CoinPay card review — a Mastercard debit card on a crypto-and-fiat balance, with most of its real fees still left unstated

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you have ever tried to open a bank account and been turned away — because of where you live, because you don’t have a local credit history, or because your income arrives in cryptocurrency — the pitch behind CoinPay is the kind of thing that makes you lean in. A Mastercard debit card, both physical and virtual, spent from a balance that can hold crypto, US dollars, Costa Rican colones or other fiat, run by a Costa Rica–based operator that also works as a virtual asset service provider under local law. No monthly fee is advertised, no card-issuance price is listed, no Apple Pay or Google Pay support is mentioned. That mix of promise and silence is exactly what I went looking for, and the picture that came back is a useful one for anyone considering the card.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
CoinPay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

CoinPay scores 5.3 out of 10 in my review, which puts it in the middle of the pack for crypto cards and well below the strongest options. The card itself is functional: a Mastercard, accepted wherever Mastercard works, with a virtual card issued on request and a physical one delivered to your address. The fundamentals are there. What pulls the score down is everything that sits around the card: a fee schedule that the operator doesn’t publish, a top-up process that doesn’t name the coins or networks it accepts, a card issuer that isn’t identified, and a list of countries the operator won’t verify that is unusual in both its length and its inclusion of the United States, Canada and most of Eastern Europe. For someone in Costa Rica or elsewhere in Latin America, with a balance that mixes crypto and colones, this could be a reasonable everyday card. For most readers, especially in the US, Canada, Russia, Belarus or Serbia, the card is simply not available.

Score breakdown

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 Mastercard acceptance is global in principle, but the operator’s verification list excludes a long list of countries including the US, Canada, Russia, Belarus and Serbia.
Cost 5 / 10 The site confirms there are service costs, including for sending and distributing the card, but does not publish any of the actual fees.
Top-up options 4 / 10 The balance accepts cryptocurrencies, dollars, colones or other fiat, but the supported coins and networks are not listed.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 The operator (Raw Industries CCM S.R.L., Costa Rica) and a separate financial services provider (JPC Solutions S.R.L.) are named, but the card issuer isn’t, and I found no Trustpilot or Reddit discussion to lean on.
Everyday use 6 / 10 Mastercard debit, physical and virtual, with ATM support, but no statement on Apple Pay, Google Pay or cashback.
Total 5.3 / 10 Functional card on paper, with too much left unstated for me to recommend it without caveats.

The audience that gets the most out of this card is the one the operator is built around: people in Costa Rica and neighbouring parts of Latin America who want to hold both crypto and local fiat on the same card, who are happy to live with a small operator without a public track record, and who don’t need mobile wallet support or rich rewards. If that isn’t you, there are clearer choices further down this page.

Who CoinPay will give the card to

The headline answer is short: CoinPay will give the card to anyone whose verification it accepts, and the card itself works wherever Mastercard is accepted. There is no per-country card list, no whitelist of supported states, no carve-out for a particular region. The constraint sits in the other direction, in the list of countries the operator will not verify.

According to the operator’s own statement, “we do not accept verification requests for people from” the following places: Cuba, Pakistan, North Korea, Iran, Syria, Crimea, the United States, Canada, Ethiopia, Iraq, Serbia, Sri Lanka, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Vanuatu, Yemen, Russia and Belarus. The basis — citizenship, residence, or both — isn’t specified on the public page, which is a meaningful gap. A reader in good standing in another country is welcome, but if any part of your identity overlaps with one of these, expect problems.

That list does a lot of the work for this section. The card is, in principle, available almost everywhere else. In practice, several large regions are excluded: most of the English-speaking developed world (the US, Canada), a wide band of the Middle East (Iran, Iraq, Syria, Yemen), much of South Asia (Pakistan, Sri Lanka) and a long arc through Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union (Russia, Belarus, Serbia, Crimea). The inclusion of the United States is unusual for a crypto card and is worth weighing on its own: many of the better-known alternatives are US-only or US-first products.

The card’s network, currency and form factor are also worth noting here, because they shape who can use it usefully. The card is an international Mastercard debit card, available in both physical and virtual form (the virtual card is issued on request through the app). The currency the card settles in is not stated publicly, which matters when a Costa Rican issuer meets a merchant in another country: the card may be treated as foreign by some merchants, with the usual consequences for address-verification and the occasional decline. The balance that the card spends from can hold cryptocurrencies, US dollars, colones or other fiat, but the card’s own currency isn’t named — that ambiguity comes up again in the costs section.

How to sign up

The signup flow is a two-step KYC process, and the second step is the one that actually unlocks the card. The operator describes two levels of verification. Level 1 has no preset monetary limits but excludes the card entirely, so it functions as an account-level onboarding that lets you look around the app and hold a balance, but not pay anyone. Level 2 is the level that gets the card: it covers enhanced due diligence, including identity, residence and the source of your funds or income, and it requires the operator’s approval before the card is issued.

What the operator does not state is the practical side of all this. The list of accepted identity documents, the exact proof-of-address requirement, the minimum age, the processing time and the reasons an application might be rejected — none of those are published. If you have been through a KYC process before, you can guess at the shape: a government-issued ID, a recent utility bill or bank statement, perhaps a payslip or wallet history, and a wait that can stretch from hours to several working days. The wait can also drag if the operator’s compliance team asks for follow-up documents, which is the most common reason onboarding takes longer than the marketing suggests.

Once Level 2 is approved, the card itself is straightforward. The virtual card is generated on request in the app and is meant for online use; the physical card is delivered to the address on your account. The countries the physical card can be shipped to, the delivery time, the cost of shipping and the cost of a replacement card are all not stated. If you are reading this from somewhere outside the operator’s usual reach, that is an open question you will need to ask support before paying for shipping you cannot recover.

Fees: what the card really costs

The shortest honest answer to “what does CoinPay cost?” is that the operator does not publish the cost. The site says it charges “service costs” and that these include the cost of sending and distributing the card, but no numbers appear on the public pages. The same is true for the standard crypto-card fees: conversion, foreign exchange, ATM, monthly maintenance. None of them are quoted.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a CoinPay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

For readers used to cards that publish a clear fee table, this is the part to slow down on. A card you can sign up for in five minutes may not be the same card a year later if fees change, and a card whose fees you have to discover in the app after signup is one you should treat with caution. The right time to find out the cost is before you load money onto it, not after.

Fee or limit What CoinPay publishes
Card issuance Not stated; site refers to service costs covering card distribution
Monthly or annual fee Not stated
Crypto-to-fiat conversion Not stated
Foreign exchange / non-card-currency spending Not stated
ATM withdrawal fee Not stated; ATM use is supported
ATM withdrawal allowance Not stated
Daily spending limit No fixed amount; Level 2 may be adjusted; user can set their own
Monthly spending limit No fixed amount; user can set their own

A few practical patterns for everyday payments are worth walking through, because the unstated fees still matter even when the amounts are hidden.

Buying coffee in colones with a balance that is partly crypto. You pay at a Costa Rican merchant. The card runs as a domestic Mastercard transaction in colones. If your balance is held in crypto, the operator converts at its own rate before the payment clears; that rate is the conversion fee in everything but name, and it is not disclosed. If your balance is in colones already, no conversion is needed and this is the cheapest possible path.

Paying a subscription in US dollars from a US-dollar balance. A clean path in principle. The merchant is paid in dollars, your balance is in dollars, and there should be no FX. The card’s own currency not being named is the only wrinkle: if the card settles in colones and converts at the point of sale, the FX fee reappears in a different form.

Withdrawing cash from an ATM abroad. ATM use is supported, but the fee and any per-transaction cap are not published. The absence of published ATM terms is a strong reason to make your first ATM withdrawal a small one and to check the app or the receipt before assuming a larger amount will behave the same way.

There is also a structural detail that affects cost: the card is described as a prepaid-style debit card drawn from the balance. It cannot overdraw, which is a useful guardrail, but it also means you do not earn interest on idle funds and you do not get the consumer protections of a credit card under schemes like Regulation Z in the US. The operator’s terms limit its liability to the fees paid for the disputed transaction — a low ceiling if anything goes wrong.

Top up: how to fund the card

The card spends from a balance that can hold cryptocurrencies, US dollars, colones or other fiat, and “top up” is the operator’s term for moving value into that balance. Beyond that, the public pages are quiet. The supported coins, the supported networks, the deposit address type and the minimum top-up amount are all not stated.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up CoinPay starts with a transfer to the right network

That gap is bigger than it sounds, because the wrong network choice on a stablecoin transfer is the single most common way people lose money in crypto. A USDT transfer sent on the wrong chain can arrive at a deposit address that doesn’t accept it, and blockchain transfers are irreversible. The same risk applies to USDC: Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so a “USDC over TRC20” deposit is not a current option for any USDC-accepting service, and the operator here doesn’t tell you which options it does accept. If you have used other cards, you will probably know to test with a small amount first; with CoinPay that habit is closer to a requirement.

The operator also offers a separate “Reception and withdrawal” bank service without published terms, which suggests fiat on- and off-ramps beyond the in-app balance. Without more information, the safest read is that the app is the primary top-up surface and the bank service is a secondary path for users who need it.

A few practical questions worth putting to support before your first top-up: which coins and networks are accepted, what is the minimum top-up, how long does a top-up take to clear, and what happens if you send funds on the wrong network. The answers determine whether this card is usable for you at all.

Paying with the card every day

In normal use, the card behaves like a Mastercard debit card. You tap or insert it at a point-of-sale terminal, enter a PIN for cash amounts, and the purchase is settled against your balance. Online, you type the card details — the long number, the expiry, the CVC — into the merchant’s checkout. The virtual card, generated in the app, is meant for exactly this kind of online use; the physical card is the one you carry.

A handful of everyday features are not in evidence. The operator does not state whether Apple Pay or Google Pay are supported, and the app is installable as a PWA rather than a native app, so on-the-go tokenised payments through a phone wallet are not something you can take for granted. Cashback or other rewards for spending on the card are not stated. The dispute and chargeback process is not addressed in the operator’s terms, with liability capped at the fees paid for the transaction. Standard 3-D Secure (Mastercard’s “Identity Check” brand) is what protects online payments, and the card supports the usual instant block, PIN change and spending-limit controls through the app, with real-time notifications on transactions.

For day-to-day reliability, the picture is uneventful in the way a young product usually is. I found no public Trustpilot or Reddit thread for CoinPay.cr, no widely reported outages, and no major incident. That absence cuts both ways: there is no obvious disaster to warn you about, and there is also no long public history of users telling you what to expect. A card with a long paper trail of complaints is, paradoxically, an easier card to evaluate than a card that nobody is talking about.

What can go wrong

The first thing that can go wrong is the part you might not expect: the operator publishes very little, and that means several risk-bearing decisions are pushed onto you. Fee surprises are the obvious one — the operator does not publish the conversion margin. Top-up surprises are the second: send the wrong coin to the wrong network and the funds are not coming back, because blockchain transfers are irreversible and recovery, where the operator offers it, is manual and uncertain. Address-verification declines are the third, and they are baked into the card itself rather than the operator: a card whose issuer country (Costa Rica) differs from the merchant’s billing country can look foreign to the merchant’s BIN lookup, and some merchants decline those transactions outright, especially for prepaid products.

A few risks are specific to this product. The card issuer is not named in the public materials; the operator is Raw Industries CCM S.R.L. (a Costa Rican technology operator) and the financial services side is provided by JPC Solutions S.R.L., with both entities operating under Costa Rican virtual asset service provider rules but no licence numbers published. A reader who wants to verify the regulatory position will not be able to from the website alone. The operator’s terms also state that the operator itself does not hold or custody user funds — financial providers do — which is the right structure for risk but again requires the user to know who the financial provider is.

There is a more general category of risk to keep in mind, because it is the reason crypto cards exist in the first place. With a custodial balance, the card provider (or its financial partner) is the custodian of the funds, and the long history of crypto-custodian failure is the background to every card on the market. The standard safeguards — app-based two-factor authentication, an instant card freeze, spending limits, 3-D Secure and tokenised mobile wallets — are in place at CoinPay to the extent the public pages describe, and that is the right baseline, but it is a baseline that did not save users of several well-known exchanges. The principle is the same one the operator itself applies: not your keys, not your coins, even when the “coins” are sitting on a card balance.

The contact surface for support is reasonable for a small operator: WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook Messenger and an in-app chat, with replies promised “within a few minutes”, and the site itself in Spanish, English and Portuguese. Support hours are not stated. If you are somewhere in those three languages and you can move the conversation onto WhatsApp, you are likely to get a faster answer than through a long email chain.

What to take instead

If CoinPay’s missing fees, unnamed card issuer and broad country exclusion are dealbreakers for you, the comparison below is a starting point. None of these is a perfect match for what CoinPay offers, but each one is more transparent about something CoinPay isn’t.

Card Score Where it works Card network Cashback Cost clarity
CoinPay 5.3 / 10 Excludes a long list of countries; otherwise where Mastercard is taken Mastercard Not stated Fees not published
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses; broad unsupported list Visa 5% at select merchants (currently Uber) “No extra fees” stated, but no schedule
Stella 6.5 / 10 Countries not stated; US and European users routed through affiliates Visa No cashback stated on the card Fees not stated officially
UniFi Card 4.7 / 10 Send-money routes include the Philippines, Mexico, eurozone, Colombia, Brazil, UK (unofficial) Visa, issued by Lead Bank “3% rewards on balances” claimed (unofficial) Fees not stated

Whop Cards is the closest comparison for a US-based reader, because the consumer programme covers 31 states and a Visa card is issued from a US balance; the catch is the rewards are concentrated on a small merchant set. Stella scores higher than CoinPay in this comparison and is closer to CoinPay in spirit, with a virtual-and-physical Visa product that draws from a custodial in-app wallet funded by crypto, but the fee picture is also unstated. UniFi Card is interesting for its USDC-first funding model and the support for tokenised mobile payments through Apple Pay, but the country coverage and the reward claim are not officially confirmed.

The honest summary of the alternatives: there is no single card that does everything CoinPay tries to do, with all its fees published, in every country CoinPay serves. If you are in Latin America, the calculation is whether a card with unstated fees and an unnamed issuer is the right trade for the local-currency and crypto balance convenience. If you are elsewhere, the alternatives above are worth a serious look before defaulting to CoinPay.

Who I would recommend this card to

I would recommend CoinPay to a fairly narrow reader. The first is someone based in Costa Rica or a neighbouring Latin American country, holding a balance in colones and crypto, comfortable with a small operator, and not depending on mobile wallet support or a published fee schedule to manage their spending. The second is someone who already uses CoinPay for a specific reason — perhaps a payroll arrangement with a Costa Rican employer, or a remittance pattern that runs through the operator’s bank service — and who wants the card as a way to spend what is already on the platform. For both readers, the right move is to confirm the fees in the app, top up with a small amount, and run a low-value transaction before loading more.

For everyone else — readers in the United States, Canada, Russia, Belarus or Serbia (all excluded), readers in countries where card-issuer country mismatches will cause frequent declines, readers who want published fees, readers who want Apple Pay, readers who want a track record of public complaints and resolutions — I would point to one of the alternatives above. A 5.3 out of 10 is not a card to reach for first, and the gap between CoinPay and a stronger alternative is mostly the things the operator has chosen not to publish. That is the part of the review I would ask you to weigh most carefully.

Frequently asked questions

What is the CoinPay card?

The CoinPay card is a Mastercard debit card, available in physical and virtual form, that spends from a balance held inside the CoinPay app. The balance can hold cryptocurrencies, US dollars, Costa Rican colones or other fiat, and the operator behind the card is Raw Industries CCM S.R.L., a Costa Rica–registered technology operator that also acts as a virtual asset service provider under local law.

How does the CoinPay card work?

You sign up, complete Level 2 verification, request the card, and top up the in-app balance with crypto or fiat. At the point of sale the card behaves like any other Mastercard debit card: the merchant is paid in fiat, the balance is debited, and any crypto in the balance is converted to the card’s settlement currency at the operator’s rate, which is not publicly disclosed.

Is CoinPay a bank?

No. CoinPay is not a bank. The technology operator is Raw Industries CCM S.R.L., based in Costa Rica, and a separate company, JPC Solutions S.R.L., provides the financial services. The card issuer is not named on the public pages, and the operator does not hold or custody user funds itself — those are held by financial providers, in line with how most crypto-card programmes are structured.

Who owns CoinPay?

The Costa Rican corporate registry would be the authoritative source for ownership. The public-facing site names Raw Industries CCM S.R.L. as the technology operator and JPC Solutions S.R.L. as the financial services provider, but does not list individual owners, shareholders or a parent group. If ownership matters for your decision, that is a question to put to support before you commit funds.

Is the CoinPay card available in my country?

The card works wherever Mastercard is accepted, but the operator does not accept verification requests from people in Cuba, Pakistan, North Korea, Iran, Syria, Crimea, the United States, Canada, Ethiopia, Iraq, Serbia, Sri Lanka, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Vanuatu, Yemen, Russia or Belarus. The basis (citizenship, residence or both) is not specified. If any part of your identity overlaps with that list, the card is unlikely to be available to you.

How do I apply for the CoinPay card?

You create an account, complete Level 1 verification to access the app, and then complete Level 2 enhanced verification covering your identity, residence and source of funds. Once approved, you request the virtual card in the app and order the physical card, which is delivered to the address on your account. Accepted documents, processing time and shipping destinations are not stated on the public pages.

Does the CoinPay card require KYC?

Yes. The card requires Level 2 verification, which includes identity, residence and source-of-funds checks, with the operator’s approval before the card is issued. The exact documents, the proof-of-address requirement and the minimum age are not stated. Level 1 verification alone does not give access to the card.

How do I top up the CoinPay card?

You top up the in-app balance with cryptocurrencies, US dollars, colones or other fiat, and the card spends from that balance. The supported coins, networks, minimum top-up and clearing time are not stated publicly, and the wrong-network risk on stablecoin transfers is the same as with any other crypto card: a transfer on an unsupported chain may not be recoverable, because blockchain transactions are irreversible.

How do I add the CoinPay card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

The public pages do not state whether Apple Pay or Google Pay are supported. The app is installable as a PWA, but that is not the same as a native wallet integration, and tokenised mobile payments are not something the operator confirms. If mobile wallet support is important to you, that is a question to confirm with support before you sign up.

Is the CoinPay card safe?

The operator offers the standard safeguards: in-app instant block, PIN change, user-set spending limits and real-time notifications, and the operator’s terms state that user funds are held by financial providers rather than the operator itself. The card issuer is not named, the regulatory position is a Costa Rican virtual asset service provider registration without published licence numbers, and the fee structure is not public, so “safe” depends on your appetite for those gaps. Treat any balance you load as money held by a custodian, with the counterparty and operational risk that implies.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team