Agora card review: a privacy-focused card that costs more than it first appears

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Agora positions itself as a no-KYC crypto card with the convenience of Visa or Mastercard spending and mobile wallet support. On paper, that combination sounds like exactly what people in restrictive jurisdictions, or anyone who simply does not want to hand over ID documents to a card issuer, have been looking for. The reality, once you start adding up issuance fees, top-up charges, transaction fees and FX markups, is more complicated. This review walks through what Agora actually offers, what it costs in real spending scenarios, where the gaps are, and who the card genuinely makes sense for.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Agora works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Agora earns a 5.4 out of 10 in my assessment. That score is built on five criteria, and the table below shows how each one weighed in. The card does some things well: it works in most countries, supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, and offers a clear “no verification” entry point. But the costs stack up faster than the marketing suggests, and several basic questions about the company, the issuer and the legal framework are not answered on the official pages.

Criterion Score Why it matters
Who can get it 9 / 10 26 countries and regions are blocked, including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela — but the rest of the world is open.
Cost 1 / 10 Issuance starts at $90 for the basic virtual card; add a 2% top-up fee, a per-transaction fee and 1.5% FX, and a real-world spending round-trip lands near 5% of the amount.
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDT and USDC are listed, but the page does not say which networks are supported, and no other coins are named.
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 The issuer and the licences are not named on the official site; the company was reportedly established in April 2026, and unofficial reviews flag the lack of legal documents and anonymous structure.
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual Basic, Virtual Plus and a physical card, plus Apple Pay and Google Pay, cover the everyday cases. The physical card adds ATM access for 2%.
Total 5.4 / 10

If you fit the audience Agora is built for, a privacy-minded user who wants a no-KYC virtual card and is willing to pay a premium for that convenience, the card can do the job. If you are cost-sensitive, want transparent regulation behind the card, or need anything beyond a prepaid spending tool, the score reflects how thin the rest of the package is.

Who they will issue the card to

Agora serves most of the world, but the official page lists 26 countries and regions it cannot serve because of “regulatory requirements.” The blocked list covers a wide arc of geography and a specific set of sanctions-related and politically sensitive jurisdictions.

The full list, as published on the card’s page, breaks down as follows:

That is a hard line in the sand: the card is not for residents or citizens of those places, and there is no work-around that the company describes. Whether the rule is applied by citizenship, by country of residence, or both is not stated on the official page. If you have dual nationality or have recently moved, you would need to ask support directly. The contact channels are listed later in this review under the risks section.

For everyone else, the entry door is open. The card is sold as a virtual product first, with a physical option on top. There is no minimum age stated, no income requirement, and the page emphasises a no-verification sign-up flow.

How to get it

The sign-up story is what sets Agora apart from most crypto cards on the market, and it is also the part of the offer that needs the most careful reading. Here is what is actually published, and what is not.

What you can take from this: the official pages do not promise anonymity, and they do not promise KYC. They are silent on both. Unofficial sources describe a no-verification entry point, but the absence of legal terms on the official site is its own kind of risk, which I come back to in the risks section. If you are considering this card specifically because of its privacy stance, that is a real reason to consider it. If you are considering it for that reason and also want legal recourse if something goes wrong, the two priorities pull against each other.

Fees: what it really costs

The cost story has three layers: the upfront price of the card itself, the fee on every top-up, and the fee on every spend. Each layer is small on its own, and the totals add up to a meaningful drag on every transaction. The table below is built only from values that appear on Agora’s official pages.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Agora payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Virtual Basic Virtual Plus Physical
One-time issuance $90 (includes $10 credit) $100 (includes $10 credit) $500 (no credit mentioned)
Validity 3 years 4 years 4 years
Top-up fee 2% 2.5% 2%
Transaction fee $0.35 + 1.5% $0.35 + 1.5% $0.10 + 1.5%
FX (foreign currency) 1.5% 1.5% 1.5%
Page-stated total per spend 5.0% 5.5% 5.0% (7.0% with ATM)
ATM n/a (no ATM access) n/a (no ATM access) 2%
Daily spend limit $240,000 $900,000 $240,000
Monthly spend limit $900,000 Unlimited $900,000
Per-transaction cap $20,000 $60,000 $20,000
ATM daily / monthly — — $1,500 / $15,000

A monthly fee, if any, is not stated on the official page. Unofficial sources describe the card as having no monthly fee, but I would not rely on that without seeing it in the official terms.

Three everyday scenarios, to make the numbers concrete:

Two things to keep in mind while you compare this to other cards. First, the page totals already include the top-up fee in the per-spend percentages, so when you see “5.0%” that is the all-in round-trip from the moment you load the card to the moment the merchant is paid. Second, network fees for the blockchain transfer you use to top the card up are not included in that number. Tether and Circle transfers cost gas on the underlying network, and that is on top of the percentages above. Unofficial sources describe “flat blockchain network fees on every top-up” as a known cost, which matches how this category generally works: the blockchain charges for moving value, the card provider charges for converting and routing it.

Top up: how to fund the card

Top-up is the part of the offer where Agora is most open-ended, and not in a way that helps the reader. Two things are stated. The rest is not.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Agora starts with a transfer to the right network

What is stated:

What is not stated:

The practical advice here is to ask support, through one of the channels listed later, which network the company expects for USDT and USDC before you send anything. A wrong-network transfer in crypto is normally irreversible, and the only recovery path is the card’s support team — which, as discussed below, may or may not be able to help.

Paying with it every day

Once the card is loaded, the everyday experience is the strongest part of the offer. Three product tiers cover the main cases, the card works in mobile wallets, and the published prohibitions are narrower than many competitors’.

The daily limits are generous at the top end — the Virtual Plus has “unlimited” monthly spending and a $900,000 daily cap, which is well beyond what an individual would normally spend. The Physical card’s ATM limit is more modest, at $1,500 a day and $15,000 a month, which is in line with prepaid cards generally.

What can go wrong

Agora is a small, new product from a brand that is not yet widely known, and the public information about the company behind it is thin. Here is what I found, separated into what the card’s own pages say, what third-party sources say, and what the category itself carries as risk.

Company and structure

Track record and complaints

Security

The category-level risks worth keeping in mind, since they apply to any card in this space:

What to take instead

If the Agora card’s combination of features is close to what you want but the costs or the missing information give you pause, three alternatives are worth a look. Each one is rated in our crypto-cards research and covers a slightly different angle on the same problem.

Cardex, scored 5.6 out of 10

Cardex advertises “one crypto card, 200+ countries” and no country list or exclusions on the page. Its App Store listing is built around a Naira-priced card, which makes the strongest case for users in Nigeria, though the product is positioned more broadly. It supports USDT, USDC and BTC, on networks that are not stated. Conversion at the moment of payment is handled by what the site calls an “AI-powered conversion rate” that scans global exchanges; no fee percentage is published. The trade-off is that you do not see a number, you trust the algorithm.

TakeCard, scored 5.5 out of 10

TakeCard is a virtual card available immediately and a physical card that is, for now, only available to Bolivian users. It is on the Visa network, issued in the United States, prepaid, and denominated in US dollars: USD payments go through 1:1 with no currency adjustment, while other currencies use the official Visa rate of the transaction day. Issuance is $5 for the virtual card, $20 plus shipping for the physical (one article in the same help centre says $10 for the physical in Bolivia — the sources disagree). The published per-purchase commission is 1%. The trade-off is geography: outside Bolivia, you are looking at the virtual card only, and the help articles do not list the full list of supported countries.

OkiCard, scored 6.0 out of 10

OkiCard describes itself as serving “150+ countries” (some pages say 200+), with “no geo-blocking based on your passport,” and asks users to confirm they are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction. It is a virtual card on Visa or Mastercard, denominated in USD or EUR, and is one of the cheaper options on issuance: the pricing page lists $0 issuance, $0 monthly, and a starting price of $15 for the virtual card, with an FAQ that mentions a one-time issuance fee (the pages disagree). The load fee is 3% and the USD transaction fee is 0% with “no hidden exchange spreads.” Funding is published in more detail than Agora: USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron and Solana, USDC “soon,” and BTC and other coins “coming soon.” The trade-off is that the FX fee is not stated, and the founding information is also less complete than I would like to see.

If you are choosing between these four, the short version is: Agora if you specifically need the no-KYC entry point and a virtual card; Cardex if you are in or near Nigeria and want the BTC support; TakeCard if you are in Bolivia and want a low-cost physical card; OkiCard if you want a published, multi-network funding list and can live without the no-KYC promise.

Who I would recommend it to

The case for Agora is narrow and specific. It is the right card if you:

I would not recommend Agora if you:

In short: Agora is a useful tool for a specific kind of user, and the score of 5.4 reflects the gap between what it does well (access, mobile wallets, no KYC) and what it does not (transparent costs, clear regulatory standing, broad funding options). If you fit the audience, the card can do the job. If you do not, the alternatives above will likely be a better fit.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Agora card?

Agora is a prepaid crypto card from a brand called Agora Cards. It comes in three versions: Virtual Basic, Virtual Plus and a Physical card. The card is spent from a balance funded by USDT or USDC, and the official pages describe the service as “self-custodial” while also saying funds are held by custodian partners.

How does the Agora card work?

You buy the card on Agora’s website, send USDT or USDC to a deposit address, and the card converts the stablecoin into a fiat balance that the card then spends. The conversion carries a top-up fee, and each transaction carries a fixed fee plus a percentage, with an extra 1.5% on foreign-currency transactions.

Is Agora a bank?

No. Agora is a card programme. The actual card-issuing institution, which would normally be a regulated bank or e-money institution, is not named on the official page. In the structure of most crypto cards, the brand you see is a programme manager, and the regulated issuer is behind it.

Who owns Agora?

The brand is “Agora Cards.” The legal entity behind it is not named on the official page. Unofficial sources describe it as a Singapore-incorporated company established in April 2026.

Is the Agora card available in my country?

The card is open to most of the world, but 26 countries and regions are blocked: Somalia, Central African Republic, DR Congo, Guinea-Bissau, Libya, Mali, South Sudan, Sudan, Zimbabwe, Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Myanmar, North Korea, Syria, Yemen, Belarus, Russia, Ukraine, Cuba, Haiti, Nicaragua and Venezuela. Whether the rule is by citizenship, by residence, or both is not stated.

Does the Agora card require KYC?

The official page does not state a KYC process. Unofficial sources describe Agora as a “Level 0” card that does not require email verification, phone verification, ID, proof of address or a selfie at sign-up. That classification is from a third party and is not confirmed on Agora’s own pages.

How do I top up the Agora card?

The official page says only “USDT and USDC Supported.” Which blockchain networks are accepted, what the minimum top-up is, who pays the network fee, and whether fiat top-ups are supported at all are not stated on the official page. Unofficial sources describe “flat blockchain network fees on every top-up,” which suggests the user pays the gas.

Is the Agora card free?

No. The Virtual Basic costs $90, the Virtual Plus costs $100, and the Physical card costs $500. A monthly fee is not stated on the official page. On top of the issuance cost, top-ups are 2% to 2.5%, transactions carry a fixed fee plus 1.5%, and foreign-currency transactions add another 1.5%, which the page totals at 5.0% to 5.5% per spend for virtual cards and 5.0% to 7.0% for the physical card (including ATM).

How do I add the Agora card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Both Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported on the virtual and physical cards. The card is managed through web pages at app.agora.cards and cards.agora.supplies, rather than a native mobile app, so the usual flow is to add the card details from the web interface into the wallet app on your phone.

Is the Agora card safe?

That depends on what you compare it to. The official page describes the service as “self-custodial” while also saying balances are held by custodian partners, and the two statements are not reconciled. The legal entity, the card issuer and the licences behind the card are not named on the official page, and unofficial reviews flag the lack of legal documentation and the anonymous company structure. If you are evaluating safety, the right comparison is not to a bank, which has deposit guarantees, but to other prepaid crypto cards where the issuer and the licence are usually visible.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team