Good everyday card, thin paper trail
Mobilum Pay is one of the more capable crypto-linked cards I have looked at on paper. It gives you a virtual card and a plastic Mastercard, three currencies, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals, direct loading from a crypto wallet, and as many extra cards as you want without an extra charge per card. If you want a crypto balance to behave like ordinary spending money, the feature list is genuinely good. My score is 6.3 out of 10, and the gap between the feature list and everything around it is the whole story of this review.

Two things stop it scoring higher. The first is that the card’s own public pages do not publish a single number: no transaction fee, no exchange rate, no daily limit, no monthly limit, no ATM fee, no issuing bank. The second is that the one place where real numbers exist — the review platform Trustpilot — is not flattering. I read it, and I think you should too before you commit anything.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Mobilum Pay scores 6.3 out of 10. It suits a European who wants an app that handles both a virtual and a plastic card, wants to move crypto into spendable balance without fuss, and wants to add the card to a phone wallet. It does not suit anyone who needs published fees, a named issuing bank, a settled complaint history or a clear answer on identity checks before they upload documents — because on the card’s public pages there is no such answer.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | 27 EEA countries are listed, and the page also says it is accessible worldwide excluding sanctioned nations |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | “Competitive transaction fees” with no amounts given; several cards can be issued without additional fees |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | BTC, ETH and many ERC-20 tokens loaded directly, plus a linked bank account; stablecoins and networks are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Mobilum Inc, registered as an MSB with FinCEN, issuing bank unnamed; Trustpilot 2.4 from 11 reviews, 82% one-star |
| Everyday use | 10 / 10 | Virtual and plastic, Apple Pay and Google Pay through external wallets, ATM withdrawals |
| Total | 6.3 / 10 | Strong daily usability, held back by undisclosed costs and a thin public record |
The pattern in that table is worth staring at. Everything about the card in your hand is rated 10. Everything about the card as a financial product — who issues it, what it costs, who complains and how they were treated — scores badly. That is not an accident of my weighting; it is how the information is published. The card markets its convenience and is quiet about its substance.
So: for the reader who already knows the risk and just wants a workable card, this is a fine pick. For the reader who is choosing on the basis of what the company will tell them before you send money, the silence is the answer.
Will they give you the card?
The card’s page lists 27 countries in the EEA area: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. On top of that it says the card is “Accessible worldwide, excluding sanctioned nations” — a much broader statement than the country list, and one I would treat with care rather than assume.
That gap between “27 countries named” and “accessible worldwide” is exactly the kind of detail that decides whether an application succeeds or is quietly refused. A list of countries tells you what is definitely on offer. A sentence about “worldwide access” tells you almost nothing you can rely on, because the exceptions are not spelled out and country rules change. If you are outside the EEA, the practical answer is that you will not know until you try.
Two further points about eligibility are simply not on the page: what basis the card uses to decide who to accept — citizenship, residence, or both — is not stated, and neither is the identity-verification level or how long it takes. In the EU, customer due diligence normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, plus a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person check; in the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. A card that says “worldwide” without saying which of these it applies to where is asking you to supply documents and take the risk that they are not enough.
Prepaid and debit cards are generally issued to adults aged 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits for some customers. Age is worth confirming at signup rather than assuming.
My advice, if you are outside the EEA: treat the country list as the real offer. If your country is on it, you are in the clear. If it is not, ask support in writing and keep the reply.
How to get it
The card comes as a virtual card and a plastic card, and it is Mastercard — the app store listing describes ATM withdrawals “in MasterCard-supported countries”. They are described as multi-currency debit and credit cards. You add the card to “any external wallet, such as Apple Pay or Google Pay”.
What the pages do not say is the part most applicants care about most. Delivery time and delivery cost for the plastic card are not stated. How to activate the card is not stated. What identification you will be asked for, at what stage, and what happens if it is rejected is not stated. Nor is there any mention of tiers — no paid tier, no premium tier, no basic tier. That absence is arguably good news: the pricing language points the other way. “Unlimited Cards: Flexibility to issue multiple cards without additional fees” suggests one flat arrangement rather than a ladder of plans.
So the honest version of “how to get it” is: you download the app, sign up, and find out. For a card aimed at people who have trouble getting an ordinary bank card, that is a meaningful drawback. The entire point of choosing a card like this is often that the standard route is closed. Being asked to improvise the non-standard route on documentation is the opposite of what such a reader needs.
If you do need to know before you start, ask two questions in writing and keep the answers: how long the plastic card takes to arrive in my country, and exactly what identity documents are required to keep the account open.
Fees and what a payment really costs
Here is where I have to be blunt: the card publishes no prices. Not one. The words on the page are “Competitive transaction fees and transparent costs” — a phrase that is not a number, and “transparent” is doing a lot of unearned work in a document that then says nothing else. No issuance fee, no monthly fee, no conversion percentage, no foreign-exchange markup, no ATM fee or free allowance, no daily or monthly spending cap.

What I can tell you, and this is worth knowing because it is unusual and genuinely good news, is that issuing multiple cards carries no additional fee. ATM withdrawals are available using both the virtual and the plastic card, but the fee and the allowance are not stated. The currencies are EUR, USD and PLN, and you can exchange between USD, EUR and PLN inside the app. Whether exchanging in-app costs anything is not stated.
| Fee or limit | What the card says |
|---|---|
| Issuance | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Multiple cards | no additional fees |
| Transaction fees | “Competitive transaction fees” — no amounts |
| Conversion / crypto-to-fiat | not stated |
| Foreign exchange | not stated; EUR, USD and PLN exchangeable in the app |
| ATM | available on virtual and plastic cards; fee and allowance not stated |
| Daily and monthly limits | not stated (app offers card management with limits) |
| Withdrawal to bank | available through a linked bank account; fees not stated |
| Tiers | not stated |
Now let me walk through three everyday payments, because that is where an unstated fee stops being abstract.
Paying for a coffee in Warsaw. The card is Mastercard, the currency is PLN, and there is a listed currency. What I cannot tell you is whether your EUR or USD balance is converted at the card network’s rate, or at a rate the app shows you with a markup on top. If the answer is a markup, it is applied to every payment you make and it is invisible until you total it up. This is the single most common way a “no fees” card quietly costs you money.
Paying for something in Tokyo. Your balance is in EUR, USD or PLN and the merchant prices in yen. This is the case where foreign-exchange costs, if there are any, bite hardest. And the network-level surcharge is not the only variable: prepaid and foreign-issued cards can be declined for reasons that have nothing to do with you. A merchant’s system can look up the card’s issuing institution and country from the card number, and some merchants apply extra checks when the issuer country does not match the billing address. That is why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another.
Withdrawing cash in a currency you hold. The card supports ATMs, and I would not want to guess at the cost. Cash withdrawals from this class of card commonly carry a per-transaction fee, a percentage, and a daily cap, and all three are precisely the numbers this card does not publish.
There is one cost that is not the card’s, and it is worth naming: the blockchain network fee on your deposit is charged by the network, not by the provider. If you send crypto from a wallet, the network takes its cut before anyone here sees the money.
Verdict on cost: you can use this card for a month and not know what you paid. Before you do that, find the fee schedule in the app or ask support for it in writing, and treat the absence of published numbers as a real cost of the product.
How to top up
This is the part of the card that works the way it advertises. The FAQ says you can load crypto directly: BTC, ETH and “many ERC-20 tokens”. The wallet is described as custodial. A bank account can be linked for deposits and withdrawals.

That is the whole funding story as published, and it has a specific shape: crypto in, from your own wallet, any wallet; fiat in and out through a linked bank account.
What is missing matters more here than in the other sections. The deposit fee and minimum are not stated. Stablecoins are not named — which, for anyone whose crypto sits in USDT or USDC rather than in BTC or ETH, is the first thing you will want to know, because the common holding is not the named holding. Networks are not named either, and with crypto transfers that gap is dangerous rather than merely annoying. A transfer sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost entirely. Blockchain transfers are irreversible; the network cannot freeze or return them, and recovery becomes a support ticket with no guarantee attached. Before you send anything, get the supported networks in writing, and check the receiving address character by character.
Two category points worth knowing before you move funds. ERC-20 is the Ethereum token standard; fees on it are paid in ETH, so a wallet holding a token but no ETH cannot actually send it. And stablecoins are not as stable as the name suggests: Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are dollar-pegged, and the BIS put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in those two as of July 2025, but USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis and TerraUSD collapsed outright in May 2022.
For withdrawals, a linked bank account is the stated route and the fees are not stated. If getting your own money out is the thing you care most about, that is the first number to chase.
Paying with it every day
Everyday use is where this card is genuinely good, and I want to say so plainly rather than hedge it.
You get a virtual card and a plastic card. You can add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay through your phone’s wallet. You can withdraw at ATMs. You hold three currencies and exchange between them in the app. You can issue extra cards without an extra fee. The app is on iOS and Android — the Google Play package is com.mobilum.wallet, and the App Store listing in Canada shows version 2.8.7 with a 5.0 rating from one rating. One rating is not a rating. I could not read the Google Play rating because the page did not load.
Adding to a phone wallet is also the safer way to use a card, and it is worth knowing why. Apple Pay replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element on the phone, never on Apple’s servers, and every payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. Your actual card number is not sitting in a shop’s system. That is a real reduction in exposure compared with handing over the plastic card, and it costs you nothing here.
Things I looked for and did not find. Rewards: not stated — no cashback, no points, nothing. Blocked merchant categories: not stated. Card freeze and two-factor authentication: not stated. In a world where the standard safeguards for this kind of product are app-based 2FA, an instant freeze and spending limits, their silence is not reassuring.
One safety mechanism is worth naming because it cuts both ways. 3-D Secure adds an identity check to online payments: the issuer assesses the risk and either approves without friction or challenges you, with a one-time code or biometrics. Mastercard’s brand is Identity Check. It reduces fraud, and it also means a declined or abandoned checkout can leave a hold on your funds for several days — typically up to seven. If you have seen a hold appear and vanish days later, that is usually why.
And a practical note on declines. Address verification compares the numeric parts of a billing address against issuer records, and it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK; it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. Prepaid cards can be refused at some merchants simply because the card number reveals the type and the issuer country. Neither is a fault of yours, and neither is fixable from your side.
What can go wrong
The uncomfortable part of this review is that I found no official incident involving this card. No regulator action, no documented outage, no published breach. What I did find is a thin public record and a very bad review score.
The company behind it is Mobilum Inc, 228 Park Avenue South, New York, NY 10003. It is registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business, number 31000258001314. The starting data names Mobilum Pay Sp. z o.o., in Poland, and the card refers to “licensed partners” without naming them. The issuing bank is not stated. In US terms, an MSB is a money transmitter, not a bank — and in the EU the relevant category would usually be an electronic money institution, which can issue e-money and payment cards but cannot lend. The card being a payment service and the crypto side being regulated separately is normal; what is unusual is that neither licence here is named.
Read that structure with the regulatory background in mind. A card payment runs through three parties: the network (Mastercard here) routes the messages and sets the rules; the issuer is a bank or licensed e-money institution that holds the programme; and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager and front end. If you knew who the issuer was, you would know who is behind your money and who you complain to. Here, that name is missing, and “licensed partners” is doing a lot of work.
Then the reviews. On Trustpilot, read on 21 October 2026, the card has a 2.4 TrustScore from 11 reviews — only 2 of them in the last 12 months. Eighteen percent are five-star; 82% are one-star. I want to be careful here: eleven reviews is a very small sample, and small samples skew. But the themes are consistent and they are the themes that should worry you:
- Withdrawals and refunds not processed, from October 2022 through October 2026.
- Support unresponsive, from 2022 to April 2025.
- Unrecognised or disputed card payments, in October 2025 and October 2026.
All of these are user reports on a third-party platform, not confirmed by the card and not official findings. I am repeating them because the pattern — money in, nothing out — is the specific failure mode of custodial products.
The custody point deserves a paragraph of its own. With a custodial wallet, the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust the provider completely. Recovery runs through a backup phrase, described as the only way to restore your wallet — and a seed phrase, typically 12 to 24 words, is an unencrypted form of the private key: anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. That is the arrangement being offered, and it is not a criticism of the design so much as a thing to accept consciously.
Custody carries counterparty risk with a track record: Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. Self-custody-linked cards avoid the counterparty but push key loss, phishing and clipboard malware onto you, so neither side is free.
Programmes like this also close. Typically there is a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued programmes. A 2026 closure reported by a single unconfirmed secondary source stopped new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026.
And one search result I could not answer from official sources: how to close an account, and how to delete your data. Nothing on it. For a custodial product, that is worth asking about before you fund it.
There is a practical point in your favour on disputes, though it is specific to US residents. US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer with a reason code such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received — and a Trustpilot reviewer from October 2025 reports being refused a refund by Mobilum and advised to pursue a bank chargeback instead. That is one user’s account, not an established position, but it tells you where a user ended up.
One last thing nobody tells you: if your payments are funded from crypto, each one may be a separate taxable disposal. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. This is a general point about the category, not advice about your situation — check what it means where you live before you start spending.
What to take instead
If the missing fee schedule is what stops you, a card that publishes its numbers is worth a look even if it is less feature-rich. Here is how the three alternatives I examined compare, all on their own published material.
| Whop Cards | Stella | UniFi Card | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.2 / 10 | 6.5 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 |
| Who | 31 US states for consumers; 41 for businesses; unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam | Countries not stated on the site; terms bar users under sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates | Not confirmed from official pages; app listing shows send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico, the eurozone, Colombia, Brazil and the UK |
| Card | Visa, online and in stores; virtual/physical type and currency not stated | Virtual and physical VISA, accepted at “over 40 million VISA merchants globally” | Prepaid Debit Visa Card issued by Lead Bank, USD balance, Apple Pay supported |
| Fees | “No extra fees”; no amounts listed | Not stated; fees “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App” | Not stated; “Fees may apply” |
| Funding | Whop balance, backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet; coins and networks not stated | Crypto deposit into the account, which automatically tops up the custodial in-app wallet | ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE); get paid to a USDC wallet |
| Rewards | 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber | None stated on the card page | “3% rewards on balances” claimed on the listing |
Three honest observations from that table.
Whop publishes the clearest top-up model of the four but is the most geographically confined, and it is US-state-based rather than country-based, which is a different kind of restriction.
Stella scores highest of the group at 6.5 and does publish something the others do not: it names the number of merchants, and it tells you fees exist and where to find them. It still does not state amounts, and it does not state which countries it serves.
UniFi is the most transparent about what it is — a prepaid Visa issued by a named bank, which answers exactly the question Mobilum leaves open — but its fees are “may apply” and its rewards claim is about balances rather than card spending.
Note the common gap: none of the four publishes a complete fee table. You are choosing between different shades of the same silence.
If your priority is a card that can be used everywhere, the answer in this category is honestly none of them — instead, use a conventional card funded from a conventional account and keep crypto in a self-custody wallet you control. You give up the convenience of paying straight from crypto, and in exchange you get published fees, a named issuer and deposit protection. For most people that is a good trade. It is specifically a bad trade if the ordinary account is the thing you cannot get.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Mobilum Pay to three kinds of reader.
If you are in one of the 27 EEA countries, you already hold crypto, and what you want is a clean way to spend it without moving it to an exchange first, this card does the job well. The virtual and plastic pair, three currencies, phone wallets and free extra cards make day-to-day use genuinely pleasant, and on that axis it is the best card I have reviewed here.
If you are comfortable being an early user of a young product, and you accept that your crypto is held by a company whose issuing bank you cannot name, it is a reasonable choice.
If you plan to move a large balance once and leave it there, I would not.
To everyone else, I would say this. Before you fund it, get three things in writing: the fee schedule including conversion and ATM costs, the supported networks and tokens for deposits, and who the issuing bank is. All three are normal questions and the absence of published answers is information in itself. If support gives you clear answers quickly, that tells you something good. If you cannot get them, you have your answer.
And if the reason you are looking at a card like this is that ordinary banking has been difficult for you, treat this as a working tool rather than a foundation. Keep the balance you need and can afford to lose, keep your own records of every transaction, and know before you need it what your exit route is.
The feature list here is genuinely good. The disclosure behind it is not. That gap is the review.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Mobilum Pay card?
Mobilum Pay is a crypto-linked payment card. You load crypto into a custodial wallet inside its app, and the balance is converted and available to spend like an ordinary prepaid balance. You get a virtual card and a plastic Mastercard, and you can add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay through your phone’s wallet.
How does the Mobilum Pay card work?
You top up, the crypto is converted into spendable balance, and the card spends that balance — much like a prepaid card rather than a standard debit card drawing on a bank account. Because it is prepaid, it cannot overdraw. Spending is in EUR, USD or PLN, and you can exchange between them in the app.
Is Mobilum Pay a bank?
No — and this is the most important thing to be clear about. The company behind it, Mobilum Inc, is registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business, which is a money transmitter registration, not a banking licence. The issuing bank is not stated. The card refers to unnamed “licensed partners”.
Who owns Mobilum Pay?
The card’s material names Mobilum Inc, at 228 Park Avenue South, New York, NY 10003, as an MSB registered with FinCEN, number 31000258001314. The starting data names Mobilum Pay Sp. z o.o. in Poland. No parent or owner is disclosed on the pages I read.
Which countries can I use it in?
The page lists 27 EEA countries, including Germany, France, Spain, Italy-area members, Poland, Sweden, Ireland and others, and separately says the card is “Accessible worldwide, excluding sanctioned nations”. That second phrase is vague, and outside the EEA it is not a reliable guide to whether you will be accepted.
Does the Mobilum Pay card require KYC?
The card does not state it. What is certain is that any regulated service of this kind runs anti-money-laundering checks: in the EU that normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, sanctions screening and politically-exposed-person status. If those checks cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to decline the relationship or close it.
How much does the Mobilum Pay card cost?
Not stated, and that is the finding rather than a figure. The page says “Competitive transaction fees and transparent costs” without an amount, and gives no issuance fee, monthly fee, conversion rate, foreign-exchange markup, ATM fee or spending limit. Issuing additional cards carries no additional fee.
Can I use it with Apple Pay and Google Pay?
Yes. The card can be added to “any external wallet, such as Apple Pay or Google Pay”. That is also the safer way to pay: the phone wallet substitutes a device-specific number stored in the phone’s Secure Element, and each payment uses a one-time code.
Is the Mobilum Pay card safe?
It depends what you mean by safe. As a payment method it uses ordinary network protections, including 3-D Secure. As a custody arrangement, your crypto is held by the provider and recovery runs through a backup phrase that anyone holding could use. Its Trustpilot score is 2.4 from 11 reviews, 82% of them one-star, with reports of unprocessed withdrawals and disputed payments.
Is it worth it?
For spending convenience in the EEA, possibly yes — the daily-use features are the best in this comparison. For anything you are storing rather than spending, I would not: the issuing bank is unnamed, fees are unpublished, and the review record is thin. Judge it as a working tool, not a place to keep money.
How app and neobank cards work – cryptocardsexplained.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team
