no eligibility or restricted-country list |
| Cost | 1 / 10 | enrollment $49.95, monthly hosting $3.99, activation $5.95, displayed total $114.93; Black $133.85, Platinum $281.85; fee table not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Cash, wire, transfer or crypto through the dashboard, coins not named; unofficial: more than 65 coins |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Issuer not named, the site advertises a token presale; unofficial: 3.2/10 from a third-party site |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Virtual Silver, plastic Black, metal Platinum; Apple Pay and Google Pay not confirmed; ATM mentioned without conditions |
| Total | 4.7 / 10 | Strong reach, thin disclosure |
Will they give you the card
On the question of who gets one, the card’s own pages are quiet in a specific way: they say “190+ countries” and stop. There is no eligibility criteria, no minimum age, no residency test, no list of countries where the card does not work. That silence matters more than the number, because the number is the easy part to print and the exclusions are the part that would actually help you decide.
The cards themselves are reloadable stored-value cards, not credit cards and not ordinary debit cards. There are three of them, and the difference is mostly physical rather than financial: Nexa Silver is virtual, Nexa Black is plastic, Nexa Platinum is metal. The FAQ names Visa and Mastercard as the networks. The currency is not stated beyond the dollar figures on the pricing page.
On identity checks, the home page leads with “NO Bank Account Required” and states that there is no credit check. That is genuinely useful information. It is also where the description stops: the KYC level is not stated on the official pages, meaning nobody publishing them has committed to telling you what documents are needed. One unofficial third-party site (cryptocards.so, October 2026) says email, phone and an identity document are required, and that proof of address and a selfie are not. Treat that as a hint, not a promise — it is not confirmed by the card.
How to get it
The path is short, because there is not much to it. The home page tells you that no bank account is required and that no credit check is run. The FAQ describes a mobile app and an online dashboard at dashboard.nexacards.com. That is the whole published picture.
Delivery times are the one concrete thing the card does commit to, and they differ by tier:
- Virtual Silver: card number within 24 hours
- Plastic Black: up to 5 business days
- Metal Platinum: up to 7 business days
For a lost or stolen card, the answer is to contact support. The cost of a replacement is not stated. That is worth knowing before you need it, because a replacement fee you do not know about is a fee you will meet at the worst possible moment.
If you want to compare the signup friction against something with its costs on the page, the alternatives section below sets three of them side by side.
What it really costs: Fees
This is where the card is weakest, and I want to be blunt about it. The cost criterion gets 1 out of 10, the lowest mark of the six, and the reason is not that the numbers are high. It is that they do not reconcile and the fee schedule is a placeholder.

Here is what the pricing page shows:
| Fee or limit | Nexa Silver (virtual) | Nexa Black (plastic) | Nexa Platinum (metal) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrollment | $49.95 | $99.95 | $99.95 |
| Monthly hosting | $3.99 | $11.95 | $11.95 |
| Activation | $5.95 | $10.00 | $10.00 |
| Displayed total | $114.93 | $133.85 | $281.85 |
| Note | — | labelled “Pre-Paid Annually” | labelled “Pre-Paid Annually” |
Look at those rows. The three line items for Silver do not add to $114.93, and the three for Black do not add to $133.85, and the three for Platinum certainly do not add to $281.85. The page does not explain the difference. I am not going to guess at what the missing component is — it could be a first-year bundle, a currency effect, a scheme fee, or a typo, and the difference between those possibilities is your money.
The FAQ adds that fees may apply to ATM withdrawals, international transactions and card replacement. The link labelled as the fee schedule is a placeholder, and no values are given. An unofficial third-party listing (cryptocards.so, October 2026) states that ATM, FX, top-up and decline fees are all listed as free — on the same page that calls the fee schedule “opaque”. Both statements cannot be the full picture.
Limits, meanwhile, are unusually generous on paper. For physical cards, “Max load amount is $150,000 U.S. Dollars or equivalent in cryptocurrency”. The virtual card is described as unlimited loading. The FAQ adds the important qualifier that load limits depend on account type. Currency is stated as USD; other currencies are not stated.
Three everyday payments, and what applies to each:
A coffee at a local café. This is the cleanest case. You are paying in your own currency at a merchant in your own country, so no currency conversion is involved and no ATM fee is involved. The costs that could still apply are whatever load fee the card charges on the top-up, which is not stated, and the possibility that the merchant declines a prepaid card outright, which happens more often than cardholders expect.
An online subscription in dollars. Also mostly clean, because the balance is loaded in dollars. The exposure is that the card declines — some merchants treat prepaid and foreign-issued cards as higher risk — and that a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days.
Withdrawing cash from an ATM abroad. This is the expensive one, and it is the one the card describes least. The FAQ says fees may apply to ATM withdrawals and to international transactions, without giving either number. No free-allowance figure is stated, no per-transaction cap, no daily or monthly withdrawal limit. You are choosing between spending abroad and using the card abroad, and the card has not told you what the second option costs.
On limits generally, the public pages do not state daily or monthly spending limits for any tier.
How to top it up
The funding story is short and, at the same level of detail, unhelpfully short. The card says you can fund it by cash, wire, transfer or cryptocurrency, all through the dashboard. The deposit fee is not stated. The minimum deposit is not stated. And the coins are not named — the FAQ leaves the count as a placeholder, which reads like an unfinished page rather than a decision.
An unofficial source (cryptocards.so, October 2026) reports BTC, ETH and BNB icons and the phrase “over 65 different cryptocurrencies”. Again: unofficial, and not confirmed by the card. The unofficial reading is the more useful of the two, which is a strange position for a card’s own website to leave you in.
Two things about funding that the card mentions and then leaves alone. First, “instant transfers” are referenced when talking about withdrawals, with no explanation of what instant means here or what it costs. Second, and more importantly, if you are funding from a crypto wallet rather than from a bank, the network you send on is the single most consequential thing you choose — and the card does not tell you which networks it accepts.
That last point is not NEXA-specific; it is how blockchain deposits work everywhere. A transfer sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee, because blockchain transfers are irreversible. If the card does not name a network, you are the one who has to be certain, and if you are new to this, being certain is hard. Treat the dashboard’s instructions, whatever they say at the time, as the authority — but confirm them before you send, because the sum of your mistakes there is the sum of your money.
Paying with it every day
Everyday use scores 6 out of 10, and the shape of that score is worth spelling out. The card has three physical formats, which is a real and usable answer to a question many people ask: do I want something in my wallet, something in my pocket, or something with weight in my hand. On top-up options you get cash, wire, transfer or crypto. That is a decent spread.
What is missing is the connective tissue of daily spending.
- Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned on the official pages. An unofficial third-party listing contradicts itself: one part marks Apple and Google Pay as supported, its cons list says there is no support. So the honest answer is that I cannot confirm either way from the card.
- Rewards, cashback or any incentive: not stated officially. Nothing in the FAQ, nothing on the home page.
- Disputes and chargebacks: not stated. If a merchant takes your money and does not deliver, the card’s pages do not say what happens next.
- Store ratings for the mobile app: not read, and not something the card itself reports.
The absence of a stated dispute process is the one that would bother me most if this were my own card. A card you cannot complain with is a card where every problem is your problem.
Worth knowing about how card payments behave generally, because it explains some of the friction people hit with crypto cards in any brand:
- A declined payment can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven.
- Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign cards on sight, because the card’s BIN reveals the card type and the issuing country, and the buyer’s billing address may not match.
- Address verification compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type against issuer records; it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which is a common cause of declines.
None of these are NEXA-specific faults. They are the ambient conditions of this category, and they are why “will this work at the shop I use” is not a question a review can answer for you.
What can go wrong
The risk section is short on official incidents and long on unanswered questions.
First, and plainly: I found no dated licence, no named issuer, and no issuer news on the public pages. The footer reads “Powered by NEXA” with a 2023 copyright. The Terms & Conditions page names “Natural Intelligence Ltd.” as site operator, says NEXA is “not a lending institution, insurance provider, or other Partner”, and specifies Israel as the governing law with Tel Aviv-Jaffa courts — but the language reads like comparison-site boilerplate rather than card terms. A third-party site names a different company, “Nexa Cards Solutions Ltd”. So the entity behind the card is not something the card itself settles.
Second, the site promotes a token presale at presale.nexacards.com. A payment card that markets its own token is asking you to hold two kinds of risk at once — the risk of the card and the risk of the asset. I would want those to be separable, and they are not obviously separable.
Third, on complaints. There is no confirmed Trustpilot page for nexacards.com; the page that exists belongs to nexascard.com, a different domain, and I cannot confirm it is the same operator. It shows reports of frozen funds and a company reply referring to sanctions screening. A third-party card-rating site scores the Silver card 3.2/10 as of October 2026, citing opaque fees and high upfront fees.
Fourth, the security claims are generic. The FAQ cites encryption, secure payment processing and fraud protection, and says a lost or stolen card can be blocked through support. Whether customer funds are safeguarded or segregated — the question that actually decides what happens to your balance if the operator fails — is not stated.
Fifth, the support hours contradict themselves. The phone number is +1 (877) 770-0550 with hours of 9 AM to 9 PM Monday to Friday, while the hero text claims 24/7. There is an email address, [email protected]. When you are trying to freeze a card at midnight, which of those two numbers is true is not something you want to discover.
Let me say the general shape of this clearly, because it applies far beyond this card. Custodial platforms have a real history of failure: Mt. Gox (about $350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about $400 million, 2018), and the Ronin Network bridge ($625 million, 2022). And on the other side, self-custody puts the responsibility on you: your seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words in an unencrypted form, anyone who has it can restore the wallet and spend the funds, and no network can freeze or return a transfer once it is made. Whichever model a card uses, the risk lands somewhere. On NEXA’s pages you cannot tell where.
If your funds are at risk and someone advises you to move them somewhere “safer”, that advice is exactly the shape of a scam. Nowhere in this review will I suggest a way to avoid identity checks, sanctions screening or country rules, and you should be wary of anyone who does.
Fees, limits and currencies, side by side
Before the alternatives, here is the same picture three times over, since price is where these cards differ most.
| NEXA Silver | NEXA Black | NEXA Platinum | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Form | virtual | plastic | metal |
| Enrollment | $49.95 | $99.95 | $99.95 |
| Monthly hosting | $3.99 | $11.95 | $11.95 |
| Activation | $5.95 | $10.00 | $10.00 |
| Displayed total | $114.93 | $133.85 | $281.85 |
| Delivery | within 24 hrs | up to 5 business days | up to 7 business days |
| Maximum load | virtual described as unlimited | $150,000 or equivalent | $150,000 or equivalent |
| Currency | USD | USD | USD |
| Network | Visa and Mastercard per FAQ | — | — |
| Rewards | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Disputes process | not stated | not stated | not stated |
What to take instead
None of these is an endorsement. They are the three that came up in the same category while I was reading, and each publishes something NEXA does not — a number, a network, or a fee.
Cardex — 5.6 out of 10. One crypto card, “200+ countries”, again with no country list and no exclusions. It runs on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, with virtual and physical cards; the App Store listing is Naira-focused and the card currency is Naira per that listing. Costs are not stated. What is stated is the conversion mechanic: real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the moment of payment, with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks one when you spend — no percentage given. Funds from USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, networks not named.
TakeCard — 5.5 out of 10. Here the prices are clear, which is already a difference. Virtual card USD 5. Physical card for Bolivia: USD 20 issuance plus USD 20 shipping — though another article in the same help centre says USD 10 for the physical card in Bolivia, so even this one contradicts itself. Fees are stated: 1% commission per purchase, USD payments 1:1, other currencies at the official Visa rate of the transaction day. The crypto conversion fee is not stated. It is prepaid, USD, Visa, issued in the United States. The catch is availability: the physical card is “available only to Bolivian users for now”, while the Takenos site says the wallet can receive payments from any country.
OkiCard — 6.0 out of 10, the highest of the four on this comparison, and the only one with a fee table you can actually add up. Issuance $0, monthly $0, starting price $15 for the virtual card, with an FAQ mentioning a one-time issuance fee — the pages disagree. Load fee 3%, transaction fee in USD 0%, and a stated “no hidden exchange spreads”; the FX fee is not stated. It supports USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron and Solana, with deposits to a generated address converted to fiat at the moment of spending, and requires an initial deposit of 100 USDT. It claims “150+ countries” (other pages say “200+”) and “no geo-blocking based on your passport”, while asking users to confirm they are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction.
On the honest trade: OkiCard publishes its percentages and NEXA publishes a placeholder. TakeCard is cheap to start and narrow in reach. Cardex covers networks NEXA does not name at all. Against that, NEXA has the widest reach claim of the four and a metal tier the others do not offer — and reach is exactly what you cannot verify from the card’s own pages.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the NEXA card to someone in this position, and only this position: you already hold crypto, you need a card to spend it from, you have read the pricing page and can live with the enrollment and hosting numbers without needing the totals to make sense, and you are willing to treat the missing fee schedule as a cost of doing business. Choose the Silver tier unless you specifically want plastic or metal, because the metal tier costs $281.85 by the card’s own figure and buys weight rather than function.
I would not recommend it to anyone who needs Apple Pay or Google Pay confirmed, anyone who needs a rewards programme, anyone who needs a stated dispute process, anyone who plans to hold a large balance for a long time without knowing how funds are safeguarded, or anyone who is uneasy about a card brand that also sells a token.
And I would tell anyone who asks me whether NEXA is a bank, or who owns it, that I could not answer from the card’s own pages. That is not a rhetorical flourish. It is the honest summary of what a review can say about an issuer that is not named.
Before you load any money, there are four things worth doing, none of which require trusting anyone:
- Ask support, in writing, what the fee schedule actually charges for ATM, FX and replacement, and keep the reply.
- Ask which networks are accepted for deposits, and match it to the network your balance is on before you send.
- Ask who the issuer is and where they are licensed, and where customer funds are held.
- Load a small amount first and try a real payment before committing a balance you would mind losing.
If the answers to those four are clear, the card may suit you. If they are not, that is information too.
Frequently asked questions
What is the NEXA card?
The NEXA card is a reloadable, stored-value card you can fund with crypto, cash or a transfer and then spend like an ordinary payment card. It comes in three tiers: Nexa Silver as a virtual card, Nexa Black as plastic, and Nexa Platinum as metal. It is not a credit card and does not borrow. The card’s own pages state reach across 190+ countries and acceptance at over 33 million merchant locations, but do not name the issuing institution.
How does the NEXA card work?
You load a balance first, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. When you pay, the crypto side is converted into a fiat balance that the card draws down, similar to a prepaid card rather than a debit card linked to a bank account. The card’s FAQ refers to a mobile app and an online dashboard where funding and spending are managed. Visa and Mastercard are named as networks in the FAQ.
Is NEXA a bank, and who owns it?
I could not establish either from the card’s own pages, and that is a real gap rather than a technicality. The Terms & Conditions name “Natural Intelligence Ltd.” as site operator and say NEXA is “not a lending institution, insurance provider, or other Partner”, with Israeli governing law — but the wording reads like boilerplate. A third-party site names “Nexa Cards Solutions Ltd”. No issuer is named anywhere on the public pages.
Does the NEXA card require KYC?
The card’s home page says “NO Bank Account Required” and no credit check, but it does not describe its KYC level at all. One unofficial third-party source (cryptocards.so, October 2026) says email, phone and an identity document are required, with no proof of address or selfie. That is unofficial and not confirmed by the card. Assume some identity check will happen, because providers across this category are required to verify customers.
How much does the NEXA card cost?
The pricing page lists enrollment, monthly hosting and activation fees: Silver at $49.95, $3.99 and $5.95; Black at $99.95, $11.95 and $10.00; Platinum at $99.95, $11.95 and $10.00. The displayed totals are $114.93, $133.85 and $281.85. Those totals do not equal the line items, and the page does not explain the difference. Separately, fees may apply to ATM, international transactions and replacement, with no values given.
Can I use the NEXA card in my country?
The card claims 190+ countries and over 33 million merchant locations, but publishes no country list and no exclusions, so there is no way to check in advance from the card’s own information. Some merchants also decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the card’s BIN reveals the issuing country. Sanctions screening is applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as address, so holding citizenship in a sanctioned jurisdiction is a separate and more serious issue than where you live.
How do I top up the NEXA card?
The card states that funding works by cash, wire, transfer or cryptocurrency through the dashboard. It does not name which coins are accepted — the FAQ leaves the count as a placeholder — and does not state a deposit fee or minimum. An unofficial source reports BTC, ETH, BNB and more than 65 cryptocurrencies. Before sending crypto, confirm the network the provider expects, since transfers are irreversible.
Is the NEXA card safe?
The FAQ cites encryption, secure payment processing and fraud protection, and says a lost card can be blocked via support. It does not state whether customer funds are safeguarded or segregated, which is the question that decides what happens to your balance if the operator fails. The site also promotes a token presale, and the named issuer could not be confirmed from the card’s pages. Treat any claim of safety as unverified.
Can I add the NEXA card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The card’s official pages do not mention Apple Pay or Google Pay at all, so I cannot confirm support either way. An unofficial third-party listing contradicts itself: one section marks both wallets as supported, its cons list says no support. Since tap-to-pay is how most people actually pay in a shop, ask support directly before relying on it.
Is the NEXA card worth it?
Only if you value its reach and its choice of a virtual, plastic or metal tier more than the transparency you give up. Its weakest points are the highest upfront and monthly fees among the cards I looked at, a fee schedule link that is a placeholder, totals that do not match their line items, no stated rewards, no stated dispute process, and no named issuer. If you want published percentages and a fee table you can add up, a competitor discloses more.
How virtual cards work – cryptocardsexplained.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team
