Gemini Card: US Credit Card With Crypto Rewards, Not a Crypto Card

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Gemini card is not the kind of card most people picture when they hear “crypto card.” It is a Mastercard World Elite credit card issued by WebBank, with a Gemini name on it and crypto paid back as rewards. That single distinction explains almost everything about this card — its strengths, its limits, and the people it is actually for. There is no crypto balance to load, no coin to pick, no network to worry about. You spend from a credit line, you pay it back in dollars, and in return some of your spending comes back in cryptocurrency.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Gemini works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I scored it 4.9 out of 10. That is not a bad card so much as a narrow one. For a US resident who wants ordinary credit card shopping with a crypto kicker, and who can live with an APR that starts at 16.49%, it is a reasonable proposition. For anyone outside the United States, anyone looking to spend a crypto balance, or anyone who needs a card that simply works everywhere without drama, it is the wrong tool entirely — and in a few of the situations people most often hope it will help, it cannot help at all.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 4.9 / 10, and it is a credit card, not a crypto card

Let me put the score into context before anything else. My criteria and marks are below, with the reasoning in plain language.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 4 / 10 Credit card for residents of all 50 US states; no other countries named
Cost 7 / 10 No annual fee and no foreign transaction fees; purchase APR 16.49% to 34.49%, cash advance $10 or 3%, card replacement $50 after the first free one per 12 months
Top-up options 2 / 10 It is a credit card, repaid in fiat; crypto appears only as rewards: 4% on gas, EV and transit (up to $300 a month), 3% dining, 2% groceries, 1% everything else
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Issued by WebBank on Mastercard World Elite; Trustpilot 1.3 out of 1,513 reviews: frozen accounts, withdrawal delays up to 35 days, disputes refused, no phone support
Everyday use 8 / 10 Works with Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay; cash advance available at ATMs; unofficially, a metal physical card and a virtual card
Total 4.9 / 10

The audience this suits is narrow and worth naming: US residents who want crypto credit-card rewards and who are comfortable with a rewards structure that pays on spend categories rather than on holding a coin. The card’s strongest single argument is its everyday mechanics — mobile wallets work, cash advances are possible, and there is no annual fee or foreign transaction fee to think about. That is a real mark of 8 out of 10, and it is the reason the card scores better on Everyday use than on anything else.

Where it falls short is access and reliability. A 4 out of 10 for eligibility is not a criticism of the underwriting so much as a statement of geography: this is a US product, and if you are reading this from anywhere else, everything below the sign-up section is academic. A 2 out of 10 for top-up options is me refusing to pretend otherwise — there is no top-up, because there is nothing to top up. And a 3 out of 10 for reliability reflects a specific and unusual problem I will come back to: the complaints are not about a card being declined at a shop, they are about accounts being frozen and money becoming hard to get out.

One thing I want to be clear about before the details: the low score is not a prediction that you will have a bad time. It is a description of what this card is. If what you need is a US credit card with cashback paid in crypto, the fit is genuinely good and the APR range is not unusual for the US market. If what you need is a way to spend crypto you already hold, this card does not do that at all, and no amount of reading will change it.

Will they give you the card?

Short answer: if you live in one of the 50 US states, you are in the group Gemini says is eligible to apply. If you do not, I found nothing on the card’s own pages suggesting an application from another country would succeed.

Gemini’s support team states that residents in all 50 U.S. states are eligible to apply, with terms and restrictions applying. That is the whole of the official answer. The card page itself does not restate eligibility, and it says nothing about any country outside the United States.

What I could not confirm on the card’s pages: the application steps themselves are not laid out there, and the identity-verification process is not stated either — a credit application is clearly implied, but the card page does not describe the checks. KYC tiers, processing time and the reasons an application might be rejected are not published either. That is a gap worth noticing on its own. When a page does not tell you what will be checked or how long it takes, you are left with no basis for planning.

There are some unofficial claims floating around third-party sites, and I want to flag them as exactly that. A CryptoSlate review and a site called Gerald, both undated, describe the card as US-residents-only with a hard credit pull, and list a valid Social Security Number as a requirement. Neither the US-only restriction nor the hard credit pull is stated by Gemini on the pages I checked, and the Social Security Number requirement does not appear in Gemini’s own text that I found. Treat all three as unconfirmed.

One more thing that is not on the card page and is easy to miss: Gemini’s own corporate and licence details are not presented on the card’s pages. The name on the card is not the name of the institution that issued it. That matters, and I will come back to it in the section on what can go wrong.

The card itself

It is a Mastercard World Elite credit card. Whether you can choose between virtual, physical and metal forms, and in which currency the card is denominated, is not stated on the page. Unofficially, a metal physical card is available and reportedly arrives about 5–7 days after approval, with a virtual card issued after verification.

If you are used to reading about crypto cards, “World Elite” will sound like a status tier rather than a product. Here it just tells you the network and the card tier. Do not confuse it with the separate Gemini card variants named on the page — Solana Edition, XRP Edition and Bitcoin Credit Card, each described as carrying the “Same Benefits.” Those names are marketing handles; the reward structure described in this review applies across them.

How to get it

Honestly, the card page does not walk you through it. There is no published step-by-step, no list of documents, no stated processing time. What I can tell you is that applying involves a credit application with a creditworthiness check, and that is a meaningfully heavier process than opening a crypto exchange account.

The credit application is the important part, so let me be specific about what it involves. The APR for purchases is 16.49% to 34.49%, set by your creditworthiness at the time of opening. The cash advance rate is 29.49%, and the penalty rate is 33.49%. All three are variable and move with the Prime Rate. So your application is not really a yes-or-no question — it is a question that also decides what you will pay to borrow. That is how US credit cards work, and it is worth understanding before you fill in anything.

KYC tiers are not published for this card. Nor is the processing time, nor the list of reasons an application can be refused. If you need to know how long you will be waiting, you will have to ask Gemini directly.

On delivery, the cardholder agreement covers one free card replacement per 12 months, with each additional replacement costing $50. Delivery countries, delivery time and shipping cost are not stated. That $50 is worth noting now rather than later, because it is the kind of charge that only ever appears in a bad month.

Fees: what it really costs

This is the section where the Gemini card looks best, and also where the framing matters most. There is no annual fee. There are no foreign transaction fees. The card is a credit card paid off in dollars, so a crypto conversion fee does not apply — the crypto arrives as a reward after you have already spent.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Gemini payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here is every fee and limit the card publishes.

Fee or limit Value
Annual fee None
Issuance fee Not stated
Foreign transaction fee None
Crypto conversion fee Not applicable (credit card; rewards paid in crypto)
Purchase APR 16.49% to 34.49%, variable with the Prime Rate, set by creditworthiness at opening
Cash advance APR 29.49%, variable
Cash advance fee $10 or 3% of each cash advance, whichever is greater
Penalty rate 33.49%, variable
Late payment fee Up to $35 (first late fee up to $25)
Returned payment fee Up to $35
Card replacement One free per 12 months; $50 each additional
ATM fee Not stated
Credit limit Not stated
Cash advance at ATM Allowed; ATM limit not published
Rewards cap 4% tier capped at $300 spend per month, resets on the 1st, then 1%

Let me make the three everyday payments concrete, because fees are easier to judge against a real purchase than in the abstract.

A $40 lunch. You pay $40 on the card, and the 3% dining reward returns to you. If you clear the statement in full, your net cost is $38.80 and part of it arrives as crypto. If you do not clear it in full, you pay interest on the balance, and at a 16.49% APR a $40 balance left for a year is roughly $6.60 in interest — which eats a meaningful slice of the reward. The reward is only free money if you pay in full. This is the single most useful thing to understand about this card.

A $60 supermarket shop. This earns 2% back, so about $1.20, again conditional on paying in full. Note that groceries are a named category at 2%, not the 4% top tier.

Withdrawing $100 from an ATM. Here the card gets expensive fast. The $10 or 3% fee means you pay whichever is greater — so on $100 that is the $10. Plus the 29.49% cash advance APR starts running immediately, with no grace period. The ATM limit itself is not published. Cash advances are the clearest example of a place where this card is a poor tool, and I would use it only for genuine emergencies.

Two limits are not stated and I will not invent them. There is no published credit limit, though unofficially one review site suggests limits generally run from $2,500 to $25,000, and a report from Gerald and Reddit in 2026 mentions starting limits as low as $1,000. The ATM limit is also not published.

On currencies: the account is in US dollars. Foreign-currency transactions are converted to USD by the card network at its own exchange rate, and the foreign transaction fee is listed as none. So no surcharge on top of the network rate, which is a genuine advantage — but the network’s rate is still the rate you get.

Top up: there is nothing to top up

I want to be direct, because this is where most confusion happens. The Gemini card is not a prepaid card. It is a credit card, and you repay it in fiat. Coins and networks are not applicable. There is no deposit address, no network selection, no risk of sending funds on the wrong chain, and no deposit fee in the usual sense — because there is no deposit.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Gemini starts with a transfer to the right network

If you have been reading about crypto cards that you load with stablecoins or Bitcoin, you should read that whole section of your expectations as inapplicable here. The way money reaches this card is that a bank lends it to you. That is a different relationship from one where you hand over an asset and someone else holds it.

The related costs worth knowing are the ones that come with credit rather than with funding. The cash advance fee is $10 or 3% of each cash advance, whichever is greater. A late payment is up to $35, with a first late fee of up to $25. A returned payment is up to $35. These come from the cardholder agreement dated 1 April 2026. Closure and payoff terms are in that same agreement and are not summarised on the card page, so if you are planning to close the account, read the agreement rather than relying on a summary — including mine.

Paying with it every day

This is where the card earns its best mark, and I will not pretend otherwise. It works with Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, per Gemini’s own support pages. That matters more than it sounds: tokenised mobile wallets are the single most reliable way to pay with a card, and they work here.

The rewards structure is straightforward and, unusually for this category, genuinely tied to how people actually spend:

Rewards are paid instantly in Bitcoin or in more than 50 cryptocurrencies on Gemini, and you can change the asset at any time. At some merchants you can also get 10% Vault Rewards, which are capped and vary by merchant. There is a referral scheme: $50 in crypto for each referral, $250 per five referrals, up to 50 a year.

If you drive, charge a car or use public transport, the 4% tier is the reason to look at this card at all — $300 a month at 4% is $12 back, resetting on the 1st, which is a real return on ordinary spending. The cap matters, though: past $300 the rate drops to 1%, so a heavy spender gets less than the headline suggests.

Two things are not stated on the card page. Whether Apple Pay and Google Pay are described there is not stated, though Gemini’s support pages confirm all three wallets work. Blocked categories are also not stated, though some instant-reward exclusions do apply — meaning a purchase that looks eligible for instant crypto may not be, and the exclusions are not published.

On the app: the iOS Gemini app shows 4.8 out of 5 from 110K ratings in the US listing as read on 2026-10-20. It requires iPhone iOS 17.2 or later and supports Apple Watch and Apple Vision. Languages listed are English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish — there is no Russian. The Google Play listing was not read, so I cannot tell you what it scores.

If a charge goes wrong, the cardholder agreement has a “Billing Rights” section on disputing transactions. I did not extract the details, and the statutory 60-day window is not confirmed in the text I reviewed, so do not rely on my paraphrase of it.

What can go wrong

This is the section I would want a reader to read twice, because the Gemini card’s problems are not the usual card problems.

Start with the issuer. The card is issued by WebBank. Gemini is the brand and the programme front-end; WebBank is the institution that holds the card programme and issues the card. That matters for two reasons. If something goes wrong with your account, you are dealing with a bank’s processes through a crypto company’s interface. And your credit line, your statements and your disputes run on bank rails, not on blockchain rails.

Then the complaints. On Trustpilot, Gemini shows 1.3 out of 5 from 1,513 reviews, 212 of them in the last 12 months, as read on 2026-10-20. Gemini replied to 3% of negative reviews. The themes reported by users, and dated as they appear, are worth listing because they are specific:

Reported separately: an account locked after a third-party fraud email; slow email-only support; low starting credit limits reported at 1,000–3,000 USD; and credit availability updating slowly after payments. A January 2026 review described a fraud freeze still unresolved after more than two months.

I want to be careful about what these are and are not. They are user reports, and official incidents are not stated on the card page. Verifying individual account outcomes is not possible, and a low Trustpilot score on a large platform may reflect volume and responsiveness more than any single case. But the pattern is consistent enough to be a concern. The recurring theme is not that a card was declined at a shop; it is that money or access became stuck, and support could not provide an explanation. For a credit card, that is a severe problem, because the funds are not in an experimental stablecoin; they are part of a credit line.

The support setup reinforces this. There is a Support Center at support.gemini.com and a “Contact Us” request form. No phone line is reported in the complaints. Whether the app offers freeze, two-factor authentication and spending controls is not stated on the card page — which is worth checking for yourself in the app rather than taking it on faith from me.

On the wider category, there is a pattern of card programmes ending. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. When a programme closes, the usual sequence is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads end on 8 July 2026 and spending stop on 8 August 2026 — that is a single unconfirmed source, so treat it as an illustration of the pattern, not as fact. I am not saying the Gemini card is at risk of this. I am saying this is what a name change or a programme decision can cost you, and that a credit card from a bank is structurally safer in this respect than a crypto-branded card from a programme manager.

One practical point on holds: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds that stays for several days, typically up to 7. If you are watching a credit limit, a string of declines can make your available credit look lower than it is.

What to take instead

If the Gemini card is not right for you, it is usually for one of three reasons: you cannot get it, you want to spend crypto you already hold, or you want a card without a credit check. Here are three alternatives and how they compare.

Card Score Type Key figures
Gemini 4.9 / 10 Credit card, rewards in crypto US residents only; no annual fee; APR 16.49% to 34.49%
Lava 7.1 / 10 Not stated No annual fees; no FX fees and no FX spread; up to 5% back in bitcoin
Trastra 4.1 / 10 Prepaid debit card 31 countries listed; euro; topped up with crypto in the Mover wallet
Based Visa Card 6.9 / 10 Visa debit No signup or annual fees; FX markup 2.5% / 1.5% / 0% by tier

Lava scores 7.1 out of 10, the highest here, and is the one I would look at if your priority is spending crypto without a credit check. It advertises no annual fees, no FX fees and no FX spread, and no exchange fees or spread on Bitcoin buy/sell. You can spend at 150 million merchants in 150+ countries, and deposit in local currency or stablecoins. It offers up to 5% back in bitcoin on every purchase, though the conditions are not stated. Eligibility, network and card form are not stated either — so the same information gap exists, in a different place.

Trastra scores 4.1 out of 10 and is a prepaid debit card accepted at Visa merchants worldwide. Its eligibility rule appears residence-based and is quite specific: available in 31 listed countries including Germany, France and the UK, stated to become available for all residents of the EEA, with non-European residents told “Not at the moment.” You top it up using cryptocurrencies in your Mover wallet, though the coins and networks are not named. Costs and rewards are not stated. If you are outside Europe, this one is closed to you as things stand.

Based Visa Card scores 6.9 out of 10 and has the broadest eligibility of the three — worldwide except a published list effective 1 August 2026 that includes the Russian Federation, Belarus, the United States, Canada, Australia, China, India, Singapore, Ukraine, Iran, Turkey and others, about 74 countries. Note the irony: it excludes the United States, which is the only place the Gemini card works. It has no signup or annual fees, with physical shipping $50 for the HYPE tier and free for Based Gold; Based Orange is virtual only and not yet available. The FX markup on non-USD spend is 2.5% for Orange, 1.5% for HYPE and 0% for Gold — the Gold tier’s zero markup is genuinely the best FX treatment in this table. You can deposit USDT, USDC, XSGD, SOL, HYPE or BASED, with networks listed as Solana, Arbitrum, Polygon and Hyperliquid, and it auto-converts at the point of sale. Cashback is paid in $BASED at the start of each month: 2% for HYPE capped at $20 a month, 4% for Gold capped at $100, plus AI subscription rebates up to $10 or $100 and entertainment rebates up to $20 for Gold. Two conditions to read carefully: the rewards are promotional and may change, and all benefits end when you begin unstaking.

So: if you want a crypto balance to spend, Based or Lava. If you want a US credit card with crypto rewards, Gemini. If you want a card in Europe that you top up with crypto, Trastra. The right comparison is not which card has the best score, it is which card is the right shape for what you are holding.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to a US resident in one specific situation: you already pay a lot on gas, charging or public transit, you want that spending to earn something, you are comfortable holding crypto as the reward asset, and you will pay your statement in full every month. The 4% tier up to $300 a month is a real, predictable return, the no-annual-fee and no-foreign-transaction-fee structure means no fixed costs to argue with, and the mobile wallet support means it will be the card you actually reach for.

I would not recommend it to you if any of the following are true, and I would rather say this clearly than hedge:

The honest summary is that this is a competently built credit card with a crypto rewards layer attached, not a crypto card with a credit card attached. The rewards are real, the access is narrow, the interest is expensive, and the support is the weak point. If you are in the United States, spend heavily in the 4% categories, and pay in full, it does what it says. If you are anywhere else, read the Based section again.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Gemini card?

The Gemini card is a Mastercard World Elite credit card issued by WebBank, branded by the Gemini exchange. It works like an ordinary credit card: it draws on a credit line, you repay it in US dollars, and there is no crypto balance to load. What makes it different is that its rewards are paid in cryptocurrency — Bitcoin or more than 50 other assets on Gemini — instead of cash back. So it is a US credit card with crypto rewards, not a crypto card.

How does the Gemini card work?

You apply, the issuer runs a creditworthiness check, and your purchase APR is set between 16.49% and 34.49% depending on that assessment. You then spend as normal, either with a physical card or via Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay, and repay the statement in dollars. Rewards accrue by category — 4% on gas, EV and transit up to $300 a month, 3% dining, 2% groceries, 1% everything else — and are credited instantly in cryptocurrency. There is no coin to select and no network to choose.

Is Gemini a bank, and who actually issues the card?

No — Gemini is not the bank. The card states that it is issued by WebBank, which is the institution holding the card programme. Gemini is the brand, the app and the programme front-end, and its corporate and licence details are not presented on the card’s own pages. Visa and Mastercard do not issue consumer cards directly; they license issuers such as WebBank and can suspend a programme, so your credit relationship runs with WebBank through Gemini’s interface.

Is the Gemini card available in my country?

For residents of all 50 US states, Gemini’s support says you are eligible to apply, with terms and restrictions applying. No other country is named on the card pages, so I would assume applications from outside the US will not proceed. If you are outside the United States and want a crypto card, the Based Visa Card is the broadest option I looked at, available worldwide except a published exclusion list effective 1 August 2026 covering about 74 countries.

Does the Gemini card require KYC?

A credit application implies identity verification, but the card’s own pages do not state the KYC process, the tiers involved, the processing time or the reasons an application might be refused. Unofficially, third-party reviews mention a valid Social Security Number and a hard credit pull, but neither is confirmed in Gemini’s own text. What is confirmed is a creditworthiness check, which is a heavier and more consequential process than exchange-account verification.

Is the Gemini card free, and what does it really cost?

There is no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, and an issuance fee is not stated. The costs are in the borrowing: purchase APR from 16.49% to 34.49%, cash advance at 29.49% plus $10 or 3% whichever is greater, penalty rate 33.49%, late payment up to $35 with a first late fee up to $25, returned payment up to $35, and $50 for each card replacement after the first free one per 12 months. If you pay in full each month, the only cost is the foregone reward.

How do I top up the Gemini card, and can I add it to Apple Wallet?

You do not top it up — it is a credit card, not a prepaid one, so there is no balance to load and no coin or network to select. Adding it to Apple Wallet works: Gemini’s support confirms the card works with Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, and tokenised mobile wallets are the most reliable way to pay with it. The card page itself does not describe the wallet setup, so if you get stuck, that is a support question rather than something the public pages answer.

Can I withdraw money from an ATM with the Gemini card?

Yes, cash advances are allowed, and this is where the card is at its most expensive. Each advance costs $10 or 3% of the amount, whichever is greater, and the 29.49% cash advance APR applies from the moment you take it with no grace period. The ATM limit is not published, and the credit limit itself is not stated either. I would treat ATM use as an emergency-only feature.

Is the Gemini card safe?

Safety here is not mainly a question of blockchain security, because the card is a credit account rather than crypto custody. The real risks are operational: the card states it is issued by WebBank, and the reported problems on Trustpilot — 1.3 out of 5 from 1,513 reviews — are about accounts frozen with holds up to 35 days, no phone support, disputes refused after compromised card data, and cards closed without explanation. Whether the app offers freeze, two-factor authentication and spending controls is not stated, so check it yourself.

Is the Gemini card worth it?

For a US resident who spends heavily on gas, EV charging or transit, pays the statement in full, and is comfortable receiving rewards in crypto, the 4% tier up to $300 a month is a genuine return with no annual fee attached. For anyone carrying a balance, living outside the US, wanting to spend crypto they already hold, or needing frequent ATM cash, it is not worth it — the APR and the access rules make that clear. Check your own spending first, then decide.

Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team