A virtual crypto card with a lot left unanswered

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Roqqu is a crypto exchange that also offers a virtual payment card: you keep crypto on the platform, and the card converts and spends it as you buy things. That is the whole pitch, and on paper it is a convenient one — no bank account required in the traditional sense, no waiting for a plastic card in the post, and spending that draws on crypto balances you already hold. What I found when I went through the card’s own terms and terms of service is a product where the essentials are missing. The card’s fees page lists no card fees. Its terms say eligibility depends on where you live and which countries Roqqu operates in — without naming any of them. The issuing institution is not named. The networks and coins you can spend are not listed. For someone choosing a card to pay with every day, those are not footnotes; they are the facts you need most.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Roqqu works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I scored Roqqu 4.5 out of 10. That is not a verdict on the company — it is a verdict on how little the public pages let a reader check. The exchange itself may be perfectly usable for its existing users. But the card is the part I was asked to review, and on the card, the public record is thin.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Countries are named only as “supported markets”; access depends on where you live and where Roqqu operates, and that list is not published
Cost 5 / 10 Card fees are not disclosed; the fees page contains no card fees
Top-up options 5 / 10 “Spend your crypto directly” and direct conversion are described, but no coins or networks are named
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Roqqu Nigeria Limited is named in the terms, but the issuer and licences are not; complaints about locked accounts and held assets; Trustpilot 3.6 out of 5 from 104 reviews
Everyday use 3 / 10 A virtual card with customisable design; Apple Pay, Google Pay, plastic and ATM support are not disclosed
Total 4.5 / 10 The product idea is sound; the disclosure is not

The audience note here matters. Roqqu’s card is essentially built for exchange users who already hold stablecoins and want to spend them online. If that is you — you have an account, you hold stablecoins in it, and you want the money to appear at a checkout without converting it by hand — the concept fits your life. If you are looking for a card that a shop abroad will never question, or one whose fees you can calculate before you tap, the public information is not enough to make that decision. I go into each of those in turn below.

*The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.*

Will They Give You the Card

Short answer: probably, if you live where Roqqu operates — but the card’s own terms will not tell you where that is.

The general terms state that access depends on where you live and which countries Roqqu operates in, and that eligibility is reassessed on an ongoing basis (Section 3). That is the whole of it. The public page names no countries at all; it refers only to “supported markets”. So the question “is the Roqqu card available in my country” cannot be answered from the card’s own material. You would have to test it by registering.

I want to be careful here about what I am and am not saying. I am not saying Roqqu is operating somewhere it should not, and I am not going to outline any way around country rules — there isn’t one worth wanting. What I am saying is that a reader in, say, Europe or the United States cannot tell from the public pages whether they are in scope. If you are outside the likely markets, expect to find out through the registration flow rather than through the documentation.

There is one further gate, and it is a normal one. The general terms say that registering means providing your legal name, a government ID and your date of birth (Section 5), and that you must be 18 or the legal age in your country (Section 3). The card FAQ page’s own KYC answer was not displayed when I looked, so I cannot tell you what it says. This is standard identity verification, the same kind any regulated crypto business does — see the background section below — and there is nothing to work around.

How to Get It

The sign-up itself is unremarkable: register on Roqqu, complete identity verification with your legal name, government ID and date of birth, confirm you are 18 or the legal age, and then request the card. The general terms say your limits depend on your verification level and your tier, and that higher limits may require enhanced due diligence. No tiers, no levels, no timings are listed. So how long you wait, and how much you can move, are both unknown.

What you receive is described on the card page as “Virtual Flexibility” — a virtual card with customisable designs. That is the entire product description on offer. The card network is not stated: the FAQ answers were not displayed, so I cannot tell you whether this is Visa, Mastercard or something else. An earlier check of the card recorded a prepaid Visa, but I would treat that as historical rather than current, since the current page does not say.

Whether a physical card exists, whether delivery is possible and how long it takes — all not stated. There is no plastic-card option described anywhere on the public pages. That narrows the appeal considerably if you are someone who pays in shops rather than online, but it also removes a whole category of risk and cost, which is worth saying in fairness.

The customisable design is a genuine small feature. It is not a financial one, and I want to be honest that it is the only card detail the page actually commits to.

Fees: What It Really Costs

This is the section where I have the least to work with, and the least pleasant to write. The card page links to a fees page, and that fees page lists no card fees. Issuance, monthly fee, conversion fee, foreign-exchange fee, ATM fee, daily limits, monthly limits — the card’s public pages state none of them. The terms say transaction limits depend on your verification level and tier, but no figures accompany that. Currency conversion terms are not stated.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Roqqu payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Let me put it as a table, so you can see the shape of the hole.

Fee or limit What the card’s public pages say
Issuance fee Not stated
Monthly or account fee Not stated
Crypto-to-fiat conversion fee Not stated
Foreign-exchange fee Not stated
ATM withdrawal fee Not stated
Daily transaction limit Not stated; terms say limits depend on verification level and tier
Monthly transaction limit Not stated; terms say limits depend on verification level and tier
Card currency Not stated

Now, what that means in practice, because an abstract “not stated” is easy to nod along to. Consider three ordinary payments and what you would need to know to cost them.

A coffee. You tap for 4 dollars. If the card holds stablecoins, someone converts them to fiat at the moment of payment. The conversion fee is the first unknown. If your balance is already in fiat or in a stablecoin that holds its peg, the cost may be nothing beyond the spread. If not, you are paying a conversion rate you cannot see.

A hotel in a currency you do not use. You check out for 300 euros. Now there is a second layer: the foreign-exchange rate the merchant’s own bank applies, plus whatever the card adds on top. Both are unknown here. Add to that the possibility that your booking is declined at the till because the card’s issuing country differs from your billing address — a well-known effect that applies to any foreign card, and one that prepaid cards hit more often — and you are booking a room on the assumption that things will go right.

A subscription you cancel and forget. You pay a monthly fee. If the balance runs out mid-month, or the conversion moves against you, the payment fails. If it succeeds and then you cancel, a refund may or may not route back to you cleanly; see the section on disputes below.

None of that is an accusation. It is arithmetic: you cannot total a bill when three of its terms are blank. And I would rather tell you that plainly than dress it up as a small print issue. If you are considering this card, the single most useful thing you can do is ask Roqqu’s support for the fee schedule in writing before you commit anything.

There is one category of cost that is *not* the card provider’s: the network fee for a blockchain deposit. That is charged by the blockchain itself, not by Roqqu. Still yours, though.

How to Top Up the Card

The card’s funding model is the clearest thing about it, and the vaguest in detail. The page says you can “spend your crypto directly online or in-store” and describes “Direct Conversions”. An earlier version of the page referred to stablecoins in a Roqqu wallet being converted in real time at each purchase. But the current pages name no coins and no networks. You are told there is direct conversion and not told what converts.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Roqqu starts with a transfer to the right network

That gap matters more here than it would for an ordinary prepaid card, because sending crypto is not like topping up a bank transfer. Two things can go wrong that a fiat top-up does not face. First, you must send on the network the provider supports; sending on another network can mean the funds are lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee, because blockchain transfers are irreversible — that is a property of the technology, not a fault of Roqqu. Second, on networks like Ethereum, fees are paid in the network’s own coin: a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send at all, no matter how much stablecoin is in it. Other networks price transfers differently.

As for cashing out again: the card’s own pages say nothing about withdrawals. The general terms do say, in their plainest terms, that digital asset transactions cannot be reversed once broadcast (8.iii). That is the standard truth of crypto transfers, but it is worth reading twice before you send anything anywhere.

The pattern I would suggest is not a trick but a discipline: transfer a small amount first, confirm it has landed and converted, then scale up. That is simply how you avoid the one irreversible mistake.

Paying With It Every Day

Honestly? I could not tell you much, and that is the finding rather than a gap in my reading.

The card page shows App Store and Play Store badges, and the number “4.25 Stores” without an explanation of what it counts. I did not read the store ratings or review counts. Whether the card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay is not stated — and since the card is virtual only, a mobile wallet is arguably the most likely way you would use it. Whether you can use it in-store, at an ATM, or for contactless payments, is not stated. The rewards or cashback are not stated. Card currency is not stated. The wallet options are not stated.

Two things I can offer, both of them general facts rather than Roqqu specifics, and both relevant to what you would be doing with it.

First, adding a card to a phone wallet works by replacing the card number with a device-specific number stored on the phone’s secure hardware, with a fresh one-time code on each payment. That is generally a good thing to do with any card — a merchant who handles a tokenised number never sees the long-term number, and cannot store it for later.

Second, if you have ever had a card payment declined after the money was actually taken, or seen a hold on your balance for days after a declined authorisation, that is not personal bad luck. Declined authorisations can leave holds that persist for several days. It happens to everyone; it just matters more when your balance is a crypto balance that moves.

And a caution about online payments specifically: cards from some issuers are protected by a step-up check at checkout — the issuer assesses the risk and either approves silently or asks you for a one-time code or a fingerprint. Visa calls this Visa Secure, Mastercard calls it Identity Check. It is worth knowing which one applies here, since the network is not named on the page.

What Can Go Wrong

This is where I have real material, and it is the part I would want a person considering this card to read twice.

The entity behind the card. The terms name Roqqu Nigeria Limited. The site footer names Roqqu Technologies. The relationship between the two is not explained. The issuing institution is not named on the page, and neither are licences. This is not a formality. A card network licenses the institutions that issue cards under its rules, and those rules are what give you chargeback rights, zero-drop guarantees on some disputes, and a route to complain when something goes wrong. A brand that fronts a card programme is often just the front-end; knowing which institution actually stands behind yours is how you know who you are dealing with when money is missing. Here, the page does not say.

The security claims, and their limits. The page claims cold storage, two-factor authentication, email and SMS transaction notifications, “ISO 27001 certified”, and an audit under Nigeria’s data protection law dated 2024. Those are real and reasonable claims. What the page does not state is the custody model for card funds specifically — and that is the part that would tell you whether the money you load is held by a licensed institution, or by the company itself.

Complaints, from both sides. I found no official incidents. The user-reported picture on Trustpilot is less clean: Trustpilot shows 3.6 out of 5 from 104 reviews, only 2 of them in the last twelve months, as I read the page on 2026-10-21 — though the same page elsewhere says “4.0 Trust Pilot / 300”, which is a discrepancy worth noting. The recurring themes in user reports include missing deposits and withdrawals, slow support, accounts locked with assets held, and identity-verification problems. Card-specific complaints I did not find. I want to be fair about the weight of that: user reports are user reports, not adjudicated findings, and a low volume of recent reviews is not evidence of anything either way. But the themes are the ones that matter to you as a cardholder — locked accounts and held assets are the failure mode you cannot fix yourself.

When something goes wrong with a payment. Roqqu’s terms say Roqqu is a platform, not a counterparty, and that disputes are resolved directly between you and whoever you paid; chargebacks appear only in a fraud context (8.xii). The formal route is a complaint-handling process published on the site. In practice this means that if a shop takes your money and does not deliver, you are the one arranging that conversation, not the card network.

Support. The page claims 24/7 support, and legal notices go to a published email address. Claims of slow support appear in the user reports above. Worth factoring in.

The category risks, which apply to any custodial setup. Crypto transfers are irreversible by design. Custodial platforms hold your keys, so you must trust them completely; the industry has a long record of it — Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin Network among them. Stablecoins, despite the name, are not necessarily stable: one collapsed in 2022, and another briefly lost its peg during a banking crisis in 2023. And card programmes do get shut down: Visa terminated its agreements with one major crypto firm in November 2022, and a major card issuer was suspended and its programmes closed in Europe in 2018. Closures typically mean a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. None of these are Roqqu predictions. They are the base rate you accept when you hold crypto with a platform rather than in your own wallet.

What to Take Instead

If the numbers above did not reassure you, the honest answer is that there are cards with more published. Here is how the field looks to me, on the same criteria.

MSX is the one I would look at first among the alternatives I could check — it scores 6.4 out of 10 here, though I should say that on its official pages I could not read who can get it, what the card is, what it costs, how it is funded, or what it pays back. Its higher mark reflects a comparable position with fewer things going wrong, not a set of confirmed advantages.

Bybit Card, at 6.0 out of 10, is by far the most documented of the three. Its help centre lists the regions: Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific. It states plainly that the product is not meant for European Economic Area customers and that all European Economic Area participation is strictly prohibited. Its restricted list for fiat services — which covers deposits, withdrawals and One-Click Buy, not the card itself — includes Belarus, the Russian Federation, Serbia, China and the United States.

Its fees are actually published, which is more than I can say for Roqqu:

Bybit Card Details
Virtual issuance Free in all regions until further notice
Physical issuance Australia 29.99 USD; Argentina 5 USD/USDT; Georgia 29.99 USDT; Kazakhstan (AIFC) 29.99 USDT; Asia Pacific 5 USDT; Brazil and Mexico none
Crypto conversion 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions; 0.5% Argentina
Foreign exchange 2% on top of the network rate in several regions; Argentina 7%; Brazil 1.5%; Peru 1%
Annual fee “Auto interest, no annual fees”
Card type Virtual and physical, Mastercard in some regions and Visa in others, by country

It also has a rewards structure with named tiers — from 2% cashback at Base up to 10% at Infinite — and a rule worth reading before you spend: since 5 October 2026, only crypto-funded transactions earn, fiat-funded spending does not. That is exactly the sort of small clause that changes what a card is actually for.

MEXC, at 5.6 out of 10, offers a virtual card only, with physical cards not yet available. Issuance is listed at 20 USD though the page’s presentation of it is unclear, with a discounted price possibly beside it. Cashback runs by tier — 4%, 6% and 10% — and funding is by transferring USDT to a fiat account. Which countries are supported is listed only as “The Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand…” with a details link.

Against that field, the honest summary is this:

I am not going to tell you which is best, because “best” is a function of your country, your balance, and how much you care about being able to read the fee schedule. What I will say is that after reading Roqqu’s pages I would not advise anyone to move money onto it in order to get a card, when cards with published fee schedules exist.

Who I Would Recommend It To

I would recommend Roqqu’s card to exactly one kind of person: someone who already uses Roqqu as an exchange, already holds stablecoins there, and wants to spend that balance online without converting it by hand every time. For them, the card is a convenience on top of a relationship they have already chosen, and the customisable design is a small personal nicety.

I would not recommend it to anyone choosing their first crypto card, to anyone whose main spending is in physical shops, to anyone who plans to travel with it, or to anyone who needs to know what a payment will cost before they make it. The gap is not in what the card does — direct conversion of crypto at checkout is a sensible idea — it is in what is written down. The issuer is unnamed. The networks and coins are unnamed. The fees are not published. The countries served are not published. The mobile wallet support is not published. For a product whose entire value proposition is turning a volatile, irreversible asset into everyday spending, that is the wrong set of things to leave blank.

Before you commit anything, I would want three things in writing from Roqqu: the full fee schedule for card spending including conversion and foreign exchange; the list of countries the card actually works in; and the name of the institution that issues the card and the licence it holds. If those three arrive promptly and clearly, my score would go up. If they do not, that tells you something too.

And a last thing that is not about Roqqu at all. If you fund a card this way, remember that spending crypto is generally a taxable disposal in most jurisdictions — the asset is treated as property, and each payment funded from crypto may count as a separate sale measured at that day’s value. That is a question for a qualified adviser in your country, not for me or for any card’s help centre.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Roqqu card?

Roqqu’s card is a virtual payment card linked to a crypto exchange account. The card page describes it as “Virtual Flexibility”, with customisable designs, and says you can spend your crypto directly online or in store through “Direct Conversions”. The card network is not stated on the public pages, and an earlier check recorded a prepaid Visa, which I would treat as historical rather than current.

How does the Roqqu card work?

The idea is that crypto on your Roqqu balance is converted and spent as you pay. An earlier version of the page described stablecoins in a Roqqu wallet being converted in real time at each purchase. The current pages confirm direct conversion but name no coins and no networks, which means you cannot check from the documentation whether the asset you hold is one the card will accept.

Is Roqqu a bank?

Not on the evidence of its own pages. The general terms name Roqqu Nigeria Limited, while the site footer names Roqqu Technologies, and the relationship between them is not explained. The issuing institution for the card is not named, and neither are licences. An electronic money institution can issue cards without being a bank, so this is not alarming in itself — but you are entitled to know who stands behind your card.

Who can get the Roqqu card?

The general terms say access depends on where you live and which countries Roqqu operates in, with eligibility reassessed on an ongoing basis. No countries are named on the public pages; it refers only to “supported markets”. You must also be 18 or the legal age in your country and pass identity verification with your legal name, a government ID and your date of birth.

Is the Roqqu card free?

I cannot tell you, and that is the honest answer. The card page links to a fees page, and that page lists no card fees. Issuance, monthly fee, conversion fee and foreign-exchange fee are all not stated. If the cost matters to your decision, ask for the fee schedule in writing before you add anything to the account.

How do I top up the Roqqu card?

The card draws on your Roqqu balance, so the top-up is sending crypto to the exchange. Coins and networks are not listed on the public pages, so check before sending. Two general risks apply: a transfer on the wrong network can be lost, because blockchain transfers are irreversible, and on some networks the fee is paid in that network’s own coin, so a wallet with stablecoins and none of it cannot send.

Can I add the Roqqu card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Not stated. The public pages do not say whether the card can be added to a mobile wallet, and they show only app store badges plus an unexplained “4.25 Stores” figure. Since the card is virtual only, a phone wallet would probably be the main way to use it, which makes this a question worth asking support directly.

Is the Roqqu card safe?

The page claims cold storage, two-factor authentication, transaction notifications by email and SMS, “ISO 27001 certified”, and a data-protection audit dated 2024. What is not stated is the custody model for card funds specifically. I also saw user reports on Trustpilot of locked accounts and held assets, plus missing deposits and slow support — unproven individual experiences, but the right themes to weigh.

Is the Roqqu card available in my country?

There is no way to tell from the public pages. The terms tie access to where you live and where Roqqu operates without naming either, so the only honest test is to register and see. I am not going to suggest any way around country restrictions, and there is no legitimate one worth wanting.

Is the Roqqu card worth it?

For someone already holding stablecoins on Roqqu and spending online, the convenience is real. For anyone else, the card is hard to justify on the published record: fees unstated, issuing institution unnamed, networks and coins unlisted, mobile wallet support unstated. If you want a crypto card with a readable fee schedule, cards like Bybit Card or MEXC publish more — though Bybit excludes European Economic Area customers entirely, so start with your country.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team