XCARDS, reviewed: a virtual crypto card you can only top up with BTC or USDT, and only after handing over full KYC

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

XCARDS is a virtual payment card run by a Maltese company that converts your Bitcoin or USDT into a balance you spend online. It looks simple on the surface, but the published fees are steep, the supported countries and payment network are not stated, and there are almost no public reviews to check it against. In this review I walk through who the card is for, what it really costs, how the top-up flow works, and what you should be aware of before you sign up.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
XCARDS works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

XCARDS scores 3.6 out of 10. That is a low mark, and the reason is not that the card is unusable, but that almost every key piece of information a person normally relies on is missing or unfavourable. There is no list of issuing countries, the service fee is a flat 4–8% of every top-up, withdrawals cost 10% with a 100 USD minimum, and the company does not name the bank that actually issues the card. The Terms even tell you not to keep money on the card, which is the opposite of the reassurance a card product usually tries to give.

The card fits a very narrow reader: someone who is already verified, who only needs unlimited virtual cards, who is comfortable funding the balance with Bitcoin or USDT, and who can absorb a 4–8% fee on every load. If that is not you, the costs alone will eat into whatever you are trying to spend.

Criterion Mark Why it matters
Who can get it 6 / 10 No issuing-country list, but a long sanctions list that bans use from Belarus, Russia, parts of Ukraine, Iran, Syria, Cuba and North Korea; rules are by location, not citizenship
Cost 1 / 10 2–4 USD monthly maintenance, 4–8% service fee per top-up, 10% on card-to-account withdrawals with a 100 USD minimum
Top-up options 4 / 10 BTC or USDT only via the Accounts section; auto-top-up can be turned on at issuance; minimum 100.00 USD; networks not stated
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Run by 4P SOLUTIONS LTD in Malta as an intermediary between customer and an unnamed bank; no licences published; no reviews found
Everyday use 3 / 10 Virtual cards only, issued immediately, no app, no Apple Pay or Google Pay, no ATM use described
Total 3.6 / 10

If you need a card you can fund from a wider choice of coins, see spending history on your phone, or pay with a tap at a shop, XCARDS is not the product for you. If you simply need a verified virtual card for online subscriptions and you are happy to load it with Bitcoin or USDT, it does technically work, but the fees will be the loudest thing in the experience.

Will they give you the card

XCARDS does not publish a list of the countries it issues cards in. The Terms only tell you where you are not allowed to use the card, and the way those rules are written matters.

Annex 1 to the Terms prohibits the use of XCARDS “in, from, or to” a long list of comprehensively sanctioned jurisdictions, including Belarus, Russia, Ukraine (Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk regions only), Iran, Syria, Cuba, North Korea and others. The wording is by location, not by citizenship, so a Russian citizen in Germany is not on the face of it caught by the rule, but a person physically in Moscow is. The FAQ adds a separate restriction: transfers to legal entities registered in Ukraine or the Russian Federation are prohibited, so a merchant located elsewhere is not automatically blocked.

In practice this means two things. First, if you are travelling or living in one of the listed regions, the card will not work for you. Second, if you are somewhere the card is not banned, you should still expect the usual anti-money-laundering checks, and the company can refuse or close an account at its discretion. There is no way to know in advance whether your specific country is on an internal allow-list, because that list is not published.

How to get it

Signing up follows a standard crypto-card path: register, verify, top up, issue a card. The detail that makes XCARDS different from many competitors is that the only products are virtual cards, and they are issued immediately, so there is no shipping step.

The verification rules are not light. The FAQ says full KYC applies to all clients, and the AML/KYC policy asks for proof of identity (passport, driver’s licence or national ID card), proof of address (tenancy agreement, utility or phone bill, bank statement), and a phone number verified by SMS. A video call is possible in some cases, and the minimum age is 18. The Terms also allow an “Unverified Account” with limitations, but the limits themselves are not quantified, so you do not really know what you are getting until you try.

There are two account levels: Unverified, with limits set out in the Terms but not stated as specific numbers, and Verified, where you can issue an unlimited number of virtual cards. Processing time is not given, and the policy notes that higher-risk customers may be asked for more checks. Grounds for refusal or closure include AML suspicion and missing documents, which is normal but worth noting if you sit on the edge of a grey area.

Steps, in short:

Fees: what it really costs

This is the section that decides whether XCARDS is worth using for you, so I am going to lay it out as a table and then walk through three everyday payments so you can see where the numbers come from.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a XCARDS payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Amount
Issuance Not stated (no minimum deposit at issuance for verified accounts)
Monthly maintenance 2–4 USD per month
Service fee (top-up) 4–8% of the amount, flat, depends on the size of the load
Exchange rate Shown on the website, FX fee not stated
ATM withdrawal Not stated
Minimum top-up 100.00 USD
Minimum withdrawal (card to account) 100 USD
Withdrawal commission 10% of the amount

A few things stand out. The service fee is not a network fee and not an exchange spread: it is a flat percentage the company takes off every load, and the size of that percentage depends on how much you put in. The FX fee is not stated at all, so if you pay in a currency other than the one the card is denominated in, you do not know what you are paying. The 10% withdrawal commission is unusually high for the category, and the 100 USD minimum means it only makes sense to pull money back out in chunks of 1,000 USD or more (because below that the percentage effectively gets worse). The ATM question is simply not addressed, which suggests cash access is not part of the product.

Now three everyday payments, using the worst-case 8% service fee and 10% withdrawal cost so you see the ceiling:

The Terms add another wrinkle: customers are told in capital letters not to store funds on their accounts or cards, because XCARDS does not guarantee their safety and the underlying banks may block funds. So you are paying 4–8% to load a balance you are not meant to keep, plus 2–4 USD a month while it sits there.

Top up: how to fund the card

Top-up is one of the tightest parts of the product. There are only two coins, no native networks are described, and the minimum is 100 USD per load.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up XCARDS starts with a transfer to the right network

Funding happens through an “Accounts” section on the website, and you can only send Bitcoin (BTC) or Tether (USDT). There is no USDC, no Ethereum, no fiat on-ramp. The page does not state which blockchain networks are supported, so a USDC-on-Ethereum user cannot simply swap in USDT-on-Tron and expect it to land: a transfer sent on a network the provider does not support can be lost or need manual support recovery, with no guarantee. The Terms confirm that cards not topped up are blocked, and once blocked they cannot be unlocked, so the funding flow is something you have to get right the first time.

You can turn on auto-top-up when you issue the card, or under Cards > Auto-top-up later. The minimum top-up is 100.00 USD, and there is no separate top-up fee on top of the 4–8% service fee already applied. There is no top-up by bank transfer, no top-up by card, and no top-up from another wallet inside the platform.

Withdrawal works in the opposite direction. A transfer from the card back to the account balance takes no more than one day, but the commission is 10% of the amount with a 100 USD minimum, which is the most expensive part of the product. If your account is suspended or terminated, unclaimed funds are held for one year, after which the Terms say your rights to them are lost, so timing matters.

A short list of what to check before your first top-up:

Paying with it every day

XCARDS in daily use is a virtual card you spend online, and that is roughly the whole of the experience. The cards are issued immediately, there is no physical version, and there is no native mobile app to manage them from a phone.

What is and is not stated is itself the story. The FAQ does not name the card network, so you do not know whether the card runs on Visa, Mastercard or something else, and that matters because some merchants decline cards whose BIN they do not recognise. The card currency is not stated either; fees are described as “generally expressed in US dollars”, but that is a hint rather than a confirmation. Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM use are not addressed, which in practice means none of them are advertised features.

There is no rewards or cashback programme mentioned anywhere in the public materials. There is no app to freeze the card from your phone. Complaints are answered within 15 working days, the statute of limitations for claims is one calendar year, and there is no chargeback process described. The Terms also list prohibited uses, and the list is worth reading because blocked transactions are not refunded: gambling and betting, dating, crypto purchases, top-ups for payment systems or brokers, adult content and escort services, among others. If your subscription or merchant falls into one of these categories, the card will be blocked with no money back.

In short, this is a card for paying a specific online bill, not a card for everyday spending. There is no tap-to-pay, no ATM, no app, no rewards, and no clear process if something goes wrong with a charge.

What can go wrong

Three risks stand out, in order of how much they could cost you.

The first is the fee structure. Even at the lower end of the service fee band, you are paying 4% on every top-up and 10% on every withdrawal. For a card you load and spend, that is 4% gone before you have bought anything. There is no FX fee published, so if you pay in a currency other than the card’s, you face an unknown additional cost.

The second is the company setup. XCARDS is operated by 4P SOLUTIONS LTD, registered in Malta at Aurora House, Level 3, 184 Triq-il-Kappillan Mifsud, Birkirkara BKR 1904. The Terms describe the company as an “intermediary between the customer and the banks”, and they do not name the banks. No licences are listed, and the AML policy refers to Seychelles sanctions alongside a Seychelles mailing address in the Terms, which together with the Maltese registration is a corporate structure you should be aware of before you hand over identity documents and a 100 USD load. The Terms of Service and AML/KYC policy were last amended on 21 April 2025, with the files dated 11 July 2025, and no other dated events have been published.

The third is the absence of public feedback. A search for “xcards.net virtual card reviews trustpilot reddit” returned other card sites, news and user reports about different products, but no XCARDS-specific reviews. There is no Trustpilot page for xcards.net, and the company has not announced any official incidents. That is not proof of a problem, but it means you are going in without a community to compare notes with.

The Terms also include, in capital letters, the line that customers should not store funds on their accounts or cards, and that XCARDS does not guarantee their safety. The underlying banks may block funds, transfer orders are confirmed by a code sent to email or Telegram, and a freeze button inside an app is not mentioned. If a bank somewhere down the chain freezes the balance, your recourse is to a 24/7 personal support channel via Telegram or email, in languages that are not stated.

What to take instead

Three alternatives are worth comparing, all of which score higher than XCARDS in the underlying research. None of them is a like-for-like swap, and the differences are in the details.

Cardex

Cardex is a debit crypto card advertised for 200+ countries, with no country list and no published exclusions. The App Store listing is Naira-focused, but the same product is described on the website as a multi-network card on Verve, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, with both virtual and physical versions. The fees are framed around an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchanges at the moment of payment, but the actual percentage is not stated on the public pages. Funding is through USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, and the networks are not stated. It scores 5.6 out of 10.

The case for Cardex over XCARDS is wider coin support and a more transparent network story, but the published fee is opaque, so you would need to test it on a small spend to know what you are paying. Country coverage is also wider on paper, though not formally listed.

TakeCard

TakeCard is a prepaid Visa card issued in the United States, with a virtual version available immediately and a physical version currently limited to Bolivian users. The card is denominated in USD and pays 1:1 for USD, with other currencies at the official Visa rate on the day. Fees are 1% per purchase, USD 5 for the virtual card, and USD 20 for issuance plus USD 20 for shipping on the physical Bolivian card (one source says USD 10 for physical in Bolivia, which is a conflict to be aware of). Funding is from a Takenos account balance, and starting data suggests USDC and USDT via Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum, though I could not verify that on a page I could read. It scores 5.5 out of 10.

The case for TakeCard over XCARDS is a much lower purchase fee (1% vs. 4–8%) and clearer pricing, with the trade-off that the physical card is geographically restricted and the funding flow depends on the Takenos account.

OkiCard

OkiCard is a virtual card advertised for 150+ countries, with a stated “no geo-blocking based on your passport” policy. The card is denominated in USD or EUR, pegged, and the pricing page says issuance is $0, monthly is $0, with a starting price of $15 for a virtual card, though the FAQ also mentions a one-time issuance fee and the pages disagree. The load fee is 3%, the transaction fee in USD is 0%, and the company says there are “no hidden exchange spreads”. Funding is USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron or Solana, with USDC “soon” and BTC and other coins “coming soon”. The initial deposit is 100 USDT. It scores 6.0 out of 10.

The case for OkiCard over XCARDS is cheaper loading (3% vs. 4–8%) and explicit network support, with the trade-off that the company itself says BTC is not yet available and the pricing pages are inconsistent.

A quick comparison:

Card Score Funding coins Stated load fee Notable trade-off
XCARDS 3.6 BTC, USDT 4–8% (service fee) High withdrawal cost, no public reviews
Cardex 5.6 USDT, USDC, BTC Not stated Opaque fee, Naira-focused listing
TakeCard 5.5 USDC, USDT (via Takenos) 1% per purchase Physical card Bolivia-only
OkiCard 6.0 USDT (BSC/ETH/Tron/Solana) 3% BTC “coming soon”, inconsistent pricing pages

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend XCARDS only to a narrow reader. You should be a Verified user who can issue unlimited virtual cards, you should be topping up with Bitcoin or USDT, and you should be spending the balance on online merchants that accept the card’s network without an extra FX layer. You should also be planning to spend the balance down rather than withdraw it, because the 10% withdrawal commission is the most expensive part of the product and makes cashing out unattractive below the 1,000 USD mark.

If you are not in that narrow group, the cost is the deciding factor. A reader who needs an app, who pays in shops, who wants cash access, who needs a published FX fee, who needs to know which bank is behind the card, or who wants to see other users’ experiences before signing up should look at the alternatives above. The combined effect of a 4–8% load fee, 2–4 USD monthly maintenance, an unknown FX fee and a 10% withdrawal commission is hard to justify when other virtual cards in the same category publish lower numbers and clearer terms.

Frequently asked questions

What is XCARDS card?

XCARDS is a virtual payment card issued by 4P SOLUTIONS LTD, a Maltese company, that lets you spend a balance funded with Bitcoin or USDT online. The Terms describe the company as an intermediary between the customer and the underlying banks, whose names are not published, and the cards are issued immediately with no physical version.

How does XCARDS card work?

You register on the website, complete KYC with proof of identity, address and phone, then top up your account with BTC or USDT, after which you issue a virtual card from the dashboard. The balance is spent online, and a transfer back to your account balance takes no more than one day but costs 10% with a 100 USD minimum.

Is XCARDS a bank?

No, XCARDS is not a bank. The Terms describe 4P SOLUTIONS LTD as an intermediary between the customer and the banks, and the company does not name the issuing banks or list the licences under which it operates, so the regulated entity behind the card is not visible from the public pages.

Who owns XCARDS?

XCARDS is operated by 4P SOLUTIONS LTD, a company registered under Maltese law at Aurora House, Level 3, 184 Triq-il-Kappillan Mifsud, Birkirkara BKR 1904, Malta. The Terms also give a mailing address in Mahé, Seychelles, and the AML policy refers to Seychelles sanctions, but the company registration is Maltese.

How do I get an XCARDS card?

You register an account on the website, complete the KYC checks described in the AML policy, top up with at least 100 USD in BTC or USDT, and issue a virtual card from the dashboard. There is no physical card and no shipping step, so the card appears in your account immediately after the top-up lands.

Does XCARDS card require KYC?

Yes, the FAQ says full KYC applies to all clients, and the policy asks for proof of identity, proof of address and a verified phone number, with a video call possible in some cases. The Terms also allow an Unverified Account with limitations, but the specific limits are not quantified in the public materials.

How do I top up XCARDS card?

You top up through the Accounts section of the website with Bitcoin (BTC) or Tether (USDT), with a minimum of 100.00 USD per load, and you can enable auto-top-up when you issue the card or under Cards > Auto-top-up later. The supported blockchain networks are not stated on the public pages, so a small test transfer is worth doing before a large one.

How do I withdraw money from XCARDS?

You transfer the balance from the card back to your account in the dashboard, which takes no more than one day, and then you withdraw from the account by the method the platform supports. The card-to-account transfer costs a 10% commission with a 100 USD minimum, so the fee is only proportionate on larger amounts.

Is XCARDS card safe?

The Terms tell customers in capital letters not to store funds on the card and say XCARDS does not guarantee their safety, while the underlying banks may block funds, and there is no chargeback process or freeze button inside an app described. No public reviews or Trustpilot page for xcards.net were found, which means there is no community feedback to compare against before you sign up.

Is XCARDS card worth it?

For a Verified user who loads BTC or USDT, spends the balance online and does not plan to cash out, the 4–8% load fee and 2–4 USD monthly maintenance may be acceptable for the use case. For most readers the cost is high relative to alternatives that publish lower fees, clearer terms and a wider choice of funding coins, which is why the card scores 3.6 out of 10.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team