PokePay card: the Hong Kong–first Visa that promises zero monthly fees, and the trade-offs that come with that
PokePay is a Visa debit card you load with crypto and then spend wherever Visa works. On paper, the pitch is unusually clean: no monthly or annual fee, zero cross-border markup, and a daily limit of 100,000 HKD. In practice, the card’s own site says it is built for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong, and the issuing bank is not named anywhere on the public pages. That gap between the marketing and the small print is the single most important thing to understand before you sign up.

This review looks at PokePay as it stands on the public record: the terms, the home page, the FAQ, the licence claims in the footer, and the app store listing. I have also noted what user-reported sources and a third-party review site say, and I have flagged those as unofficial so you can weigh them yourself. The numbers in the costs table come from PokePay itself. Where the card’s own pages do not say, I have written “not stated” rather than guess.
The conditions in this article are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
PokePay scores 5.4 out of 10 for a general reader, and the breakdown shows where the strengths and the gaps sit.
| Criterion | Score | Why it lands there |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | The card’s own site is only for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong; the US is widely reported as restricted. |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Zero monthly and annual fees, zero cross-border transaction fee, but the issuance fee and FX margin are not stated officially. |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH supported; networks vary by user reports. |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Issuing bank is not named; licences are self-declared; user-reported account-freeze wave in the second half of 2025. |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Physical and virtual Visa, cash withdrawal mentioned, but Apple Pay is reported as not supported. |
Total: 5.4 / 10
The card suits a Hong Kong resident who already holds USDT and wants to spend it through a Visa without paying a monthly fee, and who is comfortable that the issuing bank is not named and that limits are framed in HKD. It is a poor fit for someone in the United States, someone who relies on Apple Pay, someone who needs an ATM-heavy setup, and anyone who needs full disclosure of FX, issuance, and ATM fees before they commit.
Who they will give you the card
The single most important sentence on the PokePay site is the one most readers will skip: “The content of our website is only for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong.” The site adds that promotion outside Hong Kong may require local permits. So even if you are willing to upload a passport and a proof of address, the audience the site is written for is narrow.
In user-reported accounts, the United States is explicitly restricted. One third-party source also lists China as blocked on a German-language version of the same site. That same source uses the phrase “available in most countries” elsewhere, so the picture outside the US is mixed in commentary rather than in the card’s own terms. Treat the US block as confirmed and the rest as unofficial.
PokePay is not a bank. The card is issued by an unnamed bank, the customer funds are held by a separate entity, and the licences the company lists for itself are in Hong Kong, the United States (FinCEN MSB registration claimed), Canada (FINTRAC), Ontario, and Poland (VASP). A self-declared registration is not the same as a regulator endorsing the product; FINTRAC itself says registration is not an endorsement. The contrast with a regulated bank or e-money institution in Europe is worth keeping in mind when you read the licence list.
What this means for you: if you live in Hong Kong, the card is built for you. If you live anywhere else, you are depending on a sign-up flow that was written for someone else, and the small print around promotion-permit rules is a sign that PokePay knows its home turf is Hong Kong.
How to get it
The sign-up flow on PokePay’s pages talks about identity verification, not a step-by-step form. You complete KYC (know-your-customer checks) before you can use the services, you verify your email, and whatever you type into the form “must be exactly the same as the uploaded documents.” The site also recommends Google Chrome with a camera enabled, because the verification step uses your camera and any mismatch can fail. The site asks for an English name on the passport, usually.
PokePay also mentions enhanced due diligence: in some cases the team will ask for source of funds or source of wealth. The site does not list the verification levels, processing times, or the documents it accepts for proof of address and age. In a third-party write-up, KYC is described as free and “under 1 minute” via a third-party identity provider (Didit), with an age window of 18 to 80 and a requirement that your balance is above 0 USD before you start. That is unofficial, and the card’s own pages do not confirm it.
You can choose between a virtual and a physical Visa, and the card currency is not stated on the public pages. For a physical card, the site says delivery takes about 10 to 30 working days depending on country or region, and that it may be longer. The countries PokePay ships to, the delivery fee, and the replacement fee are not stated.
A practical note before you go through KYC: have your passport to hand, make sure the name fields match exactly, use Chrome, and keep the camera enabled. If you have any unusual source-of-funds situation, expect a second round of questions and have payslips or a sale contract ready.
Fees and what it really costs
PokePay’s pricing pitch is simple, and the table below shows what is stated officially and what is not.

| Fee or limit | Stated value |
|---|---|
| Monthly fee | 0 |
| Annual fee | 0 (official FAQ: “no annual fee in the 0th year”; wording is unclear) |
| Card issuance fee | Not stated officially; user reports of around 5 USD for a virtual card |
| Cross-border transaction fee | 0% |
| Crypto conversion fee / spread | Not stated |
| FX fee | Not stated officially |
| ATM withdrawal fee | Not stated officially; cash withdrawal is supported |
| ATM allowance | Not stated |
| Daily spending limit | 100,000 HKD |
| Minimum single transaction | 0.1 HKD |
| Monthly limit | Not stated |
| Card currency | Not stated |
The two clear wins are the monthly and annual fees, which the site says are zero, and the cross-border transaction fee, which the site says is 0%. The cross-border line matters if you travel or buy from overseas merchants, because most bank cards charge 1% to 3% on those transactions and PokePay’s published fee is none.
The gaps are larger than the wins. The issuance fee is not on the public site, and a third-party review says a 5 USD virtual-card opening fee was charged in June 2026 despite a “limited-time free” banner on the app. The crypto conversion fee and the FX margin are not stated officially. The ATM fee and allowance are not stated, although the card’s own pages do mention cash withdrawal via card binding. The monthly limit is not stated, and the card currency is not stated either, which makes the daily limit of 100,000 HKD look like an HKD-denominated cap applied to the local balance.
Three everyday payments to think through:
- A coffee in Hong Kong paid in HKD. The fee is whatever Visa charges at the point of sale plus any conversion to HKD from the balance you hold. If the balance is already in HKD, there is no FX step.
- An online subscription in US dollars. The 0% cross-border fee applies, and the spread between USDT and USD at the moment of conversion is the only stated-on-nothing cost you carry.
- A cash withdrawal at an ATM. The site confirms you can do it, but the fee and any daily allowance are not stated. A third-party source calls heavy ATM use a poor fit for this card.
The honest reading is that the headline numbers are real, the underlying cost of a payment is opaque, and a reader who needs to know what a payment will cost before they make it does not have the information to do that from the card’s own pages.
Top up: how to fund the card
PokePay says you recharge with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH. The site does not list which networks each token runs on. A third-party source from June 2026 lists five USDT deposit networks: ERC20 (Ethereum), Arbitrum, BNB Chain, Polygon and AVAX C-Chain, and says an ERC20 deposit carries a +5 USDT surcharge, with no surcharge on the other four. Treat that as unofficial and double-check inside the app at the moment you deposit.

Credits usually land in about 15 minutes; PokePay says to contact support if nothing has arrived after 30 minutes. The site does not list a top-up fee or a top-up minimum in the public terms, although the underlying blockchain still charges its own network fee, and that is paid to the network, not to PokePay.
Outside crypto, PokePay also names WeChat, PayPal, Alipay and Wise for fiat, and SWIFT, SEPA and local clearing for overseas accounts. Fees are described as “disclosed before a transaction or published on the Website or a Fees Schedule,” but the Terms do not give amounts. If you plan to use a fiat rail, expect to see the fee inside the app right before you confirm.
A note on chains and addresses: stablecoin transfers are irreversible, and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a current native option. If you send a deposit on a network PokePay does not support, or to an address of another network, recovery is manual and not guaranteed. The single highest-leverage thing you can do is confirm the network and the address inside the app, on the same screen, before you send.
A note on stability: stablecoins aim to hold a peg to a fiat currency, but they can depeg, and they are not deposits. USDT and USDC together held about 90% of the stablecoin market as of mid-2025, by the BIS’s estimate.
Paying with the card every day
The card works anywhere Visa is accepted, online and in stores. The site says you can do “payments and cash withdrawals.” The rewards section is one line — “generous rewards” — and the rate, currency and conditions are not stated. A third-party source mentions a 3% cashback on the first purchase as a time-limited banner, but that is unofficial.
The app is on iOS (App Store Hong Kong), Android via Google Play, and as an APK; there is also a web login at app.pokepay.cc. The App Store Hong Kong rating was 3.9 out of 5 from 15 ratings at the time of reading. Google Play rating was not read from the store, so I have not included a number here.
If you want to add the card to a mobile wallet, a user-reported account says Apple Pay returns “this card is not supported.” Steam is also reported as not working with the card. Both are unofficial, and they are likely to vary by region and by app version, but if you specifically need to tap to pay on iPhone or pay on Steam, this card is not the right tool.
Refunds and disputes run on a familiar but slow timetable. Normal merchants: 3 to 7 working days. Airlines, hotels and travel agencies: 7 to 14. Online payment platforms: 3 to 10. Cross-border: 7 to 30. Chargebacks: 30 to 90 days. Complaints go to a designated contact (the address in the Terms is a placeholder) and the agreement is governed by Canadian law.
A few small practical habits will save you time. Save the app’s customer-service contact before you need it. Take a screenshot of every online order confirmation, because dispute windows are long. If you see a charge you do not recognise, raise it within the merchant window, not within the chargeback window.
What can go wrong
The risks come in three shapes: regulatory, operational, and product.
On the regulatory side, PokePay is not a bank and does not hold a banking licence anywhere in its own listing. The licences it claims are self-declared, and a registration with a financial-intelligence unit is not a regulator’s endorsement. The agreement is governed by Canadian law, and the issuing bank is not named in the public materials, so the chain of responsibility behind a declined card or a frozen balance is not transparent.
On the operational side, the site says PokePay “may suspend or freeze your account and balance without prior notice” in a list of circumstances that includes AML/CTF triggers. The site also says the company holds user funds “separately from operating funds” but adds that the funds “are not deposits” and are not insured by CDIC or any deposit-insurance scheme. A third-party source from June 2026 describes a wave of account suspensions in the second half of 2025; the company said at the time that funds would be returned within about 10 business days. That is unverified and worth reading as one signal rather than a verdict.
On the product side, the card locks after repeated wrong CVV or expiry entries, and after three wrong PIN entries, and is unlocked only by customer service after verification. Multi-factor authentication is recommended, not required. Customer service hours are not listed; the contact page exists, but the channels and the response time are not stated. Slow support is the most consistent complaint in third-party reports.
There is also a category-level risk to keep in mind. Custodial platforms have a record of failures, and the user has no recourse to a deposit guarantee scheme. If you keep a balance you cannot afford to lose on the card, you are taking a counterparty risk on the issuer and on PokePay.
The Trustpilot page that surfaces under the PokePay name has a 2.8/5 rating from 3 reviews; that may be a different entity, and the sample is too small to read as a verdict. It is a signal, not a score.
What to take instead
PokePay is not the only Visa on a crypto balance, and three alternatives are worth a look.
Whop Cards scores 5.2 out of 10. It is available to consumers in 31 US states (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming) and to businesses in 41 states. A long list of unsupported consumer countries includes Hong Kong, so if you are in Hong Kong this is not the alternative. The page says “no extra fees,” but no issuance or monthly amount is published; conversion and FX fees are not stated. The card spends from a Whop balance that is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, and 5% cashback is offered at select merchants including Uber.
Stella scores 6.5 out of 10. The official site does not list countries. The terms bar users under economic-sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates, so the practical access is narrower than the marketing. It offers a virtual and a physical Visa, with no cashback stated on the card page (an Earn yield product is separate). The card top-up is from a custodial in-app wallet, funded with crypto.
UniFi Card scores 4.7 out of 10. Available countries are not confirmed from official pages; the app store listing shows send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico, the eurozone, and recent release notes add Colombia, Brazil and the UK. The card is a prepaid debit Visa issued by Lead Bank, denominated in USD, and the app also supports Apple Pay. Fees are not stated on the listing, beyond “Fees may apply. See UniFi website for more details,” and the card-cashback rate is not stated; the listing claims 3% rewards on balances. Funding is by ACH, wire, SEPA or SPEI, or by being paid to a USDC wallet.
| Card | Score | Where it works | Stated fees | Top-up method | Rewards stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PokePay | 5.4 / 10 | Hong Kong residents (per site); US restricted | 0 monthly, 0 annual, 0% cross-border; issuance/FX/ATM not stated | USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH (networks not stated officially) | “Generous rewards”; rate not stated |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | 31 US states (consumers); 41 (business); not Hong Kong | “No extra fees”; no amounts | Whop balance, backed by stablecoin collateral | 5% cashback at select merchants |
| Stella | 6.5 / 10 | Countries not stated; US/EU routed via affiliates | Not stated on the site | Crypto deposit to in-app wallet | None on the card; separate yield product |
| UniFi Card | 4.7 / 10 | Not confirmed; routes to PH, MX, EZ, CO, BR, UK | Not stated on listing | ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI, USDC | 3% on balances (per listing) |
If you are outside Hong Kong, Whop is the most useful alternative if you are in one of its 31 consumer states. If you are in the EU and want a custodial card on a crypto balance, Stella is worth a closer look once you read the affiliate routing in the terms. If you need Apple Pay and US ACH, UniFi is the most usable of the three, on its own listing.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend PokePay to a Hong Kong resident who already holds USDT in a custodial or self-custody wallet, who wants a fee-free way to convert that USDT to a Visa balance and spend it locally, who is comfortable with an unnamed issuing bank and a self-declared set of licences, and who is not relying on Apple Pay or heavy ATM use. I would not recommend it to a US resident, to a user who needs a published FX margin before they commit, to anyone whose primary use is ATM withdrawals, and to anyone who needs the card to work with Apple Pay or Steam on day one.
The honest summary is that PokePay is a Hong Kong product with a Hong Kong audience, that the cost story is strong on the surface and opaque underneath, and that the regulatory footprint is real but not the same as a bank licence. If the card’s audience is you, the headline numbers will look like a good deal. If it is not, the small print is not going to change to fit you.
Frequently asked questions
What is the PokePay card?
PokePay is a Visa debit card you top up with crypto (USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH) and then spend anywhere Visa is accepted. It is operated by PokePay Technology Co., Ltd., and the issuing bank is not named on the public pages.
How does PokePay work?
You complete KYC, you deposit crypto to a wallet address PokePay shows you inside the app, the deposit is converted to a balance on the card, and the card spends that balance at Visa merchants. The site says cross-border transactions carry a 0% fee.
Is PokePay a bank?
No. PokePay is a card programme. The company lists self-declared registrations in Hong Kong, the US (FinCEN), Canada (FINTRAC), Ontario and Poland (VASP); a registration is not the same as a regulator’s endorsement, and the issuing bank is not named.
Who owns PokePay?
The copyright notice on the site names PokePay Technology Co., Ltd. No parent company or controlling shareholder is named on the public pages.
Is PokePay available in my country?
The card’s own site says the content is for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong. User reports name the United States as restricted, and one third-party source also lists China as blocked on a German-language version. Treat any claim of “most countries” as unofficial until you confirm with support.
How do I get a PokePay card?
You sign up on the website or in the app, complete KYC, choose a virtual or a physical Visa, and wait for delivery. A physical card is reported to take 10 to 30 working days depending on country or region.
Does PokePay require KYC?
Yes. Identity verification is required before the services are available, and the data you enter “must be exactly the same as the uploaded documents.” A third-party source says KYC is free and takes under a minute through a third-party provider; the card’s own pages do not confirm that timing.
How do I top up PokePay?
The site names USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH. A third-party source lists five USDT networks (ERC20, Arbitrum, BNB Chain, Polygon, AVAX C-Chain) and says ERC20 carries a +5 USDT surcharge; that is unofficial. Credits usually land in about 15 minutes.
Is PokePay free?
The site says there are 0 monthly and 0 annual fees. The issuance fee and the FX margin are not stated officially, and a third-party source reports a 5 USD virtual-card opening fee being charged in June 2026.
Can I add PokePay to Apple Wallet?
User reports say Apple Pay returns “this card is not supported.” That is unofficial, but it is a useful data point if tap-to-pay on iPhone is the use case you care about.
How app and neobank cards work – cryptocardsexplained.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team
