A euro-denominated crypto card with real fees and real complaints
The Kauri card is a crypto payment card. You hold crypto in a custodial wallet, the card converts what you spend into euros, and you pay at shops, online or from an ATM. That is the whole idea, and it is a good one for anyone who has crypto but no ordinary bank card to spend it from. The details are where it gets interesting: the card page states a 20 EUR issuance fee, 1 EUR a month per card, a 1% top-up fee and 1% on auto-conversion, ATM withdrawals at 1.5% plus 1.5 EUR, and 30 EUR for physical card delivery. It also states that physical cards and IBANs are limited to the EEA/EU. And the user-reported picture on Trustpilot is 2.8 out of 5 from 16 reviews, with themes of accounts frozen after deposits, unreturned funds and a closure notice in July 2026.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
So this is a card with one genuine strength — euro spending, IBAN, Apple Pay — and a long list of conditions you have to read before you rely on it. My score is 5.3 out of 10.
The conditions are current as of October 2026.
Verdict: 5.3 out of 10, and the split is uneven
The score is not a figure of convenience. Everyday use is the strongest part at 8 out of 10 — a virtual card, a physical card, Apple Pay, a Google Wallet design and ATM access is a complete set of features for spending crypto day to day. Top-up options sit in the middle at 5: crypto goes to a custodial wallet and converts to euros at payment, but the coins and networks are not listed, which means you cannot check from the public page whether the asset you hold is accepted. Who can get one scores 6: virtual cards are available in many countries, but physical cards and IBANs stop at the EEA/EU border and there is no country list on the page.
Then the two weak columns. Cost is 4 out of 10 because the fee stack is thin but not empty, and delivery adds 30 EUR on top of issuance. Reliability and complaints is 4 out of 10, and this is the number I would look at hardest before depositing anything: the provider is licensed in Estonia, the card programme runs through a Polish payment institution, and the user-reported record on Trustpilot includes frozen accounts after deposits, funds not returned and a closure notice in July 2026.
Who this suits: residents of the EU who want a euro card and an IBAN and already have crypto to load. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a card this week, anyone outside the EEA/EU who was hoping the IBAN would travel, and anyone whose main worry is getting money back if the provider stops trading.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Virtual cards in many countries; physical card and IBAN only in the EEA/EU; no country list on the page |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | Issuance 20 EUR, 1 EUR a month per card, top-up 1%, auto-conversion 1%, ATM 1.5% + 1.5 EUR, delivery 30 EUR |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Crypto to a custodial wallet, converted to EUR at payment; coins and networks not listed |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Estonian VASP licence, cards via a Polish company; Trustpilot 2.8 from 16 reviews: freezes, unreturned funds, July 2026 closure |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical card, Apple Pay, Google Wallet design, ATM |
Will they give you the card
There is no country list on the Kauri page. What it does say is that virtual cards are available in many countries, while the physical card and the IBAN are limited to the EEA/EU. That is the line to plan around: if you live in the euro area and want a card in your hand, you are inside the stated limit. If you live elsewhere, the virtual card is the part described as widely available and the physical card is not something the page promises you.
The agreement also says it does not supersede the law of the country you are in. That is worth reading twice. Whatever Kauri permits, your local law still applies, and where the two disagree, your local law wins.
Two things the card page leaves open that will decide your application. The first is identity verification: the agreement says KYC is carried out under the AML policy, but the card page does not list which documents are accepted, so you cannot prepare a checklist from the public information. There is a dedicated address for KYC questions, [email protected]. The second is that no verification levels or tiers are stated. There is a single tier on the card, no tier ladder to climb.
If you are reading this because you have been refused a bank card elsewhere, that context matters for what follows. A crypto card is often found precisely because conventional banking is closed to you, and the closing mechanism matters as much as the opening one. What happens to your balance when an account closes is covered in the top-up section below, because it is really the same question.
How to get it
The product list is short: a main virtual card, additional virtual cards and a physical card, all in euros. The card network is not stated on the page, which is unusual and not something I can fill in for you.
On delivery: a physical card comes to your door for 30 EUR delivery plus the 20 EUR issuance fee, and the countries are limited to the EEA/EU per the starting data on the page. Delivery time and the cost of a replacement are not stated. If you need a working card quickly, the virtual one is the faster path.
KYC is where most applications stop, and here I have to be careful about what is official and what is not. Officially: no accounts for persons under the legal age of majority in their country, verification under the AML policy, documents not listed on the card page, contact [email protected]. Unofficial and not confirmed by the card: Trustpilot reviewers report having their ID rejected. A user report is not a rule, but it is a plausible reason a person in your position should ask the support address about document requirements before uploading anything.
The company behind the account is KAURIFINANCE OÜ, registered in Tallinn, Estonia, registration number 14559136, holding virtual asset service provider licence FVT000328 issued 17.11.2020. The card itself is issued through Quicko sp. z o.o. in Poland, a national payment institution under UKNF IP52/2021, and the IBAN comes through Breinrock LTD in Canada, FINTRAC M20573902. A PCI DSS certificate is listed. The User Agreement is the version effective 30.12.2025, and the Estonian licence was upgraded in 2023.
Read that structure as an answer to “is Kauri a bank”: no. It is a licensed crypto service provider with a card programme issued by someone else and an IBAN provided by a third company in Canada.
What it really costs: fees
Here is the fee table as the card states it. Anything not listed here is not listed by the card — I have not filled the gaps with numbers of my own.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Issuance (virtual main, virtual additional, physical) | 20 EUR |
| Monthly maintenance | 1 EUR per card |
| Top-up, including P2P | 1% |
| Auto conversion (deposit, exchange, payment) | 1% |
| FX fee | not listed separately |
| ATM cash | 1.5% + 1.5 EUR |
| PIN change | 0.5 EUR |
| Balance inquiry | 0.5 EUR |
| Physical card delivery | 30 EUR |
| Chargeback fee | 30 EUR |
| Monthly transaction limit | 3 BTC |
| Currency | EUR |
| Tiers | single tier |
Three everyday payments, so the arithmetic is concrete. A 30 EUR grocery shop with your balance already in euros costs you nothing on the card side — no conversion happens because there is nothing to convert. The same 30 EUR grocery shop paid straight from a crypto balance triggers the 1% auto-conversion fee, so 0.30 EUR comes off the top, charged by the card, not by the network. And 200 EUR taken out of an ATM costs 1.5% plus 1.5 EUR: 3 EUR of percentage plus 1.50 EUR fixed, 4.50 EUR on that withdrawal, before any exchange-rate spread you might meet at a foreign ATM — and the card does not list an FX fee, so I cannot tell you whether a separate currency charge exists.
The 3 BTC monthly transaction limit is the number I would check against your own spending. It is high relative to ordinary card use and low relative to a large crypto balance, and it is a limit on transactions, not a statement of how much value you may hold.
How to Top up the card
The flow is: send crypto to a custodial wallet, and the balance is converted to euros at the moment of payment. Sending crypto to another Kauri member’s card costs 0 fee. The 1% top-up fee still applies, and the minimum top-up is not stated.

The gap in this section is the one that decides whether the card works for you at all. The coins and networks are not listed. That matters more than it sounds. On Ethereum, for example, the token standard ERC-20 requires gas paid in ETH, so a wallet holding a token but no ETH cannot send it. Tether describes USDT as issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche; Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, and stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024. So “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. And blockchain transfers are irreversible — a deposit sent on an unsupported network, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Check what you hold against what Kauri accepts before you send anything.
Two more things about the balance. First, it is custodial: the provider holds the credentials, so control of the crypto belongs to them, not to you. The card states that user funds are held in a segregated safeguarding account and that the card is blocked after three wrong PIN entries. A segregated account is not a bank deposit, and segregated safeguarding is not the same as a deposit guarantee scheme.
Second, and this is the part I would read twice: on closure, if the matter is AML-related, funds are sent to a licensed EU/EEA credit institution; otherwise they are returned in fiat or crypto at the company’s discretion. Dormant accounts are charged a fee after 6 months. “At the company’s discretion” is doing real work in that sentence, and it is the clause to consider if you are choosing between this card and an ordinary bank account.
Paying with it every day
Everyday use is where Kauri scores highest, and the list is genuinely complete for ordinary spending. Apple Pay is supported. A Google Wallet design is mentioned. There is an ATM function. The card blocks itself after three wrong PIN attempts, and you can freeze it in the app — the standard safeguard set for this kind of product is two-factor authentication in the app, instant freeze, spending limits and tokenised mobile wallets.
The app is on the Apple App Store; ratings were not retrieved, so I have no basis to comment on how it feels to use or how well support answers through it. Support runs by email at [email protected] with a help centre at support.kauri.finance.
Blocked merchant categories are not stated. That gap has teeth: the merchant category code MCC 7995 covers gambling — casinos, betting, lotteries — and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law, with the list differing by issuer. If gambling is not something you intend to do, this costs you nothing. If some of your spending is of a kind that is commonly blocked, you should ask.
Some everyday things that will not go smoothly, and are not Kauri’s fault but will land on you. Address Verification Service is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs, because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and the issuer country. This is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. A declined authorisation may leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to 7. If a payment is challenged online you may be asked for a 3-D Secure step — Visa’s brand is Visa Secure, Mastercard’s is Identity Check — and, under 3-D Secure, liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift from the merchant to your bank, or, per its critics, to you.
Two money items that are not everyday but will matter eventually. A chargeback — a refund ordered by the issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received — costs 30 EUR. The chargeback policy is published as a PDF at the card’s docs path; I have not read it, and at 30 EUR a dispute is worth thinking through before you start one. The agreement sets Estonian law and the Estonian County Court as the forum, which is worth knowing if you live far from Tallinn. Cashback is not mentioned anywhere on the card. What is mentioned is a referral: it pays the referrer 15% of commissions.
What can go wrong
Start with the parts you can verify from official sources, because they matter. KAURIFINANCE OÜ holds a VASP licence in Estonia. In the EU, that sits inside the MiCA frame: Regulation (EU) 2023/1114, which ESMA states took legal effect in June 2023, with rules on asset-referenced and e-money tokens applying from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. The transitional period lets providers operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until a MiCA authorisation is granted or refused, whichever comes first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised CASPs, white papers and non-compliant entities, and you can check a provider there. A CASP authorised in one member state can serve the EU-wide.
A card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side — MiCA covers custody, exchange and transfer, while the card falls under e-money and payment-services law. So a crypto card like this one often depends on two licences, which is exactly what the Kauri structure shows: the crypto licence in Estonia, the card programme in Poland, the IBAN in Canada.
Now the other side. Officially, no incidents were found. That is a statement about what could be sourced, not a guarantee. Unofficial and not confirmed by the card, from Trustpilot at 2.8 out of 5 from 16 reviews, 6 of them in the last 12 months, read 2026-10-21: frozen or locked accounts after deposits in 2025, unreturned funds in 2025, unresponsive support from December 2024 through 2025, slow verification, accusations of scams, and high IBAN fees in July 2026. A closure notice in July 2026 also appears in the user reports.
That last point is not abstract for this category. Programme closures have a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. The one 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed, and I include it only to show the shape of what a closure does to your money. There is precedent on the card-network side too: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme.
So, in the order I would worry about it. First: counterparty risk on the custodial balance. Holding crypto with a custodian carries hack and failure risk, and this category has a record — Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen 2011-2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. Second: the possibility of an account freeze after a deposit, which is what users report. EU rules explain why it happens: if due diligence cannot be completed, the institution must refrain from the transaction or the relationship and, where necessary, end it. Third: closure and getting the balance out, which is where the discretion clause sits. Fourth: reversibility. Crypto transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no recovery path because the network cannot freeze or return funds.
Fifth, and quieter: tax. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction — meaning each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. I am not giving you tax advice here, only flagging that the mechanics are not hidden and that your own jurisdiction may treat this differently. In the US, FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while mere users buying goods are not.
What to take instead
None of these is a clean substitute; they are different shapes of the same problem. Whop Cards scores 5.2 out of 10 against Kauri’s 5.3, so on the score alone they are close. Whop’s geography is very different: consumers in 31 US states, businesses in 41, with a named list of unsupported consumer countries including Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, and unsupported corporate countries including Russia and Belarus. The basis — citizenship or residence — is not stated. It is a Visa, so it works anywhere Visa is accepted, with no issuance or monthly amounts listed under a “No extra fees” claim, and it spends from a Whop balance backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet. It pays 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, with payout currency and conditions not stated.
Stella scores 6.5 out of 10, the highest of the four. Its official site does not state countries; its terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates. Virtual and physical, Visa, described as working at over 40 million merchants globally. Fees are “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App” and are not stated officially — which is exactly the kind of line that should make you open the agreement before depositing. You deposit crypto into the account, which automatically tops up the card. No cashback is stated on the card page; its Earn product is a separate yield.
UniFi Card scores 4.7 out of 10. Its availability is not confirmed from official pages: the App Store lists send-money routes to the Philippines (PHP), Mexico (MXN), the eurozone (EUR), with recent release notes mentioning Colombia, Brazil (PIX) and the UK (GBP). It is a prepaid debit Visa Card issued by Lead Bank, card currency USD, with Apple Pay in the app. Fees are not stated — “Fees may apply. See UniFi website for more details.” You fund by ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE), or get paid to a USDC wallet. The listing claims 3% rewards on balances; card cashback is not stated.
| Kauri | Whop Cards | Stella | UniFi Card | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.3 / 10 | 5.2 / 10 | 6.5 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 |
| Geography as stated | Virtual in many countries; physical and IBAN EEA/EU only | 31 US consumer states, 41 business states; unsupported-country list | Not stated; US and EU routed through affiliates | Not confirmed; routes to PH, MX, eurozone, notes mention CO, BR, UK |
| Card | Virtual and physical, EUR; network not stated | Visa | Virtual and physical Visa | Prepaid debit Visa, USD |
| Cost as stated | Issuance 20 EUR, 1 EUR/month per card, delivery 30 EUR | “No extra fees”, no amounts listed | Not stated | Not stated |
| Funding | Crypto to custodial wallet, 1% top-up | Whop balance, stablecoin-collateral backed | Crypto deposit auto-tops up card | ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI, USDC wallet |
| Rewards | Cashback not mentioned; referral pays 15% of commissions | 5% cashback at select merchants | Not stated on card page | 3% on balances claimed; card cashback not stated |
The pattern across all four: nobody publishes a plain number for everything. Someone says “no extra fees” without amounts, someone says “see the app”, someone says “see the website”. Kauri at least states its own figures, which is why the score breakdown above is possible at all.
Who I would recommend it to
If you live in the euro area, already hold crypto, and have spent time being declined for an ordinary bank card, this is a reasonable thing to try — with eyes open. You get a euro card, an IBAN, Apple Pay, ATM access and a clearly published fee list. That combination is not common, and the 1 EUR monthly fee is small next to the value of having a working card at all.
I would not recommend it if your priority is getting money out. If you are choosing this card because you cannot open a bank account, then the clause about closure — funds returned in fiat or crypto at the company’s discretion, dormant fees after 6 months — is not a footnote. It is the reason you might need this card.
I would not recommend it if you are outside the EEA/EU and the IBAN is the point, or if you need a card this week, or if the coin you hold is not confirmed as supported. Before you send anything, check the coins and networks, because that information is not on the public page and an irreversible transfer is the expensive mistake.
And I would check the register yourself. ESMA’s interim register of authorised CASPs is public, and it takes a minute to see whether a provider is listed. You can also ask [email protected] the two questions the page will not answer: which documents KYC requires, and which coins and networks are accepted.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Kauri card?
Kauri is a crypto payment card, not a bank account. You send crypto to a custodial wallet it provides, and the balance is converted to euros when you pay. The card comes as a main virtual card, additional virtual cards and a physical card, all denominated in euros, with an IBAN. Its licence holder is KAURIFINANCE OÜ in Tallinn; the card programme is issued by Quicko sp. z o.o. in Poland and the IBAN comes from Breinrock LTD in Canada.
How does the Kauri card work in practice?
You load crypto, the provider converts what you spend into euros, and the card pays merchants as any other card would, including at ATMs and in Apple Pay. There is a 1% top-up fee and a 1% auto-conversion fee on deposits, exchange and payments, so paying straight from a crypto balance costs you the conversion each time. If your balance is already in euros, no conversion happens and no conversion fee is charged.
Is Kauri a bank, and who owns it?
No, it is not a bank. KAURIFINANCE OÜ is registered in Tallinn, Estonia, number 14559136, and holds virtual asset service provider licence FVT000328, issued 17.11.2020 and upgraded in 2023. The physical card is issued by Quicko sp. z o.o. in Poland, a national payment institution under UKNF IP52/2021, and the IBAN is provided by Breinrock LTD in Canada. Three companies, one product.
Who can get the Kauri card, and is it available in my country?
There is no country list on the card page, which is the honest answer. The stated position is that virtual cards are available in many countries while the physical card and the IBAN are limited to the EEA/EU. The agreement also says it does not supersede your country’s law. So check your own position first, and ask support before applying if the IBAN matters to you.
Does the Kauri card require KYC, and can I be refused?
Yes, KYC is required under the agreement’s AML policy, and no account is opened for anyone under the legal age of majority in their country. The card page does not list which documents are accepted, so there is no official checklist — [email protected] handles KYC questions. Separately and unconfirmed by the card, Trustpilot reviewers report ID rejections. Ask before you upload anything.
How much does the Kauri card cost to keep?
Issuance is 20 EUR for a virtual main card, an additional virtual card or the physical card, and monthly maintenance is 1 EUR per card. A physical card delivered to your door adds 30 EUR. On top of that come a 1% top-up fee, 1% auto-conversion, ATM cash at 1.5% plus 1.5 EUR, PIN change 0.5 EUR, balance inquiry 0.5 EUR and a 30 EUR chargeback fee.
Is the Kauri card safe, and is my crypto insured?
It is custodial, which means the provider holds the credentials and you must trust it completely. The card states that user funds are held in a segregated safeguarding account and that the company is PCI DSS certified, with the card blocked after three wrong PIN entries. Segregated safeguarding is not a bank deposit guarantee, and crypto transfers are irreversible. No official incidents were found, which is not the same as a guarantee.
What have users reported about Kauri?
On Trustpilot the score is 2.8 out of 5 from 16 reviews, 6 in the last 12 months, as read on 2026-10-21. These are user reports, not confirmed by the card: accounts frozen or locked after deposits in 2025, unreturned funds in 2025, unresponsive support from December 2024 through 2025, slow verification, scam accusations and high IBAN fees in July 2026. A closure notice in July 2026 also appears there.
Can I use the Kauri card in Apple Wallet, and where does it work?
Apple Pay is supported and a Google Wallet design is mentioned, so mobile payment is covered. Wherever it is accepted depends on the network, which the card page does not state. Two practical limits: address verification is generally unavailable on foreign-issued cards and can cause declines, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs because the issuer country shows up in the lookup.
What happens to my money if I close my Kauri account?
On closure, funds tied to AML matters are sent to a licensed EU/EEA credit institution; otherwise they are returned in fiat or crypto at the company’s discretion. Dormant accounts are charged a fee after 6 months. This clause matters most if you turned to Kauri because ordinary banking was closed to you — it is the single line I would read twice before depositing.
How app and neobank cards work – cryptocardsexplained.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team
