A Virtual Crypto Card With Cheap Fees and Real Questions About Trust
If you’re someone who has trouble getting an ordinary bank card — maybe your country restricts them, maybe you don’t want your name attached to everyday spending, maybe you simply want a card you can load and throw away — LinkPay is worth understanding. It’s a virtual crypto card: no plastic, no ATM, just numbers you put into your phone’s wallet or a website. The service says it’s open in most of the world and the fees on paper look reasonable. But the more I read, the more the same picture forms: this is a small Canadian-registered platform whose own website disagrees with its own terms about what things cost, whose users report frozen cards and withdrawals stuck for weeks, and whose cards can’t do the one thing most people need a card for — tapping a phone at a shop.

Let me be honest about who this is for before I walk you through the details.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: What I Think After Reading Everything
My score for the LinkPay card is 5.0 out of 10 — a middle mark that leans slightly toward “caution.” That’s not a scathing zero and not a quiet endorsement. It reflects a service with genuinely attractive attributes sitting on top of some genuinely unsettling ones.
Here’s the breakdown by what I judged:
| Criterion | Score | Why, in short |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Broad availability; only a limited set of countries are officially excluded, though that list is not exhaustive. |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | The cheapest tier is free, but the paid tiers run up to $209/month and the site’s headline figures clash with its own terms. |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Crypto-only funding across several currencies; convenient for people already holding digital assets. |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Users report frozen cards and multi-week withdrawal delays; the Trustpilot picture is poor. |
| Everyday use | 2 / 10 | Virtual only — no physical card, no ATM, and Apple/Google Pay still “coming soon.” |
| Total | 5.0 / 10 | A promising tool for one specific niche, with real friction for everyone else. |
So who does it suit? In my view, LinkPay makes most sense for an advertiser or business that needs a stack of many throwaway virtual cards to run ads or track separate spending streams — the kind of person who wants dozens of virtual numbers at once and is already holding stablecoins. For that user, “free cards per month” is a feature, not a quirk, and crypto-only funding is no obstacle.
Who does it *not* suit? Almost everyone else. If you want to tap a coffee shop with your phone, this card can’t do it yet. If you want to physically withdraw cash, you can’t. If you need a card in a currency other than dollars, that isn’t settled either. And if the idea of handing your balance to a company that can freeze it at any moment makes you uneasy — which it should — this is custodial, and that has to factor into your decision. Weigh these points against your own needs.
Will They Give You the Card?
Short answer: almost certainly, if you’re not in one of a specific list of excluded countries — but the exact identity-document rules aren’t stated on the pages I could read, and you should know the country exclusions before you apply.
LinkPay says it’s available across the world with a defined list of exceptions. The service is not provided in 27 listed countries, which include the Russian Federation, Belarus, Hong Kong, the United States, Ukraine, Iran, Cuba, Syria, North Korea, and others. The company itself warns that this list is “not exhaustive.” Their terms bar both residents and citizens of those countries — so it’s your passport that matters, not just where you live. The terms are explicit that US citizens, permanent residents, and US entities cannot open accounts at all.
That last point surprises many people: it isn’t just that you can’t sign up from a US address, it’s that US citizenship and US residency each bar the account in their own right. And because the list is “not exhaustive,” other countries could be added or quietly treated as restricted.
One thing I want to flag honestly: the page links to a “Certain Countries” document that I did not read, and the specific identity requirements for opening the first account aren’t spelled out on the pages I could access. So I can tell you the exclusions but not every nuance of eligibility.
A few unofficial reports float around the edges. Some third-party review sites claim the card is available in 168 countries with 28 restricted, and that Russia is among the restricted. I want to be clear that these figures are unofficial and not confirmed by the card’s own materials — treat them as leads to verify, not facts. Interestingly, one of those same sources notes China appears on a map of restricted areas but not in the body text, which tells you how loosely these third-party summaries can be built.
For the general background that explains *why* countries get excluded at all: rules on who can hold money and cards are largely driven by anti-money-laundering law and sanctions screening. Screenings are usually applied to your citizenship and country of birth as well as your address, which is exactly why nationality can bar an account even when you live somewhere else. And if the paperwork can’t be completed to the company’s satisfaction, regulated institutions are required to halt the relationship rather than proceed. None of that is LinkPay-specific — it’s the background every card like this operates in — but it’s the machinery behind that “not exhaustive” list.
How to Get It
Short answer: you verify your identity through the app at one of three levels, and most people are approved within about a day — but the lowest level is so limited it’s practically unusable.
Getting the card is a verification-and-issuance flow, not a physical delivery wait. LinkPay offers three verification tiers, and which one you’re on shapes everything about how much you can spend:
- No verification — capped at $500/month, and usable only on advertising cards.
- Basic — up to $2,000/month, works on all cards except Apple Pay and Google Pay, and requires your full name, address, and ID details.
- Unlimited — no spending or card-type limits, and requires a valid ID photo plus a live check (a selfie-style liveness check).
Verification is “generally completed within 24 hours but can take longer.” Rejected documents can be routed to a manual review, and the company doesn’t list rejection reasons beyond a general requirement for “valid documents with clear photos.”
One thing that isn’t stated: the main sign-up page links to an Anti Money Laundering document I didn’t see, so I can’t tell you the exact verification checklist from the official text. But the tier structure above *is* the KYC answer in practice — LinkPay absolutely does require identity checks, and the level you reach determines your limits.
Now the catch on the card itself. The Basic tier explicitly excludes Apple Pay and Google Pay, so even after you verify, you may be locked out of the tap-to-pay wallets until you reach the Unlimited tier. And the cards are issued on either Visa or Mastercard networks, but the specific page doesn’t pin down which network your card will land on, or what currency it’s denominated in.
In short: it’s a fully virtual card — no physical option is offered — and getting it is quick if your documents pass on the first try.
Fees: What It Really Costs
Short answer: the entry tier is free but charges 2% per transaction, and the higher tiers that cut your fees cost from $59 to over $200 a month — and the company’s headline prices actively contradict its own terms.
This is where I have the biggest gripes, so let me show you the numbers and then the contradictions.

The plans and what you get:
| Plan | Monthly fee | Free cards/month |
|---|---|---|
| Lite | Free | 0 |
| Plus | $59/month | 5 |
| Pro | $179/month | 15 |
| Ultra | $209/month | 79 |
The per-card issuance price on Lite isn’t stated, so I can’t tell you what a lone card costs on the free tier.
Transaction and other fees, per the main page:
| Fee type | Lite | Plus | Pro | Ultra |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Transaction fee | 2% (min $2) | 1.5% (min $1) | 1% (min $0) | 1% (min $0) |
| Decline fee | 2% | 1.5% | 1% | 1% |
| Deposit fee | 1% | 0.75% | Free | Free |
| Withdrawal fee | 3% (min $5) | 3% (min $5) | 2% (min $2) | 1% (min $1) |
| ATM | Not applicable (virtual only) | — | — | — |
Here are three everyday payments, so you can feel what these percentages do to a normal purchase:
- A $20 streaming subscription on Lite — you pay 2% with a $2 minimum. Two percent of $20 is $0.40, but the $2 floor kicks in, so the fee is $2 — a 10% hit on a twenty-dollar bill. This is why the free tier punishes small everyday payments.
- A $200 online purchase on Plus — 1.5% of $200 is $3, above the $1 minimum, so the fee is $3. Tolerable, but it’s added to the cost of everything.
- A $500 purchase on Pro — 1% with no minimum, so the fee is $5. By this point you’re paying $179 a month for the plan, and you’ve saved $6 in transaction fees versus Lite on that single purchase. The high tiers only pay off if you’re spending a lot, every month.
And here is the problem I keep coming back to. The company’s own Terms of Service contradict the main page on multiple fees and prices:
- The Terms price Ultra at $299/month (the home page says $209).
- The Terms list 100 free cards for Ultra (the home page says 79).
- The Terms list decline fees of 0.5% / 0.5% / 0.3% / free (the home page says 2% / 1.5% / 1% / 1%).
- The Terms list withdrawals as free on all plans (the home page charges 3% / 3% / 2% / 1%).
You have no idea which of these numbers the company will actually charge you. That isn’t a rounding difference — a free withdrawal and a 3% withdrawal are completely different economics. My advice: before you rely on any of this, get the figures in writing from support and see if they match your plan.
A couple more things on cost. The cashback runs 0% on Lite, 0% on Plus, 1% on Pro, and 2% on Ultra (the headline advertises “2% cashback for all payments,” but the payout currency isn’t stated). The freeze/unfreeze function only works on subscription or custom plans — not on free Lite.
On currency, the FAQ says USD-denominated cards are “planned to release soon,” and no other currency is stated — so your card is dollar-based, and the foreign-exchange fee isn’t stated either. If you’re outside the US, every purchase runs through a currency conversion whose cost the company hasn’t published.
(For context on why fees like this exist across the category: on-chain network charges for your deposit come from the blockchain itself, not the card company — but the conversion, the decline, and the FX spreads are where the card’s own money is made.)
How to Top Up
Short answer: you fund the card with crypto only — no bank transfer, no card-to-cash top-up — and you need to hit a small minimum, usually around $15, or the card simply won’t issue.
LinkPay advertises “deposit options for 7+ digital currencies.” The marketing page doesn’t actually name the coins or the networks, which is unusual and means you have to check the dashboard for specifics before sending anything.

The funding flow works like this:
- Transfer crypto to the platform’s wallet — this is the only route in.
- Meet a minimum activation balance — the amount is shown in your dashboard before issuance, “usually around $15.” If your deposit is below that minimum, issuance fails. This trips people up.
- Wait for confirmations — the dashboard asks for 20 confirmations on TRC20 and from 4 on Bitcoin. That wait is on the network, not LinkPay.
- Pay the deposit fee — per the Terms this is 1% / 0.75% / 0.5% / free by plan, though the home page says Pro and Ultra are free.
Who pays the network fee for the deposit isn’t stated, so that’s another unknown.
Unofficial but useful: third-party reports name BTC and USDT as supported coins and say there’s no bank transfer option. I’m flagging this as unofficial and unconfirmed by the company — but it lines up with the “crypto only” framing on the official pages, and with the plan for a bank transfer and on-ramp to arrive “later.”
On the withdrawal side there are similar gaps. The Terms say withdrawals are requested from the Wallet, processed “during 10 working days,” and the fee is “free on all plans” — which, again, contradicts the home page’s 3% / 3% / 2% / 1%. Other withdrawal notes: cashback can’t be withdrawn to a bank; if you close your account, remaining funds are sent to your specified payment details minus fees; records are kept for 5 years; you cannot withdraw from the platform directly to a LinkPay card; but you can do an internal P2P transfer using the recipient’s email.
Two warnings about top-ups and transfers that apply here and across the whole category: crypto transfers are irreversible. If you send on the wrong network, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be gone or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. And stablecoins aren’t censorship-proof — major issuers say they freeze assets tied to illicit activity, so your “own” money inside a stablecoin isn’t as beyond reach as crypto orthodoxy sometimes suggests. When the network is Tron, remember its fees are paid through bandwidth and energy resources, often burning TRX, and that Circle stopped natively supporting USDC on Tron in early 2024 — so “USDC over TRC20,” a phrase you see a lot, isn’t a straightforward option.
Paying With It Every Day
Short answer: today it’s an online-first, virtual card that you mostly paste into websites — because the one thing you’d use a card for in daily life, tapping a phone, isn’t ready yet.
Let me be blunt about the everyday experience. There are no physical cards and no ATM access (the “no ATM” part is officially implied by virtual-only, and confirmed by a third-party source as well). So this is not a card you wave at a coffee shop.
And the mobile wallets — the whole point of tap-to-pay — are not yet live. Apple Pay and Google Pay are described as “in final integration, will be available soon.” Even the promises are conditional: they’re not available at the Basic verification level. One of LinkPay’s own subpages says selected virtual cards can be added to a wallet while its FAQ says “coming soon” — the company contradicts even this. So mobile wallet support is best described as promised-and-uncertain.
What *can* you do today? Mostly the boring, web-based things: online payments with the card number, expiry, and CVV typed or pasted in. Where a merchant declines it, or a payment fails, the declines matter to know about, because the decline fee can be a real cost.
Two more everyday-reality notes:
- Blocked merchant categories aren’t specified on the pages I read, so you can’t know in advance whether your card will work at, say, a betting site or an ad platform. In this category, gambling (for example MCC 7995) is commonly blocked by card policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer — so LinkPay’s list, whatever it is, is its own.
- The app is available on the App Store, Google Play, and as a direct .APK download, with ratings not shown on the site’s pages. An APK is a file you install yourself — if you go that route, only take it from the company’s official source.
Now the honest summary of daily use: for a person who wants a tap-to-pay everyday card, LinkPay is not that yet. For someone paying subscriptions and online invoices from a crypto balance, it may be enough today.
What Can Go Wrong
Short answer: this is where I have the most concern. The cards are custodial, the company can freeze your balance at its discretion, and the independent complaint record is thin and negative.
Let me take these in order of how much they should worry you.
1. It’s custodial, and that hands you real risk. LinkPay says the balance is held in a Wallet it controls, and that the Administrator may suspend all wallets without notice if it suspects something or if there’s a violation — with funds potentially frozen during an investigation. Your account also locks after 3 failed login attempts. The company displays GDPR, ISO, and PCI DSS badges, and says insurance is not stated. In plain terms: you’re trusting a company to hold your money and to not decide it’s suspicious. That’s the same trust you’d extend a custodial exchange, and the category has a poor history of living up to it.
2. The complaint record is the biggest red flag. On Trustpilot the card scores 2 out of 5 from roughly 39–40 reviews. Reported patterns include cards frozen shortly before a transaction — in one account, reportedly not unfrozen until the user bought a paid plan — withdrawals stuck “processing” for 4+ weeks, and waits of months just to get a card issued. The company’s replies tend to cite “security protocols” or “insufficient verification.” A third-party aggregator (dated 11 August 2026) cites slightly different Trustpilot and other aggregate figures and describes support as slow and repetitive, with some reviews said to have come via vendor invitation. No Reddit discussion surfaced for me.
3. There’s no clear path if things go wrong with a purchase. The FAQ describes no chargeback process. Instead, the terms say that for a failed transaction with a pending authorisation your funds return in 5–10 minutes; a merchant’s refund usually lands within 4 weeks; and holds — for example at advertising platforms — can sit for 10–14 days. Unverified-card top-ups are auto-cancelled with refunds in 2–14 business days, but verified-card top-ups are non-refundable. And critically: you, the customer, are responsible for chargebacks and disputed transactions. Complaints are reviewed within 30 days. In short: if you have a billing dispute, you’re on your own — you don’t have a formal chargeback safety net described here.
4. The company itself is a bit of a sketch on paper. LinkPay is registered at an address in Richmond, BC, Canada, with an MSB registration M23039048. But the issuer/BIN sponsor is not stated — meaning the actual bank or licensed institution that holds your card programme is one LinkPay doesn’t publicly identify. That’s a genuine gap for due diligence. The company itself has made no public statement about any of this trouble; the “banking partner” freezing cards story you may have heard comes from a competitor’s site (Halocard, date not shown) and should be treated as interested-party reporting rather than established fact.
5. Unstated things to keep in mind. Don’t expect an ATM, a physical card, or a settled FX fee. And in the wider category, remember that programme closures happen — a card can be wound down with notice, spending stopped, and you’re asked to withdraw your balance. So keeping a large idle balance on any card like this, this one included, carries a risk that isn’t really about LinkPay’s intentions at all.
Against all that, the fact that the issuer isn’t named and the freeze-power is real is the honest core of my discomfort here. For someone who has no ordinary banking alternative, a custodial card with a 2/5 Trustpilot and unstated issuer is a genuine gamble, and I’d want you to make it with open eyes.
What to Take Instead
Short answer: if any of the above gives you pause, there are three other crypto cards I looked at that fill similar gaps with different trade-offs — none perfect, but each avoids at least one of LinkPay’s problems.
I compared LinkPay against three alternatives. Here’s how they stack up:
| Alternative | Score | Countries | Card type | Cost | Key strength | Key drawback |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | 200+ (no list) | Virtual + physical; Visa/Mastercard/UnionPay/VERVE | Not stated | Real in-world acceptance, physical card | Naira-focused app; fee % not stated |
| TakeCard | 5.5 / 10 | Bolivia (physical only) | Virtual + physical; Visa; USD | $5 virtual; $20 + $20 physical (Bolivia) | Very low flat purchase fee (1%) | Physical card Bolivia-only; US-issued |
| OkiCard | 6.0 / 10 | 150+ (some say 200+) | Virtual (physical mentioned) | $0 issuance; $15 start | 0% USD transaction fee; many networks | 3% load fee; no cashback |
| LinkPay | 5.0 / 10 | Broad, with exclusions | Virtual only | Free entry; 2% per transaction | Many free virtual cards per tier | Virtual-only; no ATM; wallet not “soon” yet |
A few notes so the table doesn’t oversell any of these:
- Cardex (5.6) markets one card for “200+ countries” with no exclusion list, and converts crypto to fiat at the moment of payment using an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that it says picks the best rate. But it doesn’t state a fee percentage, and its app listing is Naira-focused, so it’s really built around one market.
- TakeCard (5.5) is a 1% flat commission per purchase with USD paid 1:1 — attractive on cost — and a cheap $5 virtual card. But the physical card is Bolivia-only for now, it’s issued in the US, and other-currency payments use the official Visa rate of the day. Funding is from the Takenos balance; coins and networks aren’t clearly named in the article I could read.
- OkiCard (6.0) has the cleanest fee story on paper: 0% transaction fee on USD and no “hidden exchange spreads,” funded by USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron, or Solana into a generated address. The trade-offs: a 3% load fee, a 100 USDT initial deposit, and the site’s pages disagree on the issuance fee (pricing says $0; the FAQ mentions a one-time fee).
None of these is a clear winner — they trade one headache for another. But if LinkPay’s “virtual only, wallet coming soon, unstated FX fee” combination is a dealbreaker, OkiCard (best score, cheapest transactions, wide network support) or TakeCard (best flat rate if you’re in Bolivia or fine with virtual-only) are the two I’d personally look at next.
Who I Would Recommend It To
Pulling it all together, here’s who I’d hand this card to and who I’d steer away.
I’d recommend LinkPay if you:
- Run advertisements or manage many separate clients/spend streams and genuinely need dozens of throwaway virtual cards on one account — that’s the niche this product is built for.
- Already hold crypto (BTC, USDT, or similar) and are comfortable topping up from your own wallet with no bank transfer in the loop.
- Can live with an online-first card — subscriptions, invoices, web checkouts — and don’t need to tap a phone or use an ATM.
- Have tolerated higher risk and accept that a custodial company can freeze your balance and that the issuer behind the card isn’t publicly named.
I would not recommend it if you:
- Want a tap-to-pay, physical, or ATM card — those simply aren’t here yet, and Apple/Google Pay are only “coming soon.”
- Need to rely on any specific fee or price, given the contradictions between the home page and the terms (especially Ultra pricing, withdrawal fees, and decline fees).
- Are in one of the excluded countries — especially if you’re a US citizen or permanent resident, which is an absolute bar.
- Want a chargeback safety net — the customer bears dispute risk here.
- Are putting significant funds on a platform with a 2/5 Trustpilot, unstated issuer, and reported multi-week withdrawal freezes.
My honest bottom line: this is a narrowly useful, higher-risk tool for a specific technically-minded user — not the everyday card most people are hoping for. If you’re in the ad-spend or multi-virtual-card niche and you’re comfortable with crypto funding and custodial risk, it may earn its place. If you’re just trying to get a reliable way to pay for things, I think one of the alternatives above serves you better.
Frequently asked questions
What is the LinkPay card?
The LinkPay card is a virtual payment card issued by a Canadian-registered platform, available on the Visa or Mastercard networks, funded by crypto rather than a bank account. You get a card number, expiry, and CVV to use for online payments — there’s no physical plastic version and no ATM access. It converts your crypto balance into fiat spending power, working more like a prepaid card than a normal debit card.
How does the LinkPay card work?
You verify your identity in the app, top up your LinkPay wallet with crypto, and then the card spends that stored balance. When you make a payment, the crypto is converted and drawn down as if the card were a prepaid card. Different verification levels set your monthly ceiling — $500 unverified, $2,000 at Basic, or uncapped once you’re fully verified.
Is LinkPay a bank?
No — it’s not a bank. LinkPay is registered in Richmond, BC, Canada, and holds an MSB registration (M23039048), but it doesn’t publicly name the bank or licensed institution that issues the card behind the scenes. The issuer/BIN sponsor isn’t stated. So it’s better understood as a crypto platform managing a card programme than as a traditional bank.
Who owns LinkPay?
The platform is called LinkPay, registered at an address in Richmond, British Columbia, Canada. Ownership beyond the registered entity isn’t stated in the materials I reviewed. One thing worth noting: the actual bank that issues the card (the BIN sponsor) is also not named, so the financial institution ultimately behind the card isn’t publicly identified.
Does the LinkPay card require KYC?
Yes, in practice it does, through tiered verification. There are three levels: No verification ($500/month, advertising cards only), Basic ($2,000/month, all cards except Apple/Google Pay, requiring name, address and ID details), and Unlimited (no limits, requiring a valid ID photo and a live check). Verification usually completes within about 24 hours, though it can take longer or require manual review.
How do I activate the LinkPay card?
You activate it by funding your wallet and hitting the minimum activation balance, which the dashboard shows before issuance and is “usually around $15.” If your deposit falls below that minimum, card issuance fails. The transfer needs network confirmations too — 20 on TRC20, or from 4 on Bitcoin — before the balance becomes available.
How do I top up the LinkPay card?
The only way in is crypto — no bank transfer, no on-ramp (both are “planned”). You send digital currency to the platform’s wallet; the site advertises 7+ currencies, with BTC and USDT named in unofficial third-party reports. Watch two things: the network confirmations required, and that your deposit clears the roughly $15 minimum or the card won’t issue.
Is the LinkPay card free?
Partly. The Lite plan is free but includes 0 free cards/month, charges a 2% transaction fee (minimum $2), and has a per-card issuance price that isn’t stated. The paid plans start at $59/month (Plus, 5 free cards) and go up to Pro at $179 and Ultra — though note the home page says $209 while the terms say $299 for Ultra, so verify the real price before paying.
Can I add the LinkPay card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
Not reliably right now. Both Apple Pay and Google Pay are described as “in final integration, will be available soon,” and they aren’t available at the Basic verification level at all. One LinkPay subpage claims selected virtual cards can already be added, while the FAQ says “coming soon” — the company contradicts itself, so treat tap-to-pay as unreliable for now.
Is the LinkPay card safe?
It carries real risk, so weigh it carefully. The balance is custodial — LinkPay can suspend wallets and freeze funds during investigations, and the issuer behind the card isn’t publicly named. Trustpilot shows roughly 2/5 from about 39–40 reviews, with reports of cards frozen and withdrawals stuck for 4+ weeks. There’s also no clear chargeback process, and you bear dispute risk as the customer.
How virtual cards work – cryptocardsexplained.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsexplained.com» team
