Moonwell Card Review: The Program Is Closed — What Former Holders Need to Do
If you are searching for the Moonwell card right now, the first thing you need to know is that there is no card to get. The program is closed. Card loading stopped and new issuance ended on July 8, 2026, and every card was cancelled on August 8, 2026. The app and the underlying infrastructure went offline on September 6, 2026. So this page is not a buying guide. It is for the person who held the card and is trying to understand what happened and what to do next, and for anyone who saw the card described somewhere and is wondering whether it is worth chasing.

Conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
I score the Moonwell card 2.3 out of 10. That score is not a judgment on crypto cards in general, and it is not a criticism of how Moonwell handled the shutdown. It reflects what exists today: there is no product to rate. For a former cardholder, that score is almost beside the point — what matters to you is the timeline above and the withdrawal terms I walk through below.
What happened to the Moonwell card program
The Moonwell card did not fail suddenly. It ended with a published notice and a staged timeline, and the sequence matters if you are still holding a balance or wondering whether something is owed to you.
Here is how it unfolded, based on the notice from the card’s infrastructure provider Cypher, dated July 8, 2026:
- The card infrastructure was provided by Cypher (CypherD Wallet Inc.), which has been acquired by Nium.
- Card loading stopped and new issuance ended on July 8, 2026.
- The last day to use the cards was August 8, 2026 at 00:00 UTC. All cards were cancelled on that date.
- The final rewards cycle ran from July 2 to July 16, 2026.
- The app, the dApp, and withdrawals closed on September 6, 2026.
- Moonwell says the team is building a successor platform on Nium infrastructure and is exploring new card providers, with no timeline given.
So there were two hard deadlines for you as a holder: you could no longer add money to the card after July 8, and you could no longer spend after August 8. By September 6, the app and the withdrawal route were gone too.
One thing worth setting straight: Moonwell is a lending protocol, and the card was a product built on top of someone else’s payment rails. The card’s public pages have been taken down and the moonwell.fi site no longer carries card content, so the card’s own public terms — who could apply, what it cost, which currencies it supported, what the limits were, what verification was required — are simply not stated any more. If you are trying to reconstruct those details, they are not recoverable from the card’s own pages.
The details below come from third-party reporting rather than from Moonwell’s own materials, and I treat them as unofficial and not confirmed by the card. According to that reporting, the card was a Visa debit card that spent on-chain USDC at more than 44 million merchants and launched in December 2024, available in more than 180 countries except New York and Vermont. It charged a 0.5 percent fee to load USDC and a 1.5 percent currency conversion fee, and it supported Apple Pay and Google Pay. Historically, you could fund it with on-chain USDC, or use a “borrow-and-load” feature that let you borrow against your Moonwell lending positions and load the proceeds onto the card. All of that is now academic.
The reason for the closure is not a mysterious collapse but an acquisition. Cypher, which ran the card infrastructure, was bought by Nium, and the cards went down with it. This is actually a useful thing to understand about how crypto cards are built, so let me make it concrete before we get to what you should do.
Why a card can close when the crypto project doesn’t
Most people assume the crypto brand is the bank. It usually is not. A payment card involves several parties: the card network (Visa or Mastercard) routes the messages and sets the rules; the issuer — a bank or an e-money institution licensed to issue under the network’s licence — actually holds the card programme; and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or a front-end that markets the card. The Moonwell card sat on top of Cypher’s infrastructure. When Cypher changed hands, the infrastructure underneath it changed, and so did the programme’s future.
The networks themselves do not issue crypto cards to consumers. Visa and Mastercard license issuers and can suspend a programme — in November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX,” and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. A similar pattern of a licensed issuer’s decision ending a programme is what happened with Moonwell’s card, though the cause here was an acquisition rather than a termination.
The history is worth knowing so that you read the rest of this page with the right expectations. When you hold a crypto card, you are trusting at least two organisations: the crypto brand you chose, and the regulated issuer that actually runs the card. Either can change. That is not a scare tactic; it is simply the structure of the product.
If you already held the Moonwell card
This is the section that matters most if you are reading this as a former cardholder, so I will take it slowly.
The good news is that the shutdown was handled in an orderly way, and there was a defined path to get your money out. The infrastructure provider’s notice made several commitments, and these are the ones you need to hold on to:
- The card balance was withdrawable via the Cypher app or the Cypher dApp at no fee, until September 6, 2026.
- The Cypher wallet is non-custodial, meaning you hold your own keys — the funds were yours, not the provider’s.
- Rewards earned before July 16, 2026 were honoured, but they had to be claimed before the end date.
- Cypher support was reachable at [email protected], available through September 6, 2026 and then through a 60-day transitional period after that. The notice did not state which languages were supported or the support hours.
Let me be honest about the timeline you are actually up against. If you did not withdraw by September 6, 2026, the app and dApp withdrawal route was closed. The support email and the 60-day transitional period after September 6 are the threads you would pull, but the withdrawal mechanism itself was tied to the app and dApp. If you are in that situation — you had a balance, the deadline has passed, and the money is not back — then your first and only move is to contact Cypher support at [email protected] and explain the situation, citing the July 8, 2026 notice. That is what the transitional support period exists for. I cannot tell you what they will do, and I am not going to promise you a good outcome; I am telling you who holds the keys to that conversation and how to reach them.
If you did withdraw in time, the sensible next step is to confirm the funds actually landed in your own wallet and that you control the keys. Because the Cypher wallet is non-custodial, once the balance is in your own wallet, it is yours and no one in this chain can pull it back.
A few further points for holders, and here I have to be straight about what the card’s own pages no longer say:
- Cash machines, spending limits, and top-up methods are not stated on the card’s public pages any more, because the programme is closed. Card loading ended on July 8, 2026, so top-up is moot.
- Disputes are not stated on the card’s public pages. With the cards cancelled and the issuer wound down, there is no live programme to raise a dispute with.
- Funding was, per unofficial reporting, on-chain USDC, plus the borrow-and-load feature against Moonwell positions. Both are now closed.
The non-custody point deserves a moment, because it cuts both ways and I do not want to oversell it. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or the seed phrase. With a custodial wallet, the provider holds the credentials and you must trust them completely; with the Cypher wallet being non-custodial, you held the keys yourself. That is a genuine advantage — it means no one could simply take your balance. But it also means the reverse: a seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words in an unencrypted form of your private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend its funds. And cryptocurrency transfers are typically irreversible — a stolen private key has no built-in recovery, because the network cannot freeze or return the funds. So “you hold the keys” is a real protection against the provider, and a real responsibility on you.
The rewards you may have earned
The final rewards cycle ran from July 2 to July 16, 2026, and rewards earned before that date were honoured if claimed before the end date. That end date has passed. If you had unclaimed rewards, that is another item to raise with Cypher support, in the same message as any balance issue.
What can go wrong
For a closed card, “risks” means something a little different than for a live product. You are not being exposed to a provider failing while you are mid-payment; you are exposed to the friction around a wind-down. Let me lay out the specific things that can go wrong, and what to do about each.
Missing the withdrawal deadline. This is the big one, and it is the reason this section exists. The withdrawal route closed on September 6, 2026. If your balance was still on the card then, you are relying on Cypher’s transitional support period rather than on a functioning in-app withdrawal. Contact [email protected] as soon as possible if that describes you.
Unclaimed rewards. Rewards had to be claimed before the end date. Anything unclaimed is now a support question, not an app action.
Nothing about the card’s own terms is recoverable. Because the public pages no longer carry card content, who could apply, what the fees were, what the limits were, and what verification was required are all simply not stated. If you are trying to work out what you were entitled to, or reconstruct the terms you accepted, you cannot get that from Moonwell’s site any more. This is another reason a support conversation with the infrastructure provider is the route, not a web search.
Nobody has heard of any complaints — which cuts both ways. I looked for complaints about the Moonwell card and found no Trustpilot or Reddit complaints about it as of October 20, 2026. That is mildly reassuring in one sense: the card does not appear to have been widely mishandled in its active life. But in another sense it tells you something about scale — a card with essentially no public complaint footprint is often a card with a smaller user base, which can mean less support attention. I would not read the absence of complaints as proof that everything went smoothly for every holder; I would read it as simply not knowing.
Company and registration details are thin. The card infrastructure was Cypher (CypherD Wallet Inc.), acquired by Nium. But Moonwell’s own company and registration details are not publicly stated. So if your question is “who exactly do I have a legal relationship with here,” the card’s own public pages do not answer it clearly. That is another reason the support email is your best contact.
Sanctions and record-keeping do not end with the closure. Cypher noted that anti-money-laundering law requires keeping identification and transaction records for at least five years after account closure. That is worth knowing: your records with this chain of providers do not simply evaporate, and requests for information from that side can legitimately arrive years later. I am not suggesting anything improper; I am just telling you the record-keeping continues past the shutdown date.
Moonwell-specific security controls are not stated. Cypher’s setup, as described, was a non-custodial wallet where you keep your own keys. But Moonwell’s own security controls are not stated. So do not assume the crypto brand’s security posture is documented anywhere you can check.
I want to add one general point about how these things usually end, because it is reassuring in this specific case. Programme closures typically follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. The Moonwell closure followed exactly that pattern, and it followed it with published dates and a support contact. That is a comparatively orderly wind-down, and it is a fair thing to credit.
What to take instead
Since you cannot get the Moonwell card, the practical question is what other options exist for the job the Moonwell card was doing — turning crypto or stablecoins into everyday card spending — especially if you are someone who has trouble getting an ordinary bank card. I looked at the main alternatives and scored them; here is how they compare.
The card I would think about first is Nexo, and it scores 6.3 out of 10 on the same basis. A few things stand out. Nexo has no monthly, annual, or inactivity fee. Its foreign exchange fee is 0.2 percent on weekdays for the EEA, UK, and Switzerland, and 2 percent for the rest of the world; on weekends it is 0.7 percent and 2.5 percent respectively. It offers both a virtual card (which activates in the app) and a physical one, and supports over 100 digital assets. It is for residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom” — note that wording carefully, because the eligibility rule is citizens AND residents, and the page does not publish a specific country list, so you would need to confirm your own country. The physical card is free to ship but requires a balance above $5,000 in digital assets and at least the Gold tier. Its cashback applies only to purchases in Credit Mode with more than $5,000 in digital assets, and pays in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin.
One caution on Nexo: news (not official) reported a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged Russia-sanctions and anti-money-laundering violations, with no official Nexo statement on Russians being found. I include that not to editorialize but because if you are reading this because ordinary banking is difficult for you, a provider’s regulatory history is legitimately part of your decision.
Pay3 also scores 6.3. It offers a virtual, a physical, and Apple Pay/Google Pay cards on Visa. It is open to users outside “Restricted Locations” — countries under trade sanctions, export controls, or crypto/fin fintech prohibitions — with the list unpublished and subject to change; users, citizens, or residents of those locations are excluded, and card terms require you to attest you are not a US citizen and not OFAC-blocked. Card issuance “starts at $5” and spending from $0.15 per transaction, though monthly and annual fees are not stated and fees vary by card type, currency, and location. Its currency conversion is “from 1.15 percent,” with foreign exchange, cross-border, and foreign transaction fees each up to 3 percent. The card is collateral-based — your collateral sets the limit — and you fund it with stablecoins or fiat into a multi-currency account.
Exa scores 6.2. It issues a virtual Visa (the Visa Signature Exa Card), accepted at over 150 million merchants in more than 150 countries, in 45 countries (including Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa, and the UAE; Nigeria conditional) and 31 US states. Eighteen countries are ineligible, including Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam, and Russia — the rule is by residence, and “Russian residents cannot be issued a card,” and the card is also not usable for spending in Russia (with blocked spend in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine, and Venezuela). The card is marketed as free with no amounts on the page, though the help centre has an article on associated fees and costs whose contents I did not read. It spends from account funds or collateral via Pay Now, or as installments against a collateral credit line. There is no cashback stated; the “earn while you spend” line refers to yield on assets, not card rewards.
Here is the comparison at a glance:
| Nexo | Pay3 | Exa | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.3 / 10 | 6.3 / 10 | 6.2 / 10 |
| Card type | Virtual + physical | Virtual, physical, Apple/Google Pay | Virtual Visa Signature |
| Network | Mastercard (trademark notice; network not stated explicitly) | Visa | Visa Signature |
| Ongoing fee | No monthly, annual or inactivity fee | Not stated | Marketed free, no amounts on page |
| FX fee | 0.2% weekday / 0.7% weekend (EEA, UK, CH); 2% / 2.5% rest of world | From 1.15%; FX, cross-border and foreign transaction fees each up to 3% | Not stated |
| Cost to start | Virtual needs $50 to activate; physical needs $5,000 balance + Gold tier | Issuance from $5; spend from $0.15 | Not stated |
| Rewards | Cashback in Credit Mode with >$5,000 holdings | Not stated | No cashback; yield on assets |
All three are clearly better than the Moonwell card for the simple reason that they exist. Which one suits you depends on where you live, what you hold, and how much friction you can accept. I am deliberately not recommending one over the others, because the right answer depends entirely on your own situation — but the Moonwell card is no longer one of the options.
Who I would recommend the Moonwell card to
Honestly, to almost no one, because it cannot be recommended — it is closed and gone. If I had to phrase the recommendation anyway, it would be this: the Moonwell card is not an option for anyone today, so do not spend time looking for it.
There is a specific group I would point to one thing, though. If you held the Moonwell card and have not yet recovered your balance or your unclaimed rewards, the Moonwell card review that matters to you is not this page’s score but the July 8, 2026 notice and the support contact it left behind. Go to [email protected]. That is the thread that was left open for you.
For everyone else who is simply choosing a crypto card because ordinary banking has been awkward, my honest guidance is to pick from the options that are running now — Nexo, Pay3, or Exa — and pick the one whose country eligibility, funding method, and fee structure match your situation. And when you do choose, notice the small structural things. A crypto card number starts with an issuer identification number of 6 or 8 digits that identifies the card-issuing institution; the rest is an account identifier and a check digit. Merchants can look up that issuer and country, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. This is why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another, and it is a practical reason to prefer a card issued in a country close to where you live and shop. Address Verification Service, which compares the numeric parts of your billing address against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada, and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. None of this is specific to Moonwell; it is how this whole category behaves.
Two closing pieces of general context, because they bear on how much weight to put on any card’s promises. First, in the EU the framework is MiCA (Regulation (EU) 2023/1114): it took legal effect in June 2023, its stablecoin rules applied from June 30, 2024, and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules applied from December 30, 2024. Under MiCA a card itself is still regulated separately as a payment service, while MiCA covers the crypto side — which is why a crypto card often depends on two separate licences. Second, a card payment can still be declined or held even at a live provider: a declined authorisation may leave a hold on your funds that can remain for several days, typically up to seven. Keep that in mind for any card, closed or open.
Frequently asked questions
What was the Moonwell card?
The Moonwell card was a Visa debit card that let you spend on-chain USDC at more than 44 million merchants, launched in December 2024 and reportedly available in more than 180 countries except New York and Vermont. Those details come from third-party reporting, not from the card itself, which is now closed. It was built on infrastructure provided by Cypher (CypherD Wallet Inc.), not issued directly by Moonwell. Moonwell’s public pages no longer carry card content, so its own terms are not recoverable from the site.
How did the Moonwell card work?
You would load USDC onto the card and spend it as ordinary card balance, much like a prepaid card. It also reportedly offered a “borrow-and-load” feature, letting you borrow against Moonwell lending positions and load the proceeds. Crypto was converted and held as a balance rather than spent directly from your wallet at the till. Loading stopped on July 8, 2026, so none of this is possible any more.
Is Moonwell a bank?
No, Moonwell is a lending protocol, not a bank. The card was issued through licensed payment infrastructure run by Cypher, which was acquired by Nium. Moonwell’s own company and registration details are not officially stated. This is why the card could close without Moonwell the crypto project shutting down.
Who owns the Moonwell card now?
Nobody, in the sense that the card no longer exists — all cards were cancelled on August 8, 2026 at 00:00 UTC. The infrastructure provider Cypher has been acquired by Nium. Moonwell says it is building a successor platform on Nium infrastructure and exploring new card providers, with no timeline given. If you are a holder, the practical owner of your support conversation is Cypher, at [email protected].
Does the Moonwell card require KYC, and who could get it?
The card’s own pages do not state this — they no longer carry card content. Per unofficial reporting, the card was reportedly available in more than 180 countries except New York and Vermont. In general, cards like this involve KYC and sanctions screening under anti-money-laundering law, but I cannot tell you the Moonwell card’s specific requirements because they are not published.
How do I withdraw money from Moonwell if I missed the deadline?
The in-app and dApp withdrawal route closed on September 6, 2026, so if you missed it you are not able to withdraw through the app. Your route is Cypher’s support, which ran through September 6, 2026 and then through a 60-day transitional period. Email [email protected], cite the July 8, 2026 notice, state your situation, and include your unclaimed rewards if you had any. I cannot promise the outcome, but that is the contact left open for exactly this case.
Is the Moonwell card safe?
It no longer exists, so safety as an ongoing product does not apply. Historically, the card ran on a non-custodial Cypher wallet where you held your own keys, which is a genuine protection against the provider taking your funds. But non-custody also means you bore full responsibility for key loss and scams, and crypto transfers are typically irreversible with no recovery. I found no Trustpilot or Reddit complaints about the card as of October 20, 2026, which is mildly reassuring but not conclusive.
Is the Moonwell card worth it, and is it free?
It is neither, any more — there is nothing to sign up for and nothing to pay for, because the program is closed. For the record, unofficial reporting described a 0.5 percent fee to load USDC and a 1.5 percent currency conversion fee, with no stated monthly fee. Those prices no longer apply to anyone. If you are choosing a live card instead, look at Nexo, Pay3, or Exa, which I compare above.
How do I delete my Moonwell account?
The card’s public pages do not state any deletion process, and the app was offline from September 6, 2026. For anything on your side, since the Cypher wallet was non-custodial and you hold your own keys, the important step is to confirm your funds are in your own wallet. For any records held by the provider, note that Cypher said it must keep identification and transaction records for at least five years after account closure, so a “delete everything” request should not be expected to erase their files.
How credit and cashback cards work – cryptocardsexplained.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team
