A Visa you fund from your own USDC wallet, with fees and limits that deserve a careful read

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you have searched for a way to spend USDC directly from a wallet you actually control, the whitecryptocard.com card is one of the more unusual offers on the market. Instead of depositing crypto into a company account and getting a prepaid balance back, this product keeps your collateral in your own self-custody wallet while a Visa card draws against it. That single design choice is what makes the card interesting, and it is also the source of most of the questions a careful reader will want answered before applying.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
whitecryptocard.com works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I went through the public material on the card, the terms behind the fees, and what is and is not stated on the site. This review walks through who can get the card, what the sign-up actually involves, the real cost of everyday spending, how the top-up flow works in practice, and where the gaps in the published information are. The conclusion is honest: the score is 5.4 out of 10, and the rest of the page explains why.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

I gave the whitecryptocard.com card 5.4 / 10. It does one thing differently from most of its peers: your USDC stays in your own wallet until the moment you pay. If that is exactly what you want, the card has real appeal. For most other readers the cost of running it, the absence of a public country list, and a few inconsistencies on the official site hold the score back.

Score breakdown

Criterion Mark Why it scores there
Who can get it 6 / 10 No public country list; eligibility is set during your application and depends on where you live. Sanctioned people and countries are excluded.
Cost 3 / 10 $5 to issue, $3 a month per card, $10 to close, 1.99% on non-USD payments, 2% on top-ups in the fee table, plus a $0.20 fee on payments under $25. The site also advertises “0% deposit fees” — the two statements sit side by side.
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDC only, on Base, Arbitrum or Ethereum, held in a self-custody wallet. No other coins, no fiat top-up, and the home page names a different set of networks than the FAQ.
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Brand owned by Codego Group; cards are issued by an unnamed Visa Principal Member. There is no Trustpilot page and no public incidents I could find, but the lack of a track record is itself a factor.
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual Visa only, with Apple Pay and Google Pay, a choice of fixed or percentage ATM fees, and Visa dispute rules. No physical card, and the iOS/Android apps are still marked “Coming soon”.
Total 5.4 / 10

The card suits you if you already keep USDC in a self-custody wallet on Base, Arbitrum or Ethereum, you want a Visa for daily spending without giving a custodian control of your balance, and you are comfortable reading fee tables carefully. It is less suitable if you want a no-fee everyday card, if you live somewhere the card does not serve, or if you need a physical card in your hand today.

Who can get the card

The first thing you will look for on a card site is a list of supported countries. You will not find one here. The whitecryptocard.com site says eligibility is “determined during your application” and depends on your place of residence, not your citizenship. That means there is no upfront way to know whether the card will be available to you; you only find out after you start the process.

Sanctioned people and sanctioned countries are excluded. The card is also not issued by a bank — the company describes itself as a programme manager, with cards coming from a licensed Visa Principal Member (an unnamed bank or e-money institution authorised to issue under Visa’s licence). For a reader who needs a clear “yes” or “no” for their country before they go further, that is a real gap.

A few practical points sit alongside that headline:

If you are an existing USDC holder on Base, Arbitrum or Ethereum and you live somewhere the issuer is willing to serve, the path is open. If your country is one of the heavy-sanction or restricted jurisdictions common to crypto products, the answer is almost certainly no.

How to apply

The application is described in two short steps on the site: verify your identity, then issue the card. Underneath those two steps sits a standard identity-verification flow that you should expect to take a little time.

Identity verification

You will be asked to provide a government photo ID and to complete a selfie liveness check that matches your face to the document. You will also need a recent proof of address, typically a utility bill or a bank statement. That is the standard set of documents you would see at any regulated card issuer.

A few things are worth flagging up front:

The card you get

You will be issued a virtual Visa card. The fee list on the site refers to a “virtual card setup” and also names Visa Infinite, Platinum and Signature tiers, although only the virtual card is described in the application flow. The card’s currency is USD: every payment is taken in dollars, and if you pay in another currency a foreign-exchange fee applies.

A few related points worth noting before you start:

Fees and what everyday use really costs

This is the section where the card loses points, and where the contrast between the marketing and the small print is sharpest. There is no annual fee on the Standard tier, but there is a $3 monthly account fee per card, a $5 setup fee, a $10 closure fee, a 1.99% FX fee, a 2% top-up fee in the fee table, and a separate $0.20 fee on payments under $25. The home page also says “0% deposit fees” and “No fee on USDC top-ups”. Those statements sit next to the 2% figure on the same site and have not been reconciled.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a whitecryptocard.com payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The clearest way to read the card is to walk through the numbers, then walk through three everyday payments and see what they really cost.

Costs at a glance

Item Amount Notes
Virtual card setup $5.00 Per card, once.
Account residency $3.00 per month, per card Site says no annual fee on Standard tier; the monthly fee is separate.
Account closure $10.00 One-time, when you close.
Non-USD transaction fee 1.99% Applied to the converted amount.
Small transaction fee $0.20 On payments under $25, in addition to any FX.
Crypto conversion fee Not separately stated Not published on the public pages.
ATM withdrawal $1.50 fixed, or 1% + $1 Both listed; you do not get a free allowance.
Auth/balance/decline $0.60 Charged on certain non-payments.
Dispute / chargeback processing $35.00 per case If you raise a dispute that is investigated.
Top-up (fee table) 2% On all listed coins and networks.
Top-up (home page claim) “0% deposit fees” / “No fee on USDC top-ups” Same site, same product; the two statements are in conflict and unresolved at the time of writing.
On-chain network gas Paid by you Charged by the blockchain, not by the card.
Daily and monthly limits Not published Shown in-app and depend on verification tier, card type and risk profile.

The block to read most carefully is the last three rows: the fee table says 2%, the home page says 0% for USDC. Until the company publishes a single rule, you should assume the higher number applies or contact support before you load a large balance.

What a $4 coffee costs

A coffee in a country where the merchant settles in dollars is the simplest case: the transaction is under $25, so the $0.20 small-transaction fee applies, and there is no FX fee. There is no cashback on this card, so nothing comes back.

What a €40 dinner in Europe costs

A €40 restaurant bill in Europe is a non-USD transaction, so the 1.99% FX fee applies. This fee is added to the amount converted at the card-network rate. You can think of 1.99% as the floor of what the FX line costs you; the gap between the Visa rate and the rate you would get elsewhere is on top of that.

What a $300 cash withdrawal costs

If you take $300 out of an ATM, you pay either the $1.50 fixed fee or the 1% + $1 fee, whichever applies to your setup. At 1% + $1 on $300, the fee is $4.00. There is no free allowance, so every withdrawal costs something. The site does not publish daily or monthly ATM limits; those are set in the app and depend on your verification level.

Across the three examples, the pattern is clear: a $3 monthly fee is the floor of running the card, and the $5 setup and $10 closure fees are the floor of opening and ending it. Once you are spending, the 1.99% FX and 2% top-up lines are the ones that quietly add up.

Top up

Funding the card is the part that is genuinely different. You do not deposit USDC into a company account; the USDC sits in your own self-custody wallet and the card draws against it. The site names three networks for that wallet: Base, Arbitrum and Ethereum. The FAQ on the site lists Base and Arbitrum only, so the home page and the FAQ do not match.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up whitecryptocard.com starts with a transfer to the right network

A few practical points:

A useful mental model: think of the card as a way to spend USDC that you already hold, not as a way to buy USDC. If you do not already keep USDC in a self-custody wallet on one of the three supported networks, the setup cost of getting there has to be weighed against the 1.99% FX and 2% top-up lines.

Paying with it every day

Once the card is issued, daily use is closer to a standard Visa prepaid experience than to a crypto product. The card number works at any merchant that accepts Visa online or in store, the card can be added to Apple Pay and Google Pay for free, and the card-issuer rails handle authorisation and disputes.

Where you can spend

The card is a virtual Visa, so it works in any country where Visa is accepted for online or contactless payment. With Apple Pay or Google Pay, that means most modern terminals in most countries. The card itself does not travel, so the friction is at the issuer level: if the issuer is willing to serve your country of residence and the merchant accepts Visa, the card should work.

A few things to know:

Wallets, apps and online checkout

The card supports Apple Pay and Google Pay at no extra fee, which is the most useful feature for everyday use. Adding the card to a wallet replaces the long card number with a device-specific token, and the wallet then presents a one-time dynamic security code at each payment.

A few points worth knowing:

Rewards and referrals

There is no cashback on the card. The only published incentive is a referral programme: you receive 0.15% of the spending of friends you refer, plus a $10 USDC bonus for each friend whose spending crosses $500, paid monthly. If you are not planning to refer a network of users, this is a small benefit; if you are, it can add up, but it is not a reason to pick the card on its own.

Disputes

If a transaction is unauthorised or incorrect, the site says you have 60 days from posting to report it. Investigations follow the Visa Operating Regulations, which is the standard framework Visa issuers use. A $35 dispute/chargeback processing fee applies per case, regardless of outcome, so raising a dispute is not free.

What can go wrong

A card review is only useful if it also covers the things that can go wrong, and on this product the public information is thin. The site does not publish a list of incidents, the brand does not have a Trustpilot page that I could find, and the cards are issued by a partner whose identity is not disclosed. The company behind the card is Codego Group, a brand that has published press releases claiming more than 350,000 users in 2025; that number is a company figure, not an independently audited one.

The practical risks to weigh are:

A useful framing: the money risk sits in your self-custody wallet, where you carry it; the service risk sits with the card issuer, where the company carries it. The card’s design separates the two, which is unusual and useful. It also means you cannot point at one party and ask them to make you whole if something goes wrong on the other side.

What to take instead

If the whitecryptocard.com card is not for you, three alternatives cover most of the same ground with different trade-offs. I have included each with its own score and the facts that matter when you compare them.

Card Score Card type Funding Cost shape
whitecryptocard.com 5.4 / 10 Virtual Visa USDC on Base, Arbitrum, Ethereum from your own wallet $5 setup, $3/month, 1.99% FX, 2% top-up (per fee table)
BloFin Wallet Card 6.9 / 10 Visa Platinum USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base $0 activation, $0 annual, $0 issuance, $0 dormancy, 1.00% to 0.00% spend fee by VIP tier
Decaf 6.2 / 10 Visa, virtual or physical USDC and other rails, app runs on Solana and Stellar $5 virtual, $10 US physical or $90 rest of world, no annual fee, no added FX
SafePal 6.2 / 10 Virtual Mastercard Crypto from 40+ blockchains, converted to USDC, on Arbitrum 0% top-up, 1% Mastercard FX, 1 USD/EUR/CHF refund fee

A few notes on the alternatives:

The right alternative depends on what you are trying to fix. If the monthly $3 fee is the problem, BloFin and Decaf both remove it. If the lack of a country list is the problem, Decaf is the only one that publishes one. If the single-coin, self-custody design is what attracted you in the first place, none of these alternatives replicate it.

Who I would recommend it to

The honest answer is that the whitecryptocard.com card has a narrow audience. It is a well-defined product for a well-defined user; the rest of the market is probably better served elsewhere.

I would recommend it if:

I would not recommend it if:

For most readers in most countries, a card with a published country list, a clear single fee table, and a working app will be a better fit. For the reader who is exactly the target user, the card does what it sets out to do, and the score reflects that.

Frequently asked questions

What is the whitecryptocard.com card?

It is a virtual Visa card issued under a licensed Visa Principal Member and marketed by Codego Group. The card spends in US dollars, and the underlying collateral is USDC held in your own self-custody wallet on Base, Arbitrum or Ethereum until the moment of payment. The card itself is virtual; there is no physical version.

How does the card work?

You complete identity verification, you are issued a virtual Visa, and you fund the card by ensuring USDC is available in your self-custody wallet. When you pay, the issuer draws against your USDC collateral, converts it to USD as needed, and routes the payment over Visa. The card supports Apple Pay and Google Pay for tokenised in-store and online use.

Is whitecryptocard.com a bank?

No. The company describes itself as a programme manager rather than a bank, and the cards are issued by a licensed Visa Principal Member. Funds you load are not bank deposits and are not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme, even though the underlying USDC sits in your own self-custody wallet rather than on the company’s books.

Who owns whitecryptocard.com?

The brand is owned and operated by Codego Group. The card-issuing partner is a Visa Principal Member whose name is not disclosed on the public pages. Codego has published press releases claiming more than 350,000 users in 2025; that figure is the company’s, not an independently audited one.

Where is the card available?

There is no public country list. The site says eligibility is determined during your application and depends on where you live, and that sanctioned persons and countries are excluded. In practice, you only know whether the card is available in your country by starting the application.

How do I apply?

The flow is described in two steps: verify your identity, then issue the card. Identity verification is the standard set of documents — government photo ID, a selfie liveness check that matches your face to the document, and a recent proof of address. Processing times and rejection reasons are not published.

What KYC does the card require?

The site describes a government photo ID plus a selfie liveness match, and a recent utility bill or bank statement for proof of address. It also reserves the right to ask for source-of-funds documents above its risk thresholds and to apply enhanced due diligence at higher risk. Beyond the initial check, ongoing monitoring is part of the standard anti-money-laundering framework.

How do I top up the card?

You fund the card with USDC from a self-custody wallet on Base, Arbitrum or Ethereum. The USDC stays in your wallet until the moment of payment, you pay the network gas, and the fee on the top-up is listed as 2% in the fee table, although the home page claims “0% deposit fees” for USDC. The two statements have not been reconciled at the time of writing.

Can I add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?

Yes. Both wallets are supported at no extra cost, and the card number is replaced by a device-specific token with a one-time dynamic code at each payment. The iOS and Android apps are listed as “Coming soon”, so for now you manage the card through the web interface and the wallets for payments.

Is the card safe?

The card’s design separates the money risk from the service risk: your USDC is in your own wallet, which means you carry the key-management risk, and the card-issuing partner carries the programme risk. If the card-issuing partner’s programme is suspended by Visa, the card side would close; your USDC, in your own wallet, would remain accessible. The card’s safety, like any self-custody product, depends on how you manage the 24-word recovery phrase, how you avoid phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware, and how carefully you send USDC on the right network.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team