I read the Trastra card's terms and complaints before writing this — here's what I found

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Trastra card is a prepaid Visa debit card that you fund with cryptocurrency held in the Mover wallet, spend like an ordinary euro card, and draw euros from at ATMs across Europe. On paper that is a straightforward proposition, and for someone living in the European Economic Area who already holds crypto and wants a euro card without a traditional bank account, the idea makes sense. My score is 4.1 out of 10, however, and the reason is not the concept — it is what happens when you try to pin down the practical details. Costs are stated for the essentials but silent on the questions that decide whether a card works day to day. The public trust record is thin and one-sided. And several of the things I would treat as basic — which coins, which networks, what identity checks, what dispute rights — simply are not stated on the card’s own pages.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Trastra works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

So who is this for? In short: an EEA resident who already keeps crypto in Mover, is comfortable funding everything through one app, and wants a euro prepaid card more than they want a feature list. If you are outside the EEA, chasing a named country’s branch of this card, or hoping for a virtual card, travel insurance-style dispute handling, or Apple Pay as a documented feature — I would look elsewhere first.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score, and who the card suits

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Available in 31 listed countries including Germany, France and the UK; says it “will be available for all residents of the European Economic Area (EEA)”; non-European residents: “Not at the moment.” The rule looks residence-based.
Cost 3 / 10 Card order EUR 9.00, servicing EUR 15.00 per year, a payment not in EUR costs 3%, a euro ATM withdrawal EUR 2.25, delivery free.
Top-up options 4 / 10 Topped up with crypto in the Mover wallet, crypto-to-euro exchange free; but the coins and networks are not named.
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Issuer UAB “Finansinės paslaugos ”Contis“” (Bank of Lithuania licence No. 53); Trustpilot 2.0 out of 5 across 747 reviews, with frozen funds and denied withdrawals and letters about the insolvency of an affiliated company.
Everyday use 6 / 10 ATMs across Europe and a EUR IBAN; unofficial: Google Pay and Apple Pay; no virtual card named.
Total 4.1 / 10 —

Two things stand out from that table. First, everyday use scores highest at 6 — not because the card is rich in features but because the fundamentals for a euro card (a euro IBAN, ATMs across Europe) are in place. Second, the two dimensions that usually sink a prepaid card, reliability and top-up options, both sit low. The low reliability mark is the more serious of the two, and I go into it in detail further down.

Who they will give you the card to

The availability rule is the first gate, and it is a fairly clear one. Trastra says the card is available in 31 listed countries — Germany, France and the UK among them — and that it “will be available for all residents of the European Economic Area (EEA)”. For non-European residents the page says, flatly, “Not at the moment.” The rule therefore appears to be residence-based rather than citizenship-based: the phrase “residents of the EEA” is what the card uses, and the note about non-European residents is about where you live, not what passport you hold.

That distinction matters if you are one of the people who move around: a European citizen living outside the EEA, or a non-EU resident living inside it, may fall outside what the card promises even though a passport test would pass them. The card does not spell out a citizenship test, so I would not assume one exists. What I would do is read the list of 31 countries and check whether your country of residence is on it — if it is, you are inside the promise; if it is not, you are outside it until the wording changes. And if you are anywhere in the world outside Europe, this is not your card.

How to get it

The application itself is the part where the card’s pages go quiet. The documents you need — proof of address, identity papers, your age — are not stated on the page. Nor is the verification process: the page mentions Visa identity checks, 3D Secure, two-factor authentication and device authorisation as security measures, but it does not describe what you must upload or verify to pass onboarding. I have flagged this once here; further sections will simply refer back to it rather than repeat it.

What you do get told: it is a “prepaid debit card”, accepted at Visa merchants worldwide. Whether it is issued physically or virtually is not specified, though the fact that it works at ATMs implies a physical card. The currency is the euro, per the pricing notes rather than the page prose. Delivery is free to the 31 listed countries in the EEA; the delivery time and any replacement cost are not stated.

If you are the kind of person who wants to know before applying — what you will be asked for, how long it takes, whether a virtual option exists — the honest answer is that the card does not tell you, and you would be applying partly on trust. That is a legitimate reason to read the rest of this review before you click anything.

What it really costs — Fees

The costs page is where this card is most concrete and, at the same time, where the gaps hurt most. Creating the payment account is free. Ordering the card costs EUR 9.00, charged from your first top-up (and the page notes early customers could offset this with Smart Treasury bonuses). Delivery is free. The card management fee is EUR 15.00 per year — but here is a subtlety worth reading twice: the page says this fee is “not charged by Mover”. In practice that means the annual charge is carried somewhere other than your Mover spend, and the card’s own wording does not explain where. The first charge comes within 45 days of ordering.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Trastra payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Beyond that, the transaction fees are these: a non-euro card purchase costs 3%; an internal card-to-card transfer is EUR 0.20; and converting crypto to euro is free, though the exchange rate is set at the time of the transaction — which is the standard way of saying the rate can move against you. Cash carries its own schedule: a balance inquiry is EUR 0.35, changing your PIN is EUR 0.40, a euro withdrawal is EUR 2.25, and a withdrawal in a non-euro currency or outside the EEA is EUR 2.25 plus 3% — on top of which some ATM providers may add their own fees.

The full table:

Fee or limit Value
Payment account creation Free
Card order (from first top-up) EUR 9.00
Card delivery Free
Card management fee EUR 15.00 per year (not charged by Mover); first charge within 45 days of ordering
Non-EUR card purchase (online or offline) 3%
Internal card-to-card transfer EUR 0.20
Crypto-to-EUR exchange Free (rate set at transaction)
ATM balance inquiry EUR 0.35
PIN change EUR 0.40
Euro withdrawal EUR 2.25
Non-euro or outside-EEA withdrawal EUR 2.25 plus 3%; ATM provider fees may apply
Max card balance EUR 8,000
Daily card spend EUR 7,700
Daily ATM withdrawal EUR 300
Overall daily spend (purchases + ATM) EUR 8,000
Weekly, monthly, annual limits None

Now let me walk through three everyday payments and see which lines actually bite. A weekly shop costing, say, a modest amount in euros in a euro country: no purchase fee, because the 3% only applies to a non-euro purchase — that is the whole point of the euro IBAN, and it is a genuine perk of this card. A purchase in a non-euro currency, which is what happens the moment you travel or buy from a foreign site: that one costs 3% every time, on top of whatever the network’s exchange rate does, and it is the fee that most people underestimate. And a cash withdrawal abroad: EUR 2.25 plus 3% if it is outside the EEA or in a non-euro currency, and possibly an ATM operator’s own surcharge on top. Within the euro area a plain ATM withdrawal is EUR 2.25 and no percentage.

The limits deserve a second look too. The daily ATM withdrawal cap of EUR 300 is low — a few larger cash withdrawals and you hit it. The daily overall spend cap of EUR 8,000 and the maximum balance of EUR 8,000 mean the card cannot hold much value; there are no weekly, monthly or annual limits, which cuts both ways: nothing forces you to spend on a schedule, but also nothing caps a bad month.

How to Top up the card

Topping up happens in one place: the Mover wallet, using cryptocurrency. The card’s phrasing is “topped up using cryptocurrencies in your Mover wallet” — the coins and networks are not named. That single omission is the biggest practical gap in the funding story, and I want to be clear about why rather than just flag it. To send crypto you need to know two things: which asset the provider accepts, and on which chain. Send the wrong one, or send on a chain the provider does not support, and the transfer can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee — blockchain transfers are irreversible by design. So for someone who holds, say, a dollar-pegged token on one network and a euro-pegged one on another, “which coins and networks” is not a cosmetic question; it is the question.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Trastra starts with a transfer to the right network

Two helpful specifics do hold. The card order fee of EUR 9.00 is charged from your first top-up, and the crypto-to-euro exchange is “Free” — with the rate set at the transaction, so free in fees but not immune to the rate moving. The top-up minimum and any fiat top-up option are not stated. Beyond funding the card, it can also be used for “transferring money to local banks” and for ATM cash withdrawals; the fees for moving a balance back into crypto and for handling account closure are not stated.

Paying with it every day

For ordinary spending the card behaves as a normal Visa: accepted at Visa merchants worldwide, euros from a personal EUR IBAN, and ATMs across Europe. On mobile wallets, the card’s pages do not describe Apple Pay or Google Pay support, or which merchant categories are blocked; the only signal I could find is unofficial — Trastra’s own self-description on its Trustpilot company page indicates the card can be used with Google Pay and Apple Pay. Treat that as a claim to verify in the app rather than a documented feature.

You get mobile apps for Android and iOS, plus a web app at app.viamover.com. Store ratings were not read, so I am not going to pretend to know how users rate them. Rewards are not stated on the page, even though internal product material describes crypto cashback — so do not budget around cashback. Neither is a virtual card named. Dispute handling — what happens when a purchase goes wrong — is not stated either, which is a real gap for anyone spending meaningfully on it.

What can go wrong

This is where the review gets serious, so I will take the risks in order of how likely they are to affect you.

The support and complaints record is the weakest part of the card. Trustpilot shows 2.0 out of 5 from 747 reviews. (An earlier reading on 2026-10-20 showed 1.8 from 758, so the figure moves.) Five-star reviews are 65% and one-star 23%, and only 7 reviews in the last 12 months. The user reports cluster around: funds blocked or frozen and withdrawals denied (Jan–Dec 2025); support unresponsive with copy-paste replies (Jan–May 2025); a maintenance window during which the balance was inaccessible (Mar–Jun 2025); and worries about insolvency or closure (Mar–Jun 2025). I want to be careful about attribution here: these reviews concern the Trastra service, not necessarily the Mover card, and I have found no dated official news to corroborate or refute the worst of them. But they are the public record a prospective cardholder would find, and 23% one-star is not a rounding error.

Third-party reports about the company’s stability. Unverified user reports on Trustpilot mention a March 2025 email about “Initiation of Insolvency Proceedings” against a related entity, and May 2025 claims that the company is closing with police information about bankruptcy proceedings. These are unverified third-party claims, not confirmed facts, and I found no dated official news to sit behind them. What they do tell you is that a prospective user should at minimum work out which legal entity holds their balance before they deposit anything substantial.

Who actually holds your money. The issuer is UAB “Finansinės paslaugos ”Contis“”, an e-money institution under Bank of Lithuania licence No. 53. Mover partnered with Trastra, and Holyheld Labs is described as an authorised partner of Trastra Inc. Funds sit in a segregated account and the card uses Visa verification and 3D Secure, with login by wallet password plus a two-factor one-time code and email approval for new devices. But the page is explicit that the e-money product is “not covered by the Deposit Insurance System of the Republic of Lithuania”. Segregated is not the same as guaranteed: e-money funds are safeguarded, not bank deposits, and they may fall outside a deposit guarantee scheme. Anyone treating this balance as if it were a current account at a bank should read that line twice.

Identity checks and the unspoken gaps. What documents are required and how verification works are not stated — see the “How to get it” section above. In this category that matters more than usual: KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers as part of anti-money-laundering law, and in the EU customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check, and whether you are a politically exposed person. Nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening often follows citizenship and country of birth as well as your address. And if due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to hold off on the transaction or relationship — which is why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents. A card whose page does not tell you its own document rules leaves you unable to anticipate what would trigger a freeze.

Two more everyday risks. A declined online authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days — typically up to seven. And on the network side: a deposit sent on an unsupported network, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. For 3D Secure payments, liability for fraud can shift toward the cardholder’s bank, or per some critics toward you. Finally, a frozen balance has no built-in recourse here: the card’s page does not describe an in-app freeze feature, and prepaid-card dispute and reversal coverage varies by scheme and should not be assumed to apply.

On support specifically: the card gives an email ([email protected]) and a knowledge centre (faq.viamover.com), but the languages and hours are not stated. When combined with the “copy-paste replies” pattern in the reviews, that means your realistic expectation for a stuck withdrawal is a written ticket, not a quick call.

What to take instead

If Trastra’s gaps bother you — and if the Trustpilot record bothers you at all — the alternatives below make the trade-offs more explicit. I have not tested any of them; this is a comparison of what each publishes.

Card Score Card type Annual / issuance cost FX on non-USD (or non-home) spend How it is funded
Trastra 4.1 / 10 Prepaid Visa debit, euro EUR 15.00 / year; EUR 9.00 order 3% on non-EUR spend Crypto in the Mover wallet
Gemini 4.9 / 10 Mastercard World Elite credit card No annual fee; issuance not stated No foreign transaction fees Credit line, paid in fiat
Lava 7.1 / 10 “Lava Card” “no annual fees”; issuance not stated “no FX fees, and no FX spread” Local currency or stablecoins
Based Visa Card 6.9 / 10 Visa debit, USD No signup or annual fees; physical shipping $50 (HYPE), free (Based Gold) Markup by tier: 2.5% / 1.5% / 0% USDT, USDC, XSUSD, SOL, HYPE or BASED

Gemini is a credit card, which changes the shape of the deal: no foreign transaction fees and rewards paid in crypto (4% on gas, EV and transit up to the first $300 a month, 3% dining, 2% groceries, 1% other; 10% Vault Rewards at some merchants, capped and varying; $50 crypto per referral, $250 per five referrals, up to 50 a year). The trade-off is that it needs a fiat credit line, not a crypto balance, so it is not a substitute for someone whose whole point is spending crypto without a bank relationship.

Lava scores highest at 7.1 and is the cleanest on costs: “no annual fees”, “no FX fees, and no FX spread”, spend at 150 million merchants in 150+ countries, and “up to 5% back in bitcoin on every purchase” (conditions not stated). It is funded by local-currency deposits or stablecoins. Its network, physical-versus-virtual form, and country availability are not stated, so it too requires checking before you commit.

Based Visa Card is the most explicitly tiered. It is a USD Visa debit with an instant virtual card after approval, a physical plastic card on the HYPE tier and a 20g metal card on Based Gold; Based Orange is virtual-only and not yet available. There are no signup or annual fees; physical shipping is $50 on HYPE and free on Based Gold. The FX markup on non-USD spend is the interesting part: 2.5% on Orange, 1.5% on HYPE and 0% on Gold, and stablecoin deposits carry no added fees — it auto-converts at the point of sale from USDT, USDC, XSGD, SOL, HYPE or BASED, on networks including Solana, Arbitrum, Polygon and Hyperliquid. Cashback is paid in $BASED at the start of each month: 2% capped at $20/month on HYPE, 4% capped at $100/month on Gold, plus AI subscription rebates up to $10 or $100 and entertainment rebates up to $20 on Gold. Availability depends on country of residence and excludes a published list effective 1 August 2026 — about 74 countries including the Russian Federation, Belarus, the United States, Canada, Australia, China, India, Singapore, Ukraine, Iran and Turkey. Rewards are promotional, may change, and all benefits end when unstaking begins.

A note on the category, since several of these questions are general. A crypto card’s money sits with one of two kinds of provider. A custodial wallet means the provider holds the credentials and you trust them completely; a self-custody-linked card keeps your funds in your own wallet until the moment of payment, but then you carry sole responsibility for key loss, phishing and malware. Custodial platforms have a real history of failure (Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen 2011–2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022), and blockchain transfers have no built-in recovery, meaning funds can be lost. Separately, note that a card is a payment service regulated under e-money and payments law, while MiCA governs the crypto side — so a crypto card often depends on two licences. Under MiCA (Regulation (EU) 2023/1114, in legal effect since June 2023), the transitional period lets providers operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until a MiCA authorisation is granted or refused, whichever comes first. If you want to check a provider, ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers.

Who I would recommend it to

I would point this card at a specific person: someone living in one of the 31 listed European countries, who already holds crypto in the Mover wallet, and who wants a euro prepaid card primarily so they can spend and draw cash without opening a traditional bank account. For that person the core proposition holds up — a EUR IBAN, ATMs across Europe, free crypto-to-euro exchange and a free delivery are real advantages, and the everyday-use score of 6 reflects that.

I would not recommend it to several other people. If you are outside the EEA, the answer is a flat no. If your priority is a card you can load directly from a specific coin on a specific network, this card does not name either, and you would be guessing. If you are relying on Apple Pay, a virtual card, cashback or dispute handling as things the product definitely does, all of those are unstated or unofficial and you should not build a plan on them. And if you are the kind of holder who would keep a large balance on the card — the EUR 8,000 maximum balance caps how much you can even hold, and the balance sits outside Lithuania’s deposit insurance — the mismatch between your habits and this product’s design is obvious.

Above all, I would ask anyone considering this to read the complaints section again. A 2.0 Trustpilot with 23% one-star, combined with unverified insolvency chatter about a related company and no dated official news to set it straight, is a thin foundation for a balance you intend to rely on. If your money depends on this card working, keep only what you can afford to have frozen for weeks. If it is a convenience card funded from crypto you already hold, the calculus is different — and that, more than any fee, is who this is really for.

Frequently asked questions

What is Trastra?

Trastra is a prepaid Visa debit card that you top up with cryptocurrency held in the Mover wallet and then spend as euros. It is accepted at Visa merchants worldwide, comes with a personal euro IBAN, and works at ATMs across Europe. It is a prepaid card, so it spends only the balance you have loaded and cannot overdraw. The issuer is UAB “Finansinės paslaugos ”Contis“”.

How does the Trastra card work?

You create a payment account, order the card for EUR 9.00 from your first top-up, and convert crypto in your Mover wallet into a euro balance — that exchange is free, with the rate set at the transaction. You spend from that balance with the card, or draw euros from ATMs. The card can also be used to transfer money to local banks. Non-euro purchases cost 3%, and euro ATM withdrawals cost EUR 2.25.

Is Trastra a bank?

No. Trastra’s card is issued by an electronic money institution, UAB “Finansinės paslaugos ”Contis“”, which holds Bank of Lithuania licence No. 53. An e-money institution can issue e-money, payment cards and wallets, but it cannot lend. Funds sit in a segregated account, and the product is explicitly “not covered by the Deposit Insurance System of the Republic of Lithuania”.

Who owns Trastra?

Mover partnered with Trastra, and Holyheld Labs is described as an authorised partner of Trastra Inc. That layered structure matters when something goes wrong: you want to know which legal entity holds your balance, because the card pages do not spell it out for you. Trustpilot user reports about insolvency proceedings concerned a related entity, unverified.

Does Trastra require KYC?

The card’s pages do not state which documents are needed or how verification works — no mention of proof of address, identity papers or an age requirement. In practice, regulated providers must verify customers under anti-money-laundering law, covering name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, plus a sanctions check. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the provider to hold off or close the relationship.

How much does the Trastra card cost?

Creating the payment account is free and delivery is free, but the card order costs EUR 9.00 from your first top-up and there is a EUR 15.00 per year management fee, which the page says is not charged by Mover and first falls due within 45 days of ordering. On top of that: 3% on any purchase not in euros, EUR 0.20 for an internal card-to-card transfer, EUR 2.25 for a euro ATM withdrawal, and EUR 2.25 plus 3% for a non-euro or outside-EEA withdrawal.

What are the Trastra card’s limits?

The maximum card balance is EUR 8,000, daily card spend is EUR 7,700, and daily ATM withdrawal is EUR 300. Overall daily spend, combining purchases and ATM withdrawals, is EUR 8,000. There are no weekly, monthly or annual limits stated. The low ATM cap means a few large cash withdrawals will exhaust it in a day.

Can I use Trastra with Apple Pay or Google Pay?

The card’s own pages do not confirm either wallet. The only signal is unofficial — Trastra’s self-description on its Trustpilot company page says the card works with Google Pay and Apple Pay. Treat that as something to verify inside the app rather than a documented feature. Which merchant categories are blocked is also not stated.

Is Trastra card safe?

The issuer is a licensed e-money institution and the card uses Visa verification, 3D Secure, two-factor login and email approval for new devices, with funds in a segregated account. But the product is not covered by Lithuania’s deposit insurance, the balance is not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme, and the Trustpilot record is 2.0 out of 5 from 747 reviews, with reports of frozen funds, denied withdrawals and unresponsive support through 2025.

Is the Trastra card worth it?

For its intended reader — an EEA resident spending crypto already held in Mover — the euro IBAN, European ATMs and free crypto-to-euro exchange make it workable, and I score it 4.1 out of 10 overall. It falls short if you need to know which coins and networks are accepted, want a virtual card, rely on documented rewards or dispute handling, or plan to keep a large balance on it. My score: use it as a convenience card, not a place to park money you depend on.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team