A crypto Visa for euro spenders, priced for the deposit rather than the swipe

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Bitrefill is best known for gift cards, and its Visa card is a different product built on the same account: a prepaid card you load with crypto or euros and then spend like an ordinary bank card. The score I came away with is 6.8 out of 10 — a card that is genuinely convenient for people who already hold crypto and want to spend it in euros, and genuinely awkward for anyone who treats a bank card as something that should be free to run.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Bitrefill works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The reason for that middle-of-the-road mark is not a scandal. It is structure. The card is cheap to hold and costs you when you load it, and the limits, the 18-country-plus-three eligibility list and the deposit tiers are all built for a specific reader: residents of the European Union, Norway and Iceland who already spend bitcoin, Lightning or stablecoins in euros. If that is you, this is a sensible tool. If you want a normal bank card, or you live somewhere outside that list, it is not the card you are looking for.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Who this card is for, and who it is not

Bitrefill’s Visa is aimed at residents of the European Union plus Norway and Iceland, aged 18 or over, who spend crypto in euros. It is a prepaid card: crypto is converted and loaded as a euro balance, and the card spends only that balance. That single design decision shapes everything else — the fees, the limits, the reasons your card is refused in some shops, and why it is a good fit for one kind of person and a poor fit for another.

Who it suits

Who it does not suit

The card’s own terms say access is “subject to eligibility criteria” and that “further eligibility requirements, established and verified by our partners, shall apply”. The card page does not print a country list — the eligible-country list below comes from the terms and help material rather than the marketing page.

Eligible Explicitly excluded
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden US citizens, regardless of residence
Norway, Iceland Russian citizens, regardless of residence (unless also an EU/EEA citizen)

There is a further, softer exclusion worth knowing: the help centre carries a blocklist for verification and deposits that includes the US, Japan, Russia, Ukraine and the UAE. So a citizen of a country not on the eligible list is refused, and even an eligible resident can run into verification or deposit blocks tied to those countries.

Getting the card: it starts with a verification check, not a form

You do not apply for the Bitrefill card the way you apply for a bank account. The order of operations is: you move through the app’s identity checks first, you reach a tier, and only then does the card partner run an identity check before you can order. That detail matters if you are hoping to order a card in a few minutes — the check comes first, and it is the check that can hold you up.

Two tiers exist, and the tier is what sets your limits:

You get both a virtual and a physical Visa. The virtual card is usable the moment it arrives; the physical card has to be activated. Ordering is free and delivery goes to the address you provide, though the card page does not state a delivery time and does not state a replacement price. A second card can be requested from the Cards page, and a new one has to be ordered when the old one expires.

What is not stated anywhere on the public pages is worth saying plainly: the card page does not describe the KYC process, does not list which documents are required beyond the tier description, and does not give processing times or the reasons a check can be refused. The identity check is run by the card partner before the card is ordered, and the source-of-funds documents are set by Lightspark. If you are outside the EU when you activate, proof of address is required.

Fees: the card is free, the money you load it with is not

The headline is that the card is free through the app. Everything that costs you money happens on the way in, or on the way out at an ATM.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bitrefill payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card states
Card through the app Free
Crypto deposit fee Fixed 1.99%
SEPA pay-in fee 1.99%
Deposit spread on crypto-to-euro conversion Percentage not stated
Foreign exchange fee None; the Visa exchange rate applies to foreign-currency payments
Cash withdrawal Available at ATMs that accept Visa; fee and free allowance not stated
ATM fee 2.49% plus the ATM operator’s charge (unofficial)
Inactivity fee Applies after 12 months without spending or cash-out; amount not stated officially, EUR 10/month per a third-party source
Replacement physical card Not stated; EUR 10 per a third-party source
Minimum deposit EUR 15
Starter spend limits EUR 10,000 a day, EUR 10,000 a month, EUR 200 contactless per transaction
Plus spend limits EUR 10,000 a day, EUR 15,000 a month, EUR 200 contactless per transaction

Now three ordinary payments, to show you which of those lines actually bites.

A EUR 24 lunch in a Lisbon cafe. You pay EUR 24 in euros, so there is no currency conversion and no FX fee. The Visa rate is irrelevant — same currency. The only fee already banked was the 1.99% on the deposit that put the money there. Nothing is deducted at the till.

A EUR 40 online subscription in dollars. Here the Visa exchange rate converts the dollars to euros at the rate of the day. The card states there is no separate foreign exchange fee, so the cost of the conversion is inside that rate rather than on a separate line. That is better than most cards and worse than none: you still do not control the rate Visa applies.

A EUR 100 cash withdrawal. This is the expensive one. Cash is available at ATMs that accept Visa; the card does not state the fee or any free allowance. A third-party source puts ATM withdrawal at 2.49% on both tiers, plus whatever the ATM operator charges, with limits of EUR 350 a day and EUR 3,000 a month. That 2.49% figure is unofficial, and the same source notes the pricing page rendered those cells incorrectly, with a separate report saying the ATM line was dropped from pricing in mid-2026. If cash matters to you, treat ATM costs as unconfirmed and ask support before you rely on them.

One more cost the card does state and that people miss: an inactivity fee kicks in after 12 months without spending or cash-out. The card is deactivated when that fee takes the balance down to EUR 0. The amount is not stated on official pages; a third-party source puts it at EUR 10 a month.

Top up: which assets you can actually load, and which one went away

Topping up is where the 1.99% lands. The card page’s “Buy with” list reads like a menu of everything crypto, and that is the trap: that list is not a funding list. What the card states it accepts for funding is Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon, and a SEPA bank transfer, with Li.Finance, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa and MasterCard appearing as purchase payment options rather than as stated card funding.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bitrefill starts with a transfer to the right network

So USDT appears in that list and no longer works: USDT deposits on any network ended on 17 March 2025. If you were planning around USDT, that plan is out.

The mechanics of a deposit are simple on the surface. A fixed 1.99% Bitrefill fee applies, plus a variable exchange cost at the card partner’s live rate. The minimum deposit is currently EUR 15, and anything smaller is not added to the card. SEPA pay-in carries the same 1.99%. Store credit sitting in your Bitrefill account cannot be moved onto the card.

Getting money back off is the reverse question, and the card page answers it plainly: you can withdraw funds to a bank account for free, or take cash out at ATMs, with no limits listed on the page. What is not stated is the closure process and what happens to a remaining balance if you close voluntarily. A third-party source adds that SEPA cash-out is free within limits but not available to Swedish residents — again unofficial.

Lightning support is the detail that separates this from most crypto cards: it lets you load with small amounts over Bitcoin’s second layer rather than paying an on-chain fee for every top-up. On-chain network fees, when you do use a blockchain, are charged by the blockchain and not by the card.

Paying with it day to day

The daily picture is good, with two visible gaps.

Google Pay works with the card. Apple Pay does not: the card states it is “not supported yet” and “will be available soon”. That is a real inconvenience if you are used to paying by phone, and it is the kind of thing worth asking support about before you commit, because “soon” has no date attached to it in anything I could read.

The app is on the App Store and Google Play. I did not read the store ratings, and a third-party source reports 4.7 out of 5 on the Apple App Store from 372 ratings and 4.5 out of 5 on Google Play from 2,468 ratings — unofficial figures, not confirmed by Bitrefill.

The cashback is the standout. It is 2% in total with no cap: 1% on each crypto deposit and 1% on each purchase. The page does not state the payout currency; the terms say the rate is published on the website. The card is euro-denominated and cashback is paid in euros, so if you are spending in another currency you are still earning euros back.

Disputes follow an ordinary path. The help article on disputing a card payment says to contact the merchant first, because most refunds are handled that way. Two things to keep in mind: rewards may be debited if a transaction is refunded or charged back, and Bitrefill is not liable for merchant refusals. No time frames are stated on that page.

What is not stated, and would be useful to know: which merchants are blocked. Some cards block gambling merchants by category code, and others block whole business types; the card is silent, so you cannot plan around it in advance.

What can go wrong

This is a custodial card. Bitrefill’s site is owned and operated by Airfill Prepaid AB, based in Stockholm, Sweden. The card itself is issued by Wallester AS in Estonia, licensed by Finantsinspektsioon, and the crypto and virtual IBAN services come from Lightspark Payments Europe AS, also in Estonia and licensed by the Estonian Financial Intelligence Unit. Those are real regulated names, which matters — but custody means those partners hold the funds, so you are trusting them, and so are the risks.

Regulatory change is the live risk. From July 2026 the EU Transfer of Funds Regulation applies: deposits from a wallet you do not own, or from a virtual-asset service provider not licensed in the EU, above EUR 1,000 are declined. Strong customer authentication rules also changed how deposits work. The help centre also mentions a temporary suspension of applications from Hungarian residents. None of this means your card stops working — it means some deposits you might expect to succeed will not, and why you are told can change month to month.

Wrong network, wrong token. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or sent to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. There is no undo button, and support can only try.

The account is frozen by rule, not by mistake. Under EU anti-money-laundering rules, if due diligence cannot be completed the institution is required to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships. That is why accounts close or freeze pending documents — it is the law working as intended, not a judgement about you.

Programmes can end. Visa does not issue these cards itself; it licenses issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa ended its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its programmes. This is the category’s structural risk: the card works because an issuer and a network agree to keep it working.

Trustpilot is high, and the complaints are mostly elsewhere. The score I read was 4.5 out of 5 across 2,943 reviews, with 89% five-star and 5% one-star. Bitrefill replies to negative reviews. The complaint themes are overwhelmingly about the gift-card store, not the card: gift-card markup and fees; non-working Apple codes with accounts blocked; a lookalike fake site; a deposit pending 20 days or more with unhelpful support; refunds paused. One three-star review says the Visa card is sometimes declined at checkout. I found no official incidents and no Reddit threads worth citing. If you are reading this deciding between Bitrefill and something else, the reputation that matters to you is the card’s, not the gift-card shop’s.

Support is a help centre at help.bitrefill.com, a Contact Us form, and [email protected] for lost, stolen or unauthorised transactions.

What to take instead

The alternatives below are all weaker or differently shaped, and I want to be honest about why I still rank Bitrefill first for an EU resident. The score comparison is the starting point, not the argument.

Card Score Who it is for What stands out What does not
Bitrefill 6.8 / 10 Residents of the EU, Norway, Iceland, 18+ No FX fee, 1.99% flat deposit fee, 2% cashback with no cap, Lightning USDT funding ended March 2025, no Apple Pay, ATM fee unconfirmed officially
OkiCard 6.0 / 10 “150+ countries”, no passport-based geo-blocking 3% load fee, 0% transaction fee, no hidden exchange spreads, virtual card from $15 USDC “soon”, BTC and altcoins “coming soon”, no cashback mentioned
Cardex 5.6 / 10 “One crypto card, 200+ countries” Virtual and physical cards on VERSE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay No fee percentage stated, App Store listing is Naira-focused, no rewards mentioned
TakeCard 5.5 / 10 Virtual card broadly available; physical card Bolivia only 1% commission per purchase, USD payments 1:1, virtual card USD 5 Physical card Bolivia only at USD 20 plus shipping, crypto conversion fee not stated

Reading across the table, the pattern is clear. OkiCard’s headline numbers — a 3% load fee and a 0% transaction fee — are more attractive than 1.99% if your loads are large, and its stated 0% transaction fee beats a spread you cannot see. But its asset coverage is thinner: USDC is “soon”, Bitcoin and altcoins are “coming soon”, so at the moment you are funding with USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron or Solana, and converting to fiat at the moment of spending. Its pricing pages also disagree with each other on whether there is an issuance fee.

Cardex claims 200+ countries and supports four card networks, which is a wider reach than Bitrefill’s. But it states no fee percentage at all, and its app-store presence is built around paying in Naira, which tells you more about its centre of gravity than the marketing does.

TakeCard is the outlier: a virtual card for USD 5 with a flat 1% commission and 1:1 USD payments, and a physical card that is Bolivia-only. If you are in Bolivia and want a physical card, that is a real option. Elsewhere you are looking at the virtual product and paying in USD.

My own weighting, for the record: if you are an EU resident spending crypto in euros, Bitrefill’s combination of no FX fee, Lightning, and a no-cap cashback is not matched by any of the three. If you are outside the EU, the comparison becomes one between thin support and wider nominal reach, and you should test the withdrawal path before you commit.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Bitrefill card to a resident of the EU, Norway or Iceland who already holds bitcoin, Lightning or stablecoins, spends mostly in euros, and wants a card that does one job without a monthly bill. The card is free, there is no foreign exchange fee, deposits cost a flat 1.99%, and 2% cashback with no cap is better than anything else in this comparison.

I would not recommend it to you if any of these are true:

One last thing I would tell any friend asking: this is a custodial product. Airfill Prepaid AB runs the site, Wallester AS issues the card, Lightspark handles the crypto and virtual IBAN side, and your balance sits with those partners. The names are licensed and the licensing is the right kind, but custody is custody — and a card that can be frozen, capped or wound down is what you are agreeing to when you accept that convenience.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Bitrefill card?

It is a prepaid Visa you load with crypto or euros and then spend like an ordinary card, available as both a virtual and a physical card in euros. Crypto deposits are converted to a euro balance, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Bitrefill is best known for gift cards; the Visa is a separate product on the same account.

How does the Bitrefill card work?

You pass an identity check in the app first, reach either the Starter or Plus tier, then order the card. You load it with crypto — Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base or Polygon — or by SEPA transfer. Each payment draws down the euro balance. A fixed 1.99% deposit fee applies, plus a variable exchange cost at the card partner’s live rate.

Is Bitrefill a bank?

No. The site is owned and operated by Airfill Prepaid AB in Stockholm, Sweden. The card is issued by Wallester AS, an Estonian company licensed by Finantsinspektsioon, and the crypto and virtual IBAN services come from Lightspark Payments Europe AS, licensed by the Estonian FIU. Bitrefill is the front-end and programme manager rather than the issuer.

Who can get the Bitrefill card?

Residents of the 29 EU member states plus Norway and Iceland, aged 18 or over. US and Russian citizens are excluded regardless of where they live, though Russian citizens who also hold EU or EEA citizenship are eligible. You cannot register with a Kyrgyzstan or Tajikistan mobile number, and the help centre blocklists the US, Japan, Russia, Ukraine and the UAE for verification and deposits.

What does the Bitrefill card cost?

The card itself is free through the app. Crypto deposits and SEPA pay-ins cost a flat 1.99%, and there is no foreign exchange fee — the Visa rate applies instead. There is a 2% total cashback with no cap. An inactivity fee applies after 12 months without spending or cash-out; the amount is not stated officially, though a third-party source puts it at EUR 10 a month.

How do I top up the Bitrefill card?

You load it with Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base or Polygon, or with a SEPA bank transfer. The minimum deposit is currently EUR 15 and smaller deposits are not added. USDT deposits on any network ended on 17 March 2025, despite still appearing in the card page’s “Buy with” list. Store credit in your Bitrefill account cannot be moved onto the card.

Is the Bitrefill card safe?

It is custodial, so the partners hold the funds: Wallester AS issues the card and Lightspark handles the crypto side. You can freeze the card and hide the balance in the app with one tap, and 3-D Secure is used on online payments. Lost, stolen or unauthorised transactions go to [email protected]. No safeguarding or insurance arrangement is stated on the public pages.

Why was my Bitrefill card declined?

Some shopkeepers and payment processors look at the card’s issuing country and card type and apply extra checks, so a prepaid card can be refused where a local bank card would pass. The card also does not publish which merchant categories are blocked. If the decline is about a wallet you do not own, the EU Transfer of Funds Regulation from July 2026 can decline deposits above EUR 1,000 from non-own or non-EU-licensed wallets.

Can I use the Bitrefill card in my country?

If you are a resident of an EU member state, Norway or Iceland, yes, wherever Visa is accepted, and there is no foreign exchange fee on euro purchases. Outside those countries you cannot get the card at all. US citizens and Russian citizens are excluded regardless of residence, with one exception: Russian citizens who also hold EU or EEA citizenship are eligible.

Can I get cash or my money back from the Bitrefill card?

You can withdraw to a bank account for free, or take cash out at ATMs that accept Visa, and no withdrawal limits are listed on the card page. The ATM fee is not stated officially; a third-party source reports 2.49% on both tiers plus the operator’s charge, with EUR 350 a day and EUR 3,000 a month limits. If you are in Sweden, a third-party source says SEPA cash-out is not available to you.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team