A West African card for naira and stablecoins, with more gaps than facts

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Payrit card is a crypto payment card built for West African users, one that lets you spend naira and stablecoins from a single card. The idea is practical and appealing: a physical and virtual card on Verve and Interswitch networks, funded by an account that holds both naira and USDC or USDT, drawn without pre-funding. That combination — African payment rails, dollar-pegged tokens, one card — is exactly what a lot of people who struggle to get an ordinary bank card are looking for.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Payrit works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

But here is the tension that runs through this whole review: the promise is clear, and the disclosure is thin. The card’s own pages leave a great deal unsaid. Monthly fees are not stated. Conversion and FX fees are not stated. Identity checks are not stated. The issuing bank is not named. Networks for top-ups are not stated. Limits are not stated. You can read this page and still not be able to answer “what will this transaction cost me?” with any confidence.

I am not using this card, and I want to be clear about that. What follows is a careful reading of what Payrit publishes, checked in October 2026, cross-referenced against how crypto cards generally work. I score it honestly and I explain exactly why. Where the card’s public pages are silent, I say so rather than guessing.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: a genuine idea, an incomplete picture

The Payrit card scores 4.7 out of 10. That is a middling mark, not a rejection — and it reflects a specific pattern. The card does several things genuinely well, and leaves several things genuinely unsaid.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 Works in Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal, Togo — a real but narrow footprint
Cost 6 / 10 The Payrit Card costs ₦7,000; monthly fee and commissions are not disclosed
Top-up options 5 / 10 Naira and USDC/USDT balances, one card for all; networks and fees not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Tree-House Nigeria LTD, “not a bank”, partners are licensed; issuer not named; App Store 4.33 from 3 ratings
Everyday use 6 / 10 Physical and virtual card on Verve and Interswitch, POS and ATMs in Africa; Apple Pay and Google Pay not disclosed
Total 4.7 / 10 A solid idea, built on disclosure you have to dig for

The audience note matters as much as the score. This is a card for West African users spending naira and USDT from one card. If that is you — if you live in or have a billing address in one of the seven listed countries, you earn or hold naira, and you want to reach your USDT without juggling two accounts — the card is aimed squarely at your life. That is a real, underserved niche, and I want to give Payrit credit for building for it.

Who it suits: someone in Nigeria or a neighbouring West African market who wants a card that spends both naira and stablecoins, who is comfortable with fintech-level rather than bank-level transparency, and who will read the fee terms in-app before committing money. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs to know the exact cost of a transaction before making it, anyone who requires a named issuing bank, and anyone outside the seven supported countries.

Will they give you the card

Short answer: if you are in one of seven West African countries, probably yes — the card states where it works, and that list is the whole of its published footprint.

The card works in Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal, and Togo. That is the stated coverage. It is a real regional presence, not a token mention of one market, and it spans the largest economies in the region. But it is also the limit of what Payrit publishes — there is no broader list, no “coming soon” language, no Europe or US mention.

What is conspicuously absent here is the eligibility detail. Whether the decision rests on citizenship, residence, or a Nigerian address is not stated. The card’s public pages do not say what documents, if any, you need to qualify. So if you are a Nigerian living in Lagos, this is clearly for you. If you are a Togolese citizen living in Accra, or a Nigerian with a UK address and a plan to try the card abroad, you are left guessing. I would not want you to find that out after a ₦7,000 purchase.

How to get it

You order the card in the app, and it is produced immediately and shipped. The ordering flow asks for three things: your card name, a delivery address, and a primary balance. That last item is the one to think about — you pick at signup which balance the card draws from primarily, and that choice shapes how the card behaves day to day.

Delivery is quoted as “5–14 working days within Lagos and most states in Nigeria.” So the honest expectation is a wait measured in a couple of weeks, not next-day. The cost of delivery is not stated, which is a small but real gap when you are already committing ₦7,000.

Activation is straightforward once the card arrives: you activate with the first 6 and last 4 digits of the card and set a new PIN. That is a reasonable activation flow — the card details confirm you hold the physical card, and the new PIN means the PIN is yours from day one.

What is not stated, and you should assume you will need to ask: what identity verification, if any, is required. The card does not publish its KYC requirements, and it does not publish any tiered verification levels. Many providers quietly ask for documents at the first funding or first payment rather than at signup, which is normal — but it means you should keep an ID document handy and be prepared for a short pause before your money moves.

One practical note before you order: if you are outside Nigeria, the quoted delivery window mentions Lagos and Nigerian states specifically. Check with support whether delivery reaches your address, because the card does not promise it will.

Fees: what it really costs

The single hardest thing about reviewing this card is that most of the numbers people actually care about are the ones Payrit does not publish. Here is everything that is stated, and everything conspicuously missing.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Payrit payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What Payrit says
Card cost (physical) ₦7,000
Monthly fee not stated
Conversion fee not stated
FX / foreign transaction fee not stated
ATM fees and allowances not stated
Daily spending limit not stated
Monthly spending limit not stated
Delivery cost not stated
Cash withdrawal not stated
Tiers or paid plans not stated
Currency Naira and USDC/USDT from one card

Let me put this the way a person would experience it. Issuance is ₦7,000 for the physical card, a one-time cost, and that is the only figure on the whole card that is stated cleanly. Everything recurring or transactional is not stated — the monthly fee, the conversion fee, the FX fee, ATM fees and allowances, daily and monthly limits. That is not a minor omission. In a card where you hold naira and dollar-pegged tokens at the same time, the conversion fee and the FX fee are the two numbers that decide whether spending is cheap or quietly expensive, and neither is published.

Three everyday payments, walked through, to show you what a fee you cannot see actually does to a balance:

My honest read: you cannot budget this card from its public pages. Before you put real money on it, open the app and read the current fee schedule and your own limits there. If the numbers there are not clear, that is itself an answer about whether this card is right for you.

Top up: getting money onto the card

Topping up is where this card’s design makes the most sense, and also where you must be most careful.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Payrit starts with a transfer to the right network

The mechanics are simple. Payrit holds naira and USDC/USDT wallets that spend from one card. You fund the account with any supported currency — USDC, USDT, or naira — and spend right away. Crucially, the card says “Your card works without needing to be prefunded” — it draws directly on the connected primary balance, whether that is naira (NGN) or a stablecoin (USDC/T). So there is no mandatory “load first, then use” step; the card is wired to the balance you chose.

The catch is the same as with fees: the networks and fees for funding are not stated. This matters more than it sounds. If you hold USDT, the single most important practical question is which blockchain your USDT lives on. USDT exists on many networks — Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche, and others — and sending on the wrong network is a well-known way to lose money. Transfers on blockchain are generally irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Before your first transfer, confirm in-app exactly which networks are accepted for each of USDC and USDT, and transfer only a small test amount first.

One useful background note: a stablecoin aims to hold a stable value against a currency, but despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable — they can and have depegged. Circle, which issues USDC, states USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and 100% backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations. Tether, which issues USDT, describes the token as built on multiple blockchains with reserves intended to back it 1-to-1. So both main coins you can hold here have published, meaningful backing — but “intended” and “attested” are doing real work in those sentences, and value can still move.

Also worth knowing: withdrawing money from Payrit is not stated. If the card is your main way to hold funds, ask early how you get money back out, not just in.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, the card behaves like a prepaid card: you hold a balance and spend from it. A card number starts with an issuer identification number that identifies the issuing institution, and merchants can look up which institution and country issued a card — sometimes applying extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. This is a normal, structural feature of any card, but it explains occasional friction that has nothing to do with you.

Here is what the card supports for daily use, and what remains unsaid:

The app itself is a thin data point: an iOS app “Payrit” by TREE-HOUSE NIGERIA LIMITED, rated 4.33 from just 3 ratings, version dated 2026-09-18. Three ratings is too small a sample to trust as a quality signal in either direction, but the 4.33 itself is fine.

Two everyday frictions to keep in mind. First, rewards are not stated — there is no published cashback or rewards rate, so don’t assume you earn anything back. Second, how you dispute a charge is not stated. If a payment goes wrong, there is no published process on the card’s pages telling you who to call or what evidence to send. That is a gap worth raising with support before you rely on the card for anything you can’t afford to lose.

What can go wrong

Nothing here is alarmist — it is the honest risk picture of a young fintech card with thin disclosure.

The biggest risk is the unstated stuff. Monthly fees, conversion fees, FX fees, ATM terms, and spending limits are all not disclosed publicly. You are asked to trust terms you have to go find. In fintech, and especially across borders, undisclosed fees are the most reliable way a card quietly costs you more than you planned.

“Not a bank” is a real structural fact. Payrit states it is a product of Tree-House Nigeria LTD, describes itself as a financial technology company and “is not a bank,” and says it works in partnership with licensed transmitters and banking partners. The critical gap: the issuing bank is not named. For a card, the issuer is the institution legally responsible for your funds and the one you hold a contractual relationship with. The card’s partners are licensed, and that is a point in its favour — but you are being asked to rely on unnamed partners. Ask, before you fund it, which institution actually issues the card and holds your balance, and where your funds sit.

Compliance risk is real and not hypothetical. KYC and anti-money-laundering rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and monitor transactions. If due diligence cannot be completed, rules require the institution to hold off — which is why accounts get frozen or closed pending documents. Nationality and country of birth are recorded and screened separately from your address. If your documentation or your country of origin is flagged under a partner’s sanctions or risk policy, funding can be delayed or stopped. This is not something to try to work around; it is something to understand before you load money.

Programme risk. Card programmes get wound down. Prepaid and crypto cards have a real history of sudden endings — in November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX” and the FTX US debit card programme was being wound down. When a programme closes, it typically gives notice, then stops spending and loading, then asks users to withdraw remaining balances. If you hold meaningful funds on a prepaid card, that is a risk to size deliberately.

Transfer mistakes are unforgiving. Blockchain transfers are typically irreversible. There is no built-in recovery for a wrong address or wrong network, unlike a bank transfer.

Declines and holds. A merchant may decline a prepaid or foreign-issued card because the BIN lookup reveals its type and country. A declined authorisation may also leave a hold on funds for several days.

What is reassuring, honestly: I found no official incidents and no user reports of problems with Payrit — and no Trustpilot page exists. For a young product, that is neutral-to-mildly-positive, not a guarantee of anything. A quiet complaint record can also just mean a small user base.

The good and the not-yet-known, side by side

To pull the threads together:

What works well What you have to ask about
Spends naira and USDC/USDT from one card Which networks to fund USDC/USDT on, and the funding fees
Physical and virtual card, Verve + Interswitch Monthly fee, conversion fee, FX fee — all undisclosed
Works at POS and ATMs across Africa ATM fees, allowances, and daily/monthly limits — undisclosed
Plain-naira domestic spending avoids conversion cost Whether Apple Pay / Google Pay is supported
No pre-funding required — draws on primary balance How to withdraw money out, and the dispute process
Clear security tools: freeze/unfreeze, terminate lost card, set PIN Which bank actually issues the card and holds the balance
Partners described as licensed transmitters and banking partners Identity verification requirements, and at what step
No official incidents or user complaints found Long-term track record — this is a young product

What to take instead

If Payrit’s gaps bother you, they should — and there are alternatives with different trade-offs. Here is how the alternatives compare. Note that none of these is a like-for-like replacement for a West African naira card; they solve the same underlying problem (spending crypto through a card) with different rails and different coverage.

Payrit Whop Cards Stella UniFi Card
Score 4.7 / 10 5.2 / 10 6.5 / 10 4.7 / 10
Card network Verve, Interswitch Visa VISA Visa
Physical & virtual Both not stated Both Prepaid debit Visa
Coverage 7 West African countries 31 US states (consumers); 41 (businesses) not stated; US/EU routed via affiliates not confirmed; send-money routes to PH, MX, EUR, and notes on CO, BR, UK
Cost ₦7,000 “No extra fees”; amounts not listed not stated not stated
Rewards not stated 5% cashback at select merchants (currently Uber) no cashback stated 3% on balances (listing claim); card cashback not stated

A few things worth pulling out of that comparison:

The honest conclusion: if you need a card in West Africa to spend naira and stablecoins, Payrit is one of the very few options aimed at you, and that scarcity is worth something. If you are elsewhere, one of the alternatives may serve you better — but each carries its own gaps. Do not switch to an alternative expecting fully published fees either; that is a field-wide problem, not a Payrit-specific one.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Payrit to a specific person: someone living in Nigeria or one of the six other supported countries, who holds naira alongside USDC or USDT, who wants a single card for both, who is comfortable that this is a fintech product — “not a bank” — running on licensed partners rather than a named bank, and who will spend twenty minutes in the app reading the actual fee schedule and limits before they commit more than a small test amount.

I would not recommend it to someone who needs certainty before spending — someone who wants to know the exact conversion fee, the exact FX treatment, or the exact monthly cost before they put money on the card. Nor to anyone outside the seven supported countries. Nor to anyone planning to rely on it for international travel, since Verve and Interswitch do not travel like Visa or Mastercard.

If you do go ahead: start with a small test amount, confirm the funding networks in-app before your first stablecoin transfer, ask support directly which bank issues the card, and set your own spending limits in the app. Those four steps, and the card’s own freeze and card-termination tools, are the sensible way to protect yourself. Then spend from it normally — and read the fee terms, because the card’s public pages will not read them for you.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Payrit card?

Payrit is a crypto payment card from Tree-House Nigeria LTD, a Nigerian fintech that states it is “not a bank.” It lets you spend naira and USDC/USDT tokens from a single card, available as both a physical and a virtual card on the Verve and Interswitch networks. It works in Nigeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Senegal, and Togo, drawing directly on your connected primary balance without needing to pre-fund it.

Does Payrit require KYC or identity verification?

The card’s public pages do not state whether KYC is required or what identity documents are needed, nor do they publish any tiered verification levels. Many fintechs request documents at first funding or first payment rather than at signup. Keep an ID document handy, and ask support directly what verification is needed and at which step.

How do I get and activate the Payrit card?

You order in the app, providing a card name, delivery address, and primary balance; the card is produced immediately and shipped, with delivery quoted at “5–14 working days within Lagos and most states in Nigeria.” Once it arrives, activate using the first 6 and last 4 digits of the card and set a new PIN. The cost of delivery is not stated.

What does the Payrit card cost to use?

The physical card costs ₦7,000, and that is the only price the card publishes. The monthly fee, conversion fee, FX fee, ATM fees and allowances, and daily and monthly spending limits are all not stated on its public pages. Because the conversion and FX fees are the ones that decide your real cost when spending stablecoins, read the current fee schedule inside the app before you commit money.

Can I use Payrit outside Nigeria?

The card works in seven West African countries — Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal, and Togo — and this is its stated footprint. It runs on Verve and Interswitch rather than Visa or Mastercard, so international acceptance is limited compared with a Visa or Mastercard card. Check current coverage before relying on it abroad.

Is Payrit safe and is it a bank?

Payrit describes itself as a financial technology company that “is not a bank,” working “in partnership with licensed transmitters and banking partners.” The licensed partners are a point in its favour, but the issuing bank is not named. That matters, because the issuer is the institution responsible for your funds. Ask support which institution actually issues the card before you load it, and size any balance you hold prudently.

How do I top up the Payrit card, and can I withdraw?

You fund the account with any supported currency — USDC, USDT, or naira — and spend right away; the card draws on your primary balance without needing to be pre-funded. The networks and fees for funding are not stated, so confirm in-app which blockchains to send each token on before your first transfer, since blockchain transfers are typically irreversible. How to withdraw money out of Payrit is not stated on its public pages.

Does Payrit offer rewards or cashback?

Rewards are not stated on the card’s public pages — there is no published cashback or rewards rate. Don’t assume you earn anything back. Some alternatives do offer rewards (for example, Whop Cards list 5% cashback at select merchants and UniFi’s listing claims 3% on balances), but for Payrit itself, treat rewards as an open question to confirm in-app.

Can I add Payrit to Apple Pay or Google Pay?

Apple Pay and Google Pay support are not disclosed on Payrit’s public pages, so I can’t confirm whether the card can be added to a phone wallet. Since mobile wallets are a common expectation, ask support directly before you rely on tap-to-pay through your phone. The card does support a physical card for in-person taps at POS terminals and ATMs across Africa.

How do I freeze, replace, or get help with the Payrit card?

You can freeze and unfreeze the card instantly in the app, and if it’s lost you can terminate it and request a new one; your PIN is set at activation. For support, the card invites you to “Speak with the founders directly” and links a community, but the help centre is marked “Under construction” and support hours and languages are not stated. The dispute process for a charge you don’t recognise is also not stated, so raise it with support early.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team