Kardpay card, tested against its own fee sheet
Kardpay is a crypto-funded Visa/Mastercard that promises spending from a stablecoin balance in 180+ countries, with Apple Pay and Google Pay on every plan. The headline looks generous; the fine print less so. Top-up fees of 3–5% on the four tiers mean a chunk of every deposit evaporates before you spend a cent, and the conversion fee is never published. On the plus side, the virtual card is issued instantly, the platform accepts USDT and USDC on Tron and Ethereum, and there is a clear, published limit structure if you are willing to stake $KDY.

This review walks through who qualifies, what it costs, how the everyday experience holds up, and where the weak points sit, so you can decide whether Kardpay is the right card for your situation or whether a cheaper alternative fits better.
Conditions on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Kardpay scores 6.8 out of 10. It is a competent card for someone whose main aim is moving USDT or USDC from a Tron or Ethereum wallet onto a Visa or Mastercard without touching a bank. If that is you, the broad country coverage, mobile-wallet support and instant virtual card are real advantages. If instead you care about low fees, transparent conversion costs, or strong consumer protections, the picture is murkier: top-up fees are steep, conversion rates are undisclosed, the legal entity behind the card is a UAE free-zone company with no published registration number, and the issuer is referred to only as a “network-licensed issuer.”
Score breakdown
| Criterion | Mark | Why it scored where it did |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | “180+ countries,” with only sanctioned or embargoed territories excluded in the DIFC framework. |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | Monthly subscriptions $2.42–$24.92, top-up fees 3–5%, $28 virtual card issuance, conversion fee undisclosed. |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | USDT and USDC on TRC-20 and ERC-20, credited in under 10 minutes. No other coins. |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Operating company is a UAE free-zone LLC with no published registration; the issuer is unnamed; smart contract is CTDSEC-audited; no user complaints found. |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual card issued instantly, physical card on the Elite tier, Apple Pay and Google Pay on every plan, $1,500/day ATM on Physical Elite. |
The card suits people who already hold USDT or USDC on Tron, want to spend them at any Visa or Mastercard merchant, and value mobile-wallet support over a low all-in cost. It does not suit people who want transparent per-transaction pricing, anyone who needs to fund with BTC or altcoins, and readers who are uncomfortable with a provider whose issuer and corporate registration are not on the public record.
Will they give you the card
Kardpay advertises availability in “180+ countries” with no exclusions list on the site; the only territories the operator excludes are those under sanctions or embargoes recognised inside the Dubai International Financial Centre. That is a wide net. It is also a vague one: there is no public country list, no residency requirement, and no note on whether the card is delivered to your address or held in app form only. If you are a reader in a country not on any obvious restricted list, the default expectation is that you can apply, but the only way to confirm is to start the sign-up and see which country options the form offers.
Age and minimum documentation are not stated on the public pages. The terms refer only to “standard cardholder verification” when you add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and to anti-money-laundering records being kept for five years. In practice that means a regulated KYC process will run at some point (likely at first top-up or first spend), but Kardpay does not publish the documents it asks for or the time the check takes. The card’s currency is also not stated, which matters if you care whether the card settles in USD, EUR, or your local fiat.
What this means for you: if you are in a sanctioned jurisdiction or your country of citizenship is on a sanctions list the issuer cross-checks against, expect to be turned down silently at the KYC step rather than at the form. If you are elsewhere, the realistic path is to register, see what the form accepts, and treat the lack of a published exclusion list as a soft rather than a hard guarantee.
How to get it
Sign-up is not described step by step on the site. What the public materials say is that a virtual card is generated instantly once the account is created, so the bottleneck is verification, not card production. The card range is:
- Core (green) and Pro (white) — both available as virtual Visa/Mastercard
- Elite (black) — virtual Visa/Mastercard
- Physical Elite (black Mastercard) — the only physical card option
The features section of the site says physical cards have a five-year validity, while the rest of the documentation gives a one-year validity. That is a discrepancy worth flagging if longevity matters to you; the shorter period is the more conservative read and the one to plan around.
Delivery times and shipping fees for the physical card are not stated. Likewise, the exact KYC ladder is not stated, so you do not know in advance whether the first hurdle is an email confirmation, an ID upload, or a proof-of-address step.
A practical question is what happens at the Apple Pay or Google Pay step. The terms mention that “standard cardholder verification” applies when you tokenise the card into a wallet, which in practice often means an SMS code, an in-app approval, or a one-time-password from the issuer. If you cannot pass that step on the device you are using, you can still spend with the card number online, but contactless in-store spending on the phone will not work.
What it really costs: Kardpay fees
Kardpay prices itself on annual subscriptions billed monthly, plus a top-up fee that varies by tier and a one-time virtual card issuance fee. Several everyday cost items are not published at all, which is part of why the cost score sits at 3/10.

Kardpay fees at a glance
| Fee or limit | Core | Pro | Elite | Physical Elite |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly subscription | $2.42 | $8.25 | $16.58 | $24.92 |
| Top-up fee | 5% | 4% | 3% | 4% |
| Virtual card issuance | $28 (one-time) | $28 | $28 | $28 |
| ATM withdrawal / day | — | — | — | $1,500 |
| Spending cap (year / month) | $10,000 / year | $50,000 / year | $500,000 / month | $150,000 / month |
| Conversion / FX fee | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
| Authorization attempt | $0.50 (terms Art. 8) | $0.50 | $0.50 | $0.50 |
A few things stand out. The Core plan’s 5% top-up fee is heavy: depositing $1,000 leaves $950 to spend. The terms of service mention 5%, 4% or 3% in the body and 4% in Appendix 1 for the same top-up line, which is a minor inconsistency. The conversion fee and FX margin — the two numbers that decide what your coffee actually costs — are not disclosed, so the only way to find out is to make a payment and look at the receipt.
The $0.50 authorization fee is interesting because the legal text quotes two different figures in two places: $0.50 in the main terms and $0.25 in Appendix 1. If you transact often, that gap matters. Authorization holds are also a real cost: when a merchant (a hotel, a car rental, a fuel pump) places a temporary hold on your card, you can be charged that fee even if the final transaction settles for a different amount.
The physical card on the Elite tier is the only one with an ATM allowance, and that allowance is $1,500 per day. The fee for ATM withdrawal is not stated, so the operator can in principle charge whatever the underlying issuer’s ATM fee schedule is.
Three everyday payments, walked through
To make this concrete, here is what three common payments look like in dollar terms, using only the published numbers and assuming a 0% spread on conversion (which is unlikely, but used here to keep the math honest about what is and isn’t stated):
- $50 grocery run on Core. Top-up of $53 to cover a 5% fee, then $50 spent. Authorization fee: $0.50. If the merchant places a hold and releases it later, you may see that fee again on a second authorization. Net cost visible: ~$3 plus any conversion spread.
- $200 online subscription on Pro. Top-up of $208 to cover the 4% fee, then $200 spent. Authorization fee: $0.50. Net cost visible: $8.50 before any FX margin.
- $300 ATM withdrawal on Physical Elite. Top-up of $312 to cover the 4% fee, then $300 withdrawn. Authorization fee: $0.50. ATM fee: not stated. Daily cap: $1,500. Net cost visible: $12.50 plus whatever the ATM operator adds on top.
What this means for you: if you spend a few hundred dollars a month on a Core plan, the all-in cost is dominated by the top-up fee, not the subscription. Moving up a tier saves 1–2 percentage points on each top-up, which compounds quickly. Anyone on Core should expect to pay roughly 5% of every deposit in fees before the card is ever swiped.
How to top up Kardpay
Kardpay is a stablecoin-on-two-networks product, and that is both its clarity and its constraint. The only assets the platform accepts are USDT and USDC, and the only networks are TRC-20 (Tron) and ERC-20 (Ethereum). There is no BTC, no ETH sent as a native coin, no Solana or Polygon, and no on-ramp from a bank card or bank transfer. If your crypto lives outside USDT or USDC, you will need to swap into one of them elsewhere and pay that swap fee before you even reach Kardpay.

The operator says deposits credit in under 10 minutes, which is fast for an ERC-20 transfer and typical for TRC-20. The minimum top-up amount is not stated, and the network fee (gas on Ethereum, bandwidth/energy on Tron) is paid by you, not by Kardpay. That matters on Ethereum: sending USDT on ERC-20 needs a wallet that also holds a small amount of ETH to pay gas, and at busy times that ETH fee can climb.
What this means for you: pick TRC-20 if you want the cheapest deposit. Tether’s USDT is widely available on Tron, and Tron fees are typically a fraction of a cent. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so if you specifically want USDC you are functionally on ERC-20 for that asset, which means paying Ethereum gas.
A second practical point: stablecoin transfers are irreversible. If you send USDT on a network Kardpay does not support, or to an address of another network, the funds can be lost or stuck in manual support recovery with no guarantee of return. Always send a small test amount first if you are new to the flow.
For those who stake $KDY for 180 days, top-up fees drop further: Tier 1 ($3,000 staked) gives 1% cashback, Tier 2 ($6,000) gives 1.5%, and Tier 3 ($18,000) gives 2%. Note that the cashback is a reward, not a top-up fee reduction, so the headline 3–5% fee still applies on the way in.
The closure flow is not friendly. If you cancel the card, the operator may defer your net balance and deduct fees first, and there is no interest paid on the balance while it sits. Plan an exit: drain the card to a stablecoin withdrawal if and when the platform supports it, and don’t leave meaningful funds parked.
Paying with it every day
In-store and online spending is the part Kardpay executes well. The virtual card is available the moment the account is set up, which means you can paste the card number into a checkout form straight away. Apple Pay and Google Pay work on every plan, including Core, so the phone-wallet experience is not locked behind the more expensive tiers. For someone who wants to tap-to-pay with crypto funding, that is a meaningful convenience.
Blocked merchant categories are not stated, so it is not clear whether the card will work at gambling sites, cryptocurrency exchanges, or other categories issuers often restrict. If you rely on a specific category of merchant, the safest move is to assume the card may be declined and have a backup.
Cashback is the published reward. You stake $KDY for 180 days and unlock one of three tiers. The cashback is small (1–2%) and the lock-up is long, so for most casual spenders the staking tiers are not the main reason to pick this card. They matter more for people who already hold $KDY and would be staking anyway.
The web app lives at app.kardpay.app. There is no App Store or Google Play listing surfaced on the site, so on mobile the experience is browser-based. That is fine for occasional use but less convenient than a native app for things like biometric login or push notifications.
If a payment goes wrong, the dispute rules are tight. Claims are barred unless you bring them within one month of the initial complaint. The chargeback fee is a flat $30 and fees are non-refundable, and Kardpay’s liability is capped at three months’ fees. In plain English: if the merchant keeps your money and your claim is late or unsuccessful, you are out at least $30 plus the original cost, and Kardpay’s exposure is small.
What can go wrong
The risks with Kardpay fall into three buckets: who is behind the card, what the contracts say, and what could happen if the company has a bad month.
The corporate footprint is thin. Kardpay’s operator is KRDPAY FZE LLC, registered in Ajman, UAE, at Amber Gem Tower. The company is a free-zone limited liability company with no published registration number on the site. The card’s issuer is named only as a “network-licensed issuer,” meaning the licensed entity that actually holds the Visa or Mastercard programme is not identified in the customer-facing materials. For a card that handles your money, that is a thin paper trail. You can find out who the issuer is by reading the issuer terms in the app, but you cannot find out from the marketing site.
The legal framework is DIFC. The terms specify DIFC law and DIFC Courts, which is a common choice for UAE-based fintechs because the Dubai International Financial Centre has its own common-law court system. That is fine for many users, but it means dispute resolution runs through a specific court system, not your local consumer court. If you are in the EU, the US, or Latin America, the practical effect is that enforcement is harder and slower.
The contract allows the operator to freeze funds. The published terms reserve the right to freeze balances. There is no public description of how funds are custodied — whether they sit in segregated client accounts, are held in a hot wallet, or are pooled with operating funds. The smart contract behind the staking or reward mechanism has been audited by CTDSEC, which is a useful signal, but a smart-contract audit is not the same as a custodial audit of customer balances.
There are no published incidents. A search on 2026-10-21 did not surface a Trustpilot page for Kardpay, and no user complaints or official incident reports were found. That is encouraging in the short term, but it also means there is no track record of how the company behaves under stress (a banking crisis in a major stablecoin market, a regulatory action, a key-person event). Newer programmes are by definition unproven.
Authorization holds can cost you. The $0.50 authorization fee (or $0.25, depending on which part of the terms you read) is charged on each attempt. Hotels, car rentals, and fuel pumps routinely place holds that exceed the final amount; if the merchant reauthorises later, you can pay that fee twice on the same purchase.
Closure is asymmetric. If you decide to leave, the net balance can be deferred and fees deducted first. There is no interest paid on the balance, so funds parked while you wait earn nothing.
What this means for you: keep only the float you need to spend in the next few weeks on the card, and treat any larger crypto holdings as living in your own wallet until the moment of top-up. Do not rely on the card balance as a savings account.
What to take instead
Three alternatives are worth weighing. None of them is a like-for-like replacement, but each addresses a specific gap in Kardpay’s offer.
Kardpay vs Cardex
Cardex advertises “200+ countries” and a single crypto card that runs on Verve, Visa, Mastercard, and UnionPay. The pitch is its “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” — a real-time scan of global exchanges to pick the best rate at the moment of payment. No fee percentage is published. Cardex is fundable with USDT, USDC, and BTC, which gives it an edge if you hold Bitcoin rather than only stablecoins. Its app store listing is Naira-focused, which is a signal that the primary market is Nigeria, and the card currency is Naira per the listing. Score: 5.6/10.
The trade-off vs Kardpay: Cardex gives you BTC funding and a published (if vague) conversion mechanism; Kardpay gives you a clearer corporate structure, lower geographic ambiguity for non-African users, and tighter mobile-wallet support.
Kardpay vs TakeCard
TakeCard is a virtual and physical card from the Takenos wallet. The physical card is currently available only to Bolivian users; the virtual card is the main product for everyone else. Cost: USD 5 for the virtual card, USD 20 issuance plus USD 20 shipping for the physical (one help-centre article says USD 10 for physical in Bolivia — the docs disagree). The purchase commission is 1%, USD payments settle 1:1 with no currency adjustment, and other currencies use the official Visa rate of the transaction day. Card currency is USD; the card is issued in the United States and runs on Visa. Score: 5.5/10.
The trade-off vs Kardpay: TakeCard is meaningfully cheaper on the per-purchase commission (1% vs Kardpay’s 3–5% top-up fee), and you can see the conversion rate up front because it is published by Visa. You give up geographic reach, the physical card, and mobile-wallet support is not in the same league.
Kardpay vs OkiCard
OkiCard is positioned as a no-geoblocking card available in “150+ countries” (some pages say 200+), with the explicit caveat that you must confirm you are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction. The pricing page shows $0 issuance, $0 monthly fee, and a $15 starting virtual card price, while the FAQ mentions a one-time issuance fee — the pages disagree. The transaction fee is 0% in USD, the load fee is 3%, and the site claims “no hidden exchange spreads.” Funding is USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron, and Solana, with USDC “soon” and BTC “coming soon.” The initial deposit is 100 USDT. Score: 6.0/10.
The trade-off vs Kardpay: OkiCard is cheaper on the load fee (3% flat vs 3–5% on Kardpay) and supports more networks, including Solana and BEP-20. It also advertises a 0% transaction fee in USD. You give up the stake-and-cashback structure and accept a smaller feature set in v1 of the card. The published prices also disagree, which is its own warning sign.
Which one to pick
- If you want the cheapest per-purchase cost and you live in Bolivia or one of the listed virtual-card countries, TakeCard at 1% commission is hard to beat.
- If you want a 3% flat load fee and broader network support, OkiCard is worth a look, especially if you hold USDT on Solana or BSC.
- If you want BTC funding and a single card that works on multiple networks including Verve and UnionPay, Cardex is the option, with the caveat that the primary market appears to be Nigeria.
- If you want the broadest mobile-wallet support, the clearest instant-virtual-card flow, and a four-tier upgrade path, Kardpay is the card of the four, at the price of a heavier top-up fee.
Who I would recommend it to
Kardpay is a good card for a specific reader: someone who already holds USDT or USDC on Tron or Ethereum, who wants to convert that balance into Visa or Mastercard spending without setting up a bank account, and who values Apple Pay and Google Pay over the lowest possible fee. For that reader, the instant virtual card, the broad country coverage, and the mobile-wallet support on every plan are real benefits. The four-tier structure also gives a clear upgrade path if spending volume grows.
It is a bad card for a different reader: someone who holds BTC or altcoins (because the funding options are limited to two stablecoins), someone who needs transparent per-transaction pricing (because the conversion fee is not published), or someone who is uncomfortable with a UAE free-zone operator with no published registration number and an unnamed network-licensed issuer. The cost score of 3/10 reflects that the headline value is in the convenience, not in the all-in economics.
My honest read is that Kardpay is a workable tool, not a best-in-class product. The top-up fees will quietly eat a meaningful slice of every deposit, and the corporate-paper-trail is thinner than the marketing implies. If your main reason to want a crypto card is to spend stablecoins at merchants that don’t take crypto directly, Kardpay does that job. If your main reason is to save on fees, look at TakeCard for the purchase commission or OkiCard for the load fee before you commit.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Kardpay card?
Kardpay is a Visa and Mastercard debit card funded by USDT or USDC stablecoins on the Tron (TRC-20) or Ethereum (ERC-20) networks. The card comes in four tiers — Core, Pro, Elite, and Physical Elite — and is positioned for users in 180+ countries who want to spend a crypto balance at any merchant that takes Visa or Mastercard.
How does the Kardpay card work?
You create an account, complete the platform’s verification, and receive a virtual card instantly. You send USDT or USDC from your own wallet to a Kardpay deposit address on either TRC-20 or ERC-20, the deposit is credited in under 10 minutes, and the card spends from that balance. At the point of sale the balance is converted to the merchant’s currency at a rate Kardpay does not publish.
Is Kardpay a bank?
No. Kardpay is operated by KRDPAY FZE LLC, a free-zone limited liability company in Ajman, UAE. The actual card is issued by an unnamed “network-licensed issuer” — meaning a bank or e-money institution licensed by Visa or Mastercard to run the card programme. Kardpay itself is not a bank and your balance is not a bank deposit.
Who owns Kardpay?
The site’s public materials identify the operating company as KRDPAY FZE LLC in Ajman, UAE, but do not publish individual owners, a registration number, or a parent company. The card’s issuer is not named in the customer-facing documentation.
Is the Kardpay card available in my country?
Kardpay says it serves 180+ countries, with only sanctioned or embargoed territories excluded under DIFC rules. There is no published country list, so the only way to confirm is to start the sign-up and see if your country appears in the form.
How do I apply for a Kardpay card?
The sign-up flow is not described step by step on the public site. What is published is that the virtual card is generated instantly after account creation, so the bottleneck is verification rather than card production. Expect a KYC step at some point in the flow.
Does the Kardpay card require KYC?
Yes. The terms mention “standard cardholder verification” for adding the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and anti-money-laundering records are kept for five years. Kardpay does not publish the documents it asks for or the time the check takes.
How do I top up my Kardpay card?
Send USDT or USDC from your own wallet to the deposit address Kardpay provides, on either TRC-20 (Tron) or ERC-20 (Ethereum). Deposits credit in under 10 minutes. A top-up fee of 3–5% applies depending on your tier, and you pay the blockchain’s network fee on top of that.
Can I add the Kardpay card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Yes. Both wallets are supported on every tier, including the cheapest Core plan. The terms note that “standard cardholder verification” applies at the tokenisation step, which usually means an SMS code, an in-app approval, or a one-time password from the issuer.
Is the Kardpay card safe?
There is no public track record of incidents, and the smart contract is audited by CTDSEC. Against that, the operating company has no published registration number, the issuer is unnamed, the terms allow the operator to freeze funds, custody is not described, and the closure flow can defer your balance. Treat the card as a spending tool, not a custody solution, and keep only the float you intend to use in the short term.
How virtual cards work – cryptocardsexplained.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team
