Prive card review — honest verdict for self-custody holders

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you hold your own crypto and want to spend it with an ordinary Visa without giving the keys to a platform, Prive is one of the more interesting cards to look at. It turns USDC, USDT, EURC or PYUSD sitting in your own non-custodial wallet into a spendable balance, and it charges a fairly transparent fee schedule. That is the appeal. The catch is that a fair amount of the small print is either thin, unpublished, or in tension with third-party catalogues. My job here is to walk you through what the card actually says, flag where it is quiet, and help you decide whether it earns a place in your wallet.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Prive works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: a competent crypto card wrapped in unfinished paperwork

I scored Prive 5.1 out of 10 overall. That is not a rejection — it is a card that does a reasonable job of one thing (spending self-custodied stablecoins) while leaving too many practical questions unanswered to recommend it as your only card.

The score table below shows exactly where the marks come from. Notice how the strengths and the gaps cluster: funding and everyday spending score well, while cost and reliability drag the total down.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 No country list published; off-ramps to bank accounts in 80+ countries; site terms written for Hong Kong residents; unofficial reports of invitation-only early access
Cost 3 / 10 Metal card $99.00, virtual $10.00 (shown discounted to $5.00), 0.50% top-up plus $0.05 network, 2.00% FX markup, 1.00% ATM
Top-up options 7 / 10 USDC, USDT, EURC, PYUSD from a non-custodial wallet, plus fiat via FPS, ACH and SEPA
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Prive Technologies Limited, “not a bank”; issuer and FCA number unnamed; reports of login failures after updates and slow support; App Store 4.3 from 20 ratings
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual and metal card, ATMs with a 1.00% markup, a Google Pay terms page exists; unofficial sources say Apple Pay and Google Pay are not supported

Who this suits: you already keep stablecoins in a wallet you control, you are comfortable moving them yourself, and you want a Visa that spends that balance with a clear, if not cheap, fee schedule. Who it does not suit: anyone who wants a bank account, anyone who needs a long published list of countries, or anyone who wants Apple Pay on day one. If your priority is a plain everyday debit card with strong consumer protection and no crypto friction, this is the wrong tool.

Will they give you the card?

Eligibility is where Prive is vaguest. The site shows no country list at all. What it does say is that off-ramps (withdrawing to your own bank account) reach “80+ countries” — but that describes where your money can leave, not necessarily where you can sign up. The Website Terms, section 21, state the content is “intended exclusively for Hong Kong residents.” Meanwhile a third-party catalogue says the opposite: that the card is *not* available in Hong Kong. Those two statements flatly contradict each other, and the card’s own pages do not resolve it. Some of the confusion traces to early access: third-party sources (not the card itself) describe an invitation-only early stage and, in 2026, listed the card as unavailable in Hong Kong. So the honest summary is: eligibility is stated as Hong Kong in the terms and contradicted elsewhere, with no published country list to check yourself.

This matters for you because KYC is enforced against citizenship and residence, not just where you happen to be sitting. If you fall outside whatever rule turns out to apply, you could be verified successfully and still refused the card.

The good news on plain requirements: you must be 18 or the age of majority in your country. Prepaid and debit cards in this category are broadly adult-only, with some issuers setting higher limits.

How to get it

The route is straightforward once you are eligible. You install the app, onboard and verify your identity, order a virtual card, and then request the metal card in the app. That is the stated sequence.

Verification runs through two providers, Sumsub and Bridge, and the Help Centre carries eight KYC articles — though the specific documents you will need are not shown in the public materials. The card says membership is “subject to application and verification” at Prive’s discretion, which is standard phrasing but worth reading as discretion rather than entitlement. A third-party catalogue (unofficial, not confirmed by the card) says an email, phone and identity document are required, and that proof of address and a selfie are not.

One structural point that trips people up: verification is tiered, and the tier you reach sets your card limits. But the tier names, what each unlocks, how long review takes, and the rejection reasons are all not stated. A catalogue lists a level called “ID Verification” and notes complaints about slow KYC review — again, unofficial. So you may pass one stage and still find your spending limits lower than you hoped, without a published map of what raises them.

What it really costs: Fees

Prive’s fee schedule, effective 12 April 2026, is one of the more readable documents in this category. The costs table below lays out what the card charges.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Prive payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Metal card issuance $99.00 ($39.00 card fee + $60.00 shipping)
Virtual card $10.00, shown discounted 50% to $5.00
Metal card shipping $60.00, included in the $99
Replacement metal card $99.00 (lost, stolen or damaged)
Monthly fee None listed
Card closure Free
Top-up fee 0.50% ($0.50 min, $999,999 max) plus $0.05 network fee for USDT/USDC
FX markup 2.00%
Domestic transaction No extra fee
Declined authorisation $0.50, only if decline rate exceeds 5% over 10+ attempts
ATM withdrawal markup 1.00% (free allowance not stated)
Per-transaction limit Up to $100,000
Card limits Depend on your verification tier (daily/monthly figures not stated)

Now, what does this mean when you actually spend? Three everyday examples:

A coffee bought in your own country costs no extra transaction fee, so the card costs you nothing beyond whatever you already paid to move the stablecoin into position. A purchase in a foreign currency adds the 2.00% FX markup on top of the underlying network rate — that is the fee most likely to surprise you, because it applies to nearly every overseas transaction.

A cash withdrawal carries a 1.00% markup, with no free-allowance figure published, so treat any ATM use as charged from the first unit. And an online purchase that gets declined is only billed $0.50 if your decline rate climbs above 5% across 10 or more attempts — a guard against abusing retries rather than a normal per-decline charge.

The two headline numbers to weigh are the $99 metal card and the 2.00% FX markup. The metal card is a one-off, but it is steep next to the $10 (or $5 discounted) virtual card, which differs from the metal version by price alone — functionally the same card. If you are unsure, start on the virtual card. The FX markup, by contrast, recurs on every foreign purchase and is the running cost to budget for.

How to Top up

Topping up is the part Prive does best, which is why this criterion scored highest after everyday use. You hold USDC, USDT, EURC or PYUSD in your own non-custodial wallet, and card top-ups from your wallet balance are instant. You can also bring in fiat through FPS, ACH or SEPA. A network fee of $0.05 applies for USDT and USDC deposits; the card does not name the specific networks, so confirm yours is supported before sending, because a transfer to an unsupported network can be lost or need slow manual recovery with no guarantee. Fiat top-ups can be made in GBP, USD, EUR, NGN, KES, MXN or BRL via FPS/ACH/SEPA, though fiat fees and the minimum top-up are not stated apart from the fee minimum.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Prive starts with a transfer to the right network

Withdrawing is the mirror image, and cheap: a 0.00% withdrawal fee ($0.01 minimum) plus the same $0.05 network fee for USDT/USDC, off-ramped to local bank accounts in 80+ countries. One end-of-life detail to know: if you terminate, any outstanding balance becomes due, and there is an account-closure disclosure page.

Paying with it every day

The day-to-day picture is good. You get both a virtual card and a premium-metal physical card, and you can use ATMs (with the 1.00% markup). On mobile wallets the picture is muddier: a Google Pay terms page exists, but Apple Pay is not stated. A third-party catalogue says outright that both Apple Pay and Google Pay are “not supported,” which directly conflicts with the Google Pay terms page on Prive’s own site. Treat wallet support as unresolved until you see it working in the app.

The app runs on iOS at 4.3 out of 5 from 20 ratings (read 21 October 2026); a Google Play listing exists but its rating could not be read. That is a thin rating base — enough to say the iOS experience is generally liked, not enough to lean on.

You earn points from top-ups, payments, withdrawals and referrals, but the points are usable only inside the app and no cashback is stated. So treat rewards as a nudge, not a reason.

Finally, a quiet risk in daily use: blocked merchant categories are not stated, and chargeback process and time frames are not published (the Card Agreement page shows “content not yet available”). Under the terms, disputes go to arbitration in Hong Kong (HKIAC). If a payment goes wrong, the published recourse is thinner than you would like.

What can go wrong

Let me separate what is documented from what is merely reported.

Structurally, Prive Technologies Limited is “not a bank.” Card services run through unnamed “licensed card programme partners,” and the issuer is not named. The terms are governed by Hong Kong law, and no FCA authorisation number is stated. So the entity you are contracting with is not a deposit-taking bank, and the institution that actually issues your card is not identified. On the balance side, it is a non-custodial setup — “Your Wallet. Your Keys” — with fiat balances held with “regulated partners.” Security features include biometric login, 2FA and real-time fraud detection. Importantly, FSCS protection does not apply.

For reported problems: I found no official incident record. A user report via a catalogue summary (2026) mentions login failures after an update, slow and vague support, and payment links that require the payer to register and pass KYC. Searches on Reddit and Trustpilot returned only unrelated “Privé” shopping sites, and no Trustpilot page for Prive Money was found — so there is no independent complaint record to lean on either way.

The category carries its own well-known risks, worth understanding so you are not surprised. Crypto transfers are typically irreversible, so a stolen key has no recovery path; custodial platforms have a history of collapse (Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin); stablecoins can depeg (TerraUSD in May 2022, USDC briefly in March 2023); and because a card BIN reveals the issuing country, some merchants apply extra scrutiny or decline foreign-issued and prepaid cards. Under 3-D Secure, liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift toward you. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days. None of this is Prive-specific, but a self-custody card puts the key-loss and transfer-irreversibility risks squarely on you.

Two more Prive-specific notes: fees can change with 15 days’ notice (the current schedule dates from 12 April 2026), and help is offered 24/7 with [email protected]; the app runs in English and 10 other languages, though Russian is not confirmed. A third-party catalogue that lists every fee as free, and daily/monthly/ATM as unlimited, contradicts the official schedule — do not trust it over the card’s own fee page.

What to take instead

If Prive leaves you uneasy, there are three comparable cards in this category. They differ mostly in how they charge and who they are for.

Prive BloFin Wallet Card Decaf SafePal
Score 5.1 / 10 6.9 / 10 6.2 / 10 6.2 / 10
Card Visa Platinum, virtual or metal Visa Platinum Visa, virtual or physical Virtual Mastercard debit
Card cost $5–$99 $0 activation/annual $5 virtual; $10 (US) or $90 physical Not stated
Spend fee No extra fee stated 1% or lower by VIP tier (VIP 0 1.00% → VIP 5 0.00%) Not stated Not stated
FX markup 2.00% Not stated None added — uses Visa’s rate 1% for non-USD settlement
Top-up USDC, USDT, EURC, PYUSD + fiat (FPS/ACH/SEPA) USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base By card, bank transfer or USDC 40+ blockchains, converted to USDC or fiat
Cashback None stated None — lower spend rate instead Not stated None; referral commissions instead
Who it suits Self-custody stablecoin spenders Fee-sensitive users who can climb VIP tiers Travellers who want no FX markup Broad-chain holders

Reading across the rows: BloFin charges nothing to open or keep the card and can drop the spend fee to 0.00% at the top VIP tier, but its country list is also unpublished and it is Arbitrum/Base-only for top-ups. Decaf is the standout for travel because it adds no FX fee on top of Visa’s own rate, and it publishes a long restricted-country list (Russia and Belarus are both on it); whether that list keys off citizenship or residence is not stated. SafePal accepts crypto from the most chains and converts to USDC, but charges a 1% FX fee on non-USD Mastercard settlement and includes a swap spread. If your pain point is the 2.00% FX markup, Decaf is the one to compare against first; if your pain point is opening cost, BloFin; if you hold coins on many networks, SafePal.

Who I would recommend it to

Prive is for a specific person: someone who already holds stablecoins in a self-custodial wallet, is comfortable moving them and absorbing an FX cost, and wants to spend that balance on a real Visa without handing over custody. In that lane the card does its job — instant top-ups from your own wallet, a free-closure account, cheap withdrawals, and a published fee schedule you can actually read.

I would steer everyone else elsewhere. If you need a bank account, if you want to know with certainty whether your country is supported, if you rely on Apple Pay, or if you want a published chargeback process, pick a different card — this one leaves those gaps open. And start on the $5 virtual card rather than the $99 metal one; the two are functionally identical, and there is no reason to buy metal before you have proved the card works for you.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Prive card?

Prive is a Visa Platinum payment card that spends a stablecoin balance you hold yourself. You load USDC, USDT, EURC or PYUSD from your own non-custodial wallet, and the card converts that into spendable balance. It is not a bank account — Prive Technologies Limited describes itself as “not a bank,” and card services run through unnamed licensed card programme partners.

How does the Prive card work?

You hold stablecoins in your own wallet, top up the card from that balance (instantly, for 0.50% plus a $0.05 network fee for USDT/USDC), and then pay with the virtual or metal Visa as you would any card. It behaves like a prepaid card: it draws on a stored balance, so it cannot overdraw. Spending draws down that balance; you can also withdraw to a bank account in 80+ countries for a 0.00% fee.

Is Prive a bank, and who owns it?

No — Prive is not a bank. The company behind it is Prive Technologies Limited, and it describes itself as “not a bank.” The actual card issuer is not named; services run through unnamed “licensed card programme partners,” and no FCA authorisation number is stated. The terms are governed by Hong Kong law, and FSCS deposit protection does not apply.

Who can get the Prive card?

You must be 18 or the age of majority. Beyond that the card is frustratingly vague: it publishes no country list, its Website Terms say the content is “intended exclusively for Hong Kong residents,” yet a third-party catalogue says the card is *not* available in Hong Kong. Third-party sources also describe an invitation-only early access. Eligibility is genuinely unresolved, so confirm with support before you rely on it.

Does the Prive card require KYC, and what documents?

Yes. Verification runs through Sumsub and Bridge, and membership is “subject to application and verification” at Prive’s discretion. The Help Centre has eight KYC articles but does not publicly list the exact documents. Third-party sources (not confirmed by the card) say an email, phone and identity document are required, and proof of address and a selfie are not. Verification is tiered, and your tier sets your spending limits.

How do I top up the Prive card?

The cleanest route is crypto: hold USDC, USDT, EURC or PYUSD in a non-custodial wallet and top up instantly from that balance, paying 0.50% (minimum $0.50) plus a $0.05 network fee for USDT/USDC. You can also add fiat via FPS, ACH or SEPA in GBP, USD, EUR, NGN, KES, MXN or BRL. The card does not name which networks it supports, so verify before sending.

Can I add the Prive card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

This is unresolved. A Google Pay terms page exists on Prive’s site, which suggests Google Pay is at least contemplated, but a third-party catalogue says both Apple Pay and Google Pay are “not supported” — directly contradicting that page. Apple Pay is not mentioned at all in the card’s own materials. Treat wallet support as unconfirmed until you see it working in the app.

What are the Prive card’s fees and limits?

The metal card is $99.00 (including $60 shipping); the virtual card is $10.00, shown discounted to $5.00. There is no monthly fee and closure is free. Top-ups cost 0.50% plus a $0.05 network fee, FX carries a 2.00% markup, and ATM withdrawals a 1.00% markup. Per-transaction spending goes up to $100,000, but overall card limits depend on your verification tier, and daily/monthly figures are not published.

How do I withdraw money from Prive, and is the card safe to use day to day?

Withdrawal costs 0.00% (minimum $0.01) plus a $0.05 network fee for USDT/USDC, and you can off-ramp to local bank accounts in 80+ countries. Day to day the card is workable — a virtual and metal Visa, ATMs, and 2FA, biometric login and real-time fraud detection — but the crypto side carries real risk: transfers are typically irreversible, keys lost are keys gone, and a 2.00% FX markup applies to foreign purchases. There is no FSCS protection.

Is the Prive card worth it, and how do I close the account?

For someone already holding stablecoins in a self-custodial wallet, it is a competent, transparent-fee option worth trying on the cheap $5 virtual card before committing to metal. It is less convincing for anyone wanting a bank account, a clear country list, Apple Pay, or a published chargeback process. Note that if you close the account, any outstanding balance becomes due, so withdraw what you hold before terminating.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team