A virtual USD card you can only fill with USDT, at a price that climbs with every purchase

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The EMCD card is one of those crypto cards that exist for a specific reason rather than as a general-purpose everyday card: it gives people who cannot easily get an ordinary bank card a way to pay online with a balance they load from their own crypto wallet. That is a genuine service, and the card does it. But it is not a good substitute for an ordinary debit card, and it is not a good deal for anyone who is simply looking for the cheapest way to spend crypto. The fees are layered: an issuance fee on some tiers, a monthly fee, a fee on every top-up, a fee on every purchase, and possibly a bank conversion fee on top if you spend outside US dollars. There is no physical card, no ATM, and no 3-D Secure, which means some merchants will simply refuse it. The card page and the help centre also disagree about which network the card runs on, and the issuer is not named. I scored it 4.9 out of 10. Below is why, section by section, with the actual numbers where the card publishes them.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
EMCD works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 4.9 / 10, a narrow card for a narrow need

Let me start with the score, because a number out of ten invites the question of what it is measuring. Here it is, criterion by criterion, with the mark the card earned and my reason for it in plain words.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Works wherever Mastercard is accepted, except in 13 listed countries: Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen, China
Cost 2 / 10 Plus issues for $19, Premium for $25; $5 per month servicing; top-up 1.5%; purchase 1.5% plus $0.50; 3% conversion on non-USD; unofficial: top-up 2.5%
Top-up options 4 / 10 USDT only, from the main wallet account, network not disclosed; minimum top-up $20
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Issuer and legal entity not named, network named inconsistently (Visa and Mastercard); Trustpilot EMCD reports blocks after KYC and slow support
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual only; Apple Pay and Google Pay listed as coming soon; no ATM; no 3D Secure
Total 4.9 / 10 A card that works, at a price that adds up and with features its users have to work around

Two of these rows deserve a word before we go deeper, because they shape everything that follows.

The high mark on eligibility is real and unusual. The card works worldwide wherever Mastercard is accepted, with only thirteen named country exclusions. For a reader in a place where opening a normal bank account is slow, refused, or impossible, that is worth more than almost any feature on the list. It is why I did not score this card lower.

The low mark on cost is also real and equally important. This is not a cheap card to use. Every part of the money side — issuance on the paid tiers, a monthly servicing fee, a top-up fee, a per-purchase fee, and a possible bank conversion fee if you spend outside the United States — is a separate charge. If you spend your balance slowly and in dollars only, the total is manageable. If you convert and spend often, the same balance buys noticeably less than it should.

So who does this suit? Existing EMCD users who already hold USDT and top up their card with it are the group this card was built for, and for them it does its job. Who does it not suit? Anyone who wants a physical card, anyone who needs cash from an ATM, anyone who pays in local currency and wants to avoid a conversion fee, anyone who shops anywhere that requires 3-D Secure, and anyone who is choosing between this and a mainstream crypto card and expects lower fees. I will return to the alternatives near the end.

Who will they give you the card

The card page says the card works “worldwide” wherever cards are accepted, and adds a notice that some EMCD services are unavailable in certain jurisdictions without naming them. The help centre is more specific: the card works wherever Mastercard is accepted, except that payments are not available in Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen and China. That list of thirteen is the one to plan around. If you live in one of those countries the answer is a straightforward no. If you do not, the card’s own statement is that you can use it almost anywhere cards are taken.

One thing the public pages do not say, and that I would want to know before relying on it, is the distinction between citizenship and residence. The materials I checked describe availability by country, not by nationality, and they do not set out a rule saying that a citizen of a restricted country may or may not use the card while living elsewhere. It would be reasonable to assume that screening is applied to your citizenship and country of birth as well as your address, because that is standard practice in this industry, but that is my general expectation about how these checks work, not something this card states. If your citizenship is one of the thirteen restricted countries, or if you have a passport from one, that is a question to put to the support team in writing before you fund anything.

How to get it

The route is short. You verify your identity the standard EMCD way, which the card describes as an ID and a few minutes, and you fund the order with $15, which stays in your balance rather than being charged as a fee. Proof of address and age requirements are not stated on the pages I could read.

Two details here catch people out and are worth repeating. First, the $15 is not a deposit you get back as a payment; it stays in the balance. Second, verification is mandatory, and the card’s own timing for it is “usually a few minutes” once you submit a valid government ID. If a check fails, the card says to retry with a different document. The levels of verification and whether proof of address is required are not stated, so do not treat five minutes as a promise.

What you actually receive is a virtual card, and this is the single most important fact in the whole review. The card is described as a virtual Visa Platinum, and the help centre says it currently offers virtual cards only, with no delivery. Cards are valid for two years, and after expiry a new card with a new number is opened. There is a conflict between the two official sources on the network: the card page says Visa Platinum, the help centre says the card runs on Mastercard and is denominated in US dollars. The card currency is not stated on the card page. I have flagged the discrepancy rather than resolve it, because the card’s own two pages do not agree, and that disagreement is itself informative about how much confidence to place in published details.

The practical meaning of virtual-only is worth being concrete about. You have a card number, an expiry and a security code that you can store and use online, and in a mobile wallet once that is available. You do not have a piece of plastic. So a tap-to-pay terminal at a café counter, a card machine in a shop, or anywhere that wants to take a physical card is out of reach for now.

Fees: what it really costs

This is where the card is weakest, and I want to give you the whole picture because the cost is not one number but a stack of them. First the tiers and the flat charges, then the per-transaction fees, then two or three ordinary payments to show what they add up to.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a EMCD payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item Amount, as published
Active tier issuance Free
Plus tier issuance $19
Premium tier issuance $25
Monthly maintenance $5
Card closure $15
Top-up fee 1.5%
Purchase fee 1.5% plus $0.50 per transaction
Declined payment fee $1.50
Refund fee $0.50
Reversal fee $2.00
Chargeback fee $35
Bank conversion fee on non-USD purchase Possibly 3%
Cash withdrawal (ATM) Not supported

Whether the $19 and $25 issuance charges are one-off or periodic is not stated. The Active tier is described as having “0% fees” on standard purchases, but the fee schedule lists a 1.5% purchase fee and does not say which tier it applies to, so I cannot tell you that a free-tier card is genuinely free to spend from. There is also an unofficial source that lists a 2.5% top-up and conversion fee, no monthly or annual fee, and no FX fees; that is not confirmed by the card and contradicts the card’s own 1.5% top-up figure and its $5 monthly charge, so treat it as unreliable.

Now three everyday payments, to make the fees feel like money rather than percentages.

A $20 top-up, which is the minimum first top-up, costs 1.5%, so $0.30, before any network fee the blockchain might charge.

A $30 purchase in US dollars costs 1.5% plus $0.50, so $0.45 plus $0.50, which is $0.95 on the transaction.

A $30 purchase in a non-dollar currency could cost the same $0.95 plus a bank conversion fee of possibly 3%, which is up to $0.90 more, if the issuing bank applies it.

Put those together and the picture is clear: the card is cheapest for someone who tops up rarely, in dollars, on a paid tier where the higher limits justify the issuance fee, and most expensive for someone making frequent small purchases or spending abroad. The $35 chargeback fee is worth singling out, because it is the kind of figure that only matters on the day you need it, and $35 to dispute a transaction is steep.

On limits, the card publishes figures for the paid tiers and not for Active. Plus is capped at $1,000 per transaction, $3,000 daily and $10,000 monthly; Premium at $10,000 per transaction, $50,000 daily and $400,000 monthly. Up to two cards can be active at once. The help centre also has articles on Light and Active tiers whose amounts I did not read, so the free-tier limits are not something I can confirm. In the app you can set your own limits, which is a sensible habit whatever tier you are on.

Top up: how the balance gets filled

The balance is loaded with USDT from the Coinhold Wallet, transferred from the Main account. The network is not stated, and that omission matters more than it might look; I will come back to it in the risks section. There is no top-up by card number, so a transfer has to come from inside your wallet, and one more thing the help centre says plainly: a free transfer from the card balance back to the Main account is not supported. In other words, money goes in easily and does not come back out the same way.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up EMCD starts with a transfer to the right network

The terms of a top-up, as published, are these: the minimum first top-up is $20; the top-up fee is 1.5%; $15 of the first top-up is held as a reserve until your total card spending exceeds $2,500; USDT comes from the Main account and typically lands in three to five minutes; and the terms depend on your card plan and may change. Who pays the blockchain network fee for the transfer is not stated. The reserve is the detail most likely to surprise you: you put in $20, and $15 of it is not spendable until you have spent $2,500 in total, so your usable balance on day one is $5. That is a meaningful constraint for a first payment, and it is worth knowing before you order.

Two further conditions sit behind the top-up. On closure, the remaining US-dollar balance is converted to USDT and credited to your main EMCD account. And the issuing bank may close the card if the balance is $20 or less, or if there is no activity for thirty days. So there is an effective floor on the balance and a dormancy rule; neither is a fee, but both can cost you access if you let the card sit empty.

Paying with it every day

Day-to-day use is where the virtual-only design shapes everything. You manage the card in the EMCD app. Apple Pay and Google Pay are the obvious route for using a virtual card at a physical terminal, and here the sources disagree: the help centre says the card works with both, while the feature list marks them “coming soon”. I would plan on the help centre being out of date rather than the feature list, but check the app yourself, because this is the difference between tapping and typing numbers.

What the card definitely cannot do is cash. ATM withdrawals are not supported, and the FAQ says cash withdrawals will become available once a physical card launches. So if any part of your budget is physical cash, this card does not serve it.

There is no 3-D Secure on the card. That is the security layer that adds an identity check to online payments, and without it, merchants who require it will decline the transaction. This is the second most important limitation after virtual-only, because declining is invisible to you until the payment fails at the till or the checkout page.

Rewards are not mentioned, and cashback in particular does not appear. So there is nothing coming back to you at the end of the month. What you can manage in the app is freezing and unfreezing the card and setting limits, which are the everyday controls.

One detail about where the card will and will not work deserves its own note, because it is not obvious from a “works worldwide” claim. The help centre lists blocked categories: fuel, ride-hailing, AI subscriptions, money transfers, crypto exchanges, gambling, brokerage, and most entertainment except cinemas and theatres. That is a long list of ordinary things you might reasonably want to pay for. Fuel and ride-hailing alone would rule the card out for a lot of daily spending. So “worldwide” means the card is accepted geographically almost everywhere, but within that, several whole categories of merchant are closed to it.

What can go wrong

The risks here are of three kinds, and I want to keep them separate: what the card’s own structure exposes you to, what its public statements fail to tell you, and what users report.

On the structural side, the card is custodial. EMCD holds the credentials to the Coinhold Wallet, which means you trust the provider with your funds completely. That is the trade-off every custodial card makes, and it is worth remembering that this industry has a record: Mt. Gox, Coincheck and the Ronin Network are the standard cautionary examples. On top of that, the undisclosed network for top-ups is a real hazard. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so USDT sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. If the network is not disclosed, you are trusting that the app or support tells you correctly at the moment you transfer, which is not the same as being told in advance.

On the disclosure side, the issuer and the legal entity behind the card are not named on the card page, and the network is named inconsistently, Visa on one page and Mastercard on another. Registration country and licences are not stated either. That is a lot of silence for a product holding your balance. There is no mention of insurance or of any safeguarding of funds, so I would not assume your balance is protected the way a bank deposit might be.

On user reports, the picture is mixed and worth reading with care. EMCD’s Trustpilot presence has around 190 reviews with a score hidden “due to a breach of guidelines”, and EMCD says it removed fake reviews. The distribution is 83% five-star and 11% one-star. The themes in the negative reviews, from late 2025 into 2026, are accounts blocked or banned after KYC or AML review, slow document checks, referral and welcome bonuses unpaid without completed KYC, and slow or missing support replies. There are also reports of US users blocked since 1 May 2025. One specific one-star review describes login and email-verification errors, an inability to add a UK phone number, and no support reply; positive reviews cite 12% annual interest and fast payouts, and one 2025 review says it was always paid. Importantly, no complaint specifically about the Coinhold/EMCD card was found, and no Reddit threads on it. So the complaints are about the wider platform and its verification process, not clearly about this product, but they are the same company and the same support desk.

The pattern that concerns me most is not any single review but the direction of travel: accounts being blocked after KYC is exactly the risk you care about if you came to this card because normal banking was hard for you. The card’s own design makes that worse, not better: mandatory verification after your first top-up, an unnamed issuer, and a $20-or-less balance rule under which the issuing bank may close the card. In the United States the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and in the EU customer due diligence covers nationality and identity documentation with a sanctions check; where due diligence cannot be completed, rules require the institution to hold off or end the relationship. That is why accounts close and funds freeze pending documents, and it applies to this card like any other.

In the European Union the stablecoin side of this runs under MiCA, the markets-in-crypto-assets regulation. Its rules on e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions from 30 December 2024; providers already operating under national law could continue only until 1 July 2026 or until a MiCA authorisation, whichever came first. A card itself is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, so a product like this often rests on two licences rather than one. If you are in the EU, ESMA keeps a register of authorised providers and white papers that you can check.

What to take instead

If EMCD’s weaknesses — layered fees, no physical card, no ATM, USD-only — are the features that decide it for you, then the alternatives are worth a look. Here is how the three I examined compare, on the same criteria, with the same discipline about what is stated and what is not.

Card Score Card type Top-up Notable fees
EMCD 4.9 / 10 Virtual only USDT from own wallet 1.5% top-up, 1.5% + $0.50 purchase, possible 3% FX, $5/month
MSX 6.4 / 10 Not stated officially Not stated Not stated
Bybit Card 6.0 / 10 Virtual and physical, by region Draws on exchange balance, crypto sold as needed 0.9% conversion (0.5% Argentina), 2% FX (varies by region)
MEXC 5.6 / 10 Virtual only USDT to fiat account Issuance $20, service 0%; other fees not stated

The Bybit Card is the most fully specified of these and the one I would look at first if you want a real card in your hand. It offers virtual and physical cards, rolled out in phases, with the network and currency varying by region: Mastercard in Argentina, Kazakhstan, Georgia, Australia and Mexico; Visa in Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific. Virtual issuance is free in all regions until further notice, and physical issuance ranges from free in Brazil and Mexico to around $30 in Australia, Georgia and Kazakhstan, with a $5 charge in Argentina and Asia Pacific. Virtual card issuance is free and there are no annual fees. Its costs are a 0.9% crypto conversion fee over the One-Click Sell rate, and an FX fee of 2% on top of the network rate in most regions, with Argentina at 7%. Its limitations are equally clear: the card is not meant for European Economic Area customers and all EEA participation is strictly prohibited, and its regions are Argentina, the AIFC in Kazakhstan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific. So it is not an answer for a reader in the EEA, which is exactly where EMCD’s wide availability is strongest. It also has a rewards structure that EMCD does not, with cashback tiers and a points scheme for crypto-funded spending.

MEXC is a closer cousin to EMCD: virtual only, no physical card, USDT topped up into a fiat account. Its issuance fee is $20 and its service fee is listed as 0%, though fees vary by card type. It pays cashback by M-Score tier, from 4% to 10% monthly depending on the tier. Its eligibility is stated only as a list beginning with the Philippines, Taiwan and Thailand, so I cannot tell you the full range from what was published.

MSX scored highest of the group at 6.4, but I want to be honest about why: I could not read an official page that stated its eligibility, card type, cost, fees, top-up or rewards. That is not a reason to trust it more; it is a reason to check it yourself before you commit.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to someone in a specific situation, and I want to be precise about it, because outside that situation it is hard work.

I would recommend EMCD to a person who cannot open an ordinary bank card, who already holds USDT, and who mainly pays online in US dollars. If your spending is subscriptions, digital services and online shops, all priced in dollars, and you top up once in a while rather than daily, the fees are tolerable and the wide availability is a genuine advantage. The Plus or Premium tier makes sense if you need the higher limits, since the issuance fee buys a bigger ceiling.

I would not recommend it to a person who wants a physical card, who needs cash, who pays mostly in a local currency and would be eating a possible 3% conversion on every purchase, or who shops with merchants that require 3-D Secure. I would also be cautious if you are in the United States, given reports of US users being blocked, or if your citizenship is one of the thirteen restricted countries, because the card does not explain how it treats nationality as opposed to residence. And I would think twice if you are the kind of person for whom a blocked account would leave you without access to funds, because the complaint pattern here is precisely about accounts blocked after verification.

The honest summary is this: EMCD does a narrow job, and the job is legitimate. It just charges you for the privilege in several places at once, and it leaves you with a number rather than a piece of plastic. Judge it on that, not on the promise of being a universal crypto card.

Frequently asked questions

What is EMCD card?

EMCD is a virtual payment card tied to the Coinhold Wallet. It lets you spend a balance you load with USDT, converting to dollars as you spend, at any merchant that accepts cards. It is virtual only, with no physical card currently, and it works worldwide except in thirteen named countries. It is designed mainly for people who cannot easily get an ordinary bank card.

Is EMCD a bank?

No, not as far as its public pages show. The card’s issuer and the legal entity behind it are not named, and no banking licence is mentioned. The balance is a card balance rather than a bank account, and the pages do not describe any deposit guarantee or insurance of funds. It is better understood as a payment or e-money product than as a bank.

How do I get the EMCD card?

You apply in the EMCD app, complete identity verification with a government ID, which takes a few minutes, and fund the order with $15 that stays in your balance. You then receive a virtual card number valid for two years. Verification is mandatory after your first top-up as well. Proof of address and age requirements are not stated on the pages.

Does the EMCD card require KYC?

Yes. Identity verification is mandatory and must be completed before the card works. The card says an ID check takes a few minutes and that the card activates automatically if it passes. If it fails, you retry with a different document. Accounts that do not clear verification can be blocked, which is one of the main themes of user complaints.

How much does the EMCD card cost to use?

It depends on the tier and how you spend. Plus costs $19 to issue, Premium $25, and there is a $5 monthly servicing fee. Top-ups cost 1.5%, purchases cost 1.5% plus $0.50, and a non-dollar purchase may add a bank conversion fee of possibly 3%. So a $30 purchase could cost you a dollar or more depending on the currency.

How do I top up the EMCD card?

You transfer USDT from the Main account of your Coinhold Wallet to the card. The minimum first top-up is $20 and the fee is 1.5%. Of that first top-up, $15 is held as a reserve until your total spending passes $2,500, so only $5 is immediately usable. The transfer typically takes three to five minutes. The network used is not disclosed, so check the app carefully before sending.

Can I use the EMCD card in Apple Pay or Google Pay?

Possibly, but the card’s own sources disagree. The help centre says the card works with both Apple Pay and Google Pay, while the feature list marks them “coming soon”. Because this is a virtual card, a mobile wallet is the main way to tap in person, so it is worth checking the app yourself rather than relying on either statement.

Why is EMCD card a bad choice for me?

It is a poor fit if you need a physical card or cash from an ATM, because neither exists yet. It is also poor if you spend in a currency other than dollars, because of a possible 3% conversion fee, or if you pay merchants that require 3-D Secure, since the card does not support it. Several merchant categories, including fuel, ride-hailing and crypto exchanges, are blocked.

Is EMCD card safe to use?

The card is custodial, meaning EMCD holds your wallet credentials, so you are trusting the provider with your funds, and there is no stated insurance or safeguarding. It also does not use 3-D Secure, and its issuer and legal entity are not named. User reports mention accounts blocked after verification and slow support. It is not unsafe by design, but it carries the usual risks of a custodial, thinly disclosed product.

Can I withdraw money from the EMCD card?

Not to an ATM, because cash withdrawals are not supported until a physical card launches. And a free transfer from the card balance back to your Main account is not supported either. The only route out described is closing the card, which costs $15, after which the remaining balance is converted to USDT and credited to your main EMCD account.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team